Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish Football Monday & Tuesday...Cracking Matches

• 25-05-2008 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭

Monday

26 May 19:45 Galway Utd vs Cobh Ramblers
    26 May 19:45 Sporting Fingal vs Waterford Utd

Tuesday
    27 May 19:45 Cork City vs Shamrock Rovers
    27 May 19:45 Drogheda Utd vs Sligo Rovers
    27 May 19:45 U.C.D. vs Bray Wanderers
    27 May 20:00 Finn Harps vs Derry City
    27 May 20:00 St Patrick's Athletic vs Bohemians Live on Setanta

Some great games there if you are looking for something to do this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Meh, I'll just watch on tv.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

91201_w0_24_VDu_die_blac_red_1962_VW_Bus.jpg

Bohs in training ahead of tuesdays game :D

Reckon we will go 352

Ryan
    Brennan Harris paisley
    Lynch Fahey Ndo Dempsey Byrne
    Quigs O neill

Or 442

Ryan
    Lynch Harris Paisley Byrne
    Guy Fahey Dempsey Kirby/Ndo
    Quigs O Neil

Partridge fit for selection but doubt he will start.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Live on Setanta

:(

Thats both Pats games and Drogs away Im stuck watching on TV.
    Great to see set piece athletic fans giving out about other teams playing defensively. We cant afford to lose so Id settle for a 0-0 borefest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Pats are showing all the signs of champions. :(

Late goals in last 3/4 games.

So do we, late winners while not playing very well against Cork Galway and Drogheda off the top of my head in the last few weeks.

So have Bohs last few games seemingly other teams deserved something. We will score more than everyone else just have to hope we start keeping clean sheets again. 4 of the 7 goals we conceded were sloppy :D

kdjac

And Pats have a few more players to come back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

I'm bringing my brother to the Pats match on Tuesday...
    It's my 1st ever LoI match! If its a good match Pats could have a few new fans!

Should be a tense atmosphere if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

lol @ bohs fans at end of Galway Utd game (which was sh!t !)

"bring on the junkies"

ah i dunno, people these days

Trilla wrote: »
    lol @ bohs fans at end of Galway Utd game (which was sh!t !)

"bring on the junkies"

ah i dunno, people these days
    It's a nickname SPA have had for yonks tbh.

DesF wrote: »
    It's a nickname SPA have had for yonks tbh.

I know, anyone that walks that direction can see why! Just found it funny all the same.

btw Des were you watching the CL final in Sinnots? You didnt hear the "howya lady" near the end of the bar shouting out that rather not nice comment about Lamps Mother? Half the pub heard it....disgraceful!

I know, anyone that walks that direction can see why! Just found it funny all the same.

btw Des were you watching the CL final in Sinnots? You didnt hear the "howya lady" near the end of the bar shouting out that rather not nice comment about Lamps Mother? Half the pub heard it....disgraceful!

some bird shouted out "Glad your Ma is dead ya cnut" when Lampard fouled someone. Half the pub was in shock....

Anyway, Bohs to topple Pats on Tuesday

some bird shouted out "Glad your Ma is dead ya cnut" when Lampard fouled someone. Half the pub was in shock....
    Didn't hear it, although I was stood just a bit back from the screen near the jacks.

Meh.

Reckon SPA will take Bohs myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Pat's favourites all right.
    Joxer, Cronin, Powell, O'Donnell all out or doubtful. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

SectionF wrote: »
    Joxer, Cronin, Powell, O'Donnell all out or doubtful. :eek:

What about Paul Osam.:D*

*What was that hole Osam is doubtful about anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

What about Paul Osam.:D*

*What was that hole Osam is doubtful about anyway?

During his later years Osam became (more) injury prone and so was always carrying an injury of sorts for a few seasons pracitcly every match preveiw had x is fit x in injured and Osam is doubtful
    It was so common in became a running joke and there was a short lived fanzine named Osamisdoubtful

Joe Duffy is talking about an "incident" at Dorset Street, in which Shams fans were attacked on a Bus Eireann bus, on theor way back from Drogheda.

The chairman of Rovrs was on complaining that a group of youths from around the Dorset Street area continually targetted Rovers fans like this.

Anyone know the real, non-Liveline, story?

Joe Duffy is talking about an "incident" at Dorset Street, in which Shams fans were attacked on a Bus Eireann bus, on theor way back from Drogheda.

The chairman of Rovrs was on complaining that a group of youths from around the Dorset Street area continually targetted Rovers fans like this.

Haven't heard the Bus Eireann story, but I know the one that happens every week on Dublin Bus if you want that.:D I'll try find out the Bus Eireann one though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Guessing this is a typical piece on the EL without the proper facts. Think this is the story of what happened on Friday night after the game in Tolka. Supposedly a 41 was attacked, tyres slashed and the Bohs 'hooligans' jumped on the bus and went for the Rovers 'hooligans' on the top deck of the bus. Supposedly bus seats were ripped out and thrown out the window as well.

Think a few Rovers fans mention it on the weekend thread on foot.ie, santryred has it about right but no mention of the rovers fans being hooligans or what team the attackers support.

bohsman wrote: »
    Think a few Rovers fans mention it on the weekend thread on foot.ie, santryred has it about right but no mention of the rovers fans being hooligans or what team the attackers support.

I think it may have been the Rovers forum that said it was there 'hooligan' group.

Happens nearly every week after Rovers games. It started off with a Bohs "fan" would stand out on front of the bus to stop it and then all hell would break out. But recently the Bohs "fans" have been running down towards Parnell Sq or O'Connell St, run on the bus. SantryRed is right about both sets of fans being schooligans.

This season it's been getting serious though, organised fights, people being hospitalised and a car load of Bohs "fans" going up to Crumlin and beating a Rovers schooligan to a pulp.

well hopefully they get sick of it soon seeing as theyre barred from dalymount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭albertw

This was on Joe Duffy today. (34mins in the link below) A woman called in who was on the bus in from swords to the city centre when the bus was attacked. (52min) Shamrock Rovers Chairman Jonathan Roche explains the situation, including his frustration that this continues regularly and nothing is done about it.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/player_av.html?0,null,200,http://dynamic.rte.ie/quickaxs/209-rte-liveline.smil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

jaysus ramblers actually won a game last night..

city and shamrock tonight, could be great, could be crap, i'll go with a city win.

albertw wrote: »
    This was on Joe Duffy today. (34mins in the link below) A woman called in who was on the bus in from swords to the city centre when the bus was attacked. (52min) Shamrock Rovers Chairman Jonathan Roche explains the situation, including his frustration that this continues regularly and nothing is done about it.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/player_av.html?0,null,200,http://dynamic.rte.ie/quickaxs/209-rte-liveline.smil
    Of course something will be done about it. The geniuses who carry out what passes for event policing in this state will do combined years in overtime in Dalymount Park, glaring and smirking at ordinary decent Bohs fans and members who have banned these people from their ground and whose club pays good money to keep them out.
    Then they will write in the Garda Review how it takes more bodies to police a routine game at a Dalymount full of vicious criminals than it does to cover all of Croke Park when it's packed to the rafters with God-fearing Gaels, so that the national press pick up on it and repeat it as if it were gospel.
    Then they'll snigger and tune in to the Sunday Game to watch their heroes beat seven shades of savagery out of each other.
    And the boys in Dorset Street will carry on, delighted. Then someone will get frightened, or hurt, or both. Then someone will go on Liveline...
    Everybody, or everybody who counts in this circus, will be happy.

By the way, did we mention that there are some football games on tonight?

Thinking of heading out to Pats Bohs but might just settle watching it on the box with the way the weather is.

Can't see it being very exciting either to be honest.

Hate to be the Bohs fans being put out in the open.:D

SantryRed wrote: »
    Thinking of heading out to Pats Bohs but might just settle watching it on the box with the way the weather is.

ditto. samsung 32inch, illegal tv and a ham sandwich sounds better then goin out to Inchy tonight

Can't see it being very exciting either to be honest.

Hate to be the Bohs fans being put out in the open.:D
    Always enjoy the trip to Richmond. Good atmosphere, even though they've been trying to mess it up by sticking us in the open.

Shams tried the same wheeze last time in Tolka. Didn't work, as ONYD can confirm ;) but we can take anything after that soaking.

wow, didnt realise our record in Inchicore was that good, 6wins and 2 draws from the last 8 games.

Pretty decent match, seen 3 out of the 5 Bohs fans I know on TV before the match haha.

We are top of the league! :D

lost 20 quid on the draw but delighted it was Bohs that won

I was wrong i hold my hand up.

MB716c.jpg

They brought this colour bus today.

Offside goal but meh we had all the ball but **** all shots on target. Well done bohs... top of the league.....slow clap in appreication for your style of foo..hoofball...clap............ clap.................. clap.

A team that plays a flat back 7 is top of the league :eek:

/brightside Ndo back and easily so much better than everyone else in this country, partridge fully fit and Joe a week later, mansaram didnt score.

kdjac

True, it was Pats using the red bus. Its a flat back 6 we play, O'Donnell and Cronin dont do attacking football so itd be stupid to try to get them to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

1-1 at The Cross. City dominated until the goal. Once that happened, booth teams changed tactics, City decided to play it out, Shams decided to try and cross the halfway line. Once they equalised they looked more likely to snatch the winner.

This season cannot end quick enough. Mathews out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Guessing this is a typical piece on the EL without the proper facts. Think this is the story of what happened on Friday night after the game in Tolka. Supposedly a 41 was attacked, tyres slashed and the Bohs 'hooligans' jumped on the bus and went for the Rovers 'hooligans' on the top deck of the bus. Supposedly bus seats were ripped out and thrown out the window as well.

One major problem with that description is that its somehow hoolie on hoolie. Nothing could be further from the truth. The BSS are attacking any bus they see with green and white on it on Rovers match day. In this instance they were unlucky in that a few game lads were on the bus, got off and knocked seven bells out of them, but like all the attacks, its so called bohs fans versus anyone they think is Rovers.

So 1-1 away to cork............

it makes yah think.

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote: »
    So 1-1 away to cork............

it makes yah think.

think what?

gimmick wrote: »
    1-1 at The Cross. City dominated until the goal. Once that happened, booth teams changed tactics, City decided to play it out, Shams decided to try and cross the halfway line. Once they equalised they looked more likely to snatch the winner.

Basically what I heard as well, proverbial game of two halves etc.

Ship definitly steadied, and unlucky to draw against Derry, Drogs and Cork. A bit more ruthlessness and a bit of luck with referees and we are right back up the table.

think what?

That you actually gave a **** about what happened on the pitch rather than off it.

Seems odd your 1st post on this thread about hoolies rather than Rovers VS Cork and injury doubts/team selection etc:

Actually its not odd but meh i tried.

kdjac

That you actually gave a **** about what happened on the pitch rather than off it.

Seems odd your 1st post on this thread about hoolies rather than Rovers VS Cork and injury doubts/team selection etc:

Actually its not odd but meh i tried.

kdjac

Chron-ol-gical. Dealt with the posts I wanted to deal with one after the other.

And hard to take a lecture from someone who loads hoolieporn on youtube....

Chron-ol-gical. Dealt with the posts I wanted to deal with one after the other.

And hard to take a lecture from someone who loads hoolieporn on youtube....

fcuk me, hears me thinking your a rovers fan and not the wannabe hoolie who denounces everything rovers hoolie related.

Anyway

58' [1 - 0] L. Kearney
    80' [1 - 1] S. O'Connor

in case you didnt know or only got texts from games about where to "meet".

kdjac

58' [1 - 0] L. Kearney

Which one?

fcuk me, hears me thinking your a rovers fan and not the wannabe hoolie who denounces everything rovers hoolie related.

Anyway

58' [1 - 0] L. Kearney
    80' [1 - 1] S. O'Connor

in case you didnt know or only got texts from games about where to "meet".

kdjac

"wanna be hoolie"? "meets"?

you can of course back these allegarion up? and you a mod?

"wanna be hoolie"? "meets"?

you can of course back these allegarion up? and you a mod?

And you a rovers fan? 1-1 away to cork.....

again makes yah think.......

kdjac

And you a rovers fan? 1-1 away to cork.....

again makes yah think.......

makes you think about what?

I wasnt at a mid week game in cork so I am a hooligan?

I think you need to hit the edit button.