Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice for incoming first Years

• 27-05-2008 1:08am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭

The title says it all. Ye ULers; please extend your knowledge to those of us who will be joining you in September.

All general advice is welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

[pimp]Become a writer or photographer for the student newspaper, An Focal![/pimp]

Seriously though, get involved in stuff... Clubs, societies, An Focal, class reps...something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Ignore the student paper.

The editor is a biatch :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Just join the Stables Club!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,586 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Wish I could, but I don't remember what happened for the last four years.

Accommodation: You may get lucky with a house in Elm Park, but in general, they're rubbish. Stay away from them. College court can be a bit hit and miss too. And if you ever have a landlord called ********, run a mile; he is out to screw every student that steps foot in any of his houses. Student accommodation (i.e. the student villages, not houses) are generally of good quality, but don't expect to throw any major sessions without feeling the wrath of security.

Aside from that, I can't really give any advice unless you can be more specific

Ok I'll be serious for a minute....

Go to your lectures/tutorials/labs. Nobody is going to hold your hand in college and make you go, and to be honest, on a rainy miserable winter morning the last thing you will want to do is get out of bed, especially if hungover too, but it will pay off in the end. Of course there are exceptions, and some people who can cram 12 weeks of college into the study week before exams. Most courses have approx 20 hours of college, so it isnt too taxing, and it still leaves plenty of time to socialise :)

Do as BD said and join clubs and and socs. I never joined any, but I'm a bit of an alcoholic and managed just fine. My course had over 450 students in first year, so it wasnt too hard to speak to people.

As Lord_C said, accommodation can be hit and miss depending on where you go, but dont let it ruin your first year, move out, the Students Union can help you.

Also, try come along to a BULBS and meet some of us nice internet folk who share the joys of UL. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Don't underestimate the amount of funds required for beer. This is a very important point and one which I learned the hard way.

In your first few days of college, Ulster Bank will be out trying to get you to sign up for a €650 overdraft and credit card. A word of advice, only take the overdraft if you are prepared to put a few quid into in now and then, because they don't like it when you take the money and run :mad:.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

[pimp]Become a writer or photographer for the student newspaper, An Focal![/pimp]

Seriously though, get involved in stuff... Clubs, societies, An Focal, class reps...something!

I didn't join anything in 1st year and REALLY regret it now. Definitely get involved with the paper, it's lots of fun and the people are great too ;)

kaimera wrote: »
    Ignore the student paper.

The editor is a biatch :pac:
    Ignore kai, he's a phewlish alumni who wishes he was back in UL to enjoy the merits of my PPohship.

All jokes aside, if you have any inkling of writing/taking photos do call into me in the Students' Union when you arrive for a chat. Don't worry, I won't bombard you with anything crazy, but if you are interested we can work out some tasks and get you hooked. Plus, due to popular demand, I will have a cookie jar for my writers. Bribery isn't forbidden, right?
    ergonomics wrote: »

I didn't join anything in 1st year and REALLY regret it now. Definitely get involved with the paper, it's lots of fun and the people are great too ;)

You're not getting extra cookies for sugar talking the paper. Although, you will get an increased ration for every additional writer you get to sign up. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Dont drop out, youl regret it!!! Finish the year then transfer into a different course, youl have to go back to 1st year again but at least you wont be driven mad like i was!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

• Definitely join a club or society from the start. In fact, join several of them and then decide after going to the first meeting/training session which ones you'll stick with.
    • Make the effort to get to know people; go out a couple of times during orientation week. Everybody's in the same boat as you are.
    • As was said above, most courses have only around 20 (even less) hours per week, so you'll still have loads of free time if you go to your scheduled hours. Go to tutorials anyway!

...that's all I can think of from the top of my head!

BD, will you be standing on your chair in the SU foyer like every year, welcoming ickle firsties to the college during orientation week?!:p I can remember you threatening encouraging us to sign up to An Focail from your pedestal during our orientation week!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

O another piece of advice, get as many freshers packs as you can, i got like 3 but im sure others snagged more than me...:)

Rineanna wrote: »
    BD, will you be standing on your chair in the SU foyer like every year, welcoming ickle firsties to the college during orientation week?!:p I can remember you threatening encouraging us to sign up to An Focail from your pedestal during our orientation week!

Alas, the time has come for me to pass the baton on that post. I can't really do it along with my PPohness, unfortunately, so I will be recruiting someone to take over. :( *sniff* It's the end of an era. I frightened shocked bewildered welcomed so many firsties. In fact, I've welcomed all the current batch - first, second and third years. It was great fun - except the whole losing my voice bit. :o

I'm actually going to be a bit controversial and say that you don't need to attend all your lectures. Tbh, it depends on what course you're doing. If it's a humanities one, you definitely don't - you'll pick up more from an hour in the library (providing you actually do some work) reading the prescribed readings for a certain lecture than actually attending the lecture itself. That said, do attend your tutorials. They're useful. Show up every so often, but you won't melt if you miss a few classes.

Er, what I mean is...go to all your classes, they are vital. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Ooh ooh get a few freshers' packs for meeeeeeeeeee.

I'm co-oping for an extra week as being a senior orientation guide again really isn't worth it. Them queues are going to be massive without me being queue nazi in chief this year:pac::pac:

make loads of friends and you can pcik the best ones to live with in 2nd year:p or if like me and bluedolphin you're a local....make plenty of friends whose couch you can crash on after the Lodge/ welcome these people if you're a foreigner in Limerick:D

Wear sunscreen.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

join everything especially skydiving and other things that have weekend activities like kayaking windsurfing etc

talk to everyone

drink everything

lectures can be missed labs and tutorials really cant

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Alas, the time has come for me to pass the baton on that post. I can't really do it along with my PPohness, unfortunately, so I will be recruiting someone to take over. :( *sniff*

Anything I can do to help oh great one?!?! Ok, enough ass kissing, it's too tiring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

1. Don't do Comp Sys! :)

2. Try to leave with a few people you know each year.... randomers can be great craic, but theres nothing worse than living with a certified nutjob.....trust me, there are quite a few of them. Been there, done that. Not good.

Y2J_MUFC wrote: »

2. Try to leave with a few people you know each year.... randomers can be great craic, but theres nothing worse than leaving with a certified nutjob.....trust me, there are quite a few of them. Been there, done that. Not good.
    God, I dunno why people bother with CS if they dont like it :(
    Best computer course evar

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Y2J_MUFC wrote: »

2. Try to leave with a few people you know each year.... randomers can be great craic, but theres nothing worse than leaving with a certified nutjob.....trust me, there are quite a few of them. Been there, done that. Not good.

1. Comp Sys is a fantastic course, dont listen to this person becuase...

2. He cant spell 'live' correctly :pac:

Other than all the academic advice already given (Show up to most lectures, definitely show up to labs/tuts. Try to do well on mid-terms/Projects, they make a huge difference.)

Try to be yourself (Unless your an absolute loon) you'll fit in grand.
    If you don't have any confidence, fake it till you do.
    Make the most of it, cos you'll miss it when you leave :(
    Have some compassion for the people that fill your Orientation Pack!
    If your in a relatively small class try to get friendly with your lecturers.
    Talk to lots of girls (Do as I say, not as I do!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

I'd echo most/all of what has been said above, try make friends as soon as you can, join a few clubs etc. Perhaps rather than joining everything find a few that you are interested in and join them.

Do show up to lectures,tutorial and labs they can be important on occasion, and just to fulfill my stereotypical role on here at this stage don't do anything that I'd do/have done :P

• Registered Users Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭cson

Patricide wrote: »
    O another piece of advice, get as many freshers packs as you can, i got like 3 but im sure others snagged more than me...:)

+1 to that.

We're coming down Orientation week especially to snare a good few Fresher Packs and/or Freshers. It's gonna be our practice Rag Week.

I'm in the middle of doing a guide to UL for a friend of mine, so I'll copy and paste it up here when I'm done.

cson wrote: »
    I'm in the middle of doing a guide to UL for a friend of mine, so I'll copy and paste it up here when I'm done.

And you'll forward it to me for the first edition of the paper, yes? :D Please?? You've promised me so many times now... :( There'll be cookies!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭cson

It's gonna be a touch irreverant and possibly controversial in places...

And I don't like being edited :pac:

It's gonna be a touch irreverant and possibly controversial in places...

And I don't like being edited :pac:

That's fine! :)

And I won't edit content, just punctuation/grammar...but you seem ok! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

Will it include your golden rule piece of advice?
    If you can't lift her, don't shift her.

Peteee wrote: »
    2. He cant spell 'live' correctly :pac:

Other then all the academic advice ................

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

I was referring to all the advice that had come before me, in the time sense and I wasn't comparing anything to anything else. :pac:
    “Then” is always used in reference to a sequence of events, as in:
    We went to the store, then we came home

“Than”, on the other hand, is used to compare things, as in:
    By dad is stronger than your dad.

Can our resident editor weigh in on this important topic?

I was referring to all the advice that had come before me, in the time sense and I wasn't comparing anything to anything else. :pac:

Yore still wrong Pete.

Are you talking to me or Sceptre?
    kaimera wrote: »
    Yore still wrong Pete.

Yore usage of 'other' implies a comparison. Sorry, mate, but you are the weakest link....GOODBYE. :pac:

Yore usage of 'other' implies a comparison.

Yup. :)

kai and I are agreeing?! :eek: