Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Moral dilemma kinda

• 16-05-2008 6:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭

So I was out last night with my flatmate to celebrate the end of her exams. My boyf is living abroad for the summer, he left two weeks ago, and we're taking a break while he's gone. So this was my first night out as a single lady in nine months or so. Also there was a €2 vodka dealy in the club. Not a very good combination of circumstances. So I end up taking this perfectly nice, incredibly drunk young man home. Enjoyed his company for an hour or so, then decided I wanted to sleep alone so called him a taxi and bid him adieu. Wake up this morning and what do I see but his jacket and wallet on my bedroom floor. The wallet has his driving licence, student card, atm card, the works, along with a €50 note. Now my dilemma is this, I don't have his number, all I know about him is his name like. The logical thing to do is hand the wallet into the gards and they'll get in touch with him. But if I keep the 50 does that make me technically a prostitute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

It makes you a thief, if you didn't sleep with him.

The "logical thing to do" is to hold on to the jacket and wait for him to call for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

But if I keep the 50 does that make me technically a prostitute?

Did you sleep with him ? if not then no it doesn't make you a prostitute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Keep the 50:D, you will be fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No need for the gardai here, you're only wasting their time!
    Student card? Drop everything into the student union?

His driving licence will give his home address. Even ring 11811 and give the address and you should get a number. Since it's going to be his home address where his parents are it's highly likely it'll have a landline

You can introduce yourself to his parents too :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭redcrew

you can't be serious, do you know how annoying it is to lose stuff...give it all back, jacket, money, wallet etc etc etc... i'm sure he'll call for it or you'll see him out again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Karoma wrote: »
    It makes you a thief, if you didn't sleep with him.

The "logical thing to do" is to hold on to the jacket and wait for him to call for it.

Well yeah I will, but no sign of him yet an considering all his important stuff is in there I'm starting to suspect he doesn't remember where I live :o and no I ain't no thief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Well yeah I will, but no sign of him yet an considering all his important stuff is in there I'm starting to suspect he doesn't remember where I live :o and no I ain't no thief

You should try and get in touch with him quick, otherwise he'll have to go through the hassle of cancelling all his cards (if he hasn't already) and be stuck for cash for the weekend.

How drunk was he? Could he remember the taxi (firm) he used to get home? They'll most likely remember him as he probably had difficulties paying.
    And, more to the point, does his level of drunkenness reflect poorly on you level of hottness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Kazobel

You should try and get in touch with him quick, otherwise he'll have to go through the hassle of cancelling all his cards (if he hasn't already) and be stuck for cash for the weekend.

Not if she gives him back the 50 :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Kazobel wrote: »
    Not if she gives him back the 50 :D:D

But that's all he'll have if he has cancelled the cards already...it'll take the bank a few days to get new ones issued..

And, more to the point, does his level of drunkenness reflect poorly on you level of hottness?

Now I have two things to worry about!

More. If he hasn't made contact yet, it could be because he has contagious face-cooties or he discovered that you're both related.

Remember to always look on the shite soide o' loife...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Either drop the card into the guy's SU, go to the address on the drivers licence, or go through all the cards to see if you can find the contact info.

If you keep the 50 it makes you a knack.

Life would be so much easier if I was in the habit of taking numbers! Rang the taxi company I think he used, no help!

More. If he hasn't made contact yet, it could be because he has contagious face-cooties or he discovered that you're both related.

Remember to always look on the shite soide o' loife...

Four. Hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Could you not call to the address on the driving licence and hand everything in - if your embarassed just say he left it there after a party.

He'll appreciate it. I lost my wallet recently incl. cards and stuff and it was a complete bitch waiting for licences and cards to reissue.

c - 13 wrote: »
    Could you not call to the address on the driving licence and hand everything in - if your embarassed just say he left it there after a party.

He'll appreciate it. I lost my wallet recently incl. cards and stuff and it was a complete bitch waiting for licences and cards to reissue.

It's a country address, must be his home one, I've no idea where it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Ah, well thats fair enough. Student union then like other said I would think. He's just going to have to deal with cancelling the cards. At least he'll get the rest back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

no I ain't no thief

Well if you're considering keeping the 50 then yes you are.

If his drivers license has his address on it then why don't you just post the damn thing to him. Not exactly rocket science.

PS This thread stinks of "Hey everybody, I got laid last night!!11!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

Post it to that address on the licence. It is Their moral dilema now. Minus the cost of posatge and packaging and internet usage.

Use the fifty to hire a private detective to return the property.

Find PPS number etc.. should be enough info there to track the fella down.

Hire a male escort and call him a filthy bastard hoar prostitute and dump him in the cheap restaurant you met in.

Put an ad in the paper for a boyfriend.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

Why would you keep the fifty?

Seriously, get his stuff back to him asap.

Just speaking as someone who, a MONTH after it had been robbed from my bag, had my wallet sent by post into my college, went in to collect it after a phone call from college, to find that it was completely empty (money, atm, receipts, 3v, various club type/discount cards) except for my student card. Why the hell bother sending it in....I still scratch my head over that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

You got to ask yourself truthfully, was having sex with you worth 50 euro to this lad?

If he has bank cards in it, ring his bank. Explain you have his stuff and they might try contact the lad. It can give you an excuse for a mid-day shag when he shows up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

... and no I ain't no thief

So why would you suggest keeping the €50?
    But if I keep the 50 ...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Post his details here. We'll find him. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Kazobel

This isn't a moral dilemma, this is economics. Any halfway decent prostitute would get at least 300 quid for full sex for between 1 and 2 hours (you're vague on the exact amount of time) so 50 quid doesn't make you a prostitute, it makes you a crack whore, stop trying to sugarcoat it with big fancy words :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

I thought the term 'moral dilemma' was on the topic of international political economy.

Or else I've been studying too much.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

God, I was so drunk last night, I lost my wallet and jacket. I ended up back at the gaff of this mad chick who dressed up in a Nazi uniform and spanked me with a riding crop. Good times, but I hope I get my wallet back cos I need my last €50 to get my syphilis tablets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Give him back everything.

Normally I would advise that you keep the money, but he didn't score, so he deserves everything back.

You called the cab, so they should be able to tell you where he went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

I think he left it so eventually you'll get back to him. Then a nice romantic situation will unfold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

F*cking c*ck tease

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

What college does he go to?

DaveMcG wrote: »
    F*cking c*ck tease
    Banned

That's what I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I have found a number of wallets in my time. Not on my bedroom floor mind, but I just ring there bank, explain I found the wallet, I give the name and card number and they ring the account holder. Sorted. Keeping the 50 is scummy thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Track him down, could unfold nicely and you might end up with a new boyfriend to replace the one you're probably cheating on :D

kowloon wrote: »
    Track him down, could unfold nicely and you might end up with a new boyfriend to replace the one you're probably cheating on :D
    Yes, I'd stalk him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Terry wrote: »
    Yes, I'd stalk him too.

If you're good looking enough it's not called stalking, the premise behind all romcoms. Are you really ready to turn the world on its head? Are you?
    I thought not. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

So did the guy get his hole or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Wertz wrote: »

LMAO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

It makes you a scumbag thief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

the_syco wrote: »
    It makes you a scumbag thief.

Yes, at least prostitution is an honest supply and demand type transaction. Scumbag thieving is just scummy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It makes you a thief. Although you seem to be unable to see that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Great user name.

But is the prefix 'electro' necessary?

stovelid wrote: »
    Great user name.

But is the prefix 'electro' necessary?
    Careful now.

Oh for heaven's sake everybody, obviously the real issue here isn't whether or not to keep the fifty, which I'm obviously not going to do. My problem was how the hell was I going to find him, gotten loads of suggestions now, cheers, bebod him, sent him a PM, problem solved.

Wertz wrote: »

A lady never tells.

PS This thread stinks of "Hey everybody, I got laid last night!!11!"

I'm a girl, it's not that big a deal to manage to get laid

Terry wrote: »
    Banned

That's what I thought.

Umm, how so exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

My boyf is living abroad for the summer, he left two weeks ago, and we're taking a break while he's gone.

I suggest you email/ring your boyfriend and see does he have a good suggestion of what you should do!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

A lady never tells.

Exactly, so tell us.
    Umm, how so exactly?

You brought the guy home and enjoyed his company for an hour or so then told him to piss off and called him a taxi. If he didn't get laid then you're pretty much a prick tease.

flanum wrote: »
    I suggest you email/ring your boyfriend and see does he have a good suggestion of what you should do!

We made an agreement, living apart, what happens over the summer stays in the summer etc etc etc, hes probably engaged in similar carry on like