Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the main cars Guards Drive?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 12,514 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Back of the station....................!! Seriously, in Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

There's also a fleet of exclusive ordinary Joe Soap saloon cars they have with Tax-Exempt wrote on the Tax Disc yet on close inspection the curtains don't match the carpets, ideal for use where parkings at a premium and the parking wardens don't inspect tax discs because they are thickos/simpletons :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Unmarked? Mondeo's, and lots of em.

Also word has it there's a supercharged s2000 'round tullamore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭audismelly

mondeos galore, doing donuts in them normally ten per shift, jam ones that is:D

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    There's also a fleet of exclusive ordinary Joe Soap saloon cars

Yup, They have one or 2 S-classes AFAIK. Lovely waste of our good ole tax money. But I suppose if you see an S-class comin upto you while drug-dealing you wouldn't think twice!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    Yup, They have one or 2 S-classes AFAIK. Lovely waste of our good ole tax money. But I suppose if you see an S-class comin upto you while drug-dealing you wouldn't think twice!

They are the President's car and Bertie's car soon to be joined by number 3, Biffo's car

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

ninty9er wrote: »
    They are the President's car and Bertie's car soon to be joined by number 3, Biffo's car

I have often seen a new BMW and Merc travelling along the N4 both towards and away from Dublin together. i reckon they are the Tulamore set!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Most of these higher powered cars being mentioned here (bmws, mithubishi, subaru etc) are cars that move station every few motnhs or weeks, they rotate around different stations in a certain area!

Ive always been able to tell a garda car from miles away, dad is a garda sergeant, used to be detective, neighbor is detective, used tp seeing the cars parked around the estate, half of the football team are gardas so most f the unit end up at the pitch watching our matchs, the cars are usually the ones that look like they have been driven to ****e and back

• Registered Users Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

miju wrote: »
    i'd be fairly certain he was taking the piss out of ya there :D:D:D:D
    He honestly coulda been but i was tellin him that i love performance cars an all the rest and asked if the guards have anythin better then the bmw's that ya see around dublin the odd time and he said thay had the lancer on loan, the thing that made me believe it was that both of us were at this party late and still sober... Could't be bothered lyin on this! Now i never seen it but i dunno...as prior posts have said theres pleanty of fancy guards goin round in fancy cars, evo 8 aint that exotic, aint like im sayin he was drivin a Lambo or somethin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭dfer

Chief--- wrote: »
    They were the ERU.

The ERU and any other specialised units have a host of false plates (not D reg obviously) and false tax/insurance discs which they change regulary.

Are'nt the gaurds suposed to serve and obey the law to a certain extent. I think thats leads me to believe the whole "us and them" theory.

And while where on the point 2 weeks ago i was up close to Tripod (Harcourt St) crossing the road and a red mondeo unmarked flew by me at 10.00 pm in the city going about 90 - 100 mph and nearly ran me over, and to be honest i don't care who the f**k your chasing, going over 100 in a populated city area is just unsafe and its only a matter of time before they run over someone.

Actually its to late for that!! They already left a 3 year old kid like roadkill about 6 months ago.

Protect and serve i think not. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Bijoux

Marked cars in my area mostly seem to be Nissan Primeras, but I've seen a lot of marked (and unmarked) Octavias recently...

dfer wrote: »
    Are'nt the gaurds suposed to serve and obey the law to a certain extent. I think thats leads me to believe the whole "us and them" theory.

And while where on the point 2 weeks ago i was up close to Tripod (Harcourt St) crossing the road and a red mondeo unmarked flew by me at 10.00 pm in the city going about 90 - 100 mph and nearly ran me over, and to be honest i don't care who the f**k your chasing, going over 100 in a populated city area is just unsafe and its only a matter of time before they run over someone.

Actually its to late for that!! They already left a 3 year old kid like roadkill about 6 months ago.

Think you're dead right, and that was an off duty guard in finglas...in the bus lane, and about a year ago an old lady on the navan road...also in the bus lane...also off duty, comradery...tis a bitch

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

dfer wrote: »

I'd be surprised if they were doing 100mph on Harcourt Street. It may have seemed fast but it can't have been that fast. A car doing 40 in a low gear along there would look to be fast but it would be well within the limits of the capabilities of a trained police driver (presuming the driver was trained which isn't a given).

A lot of talk of these cars are all about oddities. I used to live opposite Michael McDowell and he used to travel in a new E-class with blue lights and sirens. Doesn't mean the Gardai have a fleet of E-classes. The Gardai use 1.6 Mondeos and 1.4 Focus. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

theres a couple of those IIRC

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Cops near me have a blue Ford Cortina with grey leather interior.

Sounds like they're stuck in some type of time warp? A kind of ****ed up, inside-out Life on Mars...

NiSmO wrote: »

I've seen those in use round Croke Park to put out crowd barriers.

They definitely have a 2 seat one as well as a crew cab one.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Saw one going through Clane recently too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭johnnycash

swords station have a marked toureg jeep

blanch has a few landcruisers,altough i think they are on loan from dublin castle.

bmw 3series patrols M1 dublin-dundalk

and best of all, working out of store street there is an unmarked black toyota camry/corona,looks clapped out/no nct, 2 plain clothes guys in it look like a pair of scangers....its a perfect disguise

FACT

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Yeah, the lads in Rathmines have an unmarked 911 from time to time, and there's almost always an Audi S8 outside, but it's kinda easy to spot since it has 6 aerials, a mounted cannon, and is lime green...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Ferris wrote: »
    Red Transit Minibus with blacked out windows around Dundalk.

Immigration duties for the most part...never see it doing much else.
    Passed a Ford people carrier (Galaxy?) outside Dundalk on the M1, light metallic blue I think...had some NI van pulled over. That and the already mentioned green Subaru Forrester....anything else is either stupifyingly obvious or else is so undercover that no-one should be able to notice it (plenty of those around Dundalk too)...

I'd be surprised if they were doing 100mph on Harcourt Street. It may have seemed fast but it can't have been that fast. A car doing 40 in a low gear along there would look to be fast but it would be well within the limits of the capabilities of a trained police driver (presuming the driver was trained which isn't a given).

A lot of talk of these cars are all about oddities. I used to live opposite Michael McDowell and he used to travel in a new E-class with blue lights and sirens. Doesn't mean the Gardai have a fleet of E-classes. The Gardai use 1.6 Mondeos and 1.4 Focus. End of.
    I cant see how a trained driver can deal with someone walking out in front of em any better that anyone else, If traffic is not movin you generally don't be as carefull while crossing the roads and even if the Guard was doin 40, it could still kill someone

Grahamo999 wrote: »
    I cant see how a trained driver can deal with someone walking out in front of em any better that anyone else, If traffic is not movin you generally don't be as carefull while crossing the roads and even if the Guard was doin 40, it could still kill someone

Or 30. Difference is that a trained driver will read the road differently to you or I. They would identify the person who might step out and change their driving accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭dfer

Or 30. Difference is that a trained driver will read the road differently to you or I. They would identify the person who might step out and change their driving accordingly.

Dude its a mondeo with four people in it, it was in 3rd or 4th gear reving very high (around 6-7k revs) nearly limiting the tach coming around a bend (Where Rays pizza place/abracadabra). These cars are at the very least mildly tuned engine.

I'd like to see how you could stop a car that weights about 1.5 ton with four lads in it goin 60mph (at least) in an emergency?!!

It stops on a dime! Lol Because its a magical garda car! And the (so called) trained driver can see through buildings aswell so he can see whats around the corner unlike us normal human beings!! Get real Terrontress!

Your talkin Bulls**t mate! :rolleyes:

My points were that a car along that stretch of road would seem alot quicker than it actually is and that 100mph could not be an accurate estimate. Secondly, that at a more realistic speed, a properly trained police driver would be able to operate in excess of the speed limits in that area. I didn't see the car in particular so can't contradict your experience but think you should have a bit more faith in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

gman2k wrote: »
    The boys in blue drive nearly everything these days, as previous posts say,
    Mondeos, Corollas are the main ones, but you can get a bit of everything else.
    Still a few Camrys knocking around - one is always with the Black S350 (I presume that's Brian's now!!!)
    How to recognise an undercover?
    OK, the the three aerials (two of which will be stumps)
    Number plate holders have no garage identification
    No garage stickers in back window
    Dash and parcel shelf fixed strobe units
    PJ and PJ up front!!!!

And they always drive new or cars less than 2 yrs old. So look at the reg next time, if it's a '02, your in the clear :D