Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Have really heard bog all on transfer news, tbh... And at the end of it, it is all mindless speculation, mind-games and so on.

Heard talk of J. Cole going to Arsenal... Don't like that move at all.

Was true here, someone said we won't miss Joe Cole until he scores the winner against us for Arsenal/Spurs/United etc.

If we are to let him go, we should hope he goes overseas where he'll do less damage, but... I can see him staying in England, and I could imagine him wanting to prove Chelsea wrong and playing his socks off, especially when playing against us...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Do you guys think that the interview with Harry Rednkapp was a ploy to actually sign Cole? I reckon if he's going anywhere its to Spurs. Can't see him moving away from London anyway with everything I've read in the last 2 days. Its more in the line of Arsenal's style to sign players on a free though.

How is his injury record? I hear its pretty bad but how bad exactly and are you happy with how he performed when he was fit?

FearDark wrote: »
    Do you guys think that the interview with Harry Rednkapp was a ploy to actually sign Cole? I reckon if he's going anywhere its to Spurs. Can't see him moving away from London anyway with everything I've read in the last 2 days. Its more in the line of Arsenal's style to sign players on a free though.

How is his injury record? I hear its pretty bad but how bad exactly and are you happy with how he performed when he was fit?

Arsenal would love to pick up a player like Joe Cole for nothing, he's an experienced and well-travelled player who would bring a lot of that to the squad at Arsenal (and would be seen as a replacement for the Barca-bound Fabregas).

His injury record is something that most people who follow Chelsea are concerned about. It is not stellar (but by no means as bad as say, Arjen Robben's, was) but I still don't like it.

Simple way of summing up J. Cole: when he's good, he's very good, but when he's poor, he's awful. Unfortunately, I feel we see more of the former than the latter. The thing is, when he plays well, he does so many things that are truly unreal and this has endeared him so well to a large section of the Chelsea fans and makes him something of an idol there. This blinds them to the truth that sometimes he can be painfully ordinary.

That all said, I'd rather not let him go. He's not worth the money he's asking for, but I'd defo try to reach a half sensible compromise rather than bin him altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

The sucess rate of players when they leave Chelsea is pretty poor ( look at how long Robben took to get going again and he is young). Don't expect J Cole to cause us much bother, have to look onwards and upwards.

Possibly true, but still... Joe Cole is an experienced Premiership player and he could easily cause problems for Chelsea, and not just when he would be playing against Chelsea. Scoring winning goals, providing assists for winning goals for any of our rivals in games where they could be dropping points... I know this is a fear you could have in letting any player go and there is nothing that can be done to help it, I think that we should strongly consider our position in regards Joe Cole, tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

DazMarz wrote: »
    Arsenal would love to pick up a player like Joe Cole for nothing, he's an experienced and well-travelled player who would bring a lot of that to the squad at Arsenal (and would be seen as a replacement for the Barca-bound Fabregas).

His injury record is something that most people who follow Chelsea are concerned about. It is not stellar (but by no means as bad as say, Arjen Robben's, was) but I still don't like it.

Simple way of summing up J. Cole: when he's good, he's very good, but when he's poor, he's awful. Unfortunately, I feel we see more of the former than the latter. The thing is, when he plays well, he does so many things that are truly unreal and this has endeared him so well to a large section of the Chelsea fans and makes him something of an idol there. This blinds them to the truth that sometimes he can be painfully ordinary.

That all said, I'd rather not let him go. He's not worth the money he's asking for, but I'd defo try to reach a half sensible compromise rather than bin him altogether.

So not a fantastic injury record, a lot of mediocrity with flashes of genius thrown in. Sounds like an Arsenal player already :o
    Thank you for that.

I think a lot of it comes from Cole being played far too often out of position. He seems most comfortable behind the strikers, not out wide. But he is often deployed in a wide position. His plays against Japan in the last friendly were incredibly effective and he was being played in what he himself has said is his preferred role (behind the striker).

So maybe if he was deployed here more often we'd see more brilliance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

SSN transfer clockwatch :

12.40 Fascinating stuff from Guillem Balague on Sky Sports News just now. His understanding is that Fernando Torres has been made aware of interest from Inter Milan, Juventus and Manchester City but would not be interested in a move to any of that trio. He would, though, be keen on a switch to Chelsea. Watch this space...

12.55 Balague also claims Steven Gerrard is unlikely to be on his way to Real Madrid, as the Spanish giants have no intention of paying big money for a player of his age. He is also of the belief Gerrard has been made offers from FOUR other English clubs.

loving this liverpool meltdown if it ends up with us getting Torres!!
    would we be in for Gerrard also??

LanceStorm wrote: »
    SSN transfer clockwatch :

12.40 Fascinating stuff from Guillem Balague on Sky Sports News just now. His understanding is that Fernando Torres has been made aware of interest from Inter Milan, Juventus and Manchester City but would not be interested in a move to any of that trio. He would, though, be keen on a switch to Chelsea. Watch this space...

12.55 Balague also claims Steven Gerrard is unlikely to be on his way to Real Madrid, as the Spanish giants have no intention of paying big money for a player of his age. He is also of the belief Gerrard has been made offers from FOUR other English clubs.

loving this liverpool meltdown if it ends up with us getting Torres!!
    would we be in for Gerrard also??

Be great craic if Chelsea landed Torres... I'd have to put away my "He's half a boy and half a girl..." chant tho...:(

Imagine the front line of Anelka-Drogba-Torres... Jaysus... Drool-tastic!!!

Would we want Gerrard now tho? 5 years ago, yeah... We don't need another 30+ midfielder.

best case scenario we get Torres and then decide we want to re-create the Athletico Madrid strike force and bring in Aguero too, thats those positions sorted for the next decade!!

i think Gerrard will go to Madrid now and finish off his career there, he gave his all for Liverpool and deserves to shine somewhere else, but if im honest, I dont really want it to be in Chelsea blue!! This is Lamps midfield dammit!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

best case scenario we get Torres and then decide we want to re-create the Athletico Madrid strike force and bring in Aguero too, thats those positions sorted for the next decade!!

i think Gerrard will go to Madrid now and finish off his career there, he gave his all for Liverpool and deserves to shine somewhere else, but if im honest, I dont really want it to be in Chelsea blue!! This is Lamps midfield dammit!!

Apparently Madrid aren't interested, I reckon he could be off to Inter with Rafa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I thought Mourinho preferred his players to be older ?

I reckon Gerrard will end up in Italy, Inter being the most likely drop-zone.

But as for Chelsea getting Torres... He'd be excellent in that side, but the only danger is of him and Drogba having pissing matches and getting ''jealous'' or something... I hope not!

Torres would be such a savage signing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Right lads,

Was busy with work the last few days, wasnt on much, but I was lurking :p. In that time, Rafa has left Liverpool, no real shocker for me TBH and we are being linked with Torres.

Id like Torres, id be more comfortable if he doesnt go to us that he doesnt go to City. I would rather have Kun Aguerro though, dont know why but I would rather have Aguerro.

Now if Torres was avilable for cheaper then Aguerro then Id have to re-consider ;).

P.S. I dont want Stevie G at all, no need for him at the club now, would be different if it was a few years ago when he could have signed.

Also if any of you need a reminder why we need CHD back, take a look here. Legend :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055929171

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

We're cooled our interest in Benayoun and apparently Toure has agreed to join an unnamed club.

smuckers wrote: »
    We're cooled our interest in Benayoun and apparently Toure has agreed to join an unnamed club.

Thank god, wouldn't mind Toure though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

smuckers wrote: »

where did you hear that about yossi?

Lukker- wrote: »
    Thank god, wouldn't mind Toure though....

do we need him though?
    surely it would be very harsh on Mikel who i thought was excellent in the thankless role of DM to have Toure take his spot, and thinking about it surely Essien will be first choice when he's back for us next season?

Agreed on the Torres to City point, would hate to see him go there, if he dosent come to us then I want to see him playing abroad again please!!

do we need him though?
    surely it would be very harsh on Mikel who i thought was excellent in the thankless role of DM to have Toure take his spot, and thinking about it surely Essien will be first choice when he's back for us next season?

Agreed on the Torres to City point, would hate to see him go there, if he dosent come to us then I want to see him playing abroad again please!!

I'd expect Essien to partner Lampard next season and Mikel/Ballack or possibly Toure in the DM role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

where did you hear that about yossi?

Unfortunately tribal football

"Essien's Final Blog Entry" it said on the Chelsea website...

Nearly went into shock reading that, thinking it was his last ever entry, as he was leaving the club or something... But no, it was just his final entry for the season!!!:o PHEW!!!:)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

"Chelsea drop contract talks with Cole" - here Looks like he's definitely gone.

Drogba out of world cup with fractured elbow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

Looks like he's definitely gone.
    Pity. He pretty much one of those Chelsea stalwarts who it's sad to see go. But having been unreasonable in his contract talks, I guess it's his own doing.
    I'm undecided on Yossi. I'm a big fan of his. But he's not first team material for Chelsea's current midfield. I hope he's OK with being a sub.

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SimpleLogic

Burner- wrote: »

Who needs Joe Cole when you've got The Bison...

Yee-fúckin-ha!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

That saves a new No.5 shirt! Great news.

On the Gerard link with Chelsea, no way Jóse, too scouse for me, will never lose that accent !

On the Forlan link, heavens above, did he learn to cut his hair!

Best news all summer. Gutted for Drogba.

Yep... Essien ain't goin nowhere... I love it.

Poor Drogs tho. And it also more or less skutches any chance the Cote d'Ivoire had at all.

Mikel out of the world cup now.

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SimpleLogic

dropping like flies at the moment, not sure if it is a good or bad thing for Chelsea.

I'm not sure either, Chelsea by far have the highest proportion of players in the league playing in the WC. So could be good in a way because we could have been looking at some really tired players next season.

I think it's good for us, tbh.

I hate seeing any of our players off in International duty, for the simple reason that they could be tired out/injured/etc. and thus not be available for Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Burner- wrote: »

That'll have us all sleeping a little easier.

Shame he or Drogba won't be in the world cup, every cloud though

Essien wrote: »
    That'll have us all sleeping a little easier.

Shame he or Drogba won't be in the world cup, every cloud though

It's a shame that some of our players are now injured alright... But it also means that through a summer of resting, they have less chance of aggravating said injuries and will be fighting fit for Chelsea F.C. come August!!!

Chelsea confirm another pre-season game:
    Chelsea Football Club is pleased to announce the first of our pre-season friendly games in Europe ahead of the 2010/11 season.

The newly-crowned Premier League champions and FA Cup winners will play Dutch side Ajax on Friday 23 July at the Amsterdam ArenA (pictured above).

Coached by former Spurs manager Martin Jol, Ajax won the Dutch Cup and were beaten by a point to the Eredivisie Divisie title by FC Twente, where Chelsea's Miroslav Stoch played on a season-long loan.

The fixture in Amsterdam will follow Chelsea's first pre-season match against local London side Crystal Palace on 17 July at the Eagles' home ground, Selhurst Park.

Ticket information will follow on www.chelseafc.com

All of Chelsea's pre-season games will be shown exclusively live on Chelsea TV. To subscribe to Sky channel 421, call 08442 410 203. Existing Sky subscribers can upgrade to Chelsea TV via Sky Active.

International fans will also be able to watch the games live online through our soon to be launched Chelsea TV Online service.

If you become a True Blue International member of Chelsea you get a free Chelsea TV Online subscription.

Would love to head over to that, tbh. See them play Ajax. Plus, it would be the first time seeing Chelsea play where the result doesn't matter at all, so it'd be far more relaxed!

Jaysus, missed these two as well!!
    Chelsea Football Club is pleased to announce two further European pre-season fixtures.

The Double winners will play away to Eintracht Frankfurt on Sunday August 1 and Hamburg on Wednesday August 4.

Frankfurt, who finished 10th in the 18-team Bundesliga, play at the 51,500 capacity Commerzbank-Arena, which was renovated for the 2006 World Cup. Hamburg finished seventh and play at the HSH Nordbank Arena, a 57,000 capacity stadium which hosted this year's Europa League Final, in which Fulham were beaten 2-1 by Atletico Madrid.

The Sports Promoters (TSP), a wholly-owned subsidiary of the international sports agency SPORTFIVE, will promote and organise these two German friendly matches. This will also include a mini training camp for Carlo Ancelotti's squad between games in Frankfurt.

Ron Gourlay, chief executive of Chelsea FC, said: 'We are delighted to announce our agreement with SPORTFIVE who will be arranging a major part of our pre-season activity.

'Following the World Cup, it is important for our players to prepare in the best possible environment and playing matches against opponents like Eintracht Frankfurt and Hamburg will ensure the team hits the ground running ahead of the start of the new season.'

Vincent Tong-Cuong, chief operating officer of SPORTFIVE International, said: 'We are very pleased about having signed this agreement with Chelsea FC. They have played an outstanding season and the two friendlies will provide German football fans with another international highlight in this year's football calendar.'

SPORTFIVE Germany chief executive Philipp Hasenbein added: 'Thanks to our close partnership with the majority of Germany's top clubs we can bring them together with a renowned international opponent like Chelsea and make great events like these friendlies happen.

'Our subsidiary TSP specialises in the development, execution and organisation of sporting events and will be organising the visit to Germany.'

Chelsea's three European fixtures, which include a game against Ajax in Amsterdam on the 23 July, will follow Chelsea's first pre-season match against local London side Crystal Palace on 17 July at the Eagle's home ground, Selhurst Park.

Tickets for the Hamburg match are available at www.hsv.de/tickets

Tickets for the Eintracht Frankfurt match are available at www.eintracht.de/tickets/tageskarten

Kick-off times are to be announced., and we will have more information on our opponents and the venues in due course.

So that's 4 confirmed pre-season games; Palace, Ajax, Hamburg and Eintracht. Good games with many different types of football being played and should give our lads a good warm up for the new season! Won't be able to hit either of the German fixtures (going to Vegas in August; yeeha) but I might try to hit the Ajax game or the Palace one.

Also, be sure to check out the 'Summary of a Season' series on the players that are up on the website! Gives a great little look back over the wonderful season of each player, though the series is not completed yet. Cech, A. Cole, Zhirkov, Alex, Studge and J. Cole have ones up there anyway.

Interesting little reads!:)

Season Tickets are now available to Members who have 73 loyalty points or more... here's wishing I had 30 more points!!!!!!!!:(

Just got the DVD of The Double: Chelsea FC End Of Season Review 2009/10 in the post today (along with an F.A. Cup Final Programme).

Brilliant DVD, that gives the highlights of every game Chelsea played in the famous Double-Winning season.

Commentators are gas (obviously for Chelsea TV or something). Best one is Paulo Ferreira scoring against Blackburn in the Carling Cup: "PAAAAAAAULOOOOO FERREIRRRRRRA! BACK OF THE NET! YESSSSSSS!"

Quality buy if ever there was one!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Rumour are joe cole and ballack released . All over Twitter

Heard this too.

Nothing on Chelsea website.

I'd believe the Cole one alright, but AFAIK, Ballack was getting an extension for one year.

Well, I'd nearly trust the Times, tbh:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/arsenal/article7146441.ece
    The Times wrote:
    Chelsea will confirm the imminent departures of Joe Cole and Michael Ballack on Wednesday on free transfers after the pair failed to agree new contracts at Stamford Bridge.

The club have been negotiating with the players’ representatives over extensions to contracts that expire this summer for several months, but have been unable to agree terms, and the players will leave as free agents on July 1.

Chelsea’s surprise announcement will spark a scramble for their signatures, as despite falling out of favour in West London both players are very much in demand. Cole recovered from a disappointing domestic season to earn a place in England’s World Cup squad at the eleventh hour and is in contention to start their opening match of the tournament, against the United States on Saturday, while Ballack would have been in South Africa as Germany captain had he not suffered an ankle injury in Chelsea’s FA Cup Final win over Portsmouth.

Cole has attracted strong levels of interest from all of Chelsea’s leading rivals in the Premier League, with Manchester United, Arsenal, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur set to follow up their initial inquiries over the next few days. Given Cole’s desire to stay in London and the appeal of being reunited with Harry Redknapp, White Hart Lane appears to be his most likely destination because Tottenham, unlike Arsenal and Liverpool, would have little problem matching his wage demands. An offer to work with Sir Alex Ferguson at Old Trafford would, however, be hard to turn down.

Ballack will leave England after four seasons at Chelsea that, despite delivering one Premier League title and two FA Cups, he will look back on with some disappointment. He, too, will have no shortage of suitors.

Werder Bremen have made clear their desire to bring him back to Germany, and José Mourinho’s agent, Jorge Mendes, has made contact with his representatives to examine the possibility of Ballack joining Real Madrid.

Several wealthy clubs in the United Arab Emirates Pro League are also preparing to make him an offer should he decide to opt for a lower quality of football while remaining on high wages.

Cole’s future at Chelsea looked bleak for most of the season after contract talks broke down after Christmas. Cole had been holding out for a £20,000-a-week pay rise to £100,000, but Chelsea refused to budge, to such an extent that the initial offer of £85,000 a week was withdrawn.

Ballack, 33, was seeking a new two-year contract that would enable him to play on at the highest level until the 2012 European Championship, an even more important aspiration after missing the World Cup finals, whereas Chelsea were willing only to give him another year. Ballack offered to take a big pay cut and make the second year contingent upon him playing a large number of games next season, but Chelsea were not willing to back down.

Chelsea’s decision to release two of their senior players is the tangible evidence of long-professed desire for financial retrenchment of Roman Abramovich, the owner, taking effect, although it could end up costing them money in the short term. Carlo Ancelotti, the manager, is intending to promote five youngsters to the first team next season, but finding effective replacements for Cole and Ballack will not be cheap.

Adieu, Michael and Joseph... Plenty of good memories from both of you! Thanks for the service!

Maybe it is nothing but speculation, because there is still nothing up on the Chelsea website about any players leaving.

I know it is obvious that Joey Cole was leaving (unless something changed dramatically) but I didn't think Ballack was going to leave at all.

Until Chelsea confirm it, I'm now less inclined to believe The Times, as reliable as they may be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Just looking at the situation, losing Joe would be a lose, more so then losing Ballack.

I think we all expcted it TBH. He never really performed when he got his chance, which is unfortunate because we all know how good J.Cole can be and if he decides to stay in the EPL I can see coming back to haunt us in a game, especially if he ends up at any of the clubs mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I'd like to see how cole does at the world cup before we announce his release- if he plays a stormer, I'll be gutted if we let him leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

well its official on the site now in case anybody's not seen it.

rumours seem to be that we'll go after schweinsteiger now.

im in two minds about this, as someone said before, we wont really miss joe unless he ends up scoring the winning goal against us for utd or spurs, but i liked having ballack in the squad, another leader and international captain...

at least this means we'll have to sign a new winger and central midfielder!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I thought ye had a savage bunch of wonder kids coming through to take up the mantle lads?