Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Most Exciting Young Prospects For 2008/2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

young Sinclair at Chelsea ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Carlos Vela, Arsenal

best youtube vid i could find, not great quality

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9409c1t9XMc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Kriztian Nemeth. Turned 19 in January and has had a terrific season in the Liverpool reserves. Most Liverpool fans expect him to make the step up to the first team next season. Hard to say how good he will be because the reserve league is a much lower level but he certainly looks a talent.

Scored 9 goals in 5 apperances for Hungary U19s & 7 goals in 6 apperances for the U21s. He finished as Liverpools top scorer in the reserves this year with 8 goals from 9 apperances. He was named Liverpools reserve team player of the year 07/08.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5jAl_73BE-Y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

kryogen wrote: »
    Carlos Vela, Arsenal

FM legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Pato FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Trilla wrote: »
    young Sinclair at Chelsea ?

Saw a bit of him at Palace this season where he was on loan. Has a fair bit to go from what I seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Death or Glory

Fabian Delph - Leeds

Thomas Pekhart- Tottenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Luis Suarez - 21 years old - Ajax

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgUn4RrL9Ic

Ivan Rakitic - 20 years old - Schalke (One to watch in Euro 2008 so they say)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pt_uB_ZvDME

And just to cheer ourselves up...

Owen Garvan - 20 years old - Ipswich Town

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5euMLJrtZgc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Trilla wrote: »
    FM legend

+1, lol, same goes for Bojan + Dos Santos.

Regarding Sinclair, Lloyd is right, hes not up there with the rest of em and seems to have a fair bit to do. Also, he wont get the same opportunities at Chelsea as he could at say Arsenal for example

EDIT: Although with a few players looking like they will leave the club, who knows

Sergio Agüero - Athletico Madrid. 19 year old from Argentina.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CzHI0rA6Bto

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Miralem Pjanic, 17, club next season to be decided - probably Lyon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Tusky wrote: »
    Sergio Agüero - Athletico Madrid. 19 year old from Argentina.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CzHI0rA6Bto

To be fair he was one to watch this season already, possibly the season before, serious talent this guy has!! one of my favorite players in the Spanish league at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Fair play to Aguero, last season I thought he was to light weight but he has really excelled this season.

For me though Benzema looks like the best young CF in the world.

kryogen wrote: »
    To be fair he was one to watch this season already, possibly the season before, serious talent this guy has!! one of my favorite players in the Spanish league at the mo

Well hes still only 19 but I take your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Aguero is without doubt the most exciting young forward in the world at the moment... Atletico don't miss Torres at all, infact, they've been much better without him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

What about that Ramsay dude at Cardiff, isn't he on his way to ManU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Thomas Pekhart- Tottenham

Unlikely to make the step up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

James McCarthy: Hamilton and Ireland.

Should have a few chances to see him next season considering ''Accies'' got promoted.

Here is a pretty non-evidentful clip of him in action vs Italy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VQFntkgb0g

James McCarthy: Hamilton and Ireland.

Should have a few chances to see him next season considering ''Accies'' got promoted.

Here is a pretty non-evidentful clip of him in action vs Italy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VQFntkgb0g

Yeah looking forward to seeing this guy in action. I read that he signed a contract with Hamilton for the next few years which I think is wise as I'd hate to see him get snapped up by a big club and just rot in the reserves. Hopefully he can get some experience under his belt in the SPL and maybe then move on next season if Hamilton go back down again.

Seriously him and the Connor Clifford guy at Chelsea are the players I'm really banking on making it. Obviously with McGeady and even Garvan.

I agree about McCarthy...theres no point going to down to Liverpool in the reserves with people like Danny Guthrie and the likes.

I think I posted this quote before about Luka Modric saying after playing playing in the Bosnian League he could play in any other league in the world.

This is what I invision the SPL will do for McCarthy...if he can cut it with the brainless hacks of the SPL at 17 then there is no telling what he could achieve.

I want him to play for another season with Hamilton and then hopfully be signed up by Celtic(Rangers won't buy him), get some Champions League experience and look to be getting out of Scotland at 21....

Perhaps if we make it, he could get into the world cup 2010 team, and that could act as the proverbial shop window for him. (Is that even a proverb? Maby more of a cliché)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

If you're talking about Irish youths Robbie Brady is another one. He's with United and has already played a few reserve matches.

Thanks was that the guy with Kevins?

That's the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Anderson.

Great season this year, hopefully more games and goals next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Anderson.

I can see himself and Hargreaves cementing themselves as first choice central midfield pairing :)

Lucas.

He wasn't great last season but he was adapting to the Prem. Hopefully we'll see more of him next year and he will have adapted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Anderson.

He had a fantastic season for a 19 year old. He played like an experienced player of 25-30. He adapted to the English game immediatly. Imagine what he could do over the next few seasons. Very exciting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Theo Walcott.

Now before everyone says 'WTF?!!?' just remember he had a great finalé to the end of the season. If he can keep up the form for next season he could be a leading Premier League star.

Here's another one. Stevan Jovetic, 18 years old...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5To73oF9TZY

I remember him being linked with United at one point as he was top scorer in the Serbian league. Fiorentina snapped him up this month for £5m from Partizan Belgrade. The bad news from an Irish perspective is that he plays for Montenegro. Wikipedia says he captained their U-21 side aged just 17.

Will be interesting to see how he gets on as clearly a lot of people think he's pretty special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

the second this chap believes he's good enough...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5OxMLG-GChs&feature=related

21, so still young enough to be young

Forgot about Danny Welbeck at Man United. Just 17 I think. Voted young player of the year at the club. I saw him in a match earlier in the year where he missed a peno, but played pretty well despite that. Here he is scoring a hat-trick against Man City reserves...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mkry_7yJsVc

Perhaps he'll feature in a few games next season. Looks a very good player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

DesF wrote: »
    What about that Ramsay dude at Cardiff, isn't he on his way to ManU?
    There's been reports of him going to a handful of different clubs at this stage. A couple of weeks ago Liverpool had supposedly bid 3m for him and a few days later Utd had supposedly offered 5m for him. Have seen a few other teams linked to him too iirc. Defo sounds like he will move this seaon but where to is far from clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Noel Haverty Midfield/centre back St pats and Ireland under everything :D

19 now played a couple of 1st team games this season as right back, been playing 2 years ahead of his age for ireland for last few years.

Its his uncle for the old arsenal fans on here ;)

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

KdjaCL wrote: »
    Noel Haverty Midfield/centre back St pats and Ireland under everything

lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Surprised nobody has mentioned Daniel Sturridge yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Arda Turan - Galatasaray - 21

One way or another this chap will end up in the prem next season. Hopefully the Toon can nick him by tempting Galatasaray with Emre, but I have a feeling the Spuds may nick this one on us as well.

(fast forward to 3.08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Galvasean wrote: »
    Theo Walcott.

Now before everyone says 'WTF?!!?' just remember he had a great finalé to the end of the season. If he can keep up the form for next season he could be a leading Premier League star.

Agree, he's going to bigger than all these guys..

Diego capel Sevilla left winger, soon to spurs.

Imagine ronaldo when he had no direction, full of tricks with no end product well thats this guy but faster much much faster :D

bascially hes a fast headless chicken with an abundance of skill, if coached right this guy could be the left sided messi but faster.
    DesF wrote: »
    lol

Have faith, this guy is the best player to ever come from St Pats(inc Mc grath having seen them both at the same age for pats i can make that call :D). If he goes abroad and it works out for him fair balls to him but he is class and his international record so far proves that. odd tho none of your lot figured out who is uncle was and how great he was for your lot.

kdjac

He sounds fast.

hunter164 wrote: »
    He sounds fast.

Hes like WHOOOOSSSSHHHHHH fast!

Would prefer he stayed but Sevilla will cash in and find another just as good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmIheDWHf08&feature=related

lol wtf?

eze translate?

kdjac

Yeah I really like the Capel on the left, Navas on the right combo at Sevilla at the minute.

Onuoha & Sturridge @ City deserve a mention.

FAO Arsenal Fans, I heard great things about a young Spanish guy at your team a while back. Not much since. Think his name is Merida?

Francisco Merida?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

KdjaCL wrote: »
    Hes like WHOOOOSSSSHHHHHH fast!

He's not that fast, Sagna and Clichy for example had no problem at all with his pace when they took him on, Walcott makes him look pedestrian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

alexis sanchez
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=PLCBnWClwmE&feature=related

aaron niguez
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=ECAbWX-M6ZQ

alexander prudnikov,Spartak moscow striker,18 year old

Breno,central defender at Bayern
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=EYsc3VQ3Rqw

toni kroos
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=3k9B2DgyDXg&feature=related

fran merida
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=7x2gg7CsZuM&feature=related

theres so many others.
    Angel Di Maria
    Ever Banega
    Henri Saivet
    Carlos Vela
    Macauley Chrisantus
    I also really like Insua at Liverpool.No idea how he doesnt start for them.Better than any of their left backs

Although,most arent exactly young in terms of this thread,ye should watch the Chilean side in the Toulon Youth Festival,particularly Lorca and Orellana(spelling)

hunter164 wrote: »
    Francisco Merida?

Ja

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    He's not that fast, Sagna and Clichy for example had no problem at all with his pace when they took him on, Walcott makes him look pedestrian

You got that from the 60 minutes he played vs Arse in the emirates in a 3-0 whomping due to unfortunate events? **** me you should be a career writer. please do tell us in your 60 minutes of watching him what do you think he will do ? will he play for spain? will he play for sevilla week in week out ? will he develop?

kdjac

To be fair, he's fast but comparing his skill or skill potential to Messi is absurd.

armour87 wrote: »
    To be fair, he's fast but comparing his skill or skill potential to Messi is absurd.

lol

How so ? he as has one foot just like messi, he can turn anyone inside out just like messi (only difff is Messi is left footed and turns inside everytime). I watch both every week(sevilla fan) they are both wingers and damn good ones. when Messi was blooded at barca he was no different to capel he ****ed up a lot and went on mad runs thinking he could beat anyone, he was coached out of it Capel needs that coach but based on pure skill and ability Capel and messi are not that far apart. Also Capel made his 1st team debut this season.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Lucas Trecarichi(Argentina,Sevilla)

born February 12, 1991