Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Transfer Rumours/Discussion 2008/2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

it is kind of funny in a rediculous sort of way! the pure arrogance of them "they should sell him to us.....it would make them really huge, you see if they lose their star player they will be better off" :rolleyes:

edit: if we do sell ronnie, we better have definates on a few other players.....sweinsteiger, villa, huntelaar, podolski and the likes (not saying all of them, they are just examples) we will need a replacement guaranteed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

That said, most Manu fans i have spoken to would be glad to see the back of him and cash in on him at this stage of his career. The main reason seems to be the disrespect with which he has treated Fergie, the club, but mostly the fans.

I'm in two minds about it. I don't like him anymore, I think he's been a ****er. He won't ever be a United legend now.

That said, he's an incredibly talented footballer and United are currenlty an incredibly good team. I don't want to mess that up. If we add a striker and keep our team as it is, IMO we are strong favorites for the league and the CL.
    Let's keep him. Players want to be mercanaries, lets treat them as such. He's under contract. Keep him for 2 years. Try to convince him to sign another contract. If he doesn't, sell him for a huge profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

pvt.joker wrote: »
    The arrogance of them absolutely disgusts me.

A truly sickening club.

+1 for that, absolute fu*kers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

PHB wrote: »
    I'm in two minds about it. I don't like him anymore, I think he's been a ****er. He won't ever be a United legend now.

That said, he's an incredibly talented footballer and United are currenlty an incredibly good team. I don't want to mess that up. If we add a striker and keep our team as it is, IMO we are strong favorites for the league and the CL.
    Let's keep him. Players want to be mercanaries, lets treat them as such. He's under contract. Keep him for 2 years. Try to convince him to sign another contract. If he doesn't, sell him for a huge profit.

Well, if he is never going to be a legend (:rolleyes:) he will be forever in the record books. Whos going to score 42 again? Let alone from the wing.

I cant believe how quickly everyone has turned on him, having never once said he's leaving. The argument is "Why didnt he just say he is staying?"

HE DID.

Every interview he did for 2 weeks after the Final he said "I love the fans, im staying." But everyone just decided to ignore that. Every single press conference asked him the same thing over and over so maybe he just said "If they wont listen, **** them."

Remember the "Ronaldo Out" brigade after he "betrayed" the club after the World Cup in 06? Same situation tbh.

"When the fans sing Viva Ronaldo, the Viva is portuguese, i love this, they make me feel like im at home. I love them for this." Disrespectful little swine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,710 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I wouldn't think he would give 2 shiny shítés wether he is regarded a United legend or not. The Lad is a 23 year old millionaire, the best footballer in the world and has a super model girlfriend, he is being courted by one of the biggest clubs out there and told he is wonderful at every opportunity. Not to mention the offer of doubling his salary and living in a city which is quite frankly not Manchester. He is a footballer not an engineer, it would be safe to suggest he isn't the sharpest, so I would give him the benefit of the doubt and put his supposed "treason" down to lack of tact.

United fans on here calling him every name under the sun, for him basically saying he is keeping his options open, is laughable but not surprising. A crime that is pale in comparsion to what Cantona, Ferdinand and even the Legend Keane got himself involved in over the years.

Reading in the paper today and on here "Ronaldo owes Ferguson, United, etc". Well he doesn't, he is a paid up member judging on his last 2 seasons 70 odd goals and few dozen assists and a major part in 3 trophies, and to add if he does go the 80+ million United will recieve.

If he does stay it will be interesting to read in 6 months time how much of a wánkér he is if he knocks a brace past the Scouse or the winner against Chelsea.

micky and boggles you are both spot on, and i genuinely believe that if and when he stays he will get a bit of stick (something i ddont agree with tbh) and then come out storming the PL again and all will be forgotten!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Boggles wrote: »
    I wouldn't think he would give 2 shiny shítés wether he is regarded a United legend or not. The Lad is a 23 year old millionaire, the best footballer in the world and has a super model girlfriend, he is being courted by one of the biggest clubs out there and told he is wonderful at every opportunity. Not to mention the offer of doubling his salary and living in a city which is quite frankly not Manchester. He is a footballer not an engineer, it would be safe to suggest he isn't the sharpest, so I would give him the benefit of the doubt and put his supposed "treason" down to lack of tact.

United fans on here calling him every name under the sun, for him basically saying he is keeping his options open, is laughable but not surprising. A crime that is pale in comparsion to what Cantona, Ferdinand and even the Legend Keane got himself involved in over the years.

Reading in the paper today and on here "Ronaldo owes Ferguson, United, etc". Well he doesn't, he is a paid up member judging on his last 2 seasons 70 odd goals and few dozen assists and a major part in 3 trophies, and to add if he does go the 80+ million United will recieve.

If he does stay it will be interesting to read in 6 months time how much of a wánkér he is if he knocks a brace past the Scouse or the winner against Chelsea.

Its hard to say this ;) but thats probably the best post ive read in this thread in a long time.
    Completely agree, Ronaldo doesnt owe United anything in fairness.
    He scored 42 goals last season, thats mindblowing.
    He should be begged to stayed not lambasted because his head is being
    turned by a club willing to double his wages.

ya see neil you say that now, but if he comes out next season, has a couple of absolute blinders and is scorin goals for fun you will probably not be able to help yourself!

my worry is that if (and when) the fans do boo him, he'll go into his petulant stroppy mood and just not play well at all! i know he got boo'd after the rooney wink incident but the united fans still cheered for him!

Ill cheer his goals but I wont sing the songs. I wont boo him either tho, boo-ing your own is not on no matter what. We're not Newcastle United.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

IrishMike wrote: »
    Its hard to say this ;) but thats probably the best post ive read in this thread in a long time.
    Completely agree, Ronaldo doesnt owe United anything in fairness.
    turned by a club willing to double his wages.

No club should BEG a player to stay, that's stupid.

They should ask him, only once, where he wants to play next season.

If he says United, fair enough, get on with it. Let the press say what the hell they want, let madrid say what the hell they want. Ronaldo doesn't need to make some "statement". If United ask him, and he tells them it's United he wants to play for, grand stuff.

If, on the other hand, he tells them Madrid, then tell him, right so, you can go to madrid, but we are putting a 50/60/70 million price on your head, if they cough it up, off you go, if they don't, then you'll be staying here. If you don't give 100%, we'll soon know, and your form will suffer, and you'll lose your place in the team.

IrishMike wrote: »
    turned by a club willing to double his wages

+1000000000000000000000000000000000
    Ill cheer his goals but I wont sing the songs. I wont boo him either tho, boo-ing your own is not on no matter what. We're not Newcastle United.

ha ye ur right but there will be people boo'ing him (i really hope im wrong) so tell me whats gonna be the new number 1 song sung in old trafford next season?!

Pathetic.

Manchester United do not beg players to play for them.

Never have, never will.

so tell me whats gonna be the new number 1 song sung in old trafford next season?!
    Who cares tbh?

I like

Anderson-son-son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

DesF wrote: »
    Pathetic.

Never have, never will.

There is no player bigger than the club . NO PLAYER

DesF wrote: »
    Pathetic.

Never have, never will.

i think my +10000000 was misinterpreted, i meant to highlight the fact that he shouldnbt be lambasted, i mean lets be honest he can be a petulant little fcuk so if utd fans are boo'in him he wont care and we may not see performances from him, and if that happens a big part of the team will suffer, but id say SAF will give him a clip arounf the ear.....or a boot to the face!!

ha ye ur right but there will be people boo'ing him (i really hope im wrong) so tell me whats gonna be the new number 1 song sung in old trafford next season?!

Andersons song obviously FTW!

i think we may hear "viva john terry" being sung around the ground next year a fair bit!

Yea id say so!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 493 ✭✭Kildarered

Owen Hargreaves song :cool:

Kildarered wrote: »
    Owen Hargreaves song :cool:

he has a song?

pfft.

What kind of "fan" doesn't know all the songs?

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

he has a song?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PuG0mJC2k4Y

Oh Owen Hargreaves
    You are the love of my life
    Oh Owen Hargreaves
    I'd let you shag my wife
    Oh Owen Hargreaves
    I want curly hair too! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

So Brazils Olympic squad has been announced so its now confirmed that we will be missing Anderson for the start of the season. Although it is bad news for the club to not have him around. Do you think it is anyway beneficial for him to go in terms of his development as a player? Ronaldinho, Robinho, Jo, Lucas, Pato all going as well.

Almost certain that CQ is going now, looks like Rene Meulenstenn was the one helping our around training yesterday. I know someone on hear was talking about him as a possibility to step in(up) before. Could have been called spot on.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

So Brazils Olympic squad has been announced so its now confirmed that we will be missing Anderson for the start of the season. Although it is bad news for the club to not have him around. Do you think it is anyway beneficial for him to go in terms of his development as a player? Ronaldinho, Robinho, Jo, Lucas, Pato all going as well.

Almost certain that CQ is going now, looks like Rene Meulenstenn was the one helping our around training yesterday. I know someone on hear was talking about him as a possibility to step in(up) before. Could have been called spot on.

Seems like Milan aren't letting Kaka go to the Olympics ,wonder how they got away with that :confused: Anderson will be a loss especially with Ronaldo probably missing the start as well (if I remember right Utd have a tough enough start to the season)

http://www.sportinglife.com/others/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=others/08/07/08/OLYMPICS_Soccer_Overview.html

However, AC Milan midfielder Kaka will not be after the Rossoneri decided not to allow him to play in the tournament - much to the player's disappointment.
    He said: "I did everything I possibly could so that I could play at the Olympics.
    "I made myself available. However, AC Milan have decided otherwise, and I have accepted it."

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Seems like Milan aren't letting Kaka go to the Olympics ,wonder how they got away with that :confused: Anderson will be a loss especially with Ronaldo probably missing the start as well (if I remember right Utd have a tough enough start to the season)

http://www.sportinglife.com/others/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=others/08/07/08/OLYMPICS_Soccer_Overview.html

However, AC Milan midfielder Kaka will not be after the Rossoneri decided not to allow him to play in the tournament - much to the player's disappointment.
    He said: "I did everything I possibly could so that I could play at the Olympics.
    "I made myself available. However, AC Milan have decided otherwise, and I have accepted it."

I don't know if this is true but maybe clubs are allowed block the over age players. Nothing the clubs can do about the underage players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,444 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

We will only be missing Anderson for the first couple of league games, it shouldn't be too much of a problem, assuming Scholes, Carrick and Hargreaves are fit.

I was bigging up Meulenstenn last week or so, on here, as my No. 1 choice if promoting fro within. So hoepfully he would get it ahead of Phelan and McClair, who I don't really trust in the role.

Laurent Blanc has been mentioned and I reckon he would be a fantastic choice. Doubt he would take the role though, he is doing quite well for himself as a Number 1, so why would he?

Tauren wrote: »
    We will only be missing Anderson for the first couple of league games, it shouldn't be too much of a problem, assuming Scholes, Carrick and Hargreaves are fit.

I was bigging up Meulenstenn last week or so, on here, as my No. 1 choice if promoting fro within. So hoepfully he would get it ahead of Phelan and McClair, who I don't really trust in the role.

Laurent Blanc has been mentioned and I reckon he would be a fantastic choice. Doubt he would take the role though, he is doing quite well for himself as a Number 1, so why would he?

I know its only a couple of games and we should be grand. I was more thinking about how it would affect him for the rest of the season. He looked tired last year towards the end of the season, I knew this was down to suffering a broken leg the season before, and not getting a full pre-season, and being pushed into first team action earlier than expected while playing well enough to keep his spot for a while to. Was kind of hoping he would get a good pre-season at the club and be eased into this season.

I knew someone was talking about Rene. You should have hit the bookies. I don't know enough about him to comment.

Maybe Blanc would see it as a step towards getting a role in a more competitive league? Fergie always talked very highly of him both during and after his time at Utd.

I know Martin Jol was doing a good job in Holland before becoming number 2 at Spurs to Santini, so the type of move is not unheard of, I would just find it a little odd if Blanc did take the role - considering he was being seriously talked about for the Barcelona job this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I know Martin Jol was doing a good job in Holland before becoming number 2 at Spurs to Santini.

I think I Remember Fergie saying he went for the number 2 position at United before

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Oh Owen Hargreaves
    You are the love of my life
    Oh Owen Hargreaves
    I'd let you shag my wife
    Oh Owen Hargreaves
    I want curly hair too! :cool:

aaaaah ye i know that song!

i am genuinely disapointed and nervous that CQ is leaving! big movie for him and deserved aswell but tis a loss for utd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

If Carlos goes who'll get his job? A certain mr.cantona perhaps!?:)
    Or maybe Mike Phelan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

Trilla wrote: »
    I think I Remember Fergie saying he went for the number 2 position at United before

He did yeh. CQ got the nod ahead of him

If Carlos goes who'll get his job? A certain mr.cantona perhaps!?:)
    Or maybe Mike Phelan?

Very little chance of Cantana getting it.

I say the options within the club are Brian McClair, Mike Phealan, or Rene Meulensteen, with Ole as an outside bet although with him just taking the reserve coaching job I doubt it.

Outside the club, well it could be anyone really. I never heard of CQ before he joined Utd. Blanc has been mentioned as a possibility.

Very little chance of Cantana getting it.

I say the options within the club are Brian McClair, Mike Phealan, or Rene Meulensteen, with Ole as an outside bet although with him just taking the reserve coaching job I doubt it.

Outside the club, well it could be anyone really. I never heard of CQ before he joined Utd. Blanc has been mentioned as a possibility.

Ayerestan, the former Liverpool number 2 would be another option. Seems very much like CQ from what i have been told, though he is a coach at Benfica now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

CQ will beas hard to replace a Keane. This will be a tough season without him but "In Fergie I Trust".

http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2008/07/08/how_will_ferguson_manage_witho.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

If Carlos goes who'll get his job?
    Or maybe Mike Phelan?

Terry Phelan :eek:

Rene Meulensteen.
    He flopped in Denmark with Brondby, but then again didnt CQ. He good be a shout, he has a cool enough name anyway for the role lol :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rene_Meulensteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Blanc has been mentioned as a possibility.

Isn't blanc manager of bordeaux? Doubt he'd give up to come as a number 2. Fergie has a good record of picking quality coaches. Have faith:-)

Promote from within I think. McClair up to assistant. Let Cantona come in and be a coach, that'd be nice.

Start of the season is looking troublesome, with Nani Ronaldo and Anderson all out.

sprinkles wrote: »
    Isn't blanc manager of bordeaux?

No.

I am.

Killme00 wrote: »
    CQ will beas hard to replace a Keane. This will be a tough season without him but "In Fergie I Trust".

http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2008/07/08/how_will_ferguson_manage_witho.html

Harder IMO.
    Sizzler wrote: »
    Terry Phelan :eek:

What?
    Sizzler wrote: »
    He flopped in Denmark with Brondby, but then again didnt CQ. He good be a shout, he has a cool enough name anyway for the role lol :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rene_Meulensteen

Supposed to highly thought of within the club both by the coaching staff and the players.
    sprinkles wrote: »
    Isn't blanc manager of bordeaux? Doubt he'd give up to come as a number 2. Fergie has a good record of picking quality coaches. Have faith:-)

I have faith. Although CQ has become a lot more than an assistant/coach. Yes Blanc is manager of Bordeaux as I said previously he might see it as step towards getting a number one job in a bigger league. Fergie always talked very highly of him.
    Promote from within I think. McClair up to assistant. Let Cantona come in and be a coach, that'd be nice.

Start of the season is looking troublesome, with Nani Ronaldo and Anderson all out.

Not sure if McClair would be right, I think Fergie would want someone with more experience of world football.

What makes you think Cantana would be a good coach?

He has an incredible understanding of the game and perfect technique. Not much else you can ask for starting out as a coach.

The Barnsley Manager Simon Davey has also been mentioned today, I mean FFS.

Dont be surprised if Fergie promotes within AND also goes and gets a foreign coach elsewhere out of leftfield.

Davey and Martinez were both mentioned as two young up and coming championship managers that fergie could be looking to, i'm not convinced there is any real merit in the story.

I would say Rene is favourite if promoting from within.

The telegraph is pushing Pako Ayesteran:

http://www.tribalfootball.com/article.php?id=101374
    Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson could stun bitter rivals Liverpool by making Pako Ayesteran his new assistant manager.

The Telegraph says the former Liverpool coach, now working at Benfica, is in line to succeed Carlos Queiroz once his deal to become Portugal's new coach is closed.

Ferguson is keen to recruit an assistant manager with an established network of continental contacts.
    I have read, a good few times now, that Fergie is basically looking for another CQ - a contenintal type with ideas different to the conventional english mentality, and a network of contacts accross europe, as CQ had. If that is true, i would imagine McClair and Phelan are out of the running. Would possibly put Rene out of the running too, as I'm not sure what his contacts list would look like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Davey and Martinez were both mentioned as two young up and coming championship managers that fergie could be looking to, i'm not convinced there is any real merit in the story.

I would say Rene is favourite if promoting from within.

The telegraph is pushing Pako Ayesteran:

http://www.tribalfootball.com/article.php?id=101374

I have read, a good few times now, that Fergie is basically looking for another CQ - a contenintal type with ideas different to the conventional english mentality, and a network of contacts accross europe, as CQ had. If that is true, i would imagine McClair and Phelan are out of the running. Would possibly put Rene out of the running too, as I'm not sure what his contacts list would look like.

I agree. CQ was clearly very clever tactically, but what made him really valuable was his contacts in Portugal. The way world football is going you need to know about the next Ronaldo/Messi/Kaka before anyone else, and CQ was very handy for that (eg Ronaldo and Anderson). I've only heard Brian McClair mentioned, but I'd be surprised if it wasn't someone from continental Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/08/07/08/SOCCER_Huntelaar.html#

AJAX PLAY DOWN HUNTELAAR LINK

Ajax insist they have heard nothing from Arsenal concerning a possible bid for Klaas-Jan Huntelaar.

The Dutch striker has been linked to both the Gunners and Manchester United over the past week after scoring 33 goals for his club last season, although Ajax have vowed to fight any attempt to take him from Amsterdam ArenA.

"We really don't want him to leave and we are going to do everything we can to make sure he doesn't," said Ajax's acting managing director Henri van der Aat.

"There has been no contact with Arsenal."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Interesting read http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/7494673.stm

We don't have much except for the same Ronnie story(sick of it!)

But then Russian star Andrei Arshavin will cost any club wishing to sign him from Zenit St Petersburg a total of £41.5m in transfer fees and wages. (Daily Telegraph)

hmmm a lot tbh... I reckon no one would want him now

£41.5 million!?!?! :eek: wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Me b*llix any club would pay that much for a 27 year old unheard of player based on 3 matches (2 of which were good) in the Euros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

From the article below, off topic but funny:

"New Chelsea boss Luiz Felipe Scolari was intrigued when he walked into the dressing room at the club's training ground on his first day in charge and found a game of darts going on - he had only ever seen the game being played on TV before. (The Sun) "

Big Phil, If ever there was a manager that looked like a darts player.....he even has a darts player name.