Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raffle ideas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

Here is the reply I got via PM from Vexorg:

Sounds like a good idea and a bit of fun.

Mod for a day is a great idea, but perhaps too much power in the wrong persons hands, unless the user can be monitors he could go on a 4 am ban or delete post spree.

While I am not totally against the idea, it would require some thought.

An unbanned for free card sounds fun, however this may annoy some of the mods, so perhaps ask on the mod forum to see what the consensus is.

Custom avatar
    Change Nick
    Custom tag line
    Choose a smilie

Choose a forum to be created - this a a difficult one, happy in principle, however some forums will not be created just yet - eg the Drugs forum. As long as we have the final say.

A behind the scenes trip to boards.ie would be a hell of lot more boring than it sounds and I am not too sure how we would be fixed from an insurance point of view, we are being sponsored by Enterprise Ireland and it is their incubation space we are using, we would be happy to show someone around. If it were our space and our liability insurance, It would not be an issue and I would imagine by next year we will be able to do that.

Boards.ie policy has been not to favour particular charities or causes directly and we have had problems in the past. We will donate €300 to get the fund rolling.

If you have any other ideas let me know, have a think about how many of each type nicks, avatars forums etc you think would work and let me know so we can agree on the final numbers.

So you see we can have some things but not others. Any other suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

how much for the old roll eyes smiley back? I'll start the ball rolling with an offer of €50.

If you buy 10 tickets tbh, then if you win you might get it back! LOL

I would actually like to throw a few quid in, have you a paypal account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Very good/fair reply from Vex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

tbh wrote: »
    how much for the old roll eyes smiley back? I'll start the ball rolling with an offer of €50.

smiley_rolleyes.gif
    there ye are can i have me €50 that you offered:p

Alan Ford wrote: »
    smiley_rolleyes.gif
    there ye are can i have me €50 that you offered:p

no dice Ford!

DJ_Spider wrote: »
    Here is the reply I got via PM from Vexorg:

Sounds like a good idea and a bit of fun.

Mod for a day is a great idea, but perhaps too much power in the wrong persons hands, unless the user can be monitors he could go on a 4 am ban or delete post spree.

How about going ahead with the mod for a day as a prize, however attaching the condition that should you go ban happy/nuts with power during that day, you'll be sitebanned for a month. In accepting the prize, the winner would also have to accept this condition.
    Dj_Spider wrote:

While I am not totally against the idea, it would require some thought.

An unbanned for free card sounds fun, however this may annoy some of the mods, so perhaps ask on the mod forum to see what the consensus is.

Well it could be written into it that should you win it, it doesn't apply for bans given for posting porn/browser hi-jacking malware/etc.
    DJ_Spider wrote:

Custom avatar
    Change Nick
    Custom tag line
    Choose a smilie

Two of the first three and 1 of the last maybe?
    DJ_Spider wrote:
    Choose a forum to be created - this a a difficult one, happy in principle, however some forums will not be created just yet - eg the Drugs forum. As long as we have the final say.

Admins having final say sounds perfect and just stick the condition that the drugs forum does not apply/is not applicable to the prize.
    DJ_Spider wrote:
    A behind the scenes trip to boards.ie would be a hell of lot more boring than it sounds and I am not too sure how we would be fixed from an insurance point of view, we are being sponsored by Enterprise Ireland and it is their incubation space we are using, we would be happy to show someone around. If it were our space and our liability insurance, It would not be an issue and I would imagine by next year we will be able to do that.

Fair enough!
    DJ_Spider wrote:

Boards.ie policy has been not to favour particular charities or causes directly and we have had problems in the past. We will donate €300 to get the fund rolling.

This is cool. What should we do with the €300? It could be split into subscriptions, or just buy one or two "grand prizes"? Or just have the €300 as a prize in itself?

It's looking good so far anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

i have a good idea rb as the post says mod for a day,why not the real moderaters not mod on the day? and all subscribers be the mods for the day!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Rb wrote: »
    This is cool. What should we do with the €300? It could be split into subscriptions, or just buy one or two "grand prizes"? Or just have the €300 as a prize in itself?

I'd assumed it was just 300 towards SSF.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Rb wrote: »

It's looking good so far anyway!

I got the impression that the €300 would be towards the grand total raised on the night for SSF, rather than towards prizes.

But that's just my interpretation.

EDIT: Snap!

Sounds good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

tbh, you can send it to me either as a donation, or to purchase some tickets for the draw.

Click the sig for info.

If we can collate the prizes so graciously offered by our admin overlords, I'll add them to that thread.

Oh, and thanks to those who have purchased tickets already!

I'd be inclined to just throw the €300 into the pot myself as profit, but that's just my own two cents on it.

tbh, you can send it to me either as a donation, or to purchase some tickets for the draw.

Click the sig for info.

If we can collate the prizes so graciously offered by our admin overlords, I'll add them to that thread.

Oh, and thanks to those who have purchased tickets already!

I'd be inclined to just throw the €300 into the pot myself as profit, but that's just my own two cents on it.
    Yeah throwing the €300 into the grand total makes the most sense really. If it was used to buy prizes, an extra 60 tickets would have to be bought to even match the donation!

I agree with putting the €300 into the pot. Giving it as a prize or buying something would make the price of the tickets very good value! As much as we want people to buy them, at the end of the day we want to raise as much money as possible. If we put into the pot, then any money made on or before the night with ticket sales we can add up and it will look more impressive!

The ideas put forward for the virtual prizes sounds good. I will send a PM to Vex saying what we would like the following:

1) Mod for a day with the rule if you go banning everyone, or any other powerhungry behaviour, you will have a siteban for 1 month.

2) Unbanned free card, but not for pr0n/malware/viri/or any other kind of spamming

3) 2 X of each of Custom Avatar, Change Nick, Custom Tagline and 1 X Chose a smilie

4) Chose a forum, but no to the drugs one and Admins have final say

So there we have it! BTW how many tickets have been sold so far?

I think Vex was saying a tour isn't possible as yet.

Otherwise, this seems in keeping with his ideas.

DJS, you have PM.

fixed!

As is my sig and the link, thx gerky and rb.

So the final list of 'virtual' prizes is this:

1) Mod for a day with the rule if you go banning everyone, or any other powerhungry behaviour, you will have a siteban for 1 month.

2) Unbanned free card, but not for pr0n/malware/viri/or any other kind of spamming

3) 2 X of each of Custom Avatar, Change Nick, Custom Tagline and 1 X Chose a smilie

5) One year's sub to boards

6) One night in any Tramore accomodation listed on http://www.discovertramore.ie

7) Disco and/or Karaoke from Disco Royale (http://www.discoroyale.net)

Any more offers welcomed.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

DJ_Spider wrote: »
    So the final list of 'virtual' prizes is this:

5) One year's sub to boards

6) One night in a Tramore hotel frrom http://www.discovertramore.ie

7) Disco and/or Karaoke from Disco Royale (http://www.discoroyale.net)

Any more offers welcomed.

Doesn't have to be a hotel. Just any of the accommodation listed on Discover Tramore. :) Also, if someone can give suggestions on how we could add a meal to that without it getting to costly - fire away. It might be hard to get every restaurant agreeing on a special menu or watever.

Sully wrote: »
    Doesn't have to be a hotel. Just any of the accommodation listed on Discover Tramore. :)

That's a great prize tbh fair play for arranging it.

I think maybe we could ask some of the restuarants in Dublin for meals, and maybe a couple in Cork and Galway? I have edited the list. I hope we can get lots of tickets sold and make a good amount of cash! If this night is sucessful, we will try and do at least one more before having a final at Xmas.

BTW can someone with Mod staus ask the Mods if they are ok with this as asked by Vex:

'An unbanned for free card sounds fun, however this may annoy some of the mods, so perhaps ask on the mod forum to see what the consensus is.

Custom avatar
    Change Nick
    Custom tag line
    Choose a smilie:

Thread edited. Let me know if I missed anything.

I have not distinguished between online and offline prizes. I'm wondering if we need to?

In other words, just throw everything into the one pool?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Thread edited. Let me know if I missed anything.

I have not distinguished between online and offline prizes. I'm wondering if we need to?

In other words, just throw everything into the one pool?
    So long as you put the online ticket numbers in some physical form before selling at the evening.

eg if you sell 50 tickets online you would remove these from the book of raffle tickets being sold on the night before they go out.

I hope that I've explained that somewhat coherantly.

So long as you put the online ticket numbers in some physical form before selling at the evening.

eg if you sell 50 tickets online you would remove these from the book of raffle tickets being sold on the night before they go out.

I hope that I've explained that somewhat coherantly.

You have indeed. I meant to say that to DJS.

Yeah just use the same book of tickets or whatever.

I'm just back from the shops with two bottles of champagne from Roundy, and two bottles of white wine from myself and Pythia.

Now I just need to organise to get them over to someone who'll be at the event.

Fair play Rb, thanks for the help there :)

Edit: Updated accordingly, fine gaggle of prizes there now!

I will get a book of tickets tomorrow and remove a random amount of tickets. Not all in order, I will take them from different parts of the book. I will then send the numbers to Roundy. Thanks for the bottle rb, is it possible to give them to agent_smith? Or I could maybe meet you in Dublin one day next week?

Edit: Just got this reply from DeV:

Getting unbanned is a non runner but a few subscriptions (say, 3?) would allow people to do the things you wanted and we'll approve 3 forums too (within reason )

I've no problem organising a trip around the hosting centre and the office to let people see how small we really are: :):)

So I'm sorry Roundy, could you update the thread? I'll give you a list via PM if anything else comes up.

Also any response to the post in the Mod forum? or hasn't anyone done it yet! :eek:

Where abouts in Dublin do you live, Spider?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

3 forums!
    *ru ns to the nocturnals*