Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retail Park Gripe

• 01-06-2008 3:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭

Everytime we go to Halfords, the child friendly parking spaces are used by ........... Halfords staff or friends of Halfords staff, none of whom have children with them! There has been a few times when we had to take the wee man from the car in the torrential rain and ran with him coz we couldn't park closer.
    Has anybody else with kids noticed this?

P.S Thank you for today Xiney!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Jabby

Mrs.T wrote: »
    Everytime we go to Halfords, the child friendly parking spaces are used by ........... Halfords staff or friends of Halfords staff,

Ah come on now Mrs T. The nearest spaces to Halfords are never too far away no matter what spaces are taken up. A few little extra yards won't kill anyone. Aren't we all getting very spoilt these days when this is all we have to be giving out about.

rgds,

Jabby

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

People should be allocated gripe credits, say 5 a year. When they are used up, that's it, no more griping allowed.

That way posters would make sure that their postings pass the 'gripe worthiness test'.

This retail park gripe surely doesn't IMO:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tbh, i think Mrs T's comments may be valid, parent spots and disabled spots are made available for these people so that they have the room to move around their cars and be close to the shop, regardless if there are loads of aother spaces nearby or not

although there are plently more gripes i could mention about the retail park, wont get into that right now though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Mrs.T

Jabby wrote: »
    Everytime we go to Halfords, the child friendly parking spaces are used by ........... Halfords staff or friends of Halfords staff,

Ah come on now Mrs T. The nearest spaces to Halfords are never too far away no matter what spaces are taken up. A few little extra yards won't kill anyone. Aren't we all getting very spoilt these days when this is all we have to be giving out about.

rgds,

Jabby

It's not about the extra yards to walk, it's about the spaces being big enough to get your child in and out of the car without giving myself a back injury, hurting child, damaging our car or car in the next parking bay, or even getting our toddler and purchases safely back to the car without crossing a road. Sorry if you think these things are not important.
    IMO what's the point of creating these spaces if the people who they are for can't use them....?....

You don't work for Halfords do you? ;)
    Culchie wrote: »
    People should be allocated gripe credits, say 5 a year. When they are used up, that's it, no more griping allowed.

That way posters would make sure that their postings pass the 'gripe worthiness test'.

This retail park gripe surely doesn't IMO:rolleyes:

How many gripes have I had in the last year? I'll make sure I won't go over the limit.

Disabled spots absolutely ..... but what's the difference in 5 or 10 metres for moving kids in and out of a car. 'Kids' shouldn't be used as some sort of quick pass scheme to car parking spaces.

I mean imagine the craic at Smyths Toys at christmas time if everyone with kids wanted allocated parking spaces. Maybe Dublin parents should have a special traffic lane so that they can get home quicker than people without kids?

It's PC gone mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

as well as a conveince thing, have the parent spaces near the shops, ie, a shopping trolley, bags, plus the kids, and having that extra space around the car, thing you also have to have a safety concern as well, and not having the risk of small kids running arcross the car park, you could say that its up to the parents to stop them, but prehaps its good for the stores image as well if they are showing some concern or consideration as well

• Registered Users Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Disabled spots absolutely ..... but what's the difference in 5 or 10 metres for moving kids in and out of a car. 'Kids' shouldn't be used as some sort of quick pass scheme to car parking spaces.

I mean imagine the craic at Smyths Toys at christmas time if everyone with kids wanted allocated parking spaces. Maybe Dublin parents should have a special traffic lane so that they can get home quicker than people without kids?

It's PC gone mad.

The child parking spaces are there for a reason. If there wasn't a neccessity for them, then you can be sure Mr Halford or Mr Homebase would have them allocated for themselves.

Have you ever tried to get a bored/hyper child from a shop with a load of shopping, a pram, fold up said pram, control child, watch for traffic, find car keys, grapple with a child seat, get an urgent drink for child, maybe change a nappy, find the missing Bob the Builder, ALL AT ONCE??!! :D

Or, seen as your not into this PC Madness, perhaps it was Mrs Culchie doing it?

Give the woman a break, it was a valid point.

No, I don't work for Halfords. But honestly Mrs T, don't you think that we are all just a little too spoiled now... The more we have the more we expect and that in turn is noticed by our kids.(watch some of their 'performances' in Smyths or Toy City especially at Christmas times.) I see this in kids more and more as I get older. Try giving most of the little darlings a €1 or €2 coin as a token treat and see the look you'll get.

If it were possible to have a survey to see has the population of spoiled brats has risen since lets say in recessionary times like 1978, I would imagine that would show a dramatic increase.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not just having a go at you. I'm having a pop at myself also. We all do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

I find when i go to my local Lidl super market, the disabled bays are always occupied by obese drivers or foreign nationals, not being racist this is just what I have noticed.

I think it was Denis Leary who sang about them.

" I park in the handicap zone, I'm an @$$hole"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

spadder wrote: »
    I find when i go to my local Lidl super market, the disabled bays are always occupied by obese drivers or foreign nationals, not being racist this is just what I have noticed.

Do you ask to see their passport?

Would you look at me and know that I'm foreign?

Well, it is true that the other spaces aren't that far from Halfords.

So why don't the staff park there instead of using up the spaces that are clearly NOT demarcated for them? That's poor customer service before they even get in the door!

Though, frankly, after MY experience at Halford's today I'm beginning to wonder whether that's just a friendly advertisement that the people who work there couldn't give two sh*tes :)

PS Thanks to you too, Mr & Mrs T :D

Xiney wrote: »
    Do you ask to see their passport?

Would you look at me and know that I'm foreign?

If you have a left hand drive car it doesn't take Sherlock homes to figure out your probably not Irish.

fair enough.

xiney, I don't want to appear racist, this is just what I have noticecd, I have two good foreign lads working for me. If they parked a work van in the handicap zones i would let them know this was not right.

sueme wrote: »
    The child parking spaces are there for a reason. If there wasn't a neccessity for them, then you can be sure Mr Halford or Mr Homebase would have them allocated for themselves.

Have you ever tried to get a bored/hyper child from a shop with a load of shopping, a pram, fold up said pram, control child, watch for traffic, find car keys, grapple with a child seat, get an urgent drink for child, maybe change a nappy, find the missing Bob the Builder, ALL AT ONCE??!! :D

Or, seen as your not into this PC Madness, perhaps it was Mrs Culchie doing it?

Give the woman a break, it was a valid point.

Sorry, but surely I don't have to agree?

I think it's yet another step towards pandering.

It's like soccer used to be a contact sport, but now is full of divers and cheaters and disrespect....why? ....because the authroities/referees allowed moaning players and managers to get away with it. Compare it to Rugby, where authroity is still respected.
    It's like some of the bums that we all know sitting round the bar while we're out working and paying our taxes .... they're laughing at us......while they're collecting all the benefits under the sun. They should be made to work. The streets are dirty enough, there's plenty they can do to earn their money.

There's no point posting up on a discussion forum a point of view, if it can't be challenged.... what's the point?

It's PC gone mad.

I for one am not a fan of the "PC epidemic" and I think people are too careful with their kids sometimes.
    Smyths toys here in Sligo is great coz there are hardly any shops there! ;).
    Remind me, do you have kids?

No, I don't work for Halfords. But honestly Mrs T, don't you think that we are all just a little too spoiled now... The more we have the more we expect and that in turn is noticed by our kids.(watch some of their 'performances' in Smyths or Toy City especially at Christmas times.) I see this in kids more and more as I get older. Try giving most of the little darlings a €1 or €2 coin as a token treat and see the look you'll get.

If it were possible to have a survey to see has the population of spoiled brats has risen since lets say in recessionary times like 1978, I would imagine that would show a dramatic increase.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not just having a go at you. I'm having a pop at myself also. We all do it.

Maybe I read this wrong, but does these parking spaces make kids spoilt brats?.... I'm not going to start getting into a parenting method discussion.

Sueme, I've had one of those days too! (Not for a while now, I have to say.....touch wood!)

I for one am not a fan of the "PC epidemic" and I think people are too careful with their kids sometimes.
    Smyths toys here in Sligo is great coz there are hardly any shops there! ;).
    Remind me, do you have kids?

I knew that question would come up.....no I don't ..... and of course I don't think it's relevant to the question/answer, and you folks with kids will say.....wait until you have;)

tbh ... it's not you I'm bitching about, if there's allocated spaces there, they should be there ....... I'm bitching about the fact that Halfords have them at all .... it only opens a can of worms .... it can't be policed, if it is policed by a security guard....who pays his wages?..... we do the customer .... so it's a daft rule in the first place.

Disabled spaces.... absolutely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

Well I don't have kids and it still bugs me. I work up there and everyday there are staff (not from our store or I'd kill them) parked in disabled spaces and parent-with-pram-and-half-a-dozen-kids spaces. It really wrecks my head. but it's not just staff either, you see fully able-bodied people parking their cars there when they're by themselves, and when there are spaces 6feet away. one of the best I've seen up there is the idiot who managed to park their micra sideways across the disabled spaces outside our shop - what the hell like?!

............. well, wait till you have!........:D Sorry, couldn't resist it.... ;) I used to have certain opinions about child rearing and parenting and honestly, it does change when you have children.
    There are security guards that I've seen walking around (strangely enough they were doing something at the lamp posts:confused:).
    I wouldn't mind if there weren't any child friendly parking spaces if the normal parking spaces were that little bit wider for getting child out/in and if people parked a bit more straight in the spaces.

• Registered Users Posts: 46,014 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Planning permissions for large retail outlet stores or indeed any building open to the public dictate that a certain percentage of specialised parking bays be provided. Just along the same lines as a wheelchair accessible WC must be provided in addition to the ladies and gents toilets.

The parking bays are there for a reason and I think its disgraceful if staff are using those bays instead of the people who they were intended for. Like it or lump it thats the law and if anyone is not happy with it then they should take the matter up with the legislators in this country.

Mrs T, perhaps a word with the store manager would sort it.

Now from a mod's point of view I see that we have yet another thread that has been punctuated with off topic comments. What in the name of Jesus, Mary and their wee donkey has guys getting state benefits and drinking in a pub got to do with the issue of the wrong people using designated car parking spots. Culchie as a moderator yourself you should know better.

Maybe I read this wrong, but does these parking spaces make kids spoilt brats?.... I'm not going to start getting into a parenting method discussion.

'Engaged Car Parking Spaces' At the end of the day, it's not worth losing any sleep over is it?

Sorry, but surely I don't have to agree?

I think it's yet another step towards pandering.

It's like soccer used to be a contact sport, but now is full of divers and cheaters and disrespect....why? ....because the authroities/referees allowed moaning players and managers to get away with it. Compare it to Rugby, where authroity is still respected.
    It's like some of the bums that we all know sitting round the bar while we're out working and paying our taxes .... they're laughing at us......while they're collecting all the benefits under the sun. They should be made to work. The streets are dirty enough, there's plenty they can do to earn their money.

There's no point posting up on a discussion forum a point of view, if it can't be challenged.... what's the point?

Pandering towards whom? Not the child - these spots are for parents with young children, not Mz SUV and her 14 year old DS playing kid.

I can't respond to your football analogy as I haven't a clue about the game.

I can respond to your bum laughing about us analogy, and say WTF?

I agree with you, as regards posting a point of view on a discussion forum, but I did challenge your view, as you are (I think) challenging mine. How am I not allowing you to voice your opinion?

For the love of God, I need to figure out how to break up posts and respond to each comment separately. I apologise, its on my to do list for tomorrow. :o Right now I'm too busy ironing my darling babies Bratz doll clothes...;)

I knew that question would come up.....no I don't ..... .

Oh your day will come!

Muwhahahahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

Quite frankly I think its a disgrace that all the spaces outside Halfords are occupied all day everyday.They are always taken up by the younger male staff members.
    I for one,would never park in the disabled or "mother and child" spots.They are there for a reason and that reason isn't me!
    We have one girl working with us who parks in the disabled spot outside Homebase but don't worry she is disabled,but just doesn't have the sign displayed in the windscreen.

muffler wrote: »

Now from a mod's point of view I see that we have yet another thread that has been punctuated with off topic comments. What in the name of Jesus, Mary and their wee donkey has guys getting state benefits and drinking in a pub got to do with the issue of the wrong people using designated car parking spots. Culchie as a moderator yourself you should know better.

With respect, whether I am going against the grain or not, I can't see how I'm 'off topic/thread' ..... I'm trying to make a point, and that sometimes involves using different analogies than yes/no.

Pandering/softness/Political Correctness/fudging/sponging/absenteeism/pulling the 'piss' don't fit well with Culchie.... whether I'm right or wrong is open to Boards.ie debate but I don't think I'm 'off topic' at all at all.

I respect other peoples views 100%, weigh them up, and if I agree/don't agree I'll post accordingly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

what is so good about the parent and child places is that they are wider then normal spaces. this means I can get my child out the child seat without banging sombody elses car! It's not being spoiled. the kids can only run 1 way on the road and the other is pavement. everybody wins!

If we are talking about a car park in the town centre ....fine, point taken..But, for God's sake..... The Sligo Retail Park! Don't make me laugh. There's ACRES of room up there no matter what time you go up there. There is no danger of banging someones car! Whatever about needing to keep disabled spaces free, there is no need for child friendly spaces there. The whole bloody place is a massive car park. It all boils down to lazy parents and lazy pampered kids who are not used to walking anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

If we are talking about a car park in the town centre ....fine, point taken..But, for God's sake..... The Sligo Retail Park! Don't make me laugh. There's ACRES of room up there no matter what time you go up there. There is no danger of banging someones car! Whatever about needing to keep disabled spaces free, there is no need for child friendly spaces there. The whole bloody place is a massive car park. It all boils down to lazy parents and lazy pampered kids who are not used to walking anymore.

the massive car park is full of people who cant park and think you should park as close as you can up somebody's car and it's full of people who really dont watch where they are going. I dont want to slag irish people off (I like living here and the people are great!) but most of the learner drivers (or people driving without a licence half legaly) and even the avarage driver here are very bad at anticipating dangers! I'm far from lazy and my son is a very active kid, I dont mind walking and I wouldnt mind if the parents and child park was at the normal car park. I personaly use the empty places at the back of curry's because some lazy pamperd adult are too lazy to walk and therefore park in the parent and child places. These are the obese spoiled kids who now think the world is only theirs! I blame their parents but not the parking spaces! Maybe they should make 'obese spoilt adult' places too?

• Registered Users Posts: 46,014 ✭✭✭✭muffler

With respect, whether I am going against the grain or not, I can't see how I'm 'off topic/thread' ..... I'm trying to make a point, and that sometimes involves using different analogies than yes/no.
    I dont have a problem with analogies but I do have a problem when I see someone posting a rant about people drinking in bars while drawing state benefits which in this particular case has got sweet FA to to with the topic at hand.

Pandering/softness/Political Correctness/fudging/sponging/absenteeism/pulling the 'piss' don't fit well with Culchie.... whether I'm right or wrong is open to Boards.ie debate but I don't think I'm 'off topic' at all at all.
    If the threads warrant such comments then thats fine but it wont be derailed because of your personal opinions and views on other matters not pertinent to the thread.

I respect other peoples views 100%, weigh them up, and if I agree/don't agree I'll post accordingly.
    And your view is as important here as anyone elses and I will respect anyone's legitimate view or opinion but providing it is relevant to the topic.

I made a post above and made it plain that one part of it was as a user here and the other part was basically a mod note. In the users part of the post I stuck to the point being debated and give my opinion on it and left it at that. We have been down this road before about the continual off topic comments and the derailment of some threads so it s not unreasonable of me to request that you refrain from posting comments that are way wide of the mark.

If you have a point of view on the car parking issue then state it but leave it at that please.