Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland needs a national rock/metal/alternative station.

• 19-05-2008 12:23am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭

I know theres a lot of ye lads in Dublin who have a great choice of stations depending on what genre you want to listen to, great! Down here in the boglands of Tipperary my head is done in from all stations playing the exact same crap pop music all the time. For example what on my daily commute from Tipperary to Limerick i have a fantastic choice on my radio. Ive got..

Radio 1 - Snoozefest.
    2FM - Colm + Jub jub, grand but POP music.
    Radio Na Crapiolachta - Utter scutter.
    95FM - POP
    Lyric - POP
    Today FM - POP
    Beat - POP and awful awful DJ's
    Spin Southwest - POP
    Tipp FM - POP
    Newstalk - Grand

Ive had just about enough Britney Spears and co as i can take. Seriously, its all the same music on every station, we desperately need a national station like Kerrang or Q or XFM or something that isnt bloody pop!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Down with music Nazis!

I don't hold out much hope for your taste in music, or what constitutes good rock music if you have Colm and Jim Jim in the "Grand" category.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Ehhh Lyric doesn't play Britney Spears or any kind of pop. It tends to stick more to Beethoven, Bach, Mozart etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Amz wrote: »
    Down with music Nazis!

I don't hold out much hope for your taste in music, or what constitutes good rock music if you have Colm and Jim Jim in the "Grand" category.

Yeah, i probarbly meant it was only ok to listen, id say its the best of an bad bunch tbh, dempsey annoys me, he seems to get tick quite easily. Ever noticed he'll pick up on a text and will go all out to make an idiot out of the texter just beacuse they have a different opinion to him, really really annoys me.

Lyric, seriously now, who actually listens to that? I dont want to be hearing that on my way to Work, id like something that wont put me back to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

Ian Dempsey has said in interviews in the past that he picks out texters that are overly rude, arrogant or use foul language to embarrass. If he were to just pick texts that simply disagreed with him to have a go at, he'd be reading them out all morning (His words) .

Anyone who wastes time and money texting a DJ just to swear at him deserves to be made a fool of. I wouldn't consider it getting thick.

Anyway,
    FearDark wrote: »

Playgrounds all over the country are in awe of your Wildean wit.
    Lyric - POP.
    It is in it's arse. Unless Mantovanni has decided to produce the new Britney album.
    2FM - Colm + Jub jub, grand .

The unkind among us would probably say , that after endorsing Colm & Jim "Jim" , your opinion on radio is lessened in value, but I'd just say....that after endorsing Colm & Jim "Jim" , your opinion on radio is lessened in value.

Radio 1 - Snoozefest
    Newstalk - Grand.

I know opportunities are limited, but RTE1 (where there's some chance of hearing a bit of Lizzy, U2, Gallagher, Van, Taste, Hendrix, Clapton, Beatles etc come an evening) is a "snoozefest", yet Newstalk, where one can rock out to , em, George hook, is "Grand"?

Story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Agreed about Radio 1. They do sometimes play some great music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭TRSJ

Feardark,

Try asking the bci http://www.bci.ie/contact/index.html
    about your request/suggestion and see what they say.

TRSJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Lyric - POP

LOL :D

DAB (Digital Radio) and RTÉ 2XM might be a cure. Not metal, but alternative.

www.digitalradio.ie
    www.rte.ie/digitalradio/

Just to make clear, in Limerick the RTÉ national mux is available, but none of the Dublin stations.

Just to add, it is still offically in a "trial", but radios are available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

There IS a new classic rock station on its way - it's only at the license application stage (see here) and will unfortunately only cover Dublin and surrounding area.

Most 'specialist' stations tend to be local ones - and usually in the higher population areas, and that's unlikely to change.

It would be interesting to see a national rock station emerge, but I'd hardly call it something we 'desperately need'.

As an alternative for now, at least you can hear Phantom on the Internet - either on your computer or on an Internet/WiFi Radio, and Q, Kerrang and XFM are, I believe, on Sky Digital. Presumably the future Classic Rock station would also appear on the net or digital services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

I know theres a lot of ye lads in Dublin who have a great choice of stations depending on what genre you want to listen to, great! Down here in the boglands of Tipperary my head is done in from all stations playing the exact same crap pop music all the time. For example what on my daily commute from Tipperary to Limerick i have a fantastic choice on my radio. Ive got..

Radio 1 - Snoozefest.
    2FM - Colm + Jub jub, grand but POP music.
    95FM - POP
    Lyric - POP
    Today FM - POP
    Beat - POP and awful awful DJ's
    Spin Southwest - POP
    Tipp FM - POP
    Newstalk - Grand

Ive had just about enough Britney Spears and co as i can take. Seriously, its all the same music on every station, we desperately need a national station like Kerrang or Q or XFM or something that isnt bloody pop!!

Hi, we can't help you on your daily commute but you can tune into Phantom 105.2, Dublin online at www.phantom.ie (we have a 128K stream) or if you have access to Chorus Digital you can check us out on Channel 935. BTW we have a 2 hour metal show on Monday nights 8-10PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I strongly agree with the OP, maybe not his grading of the stations but the need for a rock/metal station.

I cant stand the radio (and most other media)

KH for dj :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭franglan

Can you get flirt fm in galway?

In my haste to classify the OP's grading system as utter bollix, I neglected to remember to agree with his underlying point, which is that a national rock station would indeed be welcome (if not essential) and that the upcoming Leinster area rock licence is a very good start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 eric the head

BrianD wrote: »
    Hi, we can't help you on your daily commute but you can tune into Phantom 105.2, Dublin online at www.phantom.ie (we have a 128K stream) or if you have access to Chorus Digital you can check us out on Channel 935. BTW we have a 2 hour metal show on Monday nights 8-10PM.

the metal show is quality !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

every single radio station that iv listened to in the last 4 years its complete crap!

its ALL pop music and then 1 or 2 70's songs or like 90's or whatever

dont they realise its not just little kids listening to them?
    can anyone explain how it ended up like this?

whats going on with 94.9 The rock i havent heard nothing since

and secondly

i like Today Fm withian Dempsey i find him funny and Amusing
    Ray has issues and alot of them
    and Ray and Jp and Adell are just classy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭fatgav

i don't see the need for the station proposed by the OP. with the internet you can listen to any station worldwide almost. no taste goes uncatered for. and national stations will only be set up per demand and there obviously isn't the demand for a dedicated station to this. plus, as some posters have alluded to, there are shows in this area on a lot of stations across the country so while you may not get it all day long, there are times when your tastes are catered for, which is more then can be said for some other genres of music.

whats going on with 94.9 The rock i havent heard nothing since

The deadline for applications for the new Dublin / Leinster area Rock licence is Friday 23rd May. The Rock 94.9 will be submitting an application.
    fatgav wrote:
    don't see the need for the station proposed by the OP. with the internet you can listen to any station worldwide almost

In fairness to the OP, he was referring to station choice available while commuting. Internet radio is of little benefit to him then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Radio Mad.

Playgrounds all over the country are in awe of your Wildean wit.

LOL, on both counts.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I'll agree with the OP, the current plethora of pop stations makes for head-wrecking morning radio. There's a reason so many people listen to ipods/mp3 players instead of radio, the radio is all the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

is there no ipod type thing that allows u to listen to the radio while commuting?

i know phones do it ..but u cant d/l podcasts into your phone or listen to stuff in england or whatever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Boardsbud

[quote=StonedParadoX;55993798

i know phones do it ..but u cant d/l podcasts into your phone or listen to stuff in england or whatever?[/quote]

...cos there's plenty of choice of the stations you're requesting in Engerland is it ? * They're always better than here !
    Afraid not, the commercial radio industry is just as bland over there, if not more so than here.
    The fact is if there was any commercial viability for a heavy rock / metal station, there'd be one. I'm sure there are hundreds of streaming stations around the world. Don't know how you go about downloading them to i-pod. Record to cassette off air maybe !!!!

*This is where I get contradicted and reminded of Planet Rock and Virgin etc but they hardly come near the description of what the OP is looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Radio|Man

Boardsbud wrote: »
    ...cos there's plenty of choice of the stations you're requesting in Engerland is it ? * They're always better than here !
    Afraid not, the commercial radio industry is just as bland over there, if not more so than here.
    The fact is if there was any commercial viability for a heavy rock / metal station, there'd be one. I'm sure there are hundreds of streaming stations around the world. Don't know how you go about downloading them to i-pod. Record to cassette off air maybe !!!!

*This is where I get contradicted and reminded of Planet Rock and Virgin etc but they hardly come near the description of what the OP is looking for.

http://stuff.tv/review/Roberts-Robi/ + 2XM = :D