Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Good cosmtic surgeon

• 27-05-2008 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭

Hi there does anyone know of a good cosmetic surgeon in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Might I suggest doing your own research rather than asking for the opinions of strangers on the interweb when it comes to the delicate matter of having your body sliced open and having stuff put in/taken out.

Is worth 5 minutes on Google surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Ah now to be fair, I'd trust a place reccomended to me by a reputable boardsie over something I came across on google.

Sure it's imperfect but hopefully they have experience with it and can give you feedback while directing you somewhere.

Although OP it'd presumable help if you gave more info.

Ah I know boardsies are great for reccomendations but if it was me going to get an operation with all the risks that brings, ya know, dying and stuff, I wouldnt be asking on a message board.

Thats just me mind.

Also, what's a 'good' surgeon?

One that hasnt mutilated anyone :confused:

One would hope they are all 'good'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭jellybeans

ye thanks coz like I was going to rush right into the operating table without doing my own research|!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! twas just a recommendation and perhaps personal stories etc.

I see what you mean but a boardsie could point you in the right direction, thus giving you one reference to look at.

Sure it could be rubbish but I wouldnt see it as any worse than what google could throw at you, it requires a level of sifting through rubbish but if a poster with some clout can vouch for it it can be a decent step.

Just be careful jellybeans, there are some horror stories out there.

Interesting, I wonder if any boardsies will come forward with personal stories.

Peared wrote: »

Ah yeah, I agree there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

My friend had a boob job recently in the harley st medical centre?? Its in dublin anyway obviously not harley street :o but she only had good things to say about her 'stay' and naturally the outcome.

I've seen em, they're great :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭jellybeans

well it just sounded a bit b*tchy, anyway the cosmetic surgery is for a friend that needs it for medical reasons as opposed to cosmetic

I don't understand why people get boob jobs, it just baffles me.

That's just my opinion though.

I don't understand why people get boob jobs, it just baffles me.

That's just my opinion though.

I never did either, til i hit 33.

Well I just personally dont think its the best way to go about it, thats all.

'Somebody from the internet told a friend of mine that x was 'good''

Especially if its for medical reasons.

Sounded like you were asking for yourself in your second post btw.

Golden pages has a zillion pages of cosmetic surgeons, might give your friend an idea of what's out there.

If it's for medical reasons, surely the hospital or GP can reccomend where to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭lilly07

I am an A cup and it seriously gets me down i would absolutly love a boob job, im 21 and it has never bothered me having small boobs until the last 6 months maybe.. i do think I have a good figure but it not noticeable when my chest is so small

what are rough prices for boob jobs in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Delganys Finest

I was with this girl with fakes before,not huge or anything,barely hand sized really.They looked good but they felt horrible(although I gather there are different types etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

lilly07 wrote: »
    i do think I have a good figure but it not noticeable when my chest is so small

It would be, especially while bending over or walking away. Anyway, you can't beat a pretty face.

I just find the idea of boob jobs a bit weird.
    Plastic surgery for purely cosmetic reasons and giving no health benifits whatsoever.

I know a few girls who considered doing them as they felt it would make them feel better about themselves, but I'd imagine if they were insecure about something as superficial as breasts then they'd be insecure anyway. They seemed to think boobs were of great importance to guys, in my experience, they don;t. On a purely aesthetic level, the guys I know appreciate face most of all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Hooked

I just find the idea of boob jobs a bit weird.
    Plastic surgery for purely cosmetic reasons and giving no health benifits whatsoever.

Long time lurker, infrequent poster - so go easy on me!
    I have to disagree there... What about benefits to "mental" health?

I know this guy, a friend, let's call him... me! Yes - I went under the knife for a bit of NIP/TUCK last year and it was the best 3,500 euro ever spent. I'm a 29 yr old guy and no, I didn't have man boobs.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but in this day and age - when the price of my new found confidence (and y'EARS' of teasing, wink wink) is on par with one of the lads getting braces for his teeth, I'm of the opinion that if you're willing to put up with the painful recovery and risk involved, then a positive outcome can have massive "mental" health benefits.

The OP can PM me for the details as the surgeon I chose. After 3 consultations and much decision making over 6 months - I was reluctant to let one of these fly in, fly out day trippers at me.

My advice. Get your friend to think long and hard about it. Research the surgeon via the Irish Medical council and if it is for "medical reasons" then have your GP refer you. You want someone that specialises in the particular area of concern.

Just my Euro 0.02

Yeah, I understand what you mean, I'm not judging anyone who chooses to go under the knife, I'm just saying it's a bit baffling to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Yeah, I understand what you mean, I'm not judging anyone who chooses to go under the knife, I'm just saying it's a bit baffling to me.
    What if you were in a fire and badly scarred or had a badly broken nose from a fight? Both are completely cosmetic. What if you were born with a hare lip, one ear or any other random, non-harmful genentic abnormality?

Would getting surgery done in these cosmetic instances still baffle you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Sangre wrote: »
    What if you were in a fire and badly scarred or had a badly broken nose from a fight? Both are completely cosmetic. What if you were born with a hare lip, one ear or any other random, non-harmful genentic abnormality?

Thats legitimate surgery though.
    I would be wary of having surgery to boost your confidence as I dont think it really does. You can only build your confidence from the inside not the outside. Most people who get plastic surgery become addicted to it as they start seeing more and more things about their body/face they want to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

panda100 wrote: »
    Most people who get plastic surgery become addicted to it .

is that really true?

Sangre wrote: »

Methinks there is a difference between cosmetic and reconstructive surgery.

I've seen kids run screaming from people with facial burns, never seen them do the same from someone with an A cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

OP, if it's medical cosmetic surgery, ask your GP to recommend a consultant.

If it's lipo, boob job, you could still ask your GP, but they might not be as helpful. What is the procedure in mind?

My friend paid 6 thousand for her boob job Lily

tallaght01 wrote: »
    is that really true?

If you think about It cosmetic surgery is a quick fix solution to an underlying problem of low self esteem and body dimorphic disorder. Changing your physical appreance slightly is not going to magically change the way you feel about yourself.
    Theres a good article about it here : http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article641628.ece

Dr Eileen Bradbury, a consultant psychologist at the Alexandra hospital in Cheadle, near Manchester, treats patients who have become hooked on cosmetic procedures.
    “People can become addicted to the anticipation, the excitement and the attention they receive,” said Bradbury. “There is a short-lived result of feeling fabulous. But the post-procedure high fades, life goes back to normal and all the mundane problems come back so you need to go for another fix.”

If you think about It cosmetic surgery is a quick fix solution to an underlying problem of low self esteem and body dimorphic disorder. Changing your physical appreance slightly is not going to magically change the way you feel about yourself.
    Theres a good article about it here : http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article641628.ece

Dr Eileen Bradbury, a consultant psychologist at the Alexandra hospital in Cheadle, near Manchester, treats patients who have become hooked on cosmetic procedures.
    “People can become addicted to the anticipation, the excitement and the attention they receive,” said Bradbury. “There is a short-lived result of feeling fabulous. But the post-procedure high fades, life goes back to normal and all the mundane problems come back so you need to go for another fix.”

I wasn't taking issue with the fact that some people get addicted to it. I was wondering about the assertion that most people get addicted to it.

And who taught you about evidenced based medicine? Your tutor would have a conniption if he/she saw you using the times as your primary data source, young lady :p

I know I know :pac:
    perhaps most was an exaggeration

oh-snap.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Ms_Taurus

Trinity1 wrote: »
    I never did either, til i hit 33.

sounds like you envy her, is all that pain and risk worth it?

Ms_Taurus wrote: »
    sounds like you envy her, is all that pain and risk worth it?

No i dont envy her at all, I am very happy for her. In fairness if i wanted to get them i would take out a loan quite easily.

She is happy with her body, she is in her 40's and in fantastic shape but she really didnt have a tit to her name and its bothered her for years :D

I agree with a point panda made though about some people could become addicted. But a lot of people dont do it to compensate for lack of confidence or a quick fix. My friend for example is happy and confident about her body but always wanted boobs, now she has them.

I, on the other hand, would end up getting the works done, lipo, boobs, nose, teeth, lips so I am not a good candidate for surgery as I am not happy with any aspect of myself and would always find something else i would want fixed so I would be one of those people Panda is referring to.

Ah come on now, not trying to be unctuous here but I saw the picture you put up in the Ladies of the Ladies Lounge thread, you look absolutely grand.

I agree with Kickoutthejams you look gorgeous in your ladies lounge pic,and I dont hand out compliments to just anyone :)

IMHO breasts are beautiful because they come in all shapes and sizes,Its awful this notion in society that to be sexual and sensual breasts have to be pert,large and well rounded .Its just horrific that women pay ludicrous amounts of money to achieve a fake view of what breasts should like.

How can it be a good way to build body confidence by, risking your life in an unnecessary medical procedure, losing the natural sensitization in your nipples and having plastic collagen inserted into your chest! The only people who truly benefit from the sterotypical notion of what our breasts should look like are the plastic surgeons who are making millions of these procedures.Womens bodys are moulded not for our own pleasure but pleasing mens stereotypical notions of what breasts should look like.

I remember my first serious boyfriend once commented that my breast were 'odd'.There smallish,squishy and kinda far apart. However,its not my breasts that are odd, its the fake push up bra,pert,inflated,nipple hard breasts we see in the media everyday that are odd.The sooner women start realising this and stop being pressured into unnecessary surgery the better.
    In the meantime I shall go of and join the numerous tribes in Africa that celebrate saggy breasts.

I don't get society's obsession with boobies, there are far more attractive parts to a lady than her tits.

there are far more attractive parts to a lady than her tits.

get ta fook :p

gtfo.png

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i think my body has got better as i have got older

a big w00t \ 0 / for winkles and squeesy bits and not caring less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Ms_Taurus

Ah come on now, not trying to be unctuous here but I saw the picture you put up in the Ladies of the Ladies Lounge thread, you look absolutely grand.

There right you look great.

I was considering my tummy tucked, boobs done, face lift.

But then i thought what happens when the tummys goes flab, the boobs sag and the face drops get it done again, no I'm just going to stay the way i am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 zenboy

to the OP ,
    seriously ask your GP /treating doctor to recommend specialist in the area you require and check theyre on specialist register for plastic surgery indicating higher training in this area.Some private clinics use surgeons without this training and call themselves cosmetic surgeons.Better go to a consultant plastic surgeon who works or has worked in a public hospital and have consultations with a few of these to see if your a suitable candidate and if your comfortable with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭dh2007

also to the OP, seeing that very few people are recommending anyone I thought I'd chip in!

Ms. Mary Fahy in the Blackrock Clinic is supposed to be the best in Ireland. My sister needed to get a benign growth removed and was recommended to go to a plastic surgeon rather than a normal surgeon because they won't leave you scarred. You wouldn't even know she had the surgery.

I also have a friend who went to her the other month to get a boob job (€9,000!) and they look great. Not too big, just in proportion with her size. I also have another friend who's mum went to her to get a boob lift and they also look great! My sis and my friend had been recommended to go to Mary Fahy by entirely different people so apparently she's renowned as being excellent.

I'm not against plastic surgery myself but would never get it done. However, if I were to get anything done I would ensure that the person I was letting at me was highly reputable. Not sure if this is any help but I think it's a good idea to go to a female surgeon as they're more in touch with our idea of beauty/less likely to do a hack-job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 oblivian

ya the english boards are raving about a guy hes the best in their country, how come there are no names popping up in searches in ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 6 panta rei

What about "The Hospital Group" in Galway? Has anyone of you or anyone you know had something done there? It is supossed to be UK clinic expanded in Ireland, but I'm not sure about them.
    It seems like Irish are not really into plastic surgery as the rest of Europe, even some poor countries are more involved. And even if you do it in Ireland, wallet hurts badly! So expensive! I know when it comes to health nothing's too expensive, but come on, not talking only about plastic surgery, health in general is so expensive in Ireland. For that money, I'd expect from doctor to perform miracle. Talking about doctors, in other countries you can find much better specialist for reasonable prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 marmalade2009

hi jellybeans im new to boards would just like to let you know i had abdominoplasy done in2007 i went to the Harley Medical Group in Dublin they are very professional people although my operation was carried out in a private hospital in mullingar was well looked after and had no problems after op,in saying that i believe it is an awful lot cheeper abroad if you knew anyone that could recommend

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭hubbabubba09

hi jellybeans im new to boards would just like to let you know i had abdominoplasy done in2007 i went to the Harley Medical Group in Dublin they are very professional people although my operation was carried out in a private hospital in mullingar was well looked after and had no problems after op,in saying that i believe it is an awful lot cheeper abroad if you knew anyone that could recommend

I went for my consultation with the harley medical group in Cork last week,
    after 2 children last child section I was left with a terrible "overhang"
    but the tummy tuck and some lipo will cost the guts of 10k and I cant justify spending that much on myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 sunflower09

have u every heard of anyone dying from cosmetic surgery. Ok it obviously carries risks, like every operation!

Ah I know boardsies are great for reccomendations but if it was me going to get an operation with all the risks that brings, ya know, dying and stuff, I wouldnt be asking on a message board.

Thats just me mind.

Also, what's a 'good' surgeon?

One that hasnt mutilated anyone :confused:

One would hope they are all 'good'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Redfury

Trinity wrote: »
    My friend had a boob job recently in the harley st medical centre?? Its in dublin anyway obviously not harley street :o but she only had good things to say about her 'stay' and naturally the outcome.

I've seen em, they're great :cool:

what was the name of her doctor??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭shellykbookey

Most people who get plastic surgery become addicted to it as they start seeing more and more things about their body/face they want to change.

There is a condition/ syndrome (that I cant for the life of me remember the name) where people convince themselves they need surgery the whole time. My mam's a nurse and she said that she seen 2 or 3 people with it when she started out (1970's), they'd fake appendicitis or tonsils go into hospital and have the opperation. You also get people "accidently" crushing or seriously damaging fingers and toes to get them amputated, but I think thats a seperate condition? The difference is now you dont need a medical reason for having surgery and with the advances in scans its harder to fake illness. The "repeaters" who keep getting things done more than likely have this and aren't addicted to the cosmetic side of it, its just a means to an end.

(P.S will try and find out what that syndrome is called)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭shellykbookey

Found it :) Münchausen syndrome. The surgery thing is part of it not the main component, my bad.