Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else experienced the "Blue Ray of Death"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 JonathanWilson

Gogs wrote: »
    The last one there was replaced free of charge exactly a week after our one year warranty had expired.
    The guy I was talking to in Gamestop said that the replacement comes with a 3 month warranty, but since my original warranty was 4 months that would be the one used in the future. So were you out of your originally purchased warranty or the new warranty period of the replacement console?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭kaiser soza

This is the first I have heard of the 60gb machines failing, does anyone know if this is as bad as the xbox ROD problem as I have two 60gbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 twebber

Just to update ye.I emailed SCEE as suggested earlier in the thread and they have agreed to replace the faulty console free of charge.:)
    They said that there was a mistake made by the helpline and they will support all PS3's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭murphman

My 60gb PS3 froze in the middle of Pro Evo 09 Thurs evening. - Stopped reading discs from then, Disc reading errors and Bd-faults..

Bought ps3 in Dixons - Limerick on 30th November '07.
    Went back in Friday with ps3 and RECEIPT. Store has changed to Currys, they still took it for 'REPAIR'...

The sales assistant said it would take 4-6 weeks to return, according to repair documentation if I don't have it back by 42 days I am entitled to replacement.

I am not accepting a refurb or a 40gb....

Time will tell, will try to keep ye updated.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

That 42 days replacement policy is standard for any pc world/currys store. If it doesn't come back to them within 42 days they replace it out of the store stock. I doubt they have any refurbs or any 40GBs in the store so you'll more than likely get an 80GB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

I sat down this morning to have a quick look at the start of Dead Space and lo and behold my PS3 won't recognise any BluRay discs. Tried a DVD and a PS2 game, they both work - but PS1 discs won't work either. Off I go to college mighty pissed off and start reading this thread.

I get home to see my brother playing Dead Space. 'WTF' GothPunk thinks! Apparently if you load up a PS3 game/demo from the hard drive it immediately recognises PS3 or PS1 discs...:confused:

I've had a bit of a Google and apparently quite a few people have had firmware updates feck up their PS3's ability to read BluRay discs properly, but subsequent updates fixed the problems for those who didn't just have borked BluRay drives. At the moment I can still play everything, but I wonder if this is the sign of a greater malaise. I doubt that however, has to be a software problem, so I'm going to wait for the next firmware update and see if that fixes it like it has for some people.

Has this happened to any Boardsies?

*Edit* A full system restore with a full format solved my problem. My hard drive was a bit corrupted apparently. Now I'm stuck wondering how a corrupt hard drive prevented my PS3 from loading BluRay discs properly....

update: Currys rang me today, they said they were unable to fix my ps3.. They wanted me to come in and collect the ps3, they contacted Sony about it.. Sony want 'me' to send it to them and they'll replace the ps3.. I went into store and spoke to repairs guy about issue, and also asked why they can't replace unit for me in store.. (still within 12 months so I thought they would replace it) they were having none of it.. Repairs guy said they used to replace them but weren't getting the money back from Sony for dodgy consoles, so they now have this new 'send it back yourself' policy.. I was fair mad and think that this a joke, fair enough if it was passed it's 12 month warranty! I am tempted to write to Sony about the alleged comment by currys repair guy. Has anyone had similar problem. I need my ps3 for Xmas and I am not impressed with stores customer service!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

fairly sure if you are within your 12 months with the shop you bought it from, the onus is on the shop to do all the donkey work to replace your console, not you.

you bought it from the shop, not directly from sony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

well i was playin fifa 09 today and the game froze.

i reset the ps3 but now it wont read any discs.
    when i put the game in, the loading icon symbol at the top right of the screen is rotating as if its trying to load but it doesnt.

I have tried numerous games.

no error messages come up.

i tried a blue ray movie but same thing.
    will i try a restore?
    Is it shagged?

thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

iggy wrote: »
    well i was playin fifa 09 today and the game froze.

i reset the ps3 but now it wont read any discs.
    when i put the game in, the loading icon symbol at the top right of the screen is rotating as if its trying to load but it doesnt.

I have tried numerous games.

no error messages come up.

i tried a blue ray movie but same thing.
    will i try a restore?
    Is it shagged?

thanks in advance
    ya happened to me last week, rang sony ireland, 0818365065 after on hold for 15 mins, they were helpful, have your serial number to hand, they gave me a ref number and told me to bring just the console back to where i got it, xtravision, with receipt, its a very common fault, so i did last tuesday, it was in warrenty, i got a new playstation tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

BOBBY wrote: »
    ya happened to me last week, rang sony ireland, 0818365065 after on hold for 15 mins, they were helpful, have your serial number to hand, they gave me a ref number and told me to bring just the console back to where i got it, xtravision, with receipt, its a very common fault, so i did last tuesday, it was in warrenty, i got a new playstation tonight

thanks for that.

I bought it in Smyths last december 07 so i presume its still under warranty.

Do i need the receipt? dont think i have it

update: my ps3 is being collected by Sony tommorrow. Will see what happens with replacement

Has now been picked up by courier 'nightline' -

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Mine gone now as well. Bought Oct 07. Rang Sony, no hassle they will send out courier and replace with a refurb unit with the new BR unit. Confirm on phone that they have had a problems with the earlier 60 and 40GB variants, but shouldn't occur again. yeah right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Mr Bloat

What's the update on this issue, lads? The last couple of posts suggest that Sony are now sending refurbs without the user having to pay the €250 that was originally mentioned at the start of the thread.

I ask because my brother has gone on a trip to Oz with his gf for the next 3-4 months and has given me his PS3 to 'mind' for him. Wouldn't you know it, the minute I put in a disk, the thing throws a wobbler!
    I have a 360 myself so I'm not too worried about the games he has given me but I rented out a couple of Blu-Ray movies for the weekend and I have had a lot of hassle getting them to play. Once they are playing, they work grand but I have to eject/reload the disk a good number of times before it's picked up.
    I'm not 100% but I'm pretty sure it's out of warranty. Are Sony still giving a 3 month warranty with the refurbs? If so, would I be better off waiting until he comes back from Oz and makes the claim himself or should I pretend I'm him and get it replaced now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Am I the only person with a near launch ps3 that hasn't fûxxed up yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Am I the only person with a near launch ps3 that hasn't fûxxed up yet?

Nope, 2 years and counting :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

My Yankee one is still going strong

@jasonorr I bet that first year of motorstorm was great :p :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Mr Bloat wrote: »
    What's the update on this issue, lads? The last couple of posts suggest that Sony are now sending refurbs without the user having to pay the €250 that was originally mentioned at the start of the thread.

I ask because my brother has gone on a trip to Oz with his gf for the next 3-4 months and has given me his PS3 to 'mind' for him. Wouldn't you know it, the minute I put in a disk, the thing throws a wobbler!
    I have a 360 myself so I'm not too worried about the games he has given me but I rented out a couple of Blu-Ray movies for the weekend and I have had a lot of hassle getting them to play. Once they are playing, they work grand but I have to eject/reload the disk a good number of times before it's picked up.
    I'm not 100% but I'm pretty sure it's out of warranty. Are Sony still giving a 3 month warranty with the refurbs? If so, would I be better off waiting until he comes back from Oz and makes the claim himself or should I pretend I'm him and get it replaced now?

Ask your brother what he wants to do. They may not be still doing this in 3-4 months time. Guy in tech Support did say that this will have one of the new Lasers and the problem shouldn't re-occur.

My Yankee one is still going strong

@jasonorr I bet that first year of motorstorm was great :p :pac:

I didn't get Motorstorm...Resistance, NBA, NHL, Uncharted, Double Agent, Assassins Creed, COD 4, Rainbow 6 Vegas(what a crap game), Oblivion (another crap game)... kept me going along with using it as a multimedia centre!

And the replacement is back!!!!

Phones last Friday,
    email received Monday
    Picked up Tuesday
    Refurb delivered back Friday.

restoring original system now, then go to the home demo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Qs

I now have the same issue. But its temperamental. Usually when I turn on the console I can play for 30-60 minutes before it stops, then I get the BOD error code games wont load. Turn it off leave it a while and its back to square one.

Sony have told me to bring it back to the point of purchase (gamestop). Will they replace it or just send it away? I've 2 PS3s, one under warranty and one not. Will they fix one that isn't under warranty for free? Will they just hand over a replacement for one under warranty?

If Sony said bring it back, and gave you a reference, they should replace it for you. Even if its outside its warranty they should at least replace it with a refurb unit. Mine looked brand new, BTW, not a mark on it.

Not a mark on mine either, a little dusty but I can clean that off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

jasonorr wrote: »
    Oblivion (another crap game)

Went into Gamestop today, used the receipt from a PS3 that was still under warranty and they gave me a replacement there and then. It was a refurb but I don't care seeing as the PS3 that actually broke was out of warranty anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,727 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Great stuff. Did they say anything about it being over a year?

I have 2 PS3s, the one that broke was out of warranty but the other wasn't so I used the receipt from the newer one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Shenanigans9021

Another heartbreak story to add to the growing list :mad:
    My PS3's just went bust. The disk drive just stopped reading disks in the middle of a game and now it doesn't seem to be able to read any type of optical disk - music cd/data cd/blu ray/games/etc... Games on the harddisk still work fine.

And the killer is its only out of warranty by about 3 weeks

What's the update on this issue? Do you still have to pay the €250 that was originally mentioned at the start of the thread or do you have to start quoting EU laws to them???? And how long does it take to sort out, I'd like to be able to enjoy it over Christmas!

Go back a couple of pages on this very thread.

Oh yea, I see it thanks. It happened quite late last night and I was fuming after reading the first few pages of the tread and didn't read the whole thing properly. I must get on to them and see wht they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Rosedale6

Ive had my PS3 from launch day. Like many others its the 60GB version and its been fine. Its on all hours as its a shared console. The only problem with it is the fan seems louder then when i first got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Jegger

mine went bust last wednesday, rang them today and he said i`ll get an email in the next few days but he wouldnt say how much it will cost me or anything cos it is 60gb got it for xmas last year but it was bought at halloween when the last 60gb were being sold off...so i guess i gotta wait now i really want it back b4 xmas or i`ll go crazy!

noodler wrote: »
    Tried cleaning it? One of those laser cleaning discs etc?
    At least your still in warranty I guess.

do they work on this problem, cause mine is out of guarantee by about a month and by the way sony put it on the phone i`m gonna have to wait a few weeks for a repair and pay.

Look back a couple of pages, I couldn't type it all out again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭ROC1977

I knew the ps3 would have laser problem, just like the Ps2 did. And like the Ps2 just as the warranty runs out. What was all that talk about microsoft rushing out Xbox 360's with cheap hardware. Same thing happens to sony because of the world wide Blue ray laser shortages. Rushed manufacturing.

Has anyone had this problem with the newer ps3 models? Was thinking of getting a PS3 for myself at Xmas.

ROC1977 wrote: »
    I knew the ps3 would have laser problem, just like the Ps2 did. And like the Ps2 just as the warranty runs out. What was all that talk about microsoft rushing out Xbox 360's with cheap hardware. Same thing happens to sony because of the world wide Blue ray laser shortages. Rushed manufacturing.

Has anyone had this problem with the newer ps3 models? Was thinking of getting a PS3 for myself at Xmas.

This issue definitely isn't on the same scale as the RROD!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭ROC1977

True, No not yet anyway. All Sony laser devices seem to have bad history. No harm what did I do a couple of weeks ago, buy a Sony home cinema. lol Although I don't play many dvd's I stream from my PC to 360 via optical to Sony home cinema. See microsoft and sony can both work along side each other! lol

The reason I asked about the latter ps3 models, because I'm in two minds on getting a Ps3. I've a funny feeling we'll see another price drop after Xmas.
    Mad to play MGS , and little big planet. One things for sure I won't be buying as many games as I did for the 360. Getting too expensive to keep up. Credit crunch, doom and gloom and all.:(

ROC1977 wrote: »
    The reason I asked about the latter ps3 models, because I'm in two minds on getting a Ps3. I've a funny feeling we'll see another price drop after Xmas.
    Mad to play MGS , and little big planet. One things for sure I won't be buying as many games as I did for the 360. Getting too expensive to keep up. Credit crunch, doom and gloom and all.:(

Dunno to be honest, I have a launch model that has never caused me any problems and I have 5 years insurance just in case it ever does!

Update here. I email sony Ireland this morning stating the problem and it was just out of warranty, I also mentioned the EU law covering the 2 year warranty.

I get an email back a few hours later and the said they were sorry and that all consoles are made to the higest quality....bla, bla, bla.... but they will replace the console free of charge, i just have to pass on the details of where it was purchased.

So hopefully this will happen quickly enough, and they dont start dragging their heels!!! But so far so good.

Good stuff. Im hoping the fact I bought mine up north won't be a major issue if it breaks down on me. I must say I have a ps1 and ps2 that have never given me any problems (Okay the ps2 doesn't play CDs anymore but thats about it). I never had the PS2 problem alot of people go on about.

Keeping the room cold just to make sure anyway.

Update here. I email sony Ireland this morning stating the problem and it was just out of warranty, I also mentioned the EU law covering the 2 year warranty.

I get an email back a few hours later and the said they were sorry and that all consoles are made to the higest quality....bla, bla, bla.... but they will replace the console free of charge, i just have to pass on the details of where it was purchased.

So hopefully this will happen quickly enough, and they dont start dragging their heels!!! But so far so good.

yeah i got an email from them today saying tell replace it all i have to do is pay for the postage i.e 15.40, and they said it will backwards compatible too and that i'll get it back b4 xmas! so happy!

I personally think Sony are being fairly clever with regards Warranty. They are being fairly cool by the sounds of things. Theres no way in Hell I would buy another PS3 if mine broke and Sony wouldn't replace it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭dsignr25

Did you have the receipt for yours?
    Just found out today that my brothers ps3 is not playing games anymore so had a look and it's only a problem with blu-ray.
    Dvds play grand.
    It was bought around this time last year but the mother can't find the receipt..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

What its their e-mail? Mine broke down nearly a month ago and its out of warrenty. Cheers

dsignr25 wrote: »
    Did you have the receipt for yours?
    Just found out today that my brothers ps3 is not playing games anymore so had a look and it's only a problem with blu-ray.
    Dvds play grand.
    It was bought around this time last year but the mother can't find the receipt..

when i called about mine they wanted to know if i had my receipt and wanted to know the exact date and place i got it, but they didnt want me to send it to them with the PS3 so i could have lied you know.

JonGaffer wrote: »
    when i called about mine they wanted to know if i had my receipt and wanted to know the exact date and place i got it, but they didnt want me to send it to them with the PS3 so i could have lied you know.

I have the receipt. Do you know what number you called?

cheers, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭lego

€250 for PS3 repair is ridiculous.

You can buy a new one for €268 from sonystyle.co.uk

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=58301247&posted=1#post58301247

Getting a replacement ps3 tomorrow off Sony! E-mailed that address u gave yesterday and they said they will send a replacement to Xtra-Vision. Thanks a million for that email address, probably saved me 400 euro buying a new one!