Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Nazis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Stky10

ScumLord wrote: »
    As for the conflict neither side is innocent, it takes two to tango as they say.

Yes, but one side gets over 3 billion dollars of funding a year from the US government, even though they're quite a wealthy nation, plus plenty of the latest military equipment. The other side is using the 21st century equivalent of a pee-shooter.

Nobody is allowed to criticise Israel though... that automatically makes them anti-semitic. Lets ban the right to peaceful protest as well its what some of you are saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

vulcan57 wrote: »
    It is no wonder that Israel have to take such measures, if the same was happening in Ireland I would hope the government here would do the same as the Israelis.

Black and Tans anyone? Happened in Ireland less than a century ago. I suppose the British government were within their rights to take such measures...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭cronndiesel

Quite agree that they should not be allowed to cover so much of a prominent area of shop street with all the flags etc. Campaigning for human rights of a people that have a group that are total callous murdering terrorists. They strap themselves with explosives and various form of shrapnel and target totally innocent members of the public going about their daily routine by blowing themselves up killing and maming men women and children. It is no wonder that Israel have to take such measures, if the same was happening in Ireland I would hope the government here would do the same as the Israelis. Stop the terrorism and then none of these sanctions would be there. I would love to see some one beat them to their pitch one day with a giant Israeli flag and campaign for the human rights of the poor Israeli innocents that are being brutally massacred by these murdering thugs.

we re great over a conflict thats 1000s of miles away that doesnt concern us because we re afraid of our sh**te to do anything about the thousands of loyalist terrorists in the north
    what was done about:

dublin/monaghan bombings the single largest atrosity with largest loss of life of the troubles

the cavan bombings

the shooting dead of assistant editor martin o hagan (shoot 9 times in the back while protecting his girlfriend) not 12 months after the good friday agreement

the planting of devices in sligo town (est death toll if succeded- 400-1050 civilians) and on the sligo-dublin train line which could have killed 140+ people (long before madrid) through the 90s

but of course who were those young teenagers sure they were only from cavan but if they were from dublin/london we d never hear the end of it

wheres the concern and flags and lobbying about them

when shin fein said they had nothing to do with ira it wasnt accepted but when uup and others claim the same their believed and so loyalists dont have to disband and decommision because ''its accepted that they have no links to the political partys involved''

is not a terrorist army a terrorist army??? -its a joke at this stage- ''when is a terroist army not a terrorist army...when its a loyalist terrorist army:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:''
    what right have we to wag the finger at them down there thousands of miles a way- fightin over sand, when we re not able to do anything about our own situation- guards and army going over to uk for instruction and the same uk stone walling the bloody sunday and dublin bombing inquiry:rolleyes: we re a stupid shower of gobsh**es

the isreali/palestinians must have a pain in their holes laughin at us

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

Zzippy wrote: »
    Black and Tans anyone? Happened in Ireland less than a century ago. I suppose the British government were within their rights to take such measures...

The Black and Tans were evil murdering thugs as well, quite agree with you. The difference being that they were an internal problem as Ireland was still a part of the UK at that stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭5times

The Black and Tans were evil murdering thugs as well, quite agree with you. The difference being that they were an internal problem as Ireland was still a part of the UK at that stage.

What you mean as in the way Palestine is part of Israel at this stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭5times

we re great over a conflict thats 1000s of miles away that doesnt concern us because we re afraid of our sh**te to do anything about the thousands of loyalist terrorists in the north
    what was done about:

dublin/monaghan bombings the single largest atrosity with largest loss of life of the troubles

the cavan bombings

the shooting dead of assistant editor martin o hagan (shoot 9 times in the back while protecting his girlfriend) not 12 months after the good friday agreement

the planting of devices in sligo town (est death toll if succeded- 400-1050 civilians) and on the sligo-dublin train line which could have killed 140+ people (long before madrid) through the 90s

but of course who were those young teenagers sure they were only from cavan but if they were from dublin/london we d never hear the end of it

wheres the concern and flags and lobbying about them

when shin fein said they had nothing to do with ira it wasnt accepted but when uup and others claim the same their believed and so loyalists dont have to disband and decommision because ''its accepted that they have no links to the political partys involved''

is not a terrorist army a terrorist army??? -its a joke at this stage- ''when is a terroist army not a terrorist army...when its a loyalist terrorist army:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:''
    what right have we to wag the finger at them down there thousands of miles a way- fightin over sand, when we re not able to do anything about our own situation- guards and army going over to uk for instruction and the same uk stone walling the bloody sunday and dublin bombing inquiry:rolleyes: we re a stupid shower of gobsh**es

the isreali/palestinians must have a pain in their holes laughin at us

You make out like there were no Republican terrorists doing the same things.

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Bass Cadet

Fey! wrote: »

Or am I just being stupid?

No, just ignorant. A very similar conflict was happening in your own country less than 10 years ago, in fact some say it's still going on

You're thread title is a f@cking disgrace by the way

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Bass Cadet wrote: »

Frankie says 'relax'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

No, just ignorant. A very similar conflict was happening in your own country less than 10 years ago, in fact some say it's still going on

Couldn't agree with you more Bass Cadet.
    Israel regimes have a long history of human rights abuses and the UN has on many many occasions censured Israel

'No country has been censured more often either by the General Assembly or by the Security Council. Indeed, frequently the only thing that stood between Israel and still more condemnation was the United States.' NATO Review 2005

Israel has until recently or still continues to occupy the West Bank, Gaza, and East Jerusalem, as it has done for over 30 years, in violation of international law. It occupied Lebanon illegally for more than two decades. It allowed, in the person of its Prime Minister, Ariel Sharon, the slaughter of refugees at the Sabra and Shatilla refugee camps, home to homeless Palestinians, one in a list of many massacres that bear Sharon's name.
    The IDF, the Israeli army, has killed hundreds of civilians often for the offense of throwing stones. Israel's heavy-handed response has been censured by the UN, and condemned by the International Red Cross and Amnesty International, the latter of which accuses Israel of actions that border on war crimes. And despite the censure, Israel has escalated its violent response to uprisings, meting out collective punishment, carrying out extrajudicial assassinations, razing Palestinian dwellings to the ground, and refusing to allow international observers in occupied territories it has no right to be in.

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Frankie says 'relax'.

Well, branding people as 'Nazis' out of pure ignorance is a 'f**king disgrace'

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Read up on Mordechai Vanunu.

Israeli former nuclear technician who revealed details of Israel's nuclear weapons program to the British press in 1986. He was subsequently kidnapped in Rome by Israeli agents and smuggled to Israel, where he was tried and convicted of treason.

He then spent 18 years in prison, including more than 11 years in solitary confinement (which I think is a "world record"). All this for telling international press Israel had WMD when they wanted this to be a secret.

More on Israels WMD here.

The whole Israel - Apartheid SA nuclear help program
    According to a report published in the Israeli daily paper Ha'aretz on Sunday April 20, 1997. Israel assisted South Africa in developing nuclear weapons in the early 1980s. The paper based its report on interviews with South African officials, including Deputy Foreign Minister Aziz Pahad, and retired Gen. Constand Viljoen, who was South African chief of staff from 1980-1985, the period during which nuclear weapon development took place.

Btw, if anyone wonders - I spent 9 months in Israel. Love the country, hate the politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Well, branding people as 'Nazis' out of pure ignorance is a 'f**king disgrace'

It also completely diminishes the term. As if the worst things the Nazis did were to get people to sign petitions and boycott a foreign countries goods.

It blurs boundrys and muddies waters. Hmmm if being a Nazi is basically just standing at the side of the road collecting signatures then perhaps the Nazis weren't so bad is the logical conclusion.

Bandying about the term 'Nazi' is the first step on the dispicable road to holocaust denial.

Be very careful with the language you use.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Cracking Documentary for those of you interested in the Israeli/Palestinian conflict.

Occupation 101 looks at life and history from the perspective of the Palestinians. It remains as objective as possible and was a bit of an eye opener for someone who is completely oblivious to the crap going on in Israel/Palestine.

Definitely worth a watch!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

5times wrote: »
    What you mean as in the way Palestine is part of Israel at this stage?

Palestine isn't part of Israel at this time. Hamas and their partners in crime are crossing boarders into a different country to murder innocent people, actually targeting them by the way. The Black and Tans were a british force carrying out horrendous acts on British territory, unlike the Israeli, Palestinian problem.

wow, did you even do history in school? Try reading some books from time to time. The Black and Tans were a bunch of mercenaries and the fact that you call it 'British territory' speaks volumes. Anyway, there has been plenty more attrocities since the Tans were battered out of our country...you ever heard of the 'B Specials'? The events in the north of Ireland over the last 30 years have resounding similarities to the Israel - Palestine conflict...basically as a result of occupation of land by a foreign army

For anyone who wants to know what really goes on in the Palestine - Isreal conflict read anything on the subject by Robert Fisk. Forget any of the bullsh!t you might see in rags like the Irish Indepenent

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

I can recommend Noam Chomsky as a source of info too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭cronndiesel

5times wrote: »
    You make out like there were no Republican terrorists doing the same things.

everybody knows there was it was all over the media all the time but when was the last time there was the same amount of unquestioned unrelenting focus on loyalists especialy since 1998 with them allowed not to disband or decommission every dog on the street can parrot the same old headlines about the usual suspects but the way the activetys of loyalist terrorists is never reported youd think there werent there at all
    if anyone south of the border burned a load of immergrents out of their home it would be wall to wall but apart from a muted mention that it happened it wasnt discussed in the same way as a say a republican attack what im looking for is balance give both an equal lash.......

ok ok look lads rant over

sorry

anyway this thread is about the isreali/palestine conflict!! so id better stay on topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

or you could grab a beer and have some fun