Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attacked on Parnell Street in broad daylight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I was standing outside Fibbers when this bloke with no top on ran towards us,roaring.I levelled the cnunt with a right hander that had me picking bits of teeth out of my knuckle for weeks afterwards:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I don't know what's more disturbing, the event itself or the fact that posters here are genuinely shocked and baffled as to why the OP didn't beat up your man,

I, for one, praise the OP for reacting in a civilised, non-violent manner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

To the OP: Sorry for what happened but you have to use common sense aswell. Parnell street is pretty much no go after 6 in the evening. Those that have avoided a hiding up there are lucky - they will say it is not that bad - but it is. Not only Dublin scumbags btw but its the future with the immigrants aswell - which will lead to wider trouble. Parnell street is no go at night. Just remember that. Happy the Guards caught this thug.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    I don't know what's more disturbing, the event itself or the fact that posters here are genuinely shocked and baffled as to why the OP didn't beat up your man,

So what would you do if some random bloke in the street knocked out your girlfriend/wife/mother/sister?

Stand there like a tool being all civilized? Or better yet, make a citizen's arrest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Read the thread, what the OP did was, IMO, a good handling of the situation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Read the thread, what the OP did was, IMO, a good handling of the situation.
    What would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭ericl

OP: Sorry this happened.

Degsy wrote: »
    I was standing outside Fibbers when this bloke with no top on ran towards us,roaring.I levelled the cnunt with a right hander that had me picking bits of teeth out of my knuckle for weeks afterwards:mad:

You, Sir' are my hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

magick wrote: »
    given our Justice system he will probably get an hour in jail

i got smashed over the head with a crow bar last year by scumbags in a weird random attack, 5 seconds after they did it one of them shouts "that's not them boys, leg it". 8 stitches (staples) only. blessed to have a thick head! We had witnesses (1 of whom knew them!!!), statements, Guards even knew who did it - then they said basically they are complete scum and would be best to chalk it up to a bad experience and move on!! So i moved on , with the headaches :mad:

I used to be pretty non-committal on these type of incidents with nutters but if someone punched my girlfriend in the head they would literally have to kill me to stop me ripping his ****ing head off by any means possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Lot of auld sh1te. He should have been beaten without mercy until he was slabbering spit and blood on the pavement and spasming. A few stampings perhaps. There is too much gheyness going on here. If someone lamps your wife, the guy should be supremely owned, just f**king ruined about the face.
    +1, public kerb kickings for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,578 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

bermuda wrote: »
    I intend to prosecute the man to the fullest extent of the law - not sure what that would constitute.
    Make sure your wife presses charges and the guards prosecute him in court, for starters.

You might be also able to find out a little about this guy from them, and if he is what a solicitor would call a 'mark'; basically someone worth suing. If so, your wife could take a civil action against him in conjunction with whatever public court action the guards pursue.

I hope your wife is OK. An incident like this can cause further shock and trauma days/weeks/months later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Jaysis sounds how bad this country has come to in two senses:

1) Someone actually didn't grab the man for you instead of you having to leave your wife.

2) The fact someone would actually do such a thing to a female.

On the count of bystanders not intervening; the OP would be lucky to see much justice out of this for his wife to start with. Someone else gave a mock court scene eg. there - not far from the truth I'd say.

He hit this mans wife for no reason whatsoever, and his reactions dont come across none to sharp either. I would probably have done what the bystanders seemed to have done, comfort the wife and ring the Gardai. What is the use in getting hit yourself, spending the evening in the cop shop for fuck all to be done about it? :/

And regarding the hitting a female thing; not uncommon. My sister used to work in town, and was punched in the back while waiting at traffic lights - so hard she could hardly draw breath. Well, she just stood there as if she'd be Tango'd - pure shock. We could all say, we'd do this or we'd do that in this scenario; but you cant think over something that you don't expect to happen to you. Right then and there.

How many people here expect to get a punch in the face when you go out?

If you punch him back, you face an assault charge yourself. And because he was probably off his face on something, and probably a sad story behind him; law-wise you could be hit worse than he would!

My sister spent a lot of time wondering wtf she had done to deserve this. I done my best to convince her that it had nothing to do with her - he was just a prick. Its a total cliché, but only time will help ease the shock for the OP's wife.

Its a horrible thing to have happened OP. But all you can do is stay tight with the Gardai, and do the best you can for your wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Quite an adventure OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Jaysis sounds how bad this country has come to in two senses:

1) Someone actually didn't grab the man for you instead of you having to leave your wife.

2) The fact someone would actually do such a thing to a female.

I'd a similar incident only Friday night.

I was stopped at the lights of Clare St. and noticed a mugging over the road on South Leinster Street. A guy on a push bike robbing a tourist, I gave chase and caught him at the Alexander hotel.

The girl got her stuff back, but in the chase the fvcker threw her stuff to the ground, smashing her new digi-camera.

Anyway through it all NOT ONE PERSON came to help.

I went back to her at Kennedy's pub where some of the customers where comforting her - I thanked the lads on the door "Thanks for the help lads, yiz windy fvckers".

Turn's out the guy was a Roma who was arrested on Fishamble St earlier. He does his robberies on a pushbike - so beware.

OP, don't feel bad that you couldn't do more for your wife. Although I have a strong fight instinct I think I'd have been left in some shock like you were.

I hope you and your wife recover soon, but I feel this will leave mental scar's for a long time.

Oh the guards, OP don't hold up much hope that they'll do much in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,694 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

+1 Chopperbyrne, doesn't sound like regular troublemaking at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

I have the greatest admiration for the OP's restraint. Some years ago three yobbos started hassling my wife as she waited for me outside the local chipper. I'm afraid I lost it completely and I slammed the one making the most noise up against the wall and damned nearly demolished it. The other two scrammed before I could catch 'em or I would probably have ended up on a murder charge. It incredible self control to do what the OP did when someone attacks one's wife/girlfriend/sister. Fair dues to you man, and please tell your wife not all of us are like that guy here. Please add my name to the long list of support you have seen in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i think its great the op didnt react physically at the time. Now he can get all the scumbags background info... address etc in court.

Sweet, own the fcuker when he doesnt expect it, just like he done to the ops wife!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I doubt anything will happen to this guy, he might get a slap on the wrist, or do maybe a month in jail, not enough if you ask me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

ART6 wrote: »
    I have the greatest admiration for the OP's restraint. .... Please add my name to the long list of support you have seen in this thread.

Mine too. I also applaud the intelligent suggestion that the guy might have been concussed. A good reminder not to go hitting people, whatever the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

My daughter was punched in the face last Paddys day while walking down a packed Grafton St. The guy just dissappeared into the crowds. Also heard a woman on radio being punched in the stomach going past Trinity college.Guy just ran off laughing. Nobody did anything. There are some sickos out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Sorry to hear about it OP. Although an instinct like this may have its uses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Scumbags, all of those people, I went to see My Chemical Romance about 3 years ago in Dublin and after the gig a lot of the kids were just mulling around, they were basking in a good night, and these 3 scummers, on of them was about 40 for feck sake like, and they were startin on people and most people just did the right thing and mumbled and avoided them, but one poor kid talked back to them, he wasn't even aggressive like, and the 40 year oldm who was about 5'3, gave him one of the most sickening headbutts I have ever seen and then the 3 scummers ran away laughing

The cops that were watching "the scary kids dressed in black" missed it and the kids called them over, but the 3 scummers got away!

I was sick to my stomach that a 40 year old man attacked a kid that must have been 15 years old. Fcking scum.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,411 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Shame to hear about that incident, OP.

Similiar experience myself a few months ago. Walking home after college around 4 in the afternoon. Fairly open, safe road that I walk up every day. Nothing dodgy. But two lads just walked up to me, one punch me right in the face. I was a bit shocked (no injuries luckily - thankfully came off with only a really light bruise!), looked back, as did they, and they just moved on. Got home in around 5 minutes, phoned the guards and they were promptly caught. Apparently they were out of their tree on this and that, and didn't even remember where they were (were from a fair distance away). They were just walking up and down the road, punching random folk in the face. One guy got a broken jaw out of it!

There usually is something up in cases like this. I think these kind of random attacks are regularly down to some other influence - people who do it clearly aren't all there at that particular moment. As mentioned, the attacker in the OP could have been wasted / concussed at the point. Still a highly unfortunate thing to happen, and its horrible to hear of stories like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

JangoFett wrote: »
    Scumbags, all of those people, I went to see My Chemical Romance about 3 years ago in Dublin and after the gig a lot of the kids were just mulling around, they were basking in a good night, and these 3 scummers, on of them was about 40 for feck sake like, and they were startin on people and most people just did the right thing and mumbled and avoided them, but one poor kid talked back to them, he wasn't even aggressive like, and the 40 year oldm who was about 5'3, gave him one of the most sickening headbutts I have ever seen and then the 3 scummers ran away laughing

The cops that were watching "the scary kids dressed in black" missed it and the kids called them over, but the 3 scummers got away!

I was sick to my stomach that a 40 year old man attacked a kid that must have been 15 years old. Fcking scum.
    I don't advocate violence, but...

• A few weeks ago, I was attacked on Dame Street at 8 in the morning by 2 scumbags. Nobody at work seemed overly shocked and most said it was probably because I 'look foreign' (I'm Irish, my great grandparents were Italian). WTF? Like thats a reason to randomly assault someone. Rang the guards and they sent someone out but never heard anything back. This wasn't the first time I was attacked in broad daylight for no reason either. I'm sick of the attitude of 'sure it happens, sure it's Dublin, what do you expect?' etc. It's NOT bloody normal at all! I should not be afraid to walk around in case I'm attacked, I should not be constantly looking over my shoulder and anticipating who might cause trouble. I'm turning into a nervous wreck. I think a lot of Irish people are just deluded. I've lived in 4 different countries and I've never been attacked or felt in any way threatened. I've lived in New York City and never experienced any kind of hassle whatsoever, including when walking around the Bronx.

There's a serious problem here and it's really underestimated. It's got to the stage where I no longer feel safe or comfortable here and I'm looking at places to move to. Because it IS ten times more dangerous here than most other places, especially for someone who doesn't look Irish. It's a total joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

hope your wife is ok. i work on parnell street and finish around 11 some nights, always afraid of my life walking down there at night by myself, def an area that needs more cops on it. fair play for not reacting physically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sorry to hear about it OP. Although an instinct like this may have its uses.

I know very little about boxing but that guy must be doing boxing training. He's got some skill and speed, no question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Mairt wrote: »
    I'd a similar incident only Friday night.

I was stopped at the lights of Clare St. and noticed a mugging over the road on South Leinster Street. A guy on a push bike robbing a tourist, I gave chase and caught him at the Alexander hotel.

The girl got her stuff back, but in the chase the fvcker threw her stuff to the ground, smashing her new digi-camera.

Anyway through it all NOT ONE PERSON came to help.

I went back to her at Kennedy's pub where some of the customers where comforting her - I thanked the lads on the door "Thanks for the help lads, yiz windy fvckers".

Turn's out the guy was a Roma who was arrested on Fishamble St earlier. He does his robberies on a pushbike - so beware.

Fair play, always like hearing stories like this (I mean bypassers helping people).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i admire the OP's self control.

I dont trust my own temper in a situation like that. If somone punched my ex i would have caught him.. and raped him in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

flanum wrote: »
    i think its great the op didnt react physically at the time. Now he can get all the scumbags background info... address etc in court.

Sweet, own the fcuker when he doesnt expect it, just like he done to the ops wife!

i like your thinking ;):D