Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BRUTAL TESCO.IE DELIVERY Nutgrove

• 30-05-2008 10:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 47

its 22:05 fri eve,

picture this - food ordered yesterday for 7 - 9 pm delivery , wife 7mts pregnant and we have 2 guests over for the weekend

hey presto no delivery no call nothing

ring the freefone number - in UK - they try ring the shop in nutgrove - even they cant get through to nutgrove?? unreal

So basically we dont know when our food will show up and im Livid - this is the second time this has happened

Such bad service and its just appaling - really really bad - pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Little-Devil

P D wrote: »
    its 22:05 fri eve,

picture this - food ordered yesterday for 7 - 9 pm delivery , wife 7mts pregnant and we have 2 guests over for the weekend

hey presto no delivery no call nothing

Thats pretty bad alright, even a phonecall to say it might be late. Your wife is 7months pregnant fairenough.

Whats your excuse :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭nothing

Thats pretty bad, have you thought about writing a letter of complaint?

I use Superquinn.ie, and I find them to be very reliable.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 P D

Thats pretty bad alright, even a phonecall to say it might be late. Your wife is 7months pregnant fairenough.

Whats your excuse :rolleyes:

what you mean ?? she ordered it and her parents are here so is really stressed ? MY excuse - been on every tesco number and website for the past 2 hrs ?? while she goes to bed , my excuse - dont even dare turn this into a sexsit thing when you dont even know me , roll your eyes !! sad

other reply - this only happened tonight - a letter on a bank hol fri night wont get me my food but know what u mean, we did last time and got a refund

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

If you have had problems before i would recommend trying superquinn or another idea. Like consumer affairs keep telling people is to vote with their feet if they get bad service or over pricing. I know this wont get you your shopping but if everyone acted more like this it might force shops to less give a basic standard, something tesco delivery cant seem to manage in a lot of branches! They are putting a lot of advertising into this at the minute, offering €10 off vouchers etc to entice people to try the service, they might as well be pissing into the wind if there giving a service like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

i wouldnt blame the fact that your wife is 7 months pregnant on the delivery driver........unless.

but yeah, rubbish service tbh.

irish people are too accepting of bad service i find.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,075 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

One consolation is that Tesco won't be delivering the baby either.

davton wrote: »
    If you have had problems before i would recommend trying superquinn or another idea. Like consumer affairs keep telling people is to vote with their feet if they get bad service or over pricing. I know this wont get you your shopping but if everyone acted more like this it might force shops to less give a basic standard, something tesco delivery cant seem to manage in a lot of branches! They are putting a lot of advertising into this at the minute, offering €10 off vouchers etc to entice people to try the service, they might as well be pissing into the wind if there giving a service like this.

Youre dead right and i will - superquinn is more but way better - Had enough on Crapco

So its 9:10 Sat morning - and the phone just rings out - really frustrating

So im off to buy food !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Maybe the Tesco truck broke down and the AA didn't arrive :confused:

Maybe the AA didnt arrive cause they crashed into the phone network.

P D see this post for free delivery from superquinn.ie

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055302756

• Registered Users Posts: 7,153 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

P D wrote: »
    what you mean ?? she ordered it and her parents are here so is really stressed ? MY excuse - been on every tesco number and website for the past 2 hrs ?? while she goes to bed , my excuse - dont even dare turn this into a sexsit thing when you dont even know me , roll your eyes !! sad

other reply - this only happened tonight - a letter on a bank hol fri night wont get me my food but know what u mean, we did last time and got a refund

He's probably wondering why you didnt go down to tesco? Which im kinda wondering too, surely it would have been quicker than spending 2 hours on the phone to go down there eat the head of some lad/lass , do your shopping if you wish and come home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

He's probably wondering why you didnt go down to tesco? Which im kinda wondering too, surely it would have been quicker than spending 2 hours on the phone to go down there eat the head of some lad/lass , do your shopping if you wish and come home?

Nail .... Head ...

In fairness, this is blowing stuff out of proportion, Wife 7 months pregnant, nothing to do with it, if its that essential you should have gone shopping.

I worked in customer service years ago, and the pregnant wife thing is used all the time, my *insert electronic device here* is broken.

Sorry sir its out of warranty

But my wife is X months pregnant !!

..... ?

DHL, TNT, UPS, An Post .... They all specialise in delivering stuff and even they dont show up sometimes. If something thats meant to be delivered cant be delivered you go to the local depot, in your case its the local tescos.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Why is everyone against the OP.

If he wants his shopping to be delivered then that's his choice.

If tesco offer a service and people avail of it and then that service is rubbish then he has a right to complain.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

craichoe wrote: »

DHL, TNT, UPS, An Post .... They all specialise in delivering stuff and even they dont show up sometimes. If something thats meant to be delivered cant be delivered you go to the local depot, in your case its the local tescos.

Perhaps you should re-read his post. His wife ordered shopping online. It didn't show up. Tesco were, as usual, hopeless, and could not even get hold of someone for an explanation.

Yes pregnancy is often used as an excuse, but you don't know the circumstances - the OP may have been away and his wife may have been ill or put her back out and been unable to drive, and that may be why she ordered online. Not that any justification is needed for why she would order groceries online!!!

OP - Tesco are sh1t in every single aspect of their business. Use Superquinn instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

eth0_ wrote: »
    Perhaps you should re-read his post. His wife ordered shopping online. It didn't show up. Tesco were, as usual, hopeless, and could not even get hold of someone for an explanation.

Yes pregnancy is often used as an excuse, but you don't know the circumstances - the OP may have been away and his wife may have been ill or put her back out and been unable to drive, and that may be why she ordered online. Not that any justification is needed for why she would order groceries online!!!

OP - Tesco are sh1t in every single aspect of their business. Use Superquinn instead.

A. Its his local tesco doing the delivery, he could just simply walk into the store to speak to them, or indeed get a friend or neighbour to call in.

B. Pregnant wife, no bearing on how good or bad the service is. Just like a disabled user would be no different.

C. A General statement that tesco are 'sh1t' with no reference or any reason is not really a fair statement ... i could say Ireland is sh1t .. but that doesn't really say much does it.

just seen this on their site, think its pretty funny since all of the negitive threads

At Tesco.ie we aim to provide a first class service for our customers. However, should you discover a problem upon delivery, we want to help put matters right. Simply contact the relevant customer service team using the details below, and they will do all they can to help you out.
    Grocery Telephone 00800 00 225533, between 9am and 11pm Monday to Friday, 9am to 8pm Saturday and 10am and 6pm on Sundays or email us at online@tesco.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭shoegirl

Customer service in Tesco is pretty piss poor. I tried to change the address on my clubcard. Twice. Once by post. And then a few months later by phone. Nothing happened for 6 months. Then all of a sudden, last month, my clubcard statement suddenly arrived at the last address!! (Now in fairness, there was something else that could've explained this that had nothing to do with Tesco customer service, but even so, it was bizarre that it took so long for a simple address change).

I've used the delivery service a few times and found it ok. They were always on time for me, but I found their substitution policy poor, and also, on nearly every occasion something was missing and because they don't pack into bags and boxes you are too busy trying to find somewhere to put everything when the delivery arrives before you get a chance to check what is and isn't there.

What is most annoying, however, is that only certain stores do online deliveries, so you may find that instead of the delivery coming from your local pristine, well-managed store 5 minutes away, it arrives from a store 20 miles away!

craichoe wrote: »
    A. Its his local tesco doing the delivery, he could just simply walk into the store to speak to them, or indeed get a friend or neighbour to call in.

B. Pregnant wife, no bearing on how good or bad the service is. Just like a disabled user would be no different.

C. A General statement that tesco are 'sh1t' with no reference or any reason is not really a fair statement ... i could say Ireland is sh1t .. but that doesn't really say much does it.

Eh 25 min drive ?? from kilmainham - dont ask but it Goes to Nutgrove for delivery

Pregnant wife can get stressed you know which in my book is not on over something that should be straightforward - its the actual no contact thing that was most frustrating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭darc

Why is everyone against the OP.

If he wants his shopping to be delivered then that's his choice.

If tesco offer a service and people avail of it and then that service is rubbish then he has a right to complain.

Probably because he has used the classic "wife is pregnant" line, looking for sympathy. 7 Months pregnant is no big thing - most women still do a days work without any problems and its certainly no handicap.

Its the same everytimne there's a major traffic jam, water cut off, airline delay. All these 30 somethings get on to Joe Duffy etc and moan and bitch abiout the situation saying elderly people are suffering and that they are trying to keep above the storm.

Basically, mister 30 something is an impatient yo yo who wants blame everybody and expect everything. Elderly people are well able to look after themselves but nister 30 something wasn't born in the fuel crsis od the 70's, the strikes of the 50's, ww2, water shortages, 3 month post strikes, queuing 3 hours for petrol, 2 month waste strike etc etc etc. Us elderly people have the experience of years of strife and are very hapily living in this age of comfort.

Get over it you lazy OP and do the bloody shopping yourself - sometimes not all people are as perfect abd feree from mistakes as yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

A lot of people should cop on in here.

Regardless of the ethics and morals of him taking the delivery route, he still paid for a service, and hasn't received it.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,075 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Sometimes the customer does get their own back. My student nephew drove a Tesco delivery truck. On his first day, he got well and truly lost, arriving at his last destination well after midnight. The customer was so pis5ed off, she refused to accept delivery and told him to feck off back to the depot. This is a long way from Nutgrove, so he wasn't the one responsible in the OP's case.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,638 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

It doesnt matter whether his wife is in labour, has 2 heads or is riding the CEO of tesco. Tesco havent kept to their own charter. THe OP has been fcuked over.

Whether he could have walked, drove, ran, flew to tesco is irrelevant, he shouldnt have to to get it resolved.

I have to admit tho, if you were burnt before its not something i personally would chance again unless the circumstances were outside Tesco's control. (e.g a nuclear bomb) But thats neither hear nor there.

As for people giving out about the the OP using the pregnant woman line, shabby customer service is shabby customer service. In the event civil matters reach the court and a judge hears of circumstances like this, its sways things heavily in the consumer's favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

agree with others that regardless of OP's situation he did not get the service promised from tesco.

I know someone who had the same thing happen. Personally I dont think groceries are something id order on line. I mean if you order fresh goods
    like meat/fruit/veg what you would take or leave there on the shelf would
    be totally different to the 'first one they see' attitude of a 16/17 yr old tecso employee