Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Game Recipes and Tips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭mallards

:eek: Visions of American pie! :D

Hope you enjoy eating one. That recipe has been tried a few times since I posted it!

Mallards.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

mate and I came up with an idea for a rabbit burger recently: make your patty out of minced rabbit (yes, I know, deboning is a pain) and fry. toast your buns, so the inside is nice and crispy. layer with red onion jam, rocket leaves and a slice of mature emmental (extra mature cheddar or a slice of parmesan will do in a pinch).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

In central Italy, summer evenings are greeted with the intoxicating aroma of porchetta cooking in fennel and garlic, rock salt and peppercorns. At most open-air food markets around the country, the lines are always longest at the porchetta stand, where these most delicious of sandwiches come un-relished and dripping with juice. Any cook who has eaten porchetta in Italy would probably only dream of replicating this dish -- a whole pig boned and slow roasted in a wood-burning oven -- at home.

Well not a whole pig and not a huge wood burning oven, just your kitchen oven and a fresh leg of pork but this is pretty close.

The dish you're actually cooking is slow-roasted butt end shoulder of pork. Not a lot of work is required; a little prep, a little attention and a lot of slow roasting will net you a dish that is so tender it will make a grown man howl.
    IMO the butt end of the leg consistently renders an incredibly tender, juicy, falling-apart meat with a wonderful flavor. Cuts from the lower leg and shoulder, where the muscles have the most exercise, are likely to be tougher and are more suited to long, slow cooking. Slow roasting melts away much of the fat and sinew and allows the connective tissue to brake down and moisten the meat. There's a lot more meat on the butt and a lot less waste.

Slow Roasted Leg of Wild Boar or Fresh Domestic Pork Leg or Shoulder

Ingredients
    4 pounds pork leg (butt end) or shoulder - Do Not substitute with another cut of pork as you do not want a lean cut.
    2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more for drizzling
    2 medium onions, thinly sliced
    2 apples, thinly sliced
    2-3 cloves of garlic rough chopped
    1 1/2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh sage leaves, (dried will work if fresh is not available).
    Gray salt
    Freshly ground black pepper
    About 1/4 cup Fennel Spice, recipe follows
    Fennel Spice Rub:
    1 cup fennel seeds
    3 tablespoons coriander seeds
    2 tablespoons white peppercorns
    6 sprigs of rosemary, leaves removed from stems
    3 tablespoons coarse salt

Put the fennel seeds, coriander seeds, and peppercorns in a heavy pan over medium heat. Watch carefully, tossing frequently so the seeds toast evenly. When light brown and fragrant, pour the seeds onto a plate to cool. They must be cool before grinding, or they will gum up the blades.
    Pour the seeds into a blender and add the rosemary salt. Blend to a fine powder, shaking the blender occasionally to redistribute the seeds. A mortar and pestle can be used in lieu of a electric grinder. Store in a tightly sealed glass jar in a cool, dry place, or freeze.
    Yield: about 1 1/4 cups

Directions
    Bone the meat or have the butcher do it.
    If the skin is on make crisscross incisions all over the pork, on both sides.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat until hot. Add the onions, apples and garlic, cover pan, reduce the heat to medium-low and cook until light brown, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add the sage and season with salt and pepper. Cook until the onions cease throwing off water, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat, allow to cool on plate.
    Add the onions, apples, garlic & sage directly to the butterflyed cavity, roll or fold and tie with butchers twine. Season: Rub well all over with the fennel spice pushing it into the incisions and crevices.
    Wrap pork in foil or place in covered dish and refrigerate for 12 - 36 hours.

Cooking
    Bring pork to room temperature by removing it from refrigerator 1 to 2 hours before cooking.
    Preheat the oven to 135 degrees C, Gas mark No.1 .
    Arrange the meat on a rack in a roasting pan lined with foil, drizzle with more olive oil and cook until the meat is very tender, about 8 hours. It is ready when it pulls away easily if picked at with a fork or a pair of tongs. It is often easiest to cook the meat overnight, or put it in the oven in the morning and let it cook all day. It does not need to be attended.
    Remove meat from pan , skim off fat, add a bottle of white wine to pan and bring to boil, reduce heat to simmer and continue until liquid has being reduced by half.

Serve with beans or whatever may entice the taste buds. A loaf of Italian, French or homemade Irish brown bread.

I use dried white beans, controne beans if you can get them, cannellini, cranberry or any of the white beans, great northern or navy even pinto.
    Soak the beans in cold water over night, using 3-4 times more water than beans. Drain the beans. Put the beans together with a chopped onion, a whole head of garlic, two leaves of sage, oregano and a tablespoon full of olive oil, in a good sized pot, cover with cold water and bring to the boil on a low flame. After an hour your bean soup will be almost ready. Remove excess water, add salt, black pepper to taste and a trickle of raw oil.

Treat yourself to a bottle or two of good Sangiovese or Chianti Classico.
    Bono Appetito!.

porkandbeans.th.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭mallards

Savage! Yum Yum!

Mallards.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

In central Italy, summer evenings are greeted with the intoxicating aroma of porchetta cooking in fennel and garlic, rock salt and peppercorns. At most open-air food markets around the country, the lines are always longest at the porchetta stand, where these most delicious of sandwiches come un-relished and dripping with juice. Any cook who has eaten porchetta in Italy would probably only dream of replicating this dish -- a whole pig boned and slow roasted in a wood-burning oven -- at home.

Well not a whole pig and not a huge wood burning oven, just your kitchen oven and a fresh leg of pork but this is pretty close.

The dish you're actually cooking is slow-roasted butt end shoulder of pork. Not a lot of work is required; a little prep, a little attention and a lot of slow roasting will net you a dish that is so tender it will make a grown man howl.
    IMO the butt end of the leg consistently renders an incredibly tender, juicy, falling-apart meat with a wonderful flavor. Cuts from the lower leg and shoulder, where the muscles have the most exercise, are likely to be tougher and are more suited to long, slow cooking. Slow roasting melts away much of the fat and sinew and allows the connective tissue to brake down and moisten the meat. There's a lot more meat on the butt and a lot less waste.

Slow Roasted Leg of Wild Boar or Fresh Domestic Pork Leg or Shoulder

Ingredients
    4 pounds pork leg (butt end) or shoulder - Do Not substitute with another cut of pork as you do not want a lean cut.
    2 apples, thinly sliced
    1 1/2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh sage leaves, (dried will work if fresh is not available).
    Gray salt
    Fennel Spice Rub:
    1 cup fennel seeds

Put the fennel seeds, coriander seeds, and peppercorns in a heavy pan over medium heat. Watch carefully, tossing frequently so the seeds toast evenly. When light brown and fragrant, pour the seeds onto a plate to cool. They must be cool before grinding, or they will gum up the blades.
    Pour the seeds into a blender and add the rosemary salt. Blend to a fine powder, shaking the blender occasionally to redistribute the seeds. A mortar and pestle can be used in lieu of a electric grinder. Store in a tightly sealed glass jar in a cool, dry place, or freeze.

Directions
    If the skin is on make crisscross incisions all over the pork, on both sides.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat until hot. Add the onions, apples and garlic, cover pan, reduce the heat to medium-low and cook until light brown, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add the sage and season with salt and pepper. Cook until the onions cease throwing off water, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat, allow to cool on plate.
    Add the onions, apples, garlic & sage directly to the butterflyed cavity, roll or fold and tie with butchers twine. Season: Rub well all over with the fennel spice pushing it into the incisions and crevices.

Cooking
    Bring pork to room temperature by removing it from refrigerator 1 to 2 hours before cooking.
    Arrange the meat on a rack in a roasting pan lined with foil, drizzle with more olive oil and cook until the meat is very tender, about 8 hours. It is ready when it pulls away easily if picked at with a fork or a pair of tongs. It is often easiest to cook the meat overnight, or put it in the oven in the morning and let it cook all day. It does not need to be attended.
    Remove meat from pan , skim off fat, add a bottle of white wine to pan and bring to boil, reduce heat to simmer and continue until liquid has being reduced by half.

Serve with beans or whatever may entice the taste buds. A loaf of Italian, French or homemade Irish brown bread.

I use dried white beans, controne beans if you can get them, cannellini, cranberry or any of the white beans, great northern or navy even pinto.
    Soak the beans in cold water over night, using 3-4 times more water than beans. Drain the beans. Put the beans together with a chopped onion, a whole head of garlic, two leaves of sage, oregano and a tablespoon full of olive oil, in a good sized pot, cover with cold water and bring to the boil on a low flame. After an hour your bean soup will be almost ready. Remove excess water, add salt, black pepper to taste and a trickle of raw oil.

Bono Appetito!.

porkandbeans.th.jpg

Lovely! I'd add a bit of the grease you removed from the pork to the beans ...

"I'd add a bit of the grease you removed from the pork to the beans ..."

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

In the spirit of enjoying the nice weather, bunny kebabs!

Marinate:
    1 tsp ground coriander
    1/2 tsp turmeric
    1/2 tsp ground cumin
    1tsp cumin seeds
    juice of half a lemon
    1 large tsp honey
    good chunk of olive oil
    liberal splash of red wine vinegar
    fresh ground black pepper

Marinate strips of rabbit overnight in the above mixture and heat up the barbecue the following day. Barbecue the strips of bunny, but not too much. At the same time, make a tinfoil parcel containing the following:

1 red pepper, roughly chopped
    1 large onion, cubed
    2 cloves chopped garlic
    2 red chillies, good and hot
    splash of olive oil
    black pepper to taste

Seal up this parcel and put on the barbecue. Vegetables steam and flavours run into one another. Leave like this for several minutes.

After this, make a new tinfoil parcel, add the vegetables and the rabbit bits, drain a tin of tomatoes and chop them roughly and add to the parcel. Seal up and leave on the barbecue for ten minutes or so.

Add to homemade naan breads and good salad with the dressing of your choice. Did this as a team effort with a friend. She provided the bread and salad, I did the rest. Was an absolutely beautiful lunch, and one of the finest ways to cook vegetables I've found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 irishhunter

can't wait to try it out

I will give the Bunny Kebabs a go. :D

Update

I had hoped that the editing function was available but ......... on rereading my original post my editing was not up to snuff.
    Maybe one of the moderators would be kind enough to delete my original post.

A few minor corrections in bold type.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

IMO the butt end of the leg consistently renders an incredibly tender, juicy, falling-apart meat with a wonderful flavour. Cuts from the lower leg and shoulder, where the muscles have the most exercise, are likely to be tougher and are more suited to long, slow cooking. Slow roasting melts away much of the fat and sinew and allows the connective tissue to brake down and moisten the meat. There's a lot more meat on the butt and a lot less waste.

Slow Roasted Leg or Shoulder of Fresh Pork

Ingredients
    2 apples, thinly sliced
    Gray salt
    Fennel Spice Rub:
    1 cup fennel seeds

Put the fennel seeds, coriander seeds, peppercorns and rosemary in a heavy pan over medium heat. Watch carefully, tossing frequently so the seeds toast evenly. When light brown and fragrant, pour the seeds onto a plate to cool. They must be cool before grinding, or they will gum up the blades.
    Pour the seeds into a blender and blend to a fine powder, shaking the blender occasionally to redistribute the seeds. A mortar and pestle can be used in lieu of a electric grinder. Add the salt to mixture and store in a tightly sealed glass jar in a cool, dry place, or freeze.

Directions
    If the skin is on make criss-cross incisions all over the pork, on both sides.

Cooking
    Arrange the meat on a rack in a roasting pan lined with foil, drizzle with more olive oil and cook until the meat is very tender, about 8 hours.
    At the 6 1/2 mark Remove meat from pan , skim off fat, add a bottle of white wine to pan and bring to boil, put the meat back in the pan and the pan in the oven and continue cooking on Gas mark No.1 until liquid has being reduced by half. Add more liquid if need be.
    It is ready when it pulls away easily if picked at with a fork or a pair of tongs. It is often easiest to cook the meat overnight, or put it in the oven in the morning and let it cook all day. It does not need to be attended.

Serve with beans or whatever may entice the taste buds and a loaf of Italian, French or homemade Irish brown bread.

Soak the beans in cold water over night, using 3-4 times more water than beans. Drain the beans. Put the beans together with a chopped onion, a whole head of garlic, two leaves of sage, oregano and a tablespoon full of olive oil, in a good sized pot, cover with cold water and bring to the boil on a low flame. After an hour your bean soup will be almost ready. Remove excess water, add salt, black pepper to taste and a trickle of raw oil. Or lorderpad's suggestion "Lovely! I'd add a bit of the grease you removed from the pork to the beans ..." ;)

Bono Appetito!.

porkandbeans.th.jpghttp://img522.imageshack.us/img522/8265/porkandbeans.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Got my first decent rabbit today at 150 yards!.
    Skinned, gutted and now soaking in salted water.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Very exciting.......especially the sausage making bit:D

Great hands that woman!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 irishhunter

PHEASANT WITH MUSHROOMS Posted:
    SERVES 4
    15 g/1/2 oz dried ceps or porcini mushroom
    1 hen pheasant weighing about 1.25 kg/2 Ib 12 oz
    2 tbsp plain flour
    2 tbsp olive oil
    1 onion chopped
    1 large carrot thinly sliced
    2 celery sticks sliced
    450 ml chicken stock
    1 fresh bouquet garni
    1-2 tbsp redcurrant jelly
    2-3 tbsp port
    15 g/1/2 oz butter or margarine
    115 g/4 oz mushrooms sliced
    55 g/2 oz ready-to-eat prunes chooped salt and pepper
    1 tbsp potato and parsnip mash

to serve

creamed potato and parsnip mash
    red cabbage
    peas

Preheat the oven to 180 C/350 F/Gas Mark 4 put the dried mushrooms in a heatproof jug cover with almost boiling water and leave for 20 minutes to soak.Discard any excees fat from the pheasant lightly rinse and pat dry with kitchen paper and cut into 4 pieces.Season the flour well with salt and pepper.Toss the pheasant in the seasoned flour until well coated and reserve any remaning seasoned flour.
    Heat all but 2 teaspoons of the oil in a large frying pan and cook the pheasant over a medium-highheat turning frequently for 10 minutes or until browned all over and sealed,Using a slotted spoon transfer to an ovenproof casserole.
    Add the remaning oil to the frying pan and cook the onion csrrot and celery over a medium heat stirring frequently for 5 minutes or until softened.Sprinkle in the reserved season flour
    and cook stirring constantly for 2 minutes then remove from the heat,Gradually stir in the stock followed by the soaked dried mushrooms and their soaking liquid then return to the heat and bring to the boil,stirring
    Pour over the pheasant in the casserole and add the bouquet garni redcurreant jelly and port cover and cook in the preheated oven for 1 1/2 hours
    Melt the butter in a saucepan and cook the mushrooms stirring frequently for 3 minutes or util beginning to soften,Add to the casserole with thhe prunes and cook for a further 15-29 minutes or until the pheasant is tender.Serve garnished with parsley accompanied by creamed potato and parsnip mash red cabbage and peas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

this a web site of interest for those of us that eat what we hunt.

www.gameson.org.uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭sikahunter

Nemesis wrote: »

Got my first decent rabbit today at 150 yards!.
    Skinned, gutted and now soaking in salted water.

so she likes a long thin sausage think im in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Chinese style Venison shin.

1kg shin cubed.
    2" ginger root sliced 3mm thick
    Garlic 3 cloves sliced maybe more if you like garlic.
    1 tsp 5 spice powder.
    3 whole star anise
    3-4heaped tablespoons brown sugar/honey
    5 Tbsp dark soys sauce, light soy is a bit salty
    1/2 cup rice wine.
    enough water to just cover the meat.

Mix everything up in a pot or slow cooker and bring to the boil, skim the scum off and simmer for an hour and a half or until very tender.
    Serve with boiled rice and stirfried veges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

how bout this joint a rabbit cover in oil and barbeque it. works great at a camp fire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

A quick one,

Venison chops marinated in worchester sauce and olive oil for about an hour at room temprature, grilled slowly at about 130, some oven chips & peas.....

Ready in twenty minutes...

3976738185_e52ba69a8d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭moose112

Chips €1.20

Peas €0.90

The taste of a Venison chop priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭booom

got some handy tips / ideas from www.downsizer.net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I had a quick look through the thread but couldn't find any. Anybody got a link for gutting a pigeon, I generally just have the breasts, but I'm thinking of making a pie so I'll use as much of the birds as I can.

Cheers

I done a search of you tube myself and found this for any newbies like myself

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6XsH1fHkMU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Got this recipe from here.

http://www.ireland-guide.com/recipes/pheasant_roasted_with_smoked_bacon_and_sage_with_red_cabbage_salad.8156.html

I used red wine instead of the port. The salad seems weird, but is stunning. Goes really well with the meat and the whole thing is very healthy!

PC200264.jpg

I used two small wild shot pheasants.

PC200270.jpg

Enjoyed by all. I mean all.

PC200271.jpg

As the season is only a few days away here is a few more good vids on prep of game
    Game chef, Mark Hinge, talks you through the process of skinning a pheasant ready for the oven

I know this is an old post but I just wanted to say thanks for that link. It was my first time to prep one tonight and I went for that skinning process. It worked great I even got the whole lot off in one go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

by jaysus there hard to hit... finally got a coupla boxes of 9 1/2 ... have been attempting to hit them wiley feckers with 6's (opportunely, while on duck patrol) and seeing as i was flushing (and missing) so many snipe i went with the "salt grain"... yay.. got (nearly) every bird.... so.. best i can garner from youtube etc.. is treat it like woodcock.. ie pluck/draw/ and thread beak thru legs(maybe wrap a rasher round it??) .. grill or oven 20 mins approx?? what would ye serve yourself with it? i was just thinkin maybe a small plate of baby spuds (2 or 3) a couple of clorets of cauli, and a small scoop of ???? sauce??? i was half thinking of a fish sauce or pepper sauce??? all suggestions welcome!!

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭shannonpowerlab

thehair wrote: »
    good luck with it attempt at mallards curry:Dps put a few toilet rolls for
    about 12 hours in the fridge and then OPEN FAST AND USED IT:p
    if it goes pear shape:D:D

Do you make it that spicy?

Though there are times when I thought I could have gone easy on chilli peppers...It is a bit like some kind of addiction...keep adding a bit more each time for an extra bit of zing but regret it in the morning...

Is there a rabbit season? I was thinking of picking up some rabbits to make some rabbit stew...

Ahhhhh...look at the doggie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

Is there a rabbit season? I was thinking of picking up some rabbits to make some rabbit stew...

no you can shoot them alll year round, but i wouldnt shoot them in summer as they have young. now is a great time for them

So I thought I'll be off shooting but it turns out that my license is issued with 1 incorrect serial number digit so the license is not valid....Bah!:mad: