Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welsh police exchange with AGS??

• 15-05-2008 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭

Passed a checkpoint on the dockroad in limerick half an hour ago and one guy stood out because his hi-vis bomber jacket was actually hi-vis for a change.

Anyway thought he was Traffic, but i did a bit of rubbernecking and am nearly positive it was welsh police, anyone heard of exchanges?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Usually Welsh cops will have Heddlu on their jackets as well as police.

Have never heard of any inter-service exchange between UK and Eire. Not impossible it was someone from a UK force observing, but have never heard of it happening and doubt he'd be wearing his own hi-viz.....even if it was a trial of new kit being demoed by Welsh cops the Garda would usually send people over to the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Ya pretty sure i saw the Heddlu, and he had black trousers, black flashes, and black hat, TBH i thought it was the PSNI for a mo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Many, many years ago I remember there was picture in one of the Irish papers of a UK police officer walking in Dublin with a Guard. It was an exchange and while they he no policing powers, he wore his uniform.

I heard that when a couple of our blokes went to New York on an official exchange a few years ago, they wore their uniforms when going out on 'ride alongs'... apparently the NYPD and the New Yorkers loved it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Ya and when i say checkpoint there was two squad cars and the 3 lads laughing with the welsh guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,511 ✭✭✭✭Victor

There is a formal scheme for exchanges / secondments with the PSNI and there are reports of GNIB / UK immigration having people based in departure areas of ports and airports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭hammy140

Does anyone remember the picture in the paper a few years ago of a Hedlu Police Van parked up in Waterford or somewhere. It was some kind of Dog unit and they were requested by Gardai to help in some investigation.Pretty cool stuff.

That'd make sense I guess, if it was a specialised unit that had been asked to assist in an expert capacity, then jurisdiction wouldn't be an issue. So for instance with the dog squad, here we've dogs that specialise in public order, suspect tracking, armed suspect detention, unarmed suspect detention, drugs passive, drugs search, explosives, cash recovery, firearms recovery, cadaver recovery and a load of other skills I can't think of, not to mention the many K9s that can do a mix of all of the above.

Very good career prospects for a switched on mutt!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

That was Wexford I think, was a specialist dog for sniffing blood.

Guards paid for the privilege.

Handy too, ferry from fishguard to rosslare.

But as metman says makes sense availing of specialist skills available with their METDogs :P (Everything the met have starts with MET, eg METVest, METRadio and so on)

Even us Met officers wonder why everything is labelled Met......Metvest, Metcall, Metphone.....

Still, I do like the Metstickers: "you've met the Met" they seem to wind up everywhere, and I do mean everywhere ;)

I used to have one on my wall after visiting family in london lol.

But thats a story for another day lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

the heedlu dog was for the meg walsh murder investigation afaik-waterford

Wexford, Waterford same place lol hmm not sure relatives would like that.

Seems to make more sense shakin