Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chants of the Year

• 27-05-2008 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭

From the BBC

Some crackers here....

Chants of the season

By Chris Charles

As Rangers took on Zenit St Petersburg in the Uefa Cup final, shouts of "We're gonna deep-fry your vodka!" echoed around the City of Manchester stadium.

This was the latest adaptation of a chant begun by Scotland fans in Italy with pizzas, amended to croissants in France and incorporating tapas when Aberdeen travelled to face Atletico Madrid.

But the Scots don't have a monopoly on witty ditties. We have picked out our favourite chants of the season - plus a few crazy stadium announcements - sent in by you, dear readers.

REWRITING POP HISTORY

Leeds fans (to the tune of Kaiser Chiefs' Oh My God):
    "Oh my God I can't believe it, we've never been this good away from home!"
    (Admittedly not heard this weekend - Ed)

Jon Bon Jovi

Jon Bon Jovi - massive Aliadiere fan

Middlesbrough (Bon Jovi's Living On A Prayer):
    "Ohh! We're half way there! Ohh-ohh! Aliadiere!"

Man City (Pink Floyd's Another Brick In The Wall):
    "We don't need no Phil Scolari,
    We don't need Mourinho,
    Hey! Thaksin! Leave our Sven alone!"

Bishop Stortford (Toni Basil's Hey Mickey - sung to St Albans goalkeeper Nick Eyre):
    "Hey Nicky you're so fine, you're so fine, you're two behind, hey Nicky!"

Arsenal (The Jackson 5's Blame it on the Boogie):
    "Don't blame it on Henry, don't blame it on the injuries, don't blame it on the referees, blame it on Eboue!"

Man Utd (Black Lace's Agadoo):
    "Anderson-son-son, he's better than Kleberson,
    Anderson-son-son, he's our midfield magician,
    To the left to the right we'll dance the samba beat tonight,
    He is class, our midfield brass, and he dumps on Fabregas!"

Newcastle (The Beatles' Let It Be):
    "When we find ourselves in times of trouble, Kevin Keegan comes to me. Speaking words of wisdom, Geremi!"

Tottenham (Elvis Presley's The Wonder Of You):
    "That's Ju-ande, Ju-ande Ramos!"

Everton (Black Lace/The Tweenies' Music Man):
    "I am the Music Man. I come from far away. And I can play (what can you play?) I Play The Pienaar! Pi Pi Pi Pi Pienaaaaaar!"

Chester (The Outhere Brothers' Boom Boom Boom - to Simon Yeo):
    "Boom, boom, boom, let me hear you say Yeo, Yeooo!" (Also used for Paul Mayo by Notts County fans - Ed).

Blackburn (Christmas standard Santa Claus Is Coming):
    "You better watch out,
    You better beware,
    He's good on the ground and he's good in the air,
    Santa Cruz is coming to town."

Newcastle (Happy Days theme tune):
    "Sunday, Monday, Habib Beye
    Tuesday, Wednesday, Habib Beye
    Thursday, Friday, Habib Beye
    Saturday, Habib Beye, rocking all week with you!"

Man City (The Proclaimers' I'm Gonna Be (500 miles)):
    "Oh you can freeze 500 million, and you can freeze 500 more, Cos Thaksin's got another billion underneath his bedroom floor, Shin-a-watra! Shin-a-watra!"

WHAT DO YOU LOOK LIKE?

"You're just a fat Paris Hilton."
    Arsenal fans to Liverpool's Andriy Voronin.

"There's only one Tina Turner!"
    Doncaster's big-haired Jason Price gets the treatment from Forest.

"You're just a fat Annie Lennox!"
    No More I Love Yous from the Spurs fans to West Ham's Dean Ashton.

Roland Browning from Grange Hill

And on the bench for Eastleigh...

"There's only one Roland Browning."
    Bognor Regis fans taunt Eastleigh sub Steve Watts.

"You're just a fat Kevin Doyle!"
    Reading fans to Robbie Keane.

"He's big, he's Scouse, he looks like Mickey Mouse!"

Sheffield Wednesday fans take the mickey out of Franny Jeffers.

"You're supposed to be a gnome!"
    Millwall fans to Northampton's pint-sized full-back Danny Jackman.

"Sit down, Pinocchio!"
    Spurs fans to Boro boss Gareth Southgate.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

"Oh when the beans,
    Come out the tin,
    Oh when the beans come out the tin,
    You put the bread in the toaster,
    Oh when the beans come out the tin."
    Birmingham fanz meanz business at West Ham.

Ronald McDonald

"Back already, Andy?"

"Andy Reid, plays left wing, he loves McDonalds and Burger King!"
    Sunderland fans to their fast food hero.

"I'd rather be a sausage than an egg!"
    More food fun with Birmingham fans.

"Swing low, sweet halibut!"
    Grimsby supporters as news of England's win over Australia in the Rugby World Cup filters through.

GALLOWS HUMOUR

"Que sera sera,
    Whatever will be, will be,
    We're going to Forest Green,
    Que sera sera."
    Newly-relegated Wrexham fans against Hereford.

"Can we play you every week?"
    Man City fans while 6-0 down to Chelsea.

Man City fans while 7-0 down to Middlesbrough. Anyone spot a theme developing here? Ed.

"Easy! Easy! Easy!"
    Man City fans when the score reached 8-1. That's answered that question - Ed.

"We're going down in a minute!"
    Gillingham fans at Leeds.

"Who needs Mourinho, we've got Dave Pacio."
    Droylsden fans get behind their manager as they finally win their first game of the season - at the 14th time of asking.

Rollercoaster

Watford fans had a rollercoaster season

"We should have stayed at the funfair."
    Watford fans after going 2-0 down to Southend.

"Let's pretend we've scored a goal!"
    Bradford City fans during a 3-0 home defeat to Accrington Stanley, followed by all participants going crazy.

BEST OF THE REST

"You don't know what you're doing!"
    West Brom fans after a fan had his marriage proposal accepted by his girlfriend during half-time v Scunthorpe.

"Strawberry blond? You're having a laugh!"
    Crystal Palace's ginger-haired midfielder Ben Watson gets a ribbing from QPR.

"Oh Kasper, whoah, whoh, oh,
    Oh Kasper, whoah, whoh, oh,
    He stands between our posts,
    He's named after a ghost."
    Cardiff fans to keeper Kasper Schmeichel.

"Does your livestock know you're here?"
    Colchester fans to Norwich.

"Oh Moses, whoah oh-oh,
    Oh Moses, whoah oh-oh,
    He comes from Norbury,
    He parted the Red Sea."
    Victor Moses is highly rated at Crystal Palace.

Bill Oddie

Bill 'The Body' Oddie

"Bill Oddie, Bill Oddie, rub your beard all over my body! Bill Oddie, Bill Oddie..."
    Reading fans against Derby - to the tune of Madonna's Erotica.

"We can see you washing up!"
    Swindon fans to the occupants of the flats in the corners of Leyton Orient's ground.

"I love Tottenham more than you!"
    Spurs fans to their loved ones back home while watching Tottenham on Valentine's Day in Prague.

"Jim Bullard, Bullard, He's better than Steve Gerrard, He's thinner than Frank Lampard, Jim Bullard, Bullard."
    Fulham fans salute Jimmy Bullard.

"Are you Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch in disguise?!"
    Wrexham fans.

"Does your butler know you're here?"
    West Ham to Fulham fans.

"We'll race you back to London!"
    Arsenal fans to Man Utd during their 4-0 FA Cup defeat at Old Trafford.

Havant & Waterlooville fans when 1-0 up against Liverpool at Anfield in the FA Cup.

"If Robin Hood was real, he'd be dead!"
    Oldham supporters at Forest.

"We're the famous Tartan Army and we're here to save the snail."
    Scotland fans in Paris.

"Vera's dead, Vera's dead, Vera's dead!"
    West Ham fans away at Man City following the death of the character Vera Duckworth in Coronation Street.

"We can't see you sneaking out!"
    Worcester City fans celebrate their abandonment at Nuneaton Borough when the floodlights failed with Nuneaton 2-0 up in the 82nd minute.

"You should have banked with The Woolwich!"
    Derby fans to Northern Rock-sponsored Newcastle.

Rafa Benitez

Put your right hand up if you have comedy facial hair

"It's neat, it's weird, it's Rafa's goatee beard!"
    Liverpool fans salute Benitez's strange growth.

"You only sing at the Boat Race!"
    Cambridge United fans to their Oxford counterparts.

"You should have gone Christmas shopping!"
    Man City fans to Reading after going one-up.

"You only sing at your weddings!"
    Hibs fans to their Gretna counterparts.

STADIUM ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SEASON

"The next match here at the Banks's Stadium is on New Year's Day, which this year falls on 1 January."
    Walsall stadium announcer at half-time in their league match with Millwall.

"There is a no-smoking policy in all parts of the Layer Road ground. Anyone who is caught smoking will be taken away, strapped to an electric chair and electrocuted until they are dead. Thank you."
    Colchester announcer at half-time against Leicester.

"There is a no-smoking policy at Layer Road. Anyone caught smoking will be taken to a darkened room, where they will be imprisoned for 27 hours and forced to listen to Will Young records for all of that time. Thank you."
    Colchester announcer tops his previous effort at half-time against Crystal Palace.

Moerecambe and Wise in Dick Turpin sketch

We're the dandy highwaymen

"Scorer for Kilmarnock, number 16 Dick Turpin."
    Fir Park announcer when Kilmarnock striker Rhian Dodds scored a last-minute winner against Motherwell in a game which the home side dominated.

"Please stand for the national anthem of the Republic of Northern Ireland."
    The MC at St Mary's puts his foot in it before the start of the England Under-21 international with the Republic of Ireland.

"Can the people trying to break into the boardroom please be aware you are on CCTV."
    Mansfield stadium announcer after the Stags lost to Rotherham.

"A text has come in from Leighton James. He apologises for what he said about Cardiff City and has asked that fans stop sending pizzas and taxis to his house at three in the morning. But Lee Trundle has been speaking to Leighton and has said feel free to send as many pizzas as you like to his house."
    Cardiff's stadium announcer tickles the Bluebirds faithful with tales of two former Swansea City favourites.

"His wife always dreamed of a hunky fireman, but all she got was a chunky tyre-man."
    Announcer at Man Utd-Villa, introducing one of the participants in the half-time penalty shoot-out.

"And now the Olympiakos team sheet...wish me luck!"
    Chelsea announcer before reading out a list of players including Zewlakow, Patsatzoglou and Djordjevic.

"There's a mustard-coloured Peugeot in the car park, registration XXXXXXX. You've left your windows open. Chances are if your car is a mustard colour you want it to be nicked, but just to let you know."
    Announcer before the Plymouth-Burnley match.

"If there is a qualified referee in the ground, please can he make himself known to a steward."
    Half-time at Fulham v Boro after a few questionable decisions.

"Would the owner of a silver car, registration XXXXXXX - please move it immediately. If they can find it."
    At a fog-bound match between Stevenage Borough and Forest Green Rovers.

Greyhounds

Race you to the taxi rank

"There is a taxi waiting in the car park."
    (5 minutes later) "There is a greyhound tied up in the car park. We are not yet sure whether the taxi is for the greyhound!"
    Histon announcer.

"Mr Coombes in L1, your wife has just gone into labour."
    At Leicester v Barnsley.

"Attention please. Congratulations Mr X, you have just become a father."
    At Mansfield v Middlesbrough.

"Mr John Smith - your wife is waiting under the scoreboard, it's your turn to feed the baby."
    During Leicester Tigers match. You obviously get more 'new men' at the rugby - Ed.

"The scorer for Belper....someone wearing a yellow shirt."
    Baffled stadium announcer Roger Skinner during the Colwyn Bay v Belper Town UniBond League match.

"Would the owner of vehicle number XXXXXX, please go to reception, as they have your keys and the windows are wide open. Oh and I got this message five minutes ago."
    At Home Park, Plymouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Did the announcer say ''Republic of Northern Ireland'' as a tongue in cheek comment?

If so, that was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Haha they changed the Anderson one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

lol at the Eboue one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

The Derby chant when they were playing Reading on the last day.

''Four nil, and you're going down'':D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Man City (Pink Floyd's Another Brick In The Wall):
    "We don't need no Phil Scolari,
    We don't need Mourinho,
    Hey! Thaksin! Leave our Sven alone!"
    Man City (The Proclaimers' I'm Gonna Be (500 miles)):
    "Oh you can freeze 500 million, and you can freeze 500 more, Cos Thaksin's got another billion underneath his bedroom floor, Shin-a-watra! Shin-a-watra!"

Gotta love our fans! :D

The Habib Beye one is genius, along with the Santa Cruz and Pienaar efforts.

Archimedes wrote: »
    Haha they changed the Anderson one

Haha yea, "dumps of fab" haha!!

I liked the United fans one about Jermaine Pennant: "He only drinks when he;s driving" and "You;re supposed to, you're supposed to, you're supposed to be in jail" - Harsh but pretty funny.

"Race u back to London" was funny.

Liverpool song about Chelsea is great, tho it was around before this season.

Although its a nicked off United's John O'Shea song, the Torres song is good too cos its a good tune!

And although it pained me to hear it (Xavi will love this) when Citeh fans stole the Vidic song and sung

"Benjani, woaah,
    Benjani, woah,
    he comes from Zimbabwe,
    he scored on derby day"

I put that in cos I know if the shoe was on the other foot Id have found it funny!

My favourites from a United perspective were:

Viva Ronado:

But the best has been the re-emergence of We'll never Die, around 40 secs into this vid. Was at that match and it was about 2 mins before the final whistle, was the ridiculously loud, brilliant:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

"Shit Sun Jihai, you're just a shit Sun Jihai" aimed at Park was another great one.

And after our great behaviour at the derby the OT tannoy declared us 'impeccable'. Cue chants of 'We are impeccable!' for the next half hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

His grans not dead, he just forgot,
    One week he’s bald, the next he is not
    He always lies, oh yes its true,
    he's just a typical
    fúcking blue.

We all know Steven Ireland wears a wig,
    Ireland wears a wig,

He wears a wig,
    he wears a wig,
    he wears a wig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Don't really see why Man Utd. fans are singing "We'll Never Die", was there anyever threat. Has much more feeling when Shels or Shamrock Rvs fans sing it as there's plenty of meaning to it.

Like I said...re-remergence.

It was sung by the fans directly after Munich when it was thought there was no way Manchester United could survive. People at the time genuinely thought the club was done.

It got the odd rendition now and then but really came back this year in a big way, every game it gets sung at now.

Some really good one here (thank you Ed):

To the tune of "I Love You Baby":

Oh Owen Hargreaves
    You are the love of my life
    Oh Owen Hargreaves
    I'd let you shag my wife
    Oh Owen Hargreaves
    I want curly hair too!

To the tune of "When Johnny Went Marching"

i want to be a red he says torres, torres,
    we turned him down and then we signed tevez, tevez,
    so now hes playing for the scouse,
    when hes away, they ll rob his house,
    fernando torres, liverpool is full of crime

When Johnny goes marching down the wing O'Shea O'Shea
    when Johnny goes marching down the wing
    the Stretford End will fcuking sing
    'We all know that Johnny's going score'.

To the tune of "Viva Ronaldo":

viva john terry, viva john terry,
    could have won the cup, but he f*cked it up, viva john terry,

he slipped he missed, he must be f*cking pissed, viva john terry

Archimedes wrote: »
    To the tune of "Viva Ronaldo":

could have won the cup, but he f*cked it up, viva john terry,

he slipped he missed, he must be f*cking pissed, viva john terry

That hasnt actually been chanted yet though. its just turned up as a suggestion on redcafe.

They were sung in Moscow as soon as the shootout finished.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Anyone know what the Dirk Kuyt chant was about him being ugly ? think his own fans sung it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Most of the above chants were never sung at grounds and were taken from suggestions on fansites. FACT.

Archi....good to see Utd using original melodies for their tunes as usual.....tut tut tut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,457 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Most of the above chants were never sung at grounds and were taken from suggestions of fansites. FACT.

Archi....good to see Utd using original melodies for their tunes as usual.....tut tut tut
    how many sgroups of fans compose their own melodies?

i dont mean compose a brand new melody, i mean robbing a melody another club is already using ;)

Al the O'Shea song has been around for a good few years. torres only joined this year so unless you's were singing about a guy who plays for a Spanish team back in 2004 then I dont see where you're getting that from. The version Archi posted was a reference to the song gettin nicked! All the ones i posted were sung at matches (or after a match as the Pennant ones were - saw them on the tube)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Most of the above chants were never sung at grounds and were taken from suggestions on fansites. FACT.
    "I love Tottenham more than you!"
    Spurs fans to their loved ones back home while watching Tottenham on Valentine's Day in Prague.

Was sung in Prague, I know as I was singing it!

Was a bit longer...

You can stick your red roses up your arse,
    You can stick your red roses, stick your red roses, stick your red roses up your arse!

Singing we love Tottenham more than you,
    Singing we love Tottenham, we love Tottenham, we love Tottenham more than you!

The same trip saw a new song for Trappatoni:

Oh Trappatoni, you are the love of my life,
    Oh Trappatoni, I'd let you shag my wife,
    Oh Trappatoni, I wish I was Italian toooooooooooo

One of my other favourites this year was Villa's away fans at WHL for our 125th anniversary game. At 4-1 up they sang "happy birthday" to us...:(...at 4-4 we sang it back to them!!! :D

Al the O'Shea song has been around for a good few years. torres only joined this year so unless you's were singing about a guy who plays for a Spanish team back in 2004 then I dont see where you're getting that from. The version Archi posted was a reference to the song gettin nicked! All the ones i posted were sung at matches (or after a match as the Pennant ones were - saw them on the tube)

ah neil neil neil, the scouse have been singing tunes to that song for decades

While on the bus to Villa Park haroo, haroo,
    I heard my mate make this remark haroo,haroo,
    We made poor Chelsea weep and ill
    Its Liverpool 2 and Chelsea 0
    and we'll all get blind drunk when Liverpool win the cup.

Chorus:
    So here's to Lawrence, Byrne St John, haroo haroo,
    Milne and Yeats and Stevenson haroo,haroo
    Hunt and Thompson what a man,
    Lawler Smith and Callaghan,
    and we'll all get blind drunk when Liverpool win the cup

For the Liverpool lads raise your glass haroo, haroo
    To Stevenson who made the pass - haroo, haroo
    Thompson had them in a trance,
    Bonetti never stood a chance,
    And we'll all get blind drunk when Liverpool win the cup.

It's Wembley on the first of May - haroo, haroo,
    It's Leeds United labour day - haroo, haroo,
    We'll be there to cheer Bill Shankly's side,
    And bring the cup to Merseyside,

And if it's a draw you'll hear us moan,
    Lets use the coin that beat Cologne,

among numerous others incl Owen and Fowler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

gotta love the one for park:

ji sung park, whoever you may be,
    eating dogs in your own country
    it could be worse, you could be scouse
    eatin rats in your council house! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,310 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

That was not a chant from this year

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

Cruel but Wickedly Funny!

Steve Gerrard Gerrard,
    your wife is on coke and she's mad,
    she's pregnant and he aint the dad
    Steve Gerrard Gerrard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

DesF wrote: »
    His grans not dead, he just forgot,
    One week he’s bald, the next he is not
    He always lies, oh yes its true,
    he's just a typical
    fúcking blue.

Ireland wears a wig,

He wears a wig,
    he wears a wig,
    he wears a wig.

A wig is a way of lying before you even open your mouth. Seems (rug) fitting then that Ireland wears one.

Wonders when this turned into a anti Liverpool chant thread

Stop being paranoid.

gotta love the one for park:

park, park, wherever you may be,
    you eat dogs in your home country
    it could be worse, you could be scouse
    eatin rats in your council house! :D

Corrected that for ya grames, was a bit off!

So it would be ok to post up the one that was sang for a bit at Anfield after Smith blocked Riise's freekick?

Yup, same way its ok to post up a version of Blue Moon taking the piss out of the empty seats at the City of Manchester stadium - aptly renamed "Blue Seats"....

Of course, it couldn't have anything bad in it right? best fans in the world, right?

No, because that wasn't this year.

I agree the Gerrard one should be deleted tbh.

Report the post though, instead of whinging about it on thread. ;)

Tauren wrote: »
    Of course, it couldn't have anything bad in it right? best fans in the world, right?

Yep cause we not the set of fans with 99% of our chants about another football team.

or signing about hating scousers when your star striker is a scouser who f'd up is that :p

99%? Get over yourselves.

And rooney has sang it himself, he knows it is aimed at the red half and he hates your lot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

And rooney has sang it himself, he knows it is aimed at the red half and he hates your lot too.

....and for the love of god the majority of it is good natured ribbing, there are anti united chants that i actually find funny too, dont take this shit so personally!

If i was taking it personally i would have reported the posts, does not effect me as i am from Derry not Liverpool

I believe the point he is making is you lot need to get over ourselves :D

I saw that video and i dont think Rooney was singing, think he was just sitting there looking quite sheepish iirc. and it aint directed at Liverpool fans, its directed at Liverpool as a city being poor, crime ridden etc etc

disgraceful stuff altogether :cool: ;)

Sorry to have offended your hometown!

Lads support the football FFS. Leave the intercity hatred to the people from there. Reality check fellas, we're from Dublin! The only intercity rivalries that we understand is the intercounty GAA stuff

And Rooney sang "Gary Neville is a red" after the Wigan game :eek::eek::cool:

The only intercity rivalries that we understand is the intercounty GAA stuff

I bleedin' hate Cork.

I also hate gah.

Sorry to have offended your hometown!

Lads support the football FFS. Leave the intercity hatred to the people from there.

This is where me and you disagree. Support the Club, Support the City imo.

notice you disappeared out of this thread fairly sharpish yesterday when you were corrected about the origins of the Torres tune :) you think you would stuck around to say, sorry al, you were right!

dont worry though Mr Boyle or watever his name is will come up with an original one someday ;)

Thread title: "Chants of the Year"

Not: "Chants of Years past"

If u wanna post the Riise saong then go right ahead, Ill do it for ya:

"HEYYYYYYY, HEY RIISE, OOH AAAH, I WANNA KNOWWWWW HOW YOU SCORED THAT GOAL" - sang ironically by rival fans after Riise's OG antics!

To quote the scouse, "calm down, calm down". What a bunch of English people who hate each others cities, sing about each other is hardly relevant to our lives no is it? If thats gettin you worked up Id hate to see if something important happened!! I laugh at the anti United songs as much as the United ones. Football songs are funny.

DesF wrote: »
    I bleedin' hate Cork.

I also hate gah.

Sorry des, i should have added that the LOI brethern understand IRish intercity rivalries in soccer. But most of the Premiership fans cant begin to understand what lies underneath the Liverpool-Manchester rivalry or any of the other ones.

the chant he was refering to was actually ......

john arne riise..... uh ah.....i wanna knoooowwww, how you broke his leg

not very pleasant

Sorry des, i should have added that the LOI brethern understand IRish intercity rivalries in soccer. But most of the Premiership fans cant begin to understand what lies underneath the Liverpool-Manchester rivalry or any of the other ones.

My hatred for Cork has nothing to do with LoI tbh, it does strengthen it though :D

My hatred for Kdjac is to do with LoI.

Intra-City hatred ftw.

This is where me and you disagree. Support the Club, Support the City imo.

notice you disappeared out of this thread fairly sharpish yesterday when you were corrected about the origins of the Torres tune :) you think you would stuck around to say, sorry al, you were right!

dont worry though Mr Boyle or watever his name is will come up with an original one someday ;)

I have nothing against Liverpool. Would the fact that Anfields finest are from there stop me from visiting the city? No. Why should it, Im from Dublin. I really like Manchester but there are some rough spots there, same as anywhere else. I dont pay taxes to Manchester City Council or anything else. i dont understand the support the city side of it. Yea we all have a soft spot for the city our team is from but my favourite place in England is London based on my experiences of the cities. Doesn't mean I support United any less or am gonna start supporting one of the countless London teams.

Yea I did a legger cos I had no comeback, whats your point!!:eek::cool::pac::pac:

pete boyle, ah I have mixed feeling about him, he;s the reason so many of the new songs are about rival clubs. maybe I should e-mail him and tell him that!

The Gerrard song has reference to Lampard in it, and F*ck off Chelsea FC (which is class btw) are both about other clubs too!!! ;);)

the chant he was refering to was actually ......

john arne riise..... uh ah.....i wanna knoooowwww, how you broke his leg

not very pleasant

I know. I was keeping it relevent to this season, and hence the thread.

But Ive heard chants from numerous different clubs about Eduardo which is disgraceful. Im not gonna start holding the actions of a few planks who go to games against the whole club. As well as Spurs favourite Adebayor song (which is possibly a by-product of the song its mocking, ie l'Arse's Adebayor song, being so feckin sh1t)

nothing wrong with singing about other clubs, WHEN YOU ARE PLAYING THEM

Steve Gerrard Gerrard,
    He's big and he's f*ckin hard
    He's better than Frank Lampard
    Steve Gerrard Gerrard

I dont think Ive sat through a Liverpool match where that hasnt got sung when he decides to play. He put in a big tackle at Anfield or hits the post, that gets sung. And I dont watch Liverpool Chelsea matches anymore cos i already know theyll end 0-0 so justify that one!!! :D:D

actually wat is sung is....

steve gerrard, gerrard
    hes big and he's ****ing hard
    he'll pass the ball 40 yards
    steve gerrard gerrard

you are not on a good run in this thread at all neil! think you need to turn up the volume on your telly mate!

actually wat is sung is....

steve gerrard, gerrard
    hes big and he's ****ing hard
    he'll pass the ball 40 yards
    steve gerrard gerrard

you are not on a good run in this thread at all neil! think you need to turn up the volume on your telly mate!

Meh, Ive heard that sang before, I think!! Im in the middle of exams, Ill get slaughtered on here and save my luck for them tbh!!

Al, Pete Boyle, u know more about Man United than a lot of fans. Are u positive you're not a closet fan?!!?

Also, tbh I dont care if fans sing about a club when not playin, just lettin em know they hate them!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

The worst one was

Shams fans "joxer, who's your da? joxer joxer who's your da?" to Bohs JPK