Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tommy Tiernan and hector

• 18-05-2008 7:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭

Has anybody been listening to their show on iradio?
    Heard a small bit of it on Friday and what i heard was funny..
    Is it gonna last or was i just lucky to hear a funny bit?
    Tried to get a podcast but its only a 45 sec clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,676 ✭✭✭Chong

Is it possible to download this anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Cruijff wrote: »
    Is it possible to download this anywhere?
    I dont think so...
    http://www.i102104.ie/tommyandhector/index.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

slideways wrote: »

Tiernan - that seriously unfunny cnunt and that one trick pony Hector..Jesus Navan has a lot to answer for ??.

How these loud cnunts get any airplay is a mystery.....:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

I see its Number 1 in the iTunes Irish podcasts Top Ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I've listened to them a few times and found them quite funny and refreshingly different to the other stuff that's out there. They're best mates and it shows on the air as they're just two lads having a laugh, basically - although they do put a lot of work into that show every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I don't usually laugh out loud when I'm on my own in the car... But I've been listening to this pair every Friday on the way home for the past number of weeks, and I do end up laughing out loud a lot. I Radio done well to get them.. have a feeling they'll be picked up by one of the nationals if anyone gets a chance..

Although with these bad language cautions, dunno how well Tiernan would do!

Excellent pairing for radio IMO.

I don't usually laugh out loud when I'm on my own in the car... But I've been listening to this pair every Friday on the way home for the past number of weeks, and I do end up laughing out loud a lot. I Radio done well to get them.. have a feeling they'll be picked up by one of the nationals if anyone gets a chance..

Although with these bad language cautions, dunno how well Tiernan would do!

Excellent pairing for radio IMO.

Look pal - lemme tell you something - anyone who has to depend on manic roaring and shouting an speanin in a NAAAAvan accent to be funny will have a very short shelf life in the comedy business - both of these dudes have been around the block for a bit now and where are they ?? On radio bogger with a listnership of about two hundred if you count the cows in the milking parlor !!!

believe me these two have shot their bolt long ago - watch them getting increasingly "controversial" as they try in vain to get publicity..

Just watch......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

Wow, I haven't seen this many fools pitied since the heyday of the A-Team :

Gerry Ryan, Joe Duffy , Jenny Huston, Michael McMullen, Ronan Collins, Marian Finucane, Aengus MacAnally,Fergal Keane, Barry O Neill, Des Cahill, Gay Byrne, Ruth Scott, Nikki Hayes, Emma McNamara, Will Leahy, Dave Fanning, Val Joyce, Marty Whelan, The 'Wannabes on Spin', the entire 2fm backroom staff, and now it's the turn of Tommy and Hector to feel your wrath.

Brilliant, Crown. You're just like Mr T, but for the Radio.

Nothing in Irish National & Quasi-National Radio will ever change unless these fools are repeatedly pitied on a message board. Keep up the good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

will have a very short shelf life in the comedy business

Just watch......

You have heard of Tommy Tiernan before now? Yeah? You seem to be talking from an 1980's kind of slant with that.

And, what Bondvillain said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Look pal - lemme tell you something - anyone who has to depend on manic roaring and shouting an speanin in a NAAAAvan accent to be funny will have a very short shelf life in the comedy business - both of these dudes have been around the block for a bit now and where are they ?? On radio bogger with a listnership of about two hundred if you count the cows in the milking parlor !!!

believe me these two have shot their bolt long ago - watch them getting increasingly "controversial" as they try in vain to get publicity..

Just watch......

Would you like some lemon with that?

Oh and lol.

[

Nothing in Irish National & Quasi-National Radio will ever change unless these fools are repeatedly pitied on a message board. Keep up the good work![/QUOTE]

Ah Bond !Hope you are nice an cosy in your cushy number out in Montrose -or Pinkofagland if you prefer.

I'm just looking for VALUE radio...some courage and a little of bite..all of which are sadly missing from that shower of muppets you mentioned..listned to that bint Ruth Scott and her male partner last week......lam o jaysus....never heard such inane frantic drivel in all my life they were afraid to let even ONE second go by without filling i with inanities.....:mad::mad:

Gerry Ryan, Joe Duffy , Jenny Huston, Michael McMullen, Ronan Collins, Marian Finucane, Aengus MacAnally,Fergal Keane, Barry O Neill, Des Cahill, Gay Byrne, Ruth Scott, Nikki Hayes, Emma McNamara, Will Leahy, Dave Fanning, Val Joyce, Marty Whelan, The 'Wannabes on Spin', the entire 2fm backroom staff, and now it's the turn of Tommy and Hector to feel your wrath.

Nothing in Irish National & Quasi-National Radio will ever change unless these fools are repeatedly pitied on a message board. Keep up the good work!

PS you left out the geriatric DJ Gogan...you want more names my friend I can supply them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

You forget Monsieur Clarke....

You forget Monsieur Carke....

Goodman John ! Nice of you to send in the ODD post...seee you again in ...say six months ???

No...maybe that's too soon :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Stylo

Pinkofagland ?

now there's analysis - well done FC !

Stylo wrote: »
    Pinkofagland ?

now there's analysis - well done FC !

Your welcome Pilo - when can we expect your next post - 2009 ? No - too soon hold off - a bit an do some analysis...no rush son.

First time I've given an infraction. Well deserved, Fulton Crown! :)

This thread is ripe for the locking, imho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Bard wrote: »
    First time I've given an infraction. Well deserved, Fulton Crown! :)

This thread is ripe for the locking, imho...

Doing it outside your own forum is generally considered bad form though.

But anyway.. please calm it down a bit Fulton Crown.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

Fair play Bard.I think it might have been fc's certain time of the month :D

While I believe the guy deserved it, I've apologised to monkeyfudge for overstepping my boundaries. First time using infractions,- didn't realise doing it outside your own forum wasn't "the done thing". Only did it 'cos I thought FC was out of order and the thread was pushed way too off topic by his offensiveness and ignorance. Hope we can get back on topic now.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 crashbangwollop

As a fan of good radio, I think it's about time 2fm and today fm got a run for their money. Although parts of their shows are amazing, the rest leaves a lot to be desired, there is where iradio fits in i think... tommy and hector chatting nonsense is exactly what's needed, pushing the boundaries is always good, some US, UK and aussie stations do it so why not ireland? fair play!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭real rocker

Interesting to see the different ideas as to what constitutes good presentation on radio.

In regard to the Navan duo I have never listened so would not comment on way or the other.

I am of the view,however,that good music radio should offer intelligent continuity between the tracks.Talk radio,on the other hand,should not be exclusively in the hands of big names as these are the very people least likely to engage with the specialist topics which should be discussed.

Morning Ireland has the big figures on the fact that good journalistic input is what our information reception Irish audience want and is not based on the celebrity cache of the presenting team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Tallspoon

If they want to be funny maybe they should try and be more like this....

http://www.comedy.org.uk/podcasts/collingsherrin/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

My main gripe about this show was they seem to put listener enjoyment dead last when presenting their show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭mcscrub

As an Irish language speaker myself, I used to be a fan of Hector.

But the thoughts of listening to him and Hector in the same studio scares the living SH*T out of me!

Comedy in my opinion is a difficult art to do well.

I do believe that the general public have now rumbled these clowns from Navan and recognised the fact that they are just not funny.

Corbett, Cooper, Connolly etc are masters of the comedy are and do not have to resort to the shouting and disrespect that Tiernan in particular has to employ.

Unfortunately while these clowns are "well got" on TV or radio and get air time from Kenny or Ryan to peddle their rubbish - the public can be decieved.

John Boland TV Critic in the Sindo is one of the few to see tham as they are - about as unfunny as a boil on the butt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Billy Connolly doesn't shout?

Quint wrote: »
    Billy Connolly doesn't shout?

Ummmmm....well maybe a little...but it's kinda intelligent shouting - not the inane sh1te that the Navan buckos get up with...fair do's Quint - I stand corrected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

While I believe the guy deserved it, I've apologised to monkeyfudge for overstepping my boundaries. First time using infractions,- didn't realise doing it outside your own forum wasn't "the done thing". Only did it 'cos I thought FC was out of order and the thread was pushed way too off topic by his offensiveness and ignorance. Hope we can get back on topic now.

not to labour the point, but please just report the post next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

tbh wrote: »
    not to labour the point, but please just report the post next time.

Unless Im missing summat very very subtle (have there been postings recently removed?) , it looks like the infraction incident in question happened almost 7 months ago?

balls. Apologies Bard, I thought it was a bit weird alright.

tbh wrote: »
    balls. Apologies Bard, I thought it was a bit weird alright.

Yeah, er... ok. Apology accepted.

(Aside, I wonder if Fulton Crown has ever actually LISTENED to the Tommy and Hector show... now he's got more of a chance as there's a second one... of it.)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

(Aside, I wonder if Fulton Crown has ever actually LISTENED to the Tommy and Hector show... now he's got more of a chance as there's a second one... of it.)

Fulton Crown's critique of TT and Hect is spot on. I'd go one step further and say he's listened to them too much!

TT and Hect only highlight the unsophisticated nature of popular entertainment in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

I find TT annoying, some mates dont see how i dont find him funny when i like D O'B......no similarity in my ears...:rolleyes:
    As for that Hector , i think that novelty has wore off a long time ago.....
    Dont get me started on Andrew Maxwell or Ed Byrne.........:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I could take a dump that would be funnier than Hector.

I do enjoy young Thomas though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Hi there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

How about that weather eh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Takestockholden

Sids Not wrote: »
    I find TT annoying, some mates dont see how i dont find him funny when i like D O'B......no similarity in my ears...:rolleyes:

They're quite similar in a lot of ways except Dara O'Briain is an unlikeable smug cnunt. Not to mention ferociously ugly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

They're quite similar in a lot of ways except Dara O'Briain is an unlikeable smug cnunt. Not to mention ferociously ugly.

Ah well then, that's him finished. Everyone knows that comedians have to be breathtakingly beautiful to be successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I dont have much time for TT as a comedian and i think hector is a bit of an arse, but absolutely loved this show! Use to listen to it every friday during the summer, have to say they had me in the knots a few times. Havent heard it since they came back on air though.

2fivers wrote: »
    Ah well then, that's him finished. Everyone knows that comedians have to be breathtakingly beautiful to be successful.

Yeah..that Tommy Tiernan is a real ride is'nt he,,,,,,,,,,:D:D:D:D

humberklog wrote: »
    Fulton Crown's critique of TT and Hect is spot on.

Actually, that's clearly a matter of opinion - and while you, and Fulton Crown are entitled to yours - you seem to be in the minority hjere.
    I'd go one step further and say he's listened to them too much!
    Somehow I doubt that.
    TT and Hect only highlight the unsophisticated nature of popular entertainment in Ireland.

I don't get it. Do comedians have to be 'sophisticated' to be funny or entertaining?

No? Didn't think so.

Actually, that's clearly a matter of opinion - and while you, and Fulton Crown are entitled to yours - you seem to be in the minority hjere.

Somehow I doubt that.

I don't get it. Do comedians have to be 'sophisticated' to be funny or entertaining?

No? Didn't think so.

well - slapstick doesn't work too well on the radio tho - there's obviously some level of sophistication required - everyone's expectations are different I guess. Which is basically what you're saying, I know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Well seeing as i started the thread I will give some input.

I used to enjoy the show.

It was a break from the norm, there was some good music that you wouldnt normally hear on daytime radio and you really would not know what to expect when listening to them.

Saying that I haven't listened in ages as the whole iRadio thing is naff to the extreme and hearing them put 'i' infront of everything has brought me to the point of mass radio jock murder on occassion

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Somehow I doubt that.

No? Didn't think so.
    Well I'm hardly going to give someone else's opinion and yes i am entitled to air it considering the open nature of the OP. Just on a quick finger poll I make it about 50/50 in the for and against stakes. (50/50 of people airing an opinion(hopefully their own!))

No, comedians don't need to be sophisticated. But ocassionally it would be a nice alternative. I use TT and Hect's popularity to highlight the broader thought that Irish comedy (nearly) always goes for BROAD. Killinaskully, Mrs. Brown, Leave it too Mrs O'Brien etc.etc. No comedy doesn't HAVE to be sophisticated but in Ireland does it always have to be un-sophisticated? I see TT and Hect's radio show as just that...lowest common denominator. Sure it's popular (50/50 by this count) but does that tell us more about us or them?

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭Singer73

I resemble the above comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭opa01_2000

I've not heard the radio show as yet but I think TT has run his course - shouting and getting more outrageous can only take him so far. Bit like Jonathan Ross who, when caught without a script along with Brand, was about as funny as a 12 year old.

As for Hector, I agree he's a one trick pony. Saw him on Tubridy loving the Irish language and singing along with John Spillane doing the Padraig Pearse song calling the Irish immigrants home to take part in the Easter Rising. The next day he was proclaiming his love for Man Yoo and his trips to OT. Something doesn't add up...

It's big Peter Kay for me boys - there's a funny man.

opa01_2000 wrote: »
    I've not heard the radio show as yet but I think TT has run his course - shouting and getting more outrageous can only take him so far. Bit like Jonathan Ross who, when caught without a script along with Brand, was about as funny as a 12 year old.

As for Hector, I agree he's a one trick pony. Saw him on Tubridy loving the Irish language and singing along with John Spillane doing the Padraig Pearse song calling the Irish immigrants home to take part in the Easter Rising. The next day he was proclaiming his love for Man Yoo and his trips to OT. Something doesn't add up...

It's big Peter Kay for me boys - there's a funny man.

99 post since 2006 ? but still spot on pall...hit the nail on the fookin head..Peter Kay is a funny man..streets....leagues ahead of the Navan loosers... but anyone with any noos knows that ;)

No? Didn't think so.[/QUOTE]

No....i agree but they DO have to be funny....

Agree about Peter Kay , but i think the "stardom" thing is getting to his head, Phoenix nights and his earlier stuff was brilliant but i didnt really like that Superstar X Factor........thing he did...

No....i agree but they DO have to be funny....

Agree about Peter Kay , but i think the "stardom" thing is getting to his head, Phoenix nights and his earlier stuff was brilliant but i didnt really like that Superstar X Factor........thing he did...

MMMM didn't see that X factor thing.....anything involving or even distantly related to that crud Cowel gets a wide berth from the Crown.

The stardom thing is an issue all right - hope he dosn't turn into as big a dick as the Tiernan fella....although on second thoughts that would be impossible :eek:

But Joe Public has finally rumbled him I'M pleased to say.....