Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stolen dog returned.... advice

• 26-05-2008 2:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭

Hi all, here is my dog which was stolen from my back garden about nine months ago. Last night a friend phoned me to say he had seen a dog on a website for sale and went to Wexford to buy it as his own dog had died in tragic circumstances couple of months ago, After he paid the man the money when he had got it home his wife said that it looked like the dog that went missing on me nine months ago. I drove up to him and sure enough it was my dog,recognised by me from some scars and colouring.( A man knows his own dog).We where satisfied that the person who he bought it from was not the theif and he had originally bought it from a guy from Dublin six months ago. The garda are currently investigating, Check out this website.... see if your stolen or lost dog is for sale..

donedeal.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

My god! That was a coincidence! Beautiful dog.

Donedeal is a dodgy site, would be very careful answering any ads there.

Why was the second man selling the dog after only 6 months?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Glowing wrote: »
    Why was the second man selling the dog after only 6 months?!

That was my immediate question too. Sound iffy to me!

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭gversey

That was my immediate question too. Sound iffy to me!

He said his own older dog was rough with her while exercising and walking...

Check the site.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/808633

This dog is also not 16 months old, she was born may 2004, was given to me for my birthday by an ex girlfriends uncle who bred her and her four siblings in Wexford.

please present no predjuce towards the seller named in ad

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

there are groups of scum that drive around and keep an eye out particularly for working dogs. If you happen to have a greyhound, whippet of lurcher you have to be vigilant as they are prime targets for thieves as people tend to look for grown dogs in these breeds as opposed to pups.

Also Gun dogs fall into the same catagory, but you have to be extra vigilant in these cases as they will try rob your house for the guns too. also as above people who hunt are always on the look out for a grown dog that is hunting as opposed to having to spend a up to 2 years training it.

I have my gundog chipped and kept at the back of the house so as these thieves cant lay eyes on her. (the rottie in the back yard is a bit of a deterrent aswell!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Beautiful dog, congratz on getting her back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

stevoman wrote: »
    there are groups of scum that drive around and keep an eye out particularly for working dogs. If you happen to have a greyhound, whippet of lurcher you have to be vigilant as they are prime targets for thieves as people tend to look for grown dogs in these breeds as opposed to pups.

Also Gun dogs fall into the same catagory, but you have to be extra vigilant in these cases as they will try rob your house for the guns too. also as above people who hunt are always on the look out for a grown dog that is hunting as opposed to having to spend a up to 2 years training it.

I have my gundog chipped and kept at the back of the house so as these thieves cant lay eyes on her. (the rottie in the back yard is a bit of a deterrent aswell!)
    not to tar all with the one brush, but travellers are notorious for stealing dogs. they tried to get mine before. and i could tell you countless stories from lads who've dogs were stolen. if they see a lurcher or working dog they'll suss out trying to nick him.

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭MsFifers

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭gversey

MsFifers wrote: »
    .[/quot

whats that all about

whitser wrote: »
    not to tar all with the one brush, but travellers are notorious for stealing dogs. they tried to get mine before. and i could tell you countless stories from lads who've dogs were stolen. if they see a lurcher or working dog they'll suss out trying to nick him.

LOL, how many travellers have i come across that has lurcher as a nickname!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 after.dark

Beautiful dog, but those dogs are a dime a dozen in irelands pounds. Why in the name of god would anyone pay €200 for one? The people buying are almost as bad as the breeders in my opinion. (I know that is not rrelevant to the topic, sorry) and OP I'm delighted you got your dog back. We got loads of lurchers stolen on us as kids. A terrier too called "leggy patch" she was a gem, I hate to think what happened to her. Beautiful looking dog but not worth any money with regards to hunting or breeding (if thats what they are stolen for)

after.dark wrote: »
    Beautiful dog, but those dogs are a dime a dozen in irelands pounds. Why in the name of god would anyone pay €200 for one? The people buying are almost as bad as the breeders in my opinion. (I know that is not rrelevant to the topic, sorry) and OP I'm delighted you got your dog back. We got loads of lurchers stolen on us as kids. A terrier too called "leggy patch" she was a gem, I hate to think what happened to her. Beautiful looking dog but not worth any money with regards to hunting or breeding (if thats what they are stolen for)

if its any consilation terriers are also used for hunting along with lurchers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 lillyislost

My Lurcher whippet X Lilly went missing (most likely stolen) from the Curragh Grange area of Newbridge, Co. Kildare at 4pm on Sat 28th June. Attached is a photo of her. She is a 3 yr old neutered female smooth haired lurcher/whippet cross. She is a fawn / tan colour and was wearing a black collar with ID tag. She is a pet and is no good for hunting or lamping.

She is also microchipped. We are besides ourselves with worry and will do anything to find her so would really appreciate if you could help us in any way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭BlackCat2008

Off topic again I'm sorry. I recently rescued a Grey hound from the travelers ( Have other names I'd radder call them but would get me banned) He was full of scares and had had a pole stabbed into his shoulder. The travelers found me but couldn't put their finger on it to really say it was their dog.(the only way they would have got him back was over my dead body). While talking to rescue groups I was informed that their was no such thing as a brown gray hound so sent a picture only one (orchard Grey hounds) was able to tell me gray hound change colour when they are sick or malnourished by the time they had cot up with me he was almost healed and had turened black so the traveler left very confused and shaking his head.The site near me always has dead dogs every were and the warden told me he has been told to stay away or lose his job police will do nothing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 citytillidie2k8

I KNOW A FEW LADS THA RESCUED LURCHERS FROM TRAVELERS THAT WERE IN A BAD STATE AND NOW THERE ARE IN PERFECT CONDITION

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Can you make a complaint against the website to the Guards - if you actually know other people who have had dogs stolen and seen them there? Are people sure that this site is 'dodgy'?

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Morganna

gversey wrote: »
    He said his own older dog was rough with her while exercising and walking...

Check the site.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/808633

This dog is also not 16 months old, she was born may 2004, was given to me for my birthday by an ex girlfriends uncle who bred her and her four siblings in Wexford.

please present no predjuce towards the seller named in ad
    I know the seller in the ad of the lurcher he is an honest man .I just looked up ad and i find i know him and he is honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Morganna wrote: »
    I know the seller in the ad of the lurcher he is an honest man .I just looked up ad and i find i know him and he is honest.

It's a hard one to call. Maybe phone the Gardai and find out if there's an animal specialist Garda that you can talk to? You don't want to get the seller into trouble? Maybe that's the way around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭bigpinkelephant

While talking to rescue groups I was informed that their was no such thing as a brown gray hound so sent a picture only one (orchard Grey hounds) was able to tell me gray hound change colour when they are sick or malnourished by the time they had cot up with me he was almost healed and had turened black

That is complete bull, a dog's coat does not change colour when they are sick....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭deisebabe

maybe its better for the site to stay there so if any of our dogs do go missing at least we have that lead. Its mental. the site freaks me out "sell your dog - only 3yoyos to post your add". I cant understand anyone selling their dog on like the honest guy there...i mean...surely training with training you could gain control of both dogs? and what about people moving to a house with a smaller garden being "forced" to sell their dog? well dont move. when we were buying a house the most important thing was making sure there was either (a) a surrounding wall so he couldn't get out or (b) the ability to build one before we moved in!
    sorry off topic...rant over!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

That is complete bull, a dog's coat does not change colour when they are sick....

Ahem, I'll have to correct you on this. I recently met a greyhound with a really dull, brown coat who is in fact black. Due to a lack of nutrients and care over a prolonged period all the colour in her coat had been washed out and she resembled a brown dog. After just a few weeks being fed well and looked after her coat is beginning to improve and change back to its natural colour of black. I also rescued a small little whippet type dog from the travellers over the weekend and she has a few brown patches on her coat, again due to lack of care and nutrition. So, no, a dog with a tummy bug for example, isn't going to suddenely change from being a black dog to a white one but a dog who has been neglected over a period of time can often have a dull, washed out coat which can change colour once they get their health back.

Try to be polite in your response to people :D

I didn't believe them either at first until I seen it with my own eyes I'll try to post before and after pic's but I really only tuck pictures of before on the phone don't know if the quailty is any good to help you see.But you can be the jugde of it then.

Citytillidie2k8

Tell your friend I said fare play to him most people won't touch traveler dogs with a barge pole because of the stigma attached to them or they get caught with them. I've never come across an aggressive one yet as they are usually beaten into submission. The only time I've none them to attack is when their left to roam in packs. All any animal needs is vet care ,food and love to recover which is not much when you consider what you get back ten fold. Orchard grey hounds give great advice if he ever has any questions

Fare play to him.

Vel wrote: »
    Ahem, I'll have to correct you on this. I recently met a greyhound with a really dull, brown coat who is in fact black. Due to a lack of nutrients and care over a prolonged period all the colour in her coat had been washed out and she resembled a brown dog. After just a few weeks being fed well and looked after her coat is beginning to improve and change back to its natural colour of black. I also rescued a small little whippet type dog from the travellers over the weekend and she has a few brown patches on her coat, again due to lack of care and nutrition. So, no, a dog with a tummy bug for example, isn't going to suddenely change from being a black dog to a white one but a dog who has been neglected over a period of time can often have a dull, washed out coat which can change colour once they get their health back.

Try to be polite in your response to people :D
    a black dogs coat also gets red tinges due to sun light

Morganna wrote: »
    a black dogs coat also gets red tinges due to sun light

That is the thing- some of these dogs may have been outside all day and then once rescued spend much more of their time indoors.

I have a black cat and during a nice summer her fur will bleach or "rust". But she is being looked after exactly the same and I in no way neglect her. So I think it is unfair to say that browning of a black dog (or cat's) coat means they are not being looked after, without considering this. I would hate for people to look at my cat and think that I don't look after her :(

Attached photos show the difference in my cat between summer (first photo) and winter (second).

Black horses often go the same way as do black dogs and black cats .Its the sun bleaching their coats .Also a black animal will go that way when changing coats .

T
    That is the thing- some of these dogs may have been outside all day and then once rescued spend much more of their time indoors.

I have a black cat and during a nice summer her fur will bleach or "rust". But she is being looked after exactly the same and I in no way neglect her. So I think it is unfair to say that browning of a black dog (or cat's) coat means they are not being looked after, without considering this. I would hate for people to look at my cat and think that I don't look after her :(

Attached photos show the difference in my cat between summer (first photo) and winter (second).
    That is a good point when these animals are kept doors when rescued.

I don't really see why you two want to debate over this point. bigpinkelelphant jumped in and said that it was 'bull' to say that a dog's coat can change colour due to 'sickness' and I clarified by outlining my experience of it. The dog I met had a full, thick brown coat due to lack of care and nutrition. The person who rescued her has decades of experience. One of the first places you will see evidence of neglect in a dog is in their coat.

I too have a black cat who often appears similar in the summer so I'm not disagreeing with what you are saying, just pointing out that what BlackCat2008 spoke about can be true. I can't understand how anyone wouldn't accept that this can happen to a dog's coat due to neglect and want to have a debate about it, like people are making it up :confused::eek::p

Plus, unfortunately in this case the dog was taken off a traveller site and they often don't keep their dogs in good condition, to say the least, so all indicators point to the dog having a different coloured coat through neglect.

Your cat has a lovely glossy, healthy coat. If you saw the dog I met with its poor, almost wooly condition, I think you'd appreciate the difference and realise it wasn't just down to the dog sitting in the sun getting bleached.

Vel wrote: »
    I don't really see why you two want to debate over this point. bigpinkelelphant jumped in and said that it was 'bull' to say that a dog's coat can change colour due to 'sickness' and I clarified by outlining my experience of it. The dog I met had a full, thick brown coat due to lack of care and nutrition. The person who rescued her has decades of experience. One of the first places you will see evidence of neglect in a dog is in their coat.

Plus, unfortunately in this case the dog was taken off a traveller site and they often don't keep their dogs in good condition, to say the least, so all indicators point to the dog having a different coloured coat through neglect.

And do you ever see this colour change on other colours or is it only black dogs??? Can you post photos to show your point?

Regarding your last point don't see how you can say "so all indicators point to the dog having a different coloured coat through neglect" when in the paragraph above you agree that sun bleaching can occur. Surely if this is the case then travellers dogs would be more prone to it since they are probably outside for most of the time?

If a dog or any animal is neglected or ill the coat does suffer yes .And when an animal is in good condition yes the coat shines and is glossy.I am merely stating that a dog /cat /horse coat can change colour due to being in the sun.I have bred exhibited judged both dogs and horses for decades .

Hi, guys sorry to have sparked a debate and taken us of track as I think this forum is very important. Put I have to admit the last few post were very funny and cheered me up. My cats change colour too, as those the texture of the coat through winter/summer, even the grey one looks a loot lighter in summer.

I think what Vel was just trying to say was I wasn't hearing things when I was told he would turn black due to proper care and lots of hugs(can't forget the hugs). An animal left to fend for it's self will use up all the vitamins it can get in major organs and the last place to get them will be minor places like the coat, leaving it a semi permanent brown winter or summer it tuck (Pavarotti) nearly three months to regain his lovely coat because of so many scars needing to heal first even old wounds like the stab in his shoulder were covered by hair trying to heal until the vitamins and meds kick in and they all opened again to try to re heal properly. The stab wound didn't even appear until five days after he came to me I was amazed that with in hours he went from having hair on the spot to no hair, red skin an open sore and then a very gooey sore that looked like it was trying to drain its self so while under for the chop chop they said they could see right down to the bone and the entrance to the wound was a perfect circle size of what they thought was a broom handle that had been stabbed into him.They told me to expect him to do a 360 in order to heal himself and that the coat would probable be the last to benefit from good care.

That looks like a well cared for kittie and very content.

And well done vel on rescuing another poor unfortunate victim of circumstances. I think you still explain this better than I did.