Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NTL Upgrade 3mb to 6mb / 6mb to 12mb-- did you get it yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭DjDangerousDave

You can stay in the line if you want mate, but if you dont complain they will continue to not give a crap about the customers. And 15 euro a month for a year is 180 euro, I have better things to do with my 180 euro than give it to NTL for nothing.
    actually I am not an employee, just like to see progress being made in IT in ireland. They are dragging a country out of a place where ten years ago barley had INTERNET access let along 12mb broadand internet access and you gripe about €15!!!!! The offer is there for you to appy to and you cant complain about free double speeds. You complain that you have to do this yourself? That you have paid €15 more than someone else? they go straight on to new boot file types its a simple matter that you have to apply for it. They had to give all the exact same info when signing on too.

People lilke you really need to see perspective, you want it all now, for free, no one else is to get better than you or cheaper than you or you automatically think yur hated and being plottted against?

Apply online as I have, get in line and accept it. Unless you can supply your own internet connection you have to play by their rules and I and other subscribers to their service think they are entirely fair for the return given.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

But I guess by even calling them, I am entereing a 12-month contract again?

EDIT: What is going on with boards, my post moved up one place before DjDangerousDave!

Ring the number! Its the best phonecall you will ever have! I did not fill out the form.
    HungryJoey wrote: »
    Ok guys, am I missing something here? Do I need to sign up to anything before they upgrade my 6mb to 12mb?

Or should I just call the premium line and ask them to upgrade it?

EDIT: Typical, I'm just after seeing the form to fill out on the UPC site.

The guy on the premium number did not mention anyting about a new contract. But I think when you submit that form you are aggreeing to a new 12 month contract. I did not fill that out, but it makes no odds to me. Ring up, the speeds will make all worries go away.

Here is a link to a post I just made with some screenshots of the speeds im getting now. http://www.davidmcgettigan.com/?p=151
    HungryJoey wrote: »
    But I guess by even calling them, I am entereing a 12-month contract again?

EDIT: What is going on with boards, my post moved up one place before DjDangerousDave!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

My girlfriend works there and no you dont need to fill out another contract, that was only in the begining of the offer but was scrapped after they had an influx so its grand you stay on the same contract.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭TheCaveman

OK, so what am i missing ? Had a look on the UPC website, did not see anything about upgrade.

I am on the €30 pm, 6MB pack

So if i call the premuim number, do I get bumped up to 12MB for same price, ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Rang the 1550 number and seconds later i'm told it will be available in 5 minutes. With the new modems they can reboot remotely.

Cool.

Hmmmm, thats strange. I have the new Cisco modems they are using and I had the manually reboot it, maybe they just wanted me to do it in my own time.

Thats 100% Correct!

The upgrade page is here though:

http://www.upc.ie/contact/upgradebroadband/

But forget that, ring the premuim number!
    TheCaveman wrote: »
    OK, so what am i missing ? Had a look on the UPC website, did not see anything about upgrade.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

No because you are on the new package already. The people that are getting bumped to 12 are paying €40 per month.

ah nope, your already on the upgraded speeds, the next step up for you is 12mb for 40.

No because you are on the new package already. The people that are getting bumped to 12 are paying €40 per month.

Ah ok, sorry about that. Still though 10 euro extra for double the speeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭TheCaveman

thanks for that, but for me 6MB is enough, as i dont download that much, and 6MB is more than enough for porn :D

ya its good deal alright, pages open the same but the real diff is in streaming vids from youtube and sites like that. Downloads shoot past, so much fun to what the progress bar rev up and obliterate a huge file.

But yet people like Paulm above will give out that you got the same speeds for 10 eur less for a month or so????

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Don't waste your €1 calling the premium number,I just called them there and they said there upgrading all the lines automatically within the week and he couldn't activate my line even though I had already filled in the form.

Ian Beale wrote: »
    Don't waste your €1 calling the premium number,I just called them there and they said there upgrading all the lines automatically within the week and he couldn't activate my line even though I had already filled in the form.

Clearly he is getting pissed off doing it for people now. Ah well, I got him while he was still nice and friendly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

But yet people like Paulm above will give out that you got the same speeds for 10 eur less for a month or so????

I'm giving out because I have to pay €40 for 6MB when I should be either getting 12Mb or paying €30 for 6Mb. So far two months, who knows how much longer. If it's really late July, that is 4 months, €40, one month rental.

If UPC weren't upgrading anyone, I'd be perfectly happy. Fact is they're screwing their long term customers.

and like the missus says you'll spend more time complaining about it than actually doing something about it. "oh its takes so long to get through to ye blah blah blah" for ten mins, and then the next person will say the same, duh thats cause you spend so much time complaining about it your screwing everyone else over! quote - "i dont care if i didnt have it as long as no one else does ether" or something to that effect.
    Just sign up online and accept that as you cant change the rules play by them or get dial up.its easy, its free and double your speed. end of story

• Registered Users Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Ha ha, priceless thread!!

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Mistmyr

I just called the 1550 number and had no luck at all :(

He said the upgrades are being rolled out at the moment and existing customers will receive the upgrade over the next few days automatically.

It seems like it all depends on who you get when u call...

Ill make one more call later and see if my luck changes and after that ill just sit back and wait for it..........

Misty

Mistmyr wrote: »
    I just called the 1550 number and had no luck at all :(

He said the upgrades are being rolled out at the moment and existing customers will receive the upgrade over the next few days automatically.

It seems like it all depends on who you get when u call...

Ill make one more call later and see if my luck changes and after that ill just sit back and wait for it..........

Misty

Yeah I would not bother ringing again, they are on to us! But I do believe they are going to get it out to everyone as soon as they can.

P.S. Can the person that rang me please send me a PM, I have a question I would like to ask.

and like the missus says you'll spend more time complaining about it than actually doing something about it. "oh its takes so long to get through to ye blah blah blah" for ten mins, and then the next person will say the same, duh thats cause you spend so much time complaining about it your screwing everyone else over! quote - "i dont care if i didnt have it as long as no one else does ether" or something to that effect.
    Just sign up online and accept that as you cant change the rules play by them or get dial up.its easy, its free and double your speed. end of story

Who says I haven't signed up online? You seem to know a lot about me. :rolleyes: I've signed up online and called them several times. Last time I explain this to you, I hope it sinks in. UPC are fleecing loyal customers 80,000 * 10 = 800,000. So far they've made 1,600,000 with this. The longer they keep fleecing us, the more they make. Now, I know you don't want to get fired so I don't expect you to agree with me but please stop saying "sign up, it's a great offer, stop complaining." I have done everything I can bar leave UPC, which I will do as soon as I can get reliable TV from somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

I just rang them up there 20 mins ago ( you ? ) he said they are upgrading automatically within the next month.. or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

paulm17781 wrote: »
    Who says I haven't signed up online? You seem to know a lot about me. :rolleyes: I've signed up online and called them several times. Last time I explain this to you, I hope it sinks in. UPC are fleecing loyal customers 80,000 * 10 = 800,000. So far they've made 1,600,000 with this. The longer they keep fleecing us, the more they make. Now, I know you don't want to get fired so I don't expect you to agree with me but please stop saying "sign up, it's a great offer, stop complaining." I have done everything I can bar leave UPC, which I will do as soon as I can get reliable TV from somewhere else.

I'm sorry.
    But you're completely wrong on every level.
    You signed a contract to a company for a service.
    Part of that contract is that they can change the price up or down.

I'm going out to buy a Liverpool football jersey tommorrow.
    I know that it'll cost me €70, and that a few months later it might cost €50.
    I won't be running into Lifestyle in a few months though, and looking for my money back!
    Grow up.

I'm sorry.
    But you're completely wrong on every level.
    You signed a contract to a company for a service.
    Part of that contract is that they can change the price up or down.

Ah good, another one. I know all that. My point is why are loyal customers being screwed where as new customers aren't. If it was a promotion fine. It isn't. It is screwing customers. If I cancel and sign up again, I can get 6Mb for €30, currently I have to pay €40 as I have been with them for 4 years. This is unfair to loyal customers.

Comparing it to buying something is irrelevant. One is a product and subject to depreciation, inflation and various other matters. The other is a service.

Now then, the real question is; who is wrong on every level?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 suprasonic

paulm17781 wrote: »

exactly youd hardly go buy something in a shop and if it goes on sale go running back in saying you want the 20 quid back.read your contract thats what its there for.i read mine and they have themselves coverd on all angles for a reason and it makes sense.you singned a contract for the product at that time of sale.you expect upc to hold back thousands of customers just cos a new customer signed a new contrat with different price all companies do it.as high tower said get in line and accept it,READ YOUR CONTRACT THATS WHAT A CONTRACT IS THERE FOR.

suprasonic wrote: »
    exactly youd hardly go buy something in a shop and if it goes on sale go running back in saying you want the 20 quid back.read your contract thats what its there for.i read mine and they have themselves coverd on all angles for a reason and it makes sense.you singned a contract for the product at that time of sale.you expect upc to hold back thousands of customers just cos a new customer signed a new contrat with different price all companies do it.as high tower said get in line and accept it,READ YOUR CONTRACT THATS WHAT A CONTRACT IS THERE FOR.

Oh look, first post on boards. Would that be the contract that UPC change adherently to suit themselves? As explained above, product vs. service they're different things.

For all the UPC shills I expect UPC to treat their customers well not fleece them at every opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

paulm, just because someone disagrees with you doesn't mean they work for upc. Please rememer that and stop throwing around accusations.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,754 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

3 UPC Calls

Call1) The other person i got last week logged a call and i had a voicemail telling me everyone would be upgraded in June automatically.

Call2) In work today my mate called them, 2 mins on the phone and he was upgraded.

Call3) Just called, the guy said i have to fill out the online form...which means agreeing to the 12months contract. He also said there is no automatic rollout unless you agree to the online form. (R)

What a total joke.......

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Meh give it a week if not i'm going to cancel my account with them as i'm well passed my 12 month contract,after they've cancelled it i'll then ring up a few days later and say I want the 12mb line which comes at half price if you sign up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,754 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

Yeah i will do the same. Cancel the connection & TV, a week later order it again....it means i will save ~€75 and get a free wireless router.....

I really hate their tactics. Ohh and i HATE their tech support aswell.....its a pitty because its a good product.