Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Euro 2008 Sweepstake DRAW MADE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

w00t! Czech R 1 - 0 Switzerland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Go on Croatia and Pogatetz is my star player.:p

Have to say this is a bloody good game. Croatia started off well but Austria have really come into the game. I know I took the p**s out of them but they are putting on a good show at the moment,not sure if this is down to complacency on Croatia's part as like most I thought they were probably the best of the outsiders to win the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Im so torn though. I want them to win, but i despise the chap. Fingers crossed for him to be suspended for the final, but Figo and Rui Costa to come back (somehow) and save the day!
    Yeah same here, I had to stick 10 quid on them seen as how it was my place you got in the draw so to speak, so i felt that was the natural random choice. It will be sort of like having a player score against your team, yet secretly you arent awfully hurt on the inside because he is on your fantasy football team.....still cant stand the antics of ronaldo though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I was dying for Austria to either score one, or not concede a second, so I'm kind of half happy.

Switzerland still in with a shout of being worst team :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Ah i can see France sticking 2 or 3 past Romania tonight and hopefully Italy and Holland will follow suit.

C'mon Benzema!!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I am pretty happy with Germany. A quarter spot looks in the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I am pretty happy with Germany. A quarter spot looks in the bag.

:O I'd be delighted, my faves to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

came into work this morning early, was out of bed at 6.25 in order to get home for the game this evening.

Looking forward to watchin my boys in action, they better not let me down!

Viva Espania!

Mr Alan wrote: »
    came into work this morning early, was out of bed at 6.25 in order to get home for the game this evening.

Looking forward to watchin my boys in action, they better not let me down!

Viva Espania!

I'm missing tonight's games due to Boardeuax playing. I was looking forward to seeing Spain capitulate, once again.

I'm looking forward to your face capitulating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

DesF wrote: »
    I'm missing tonight's games due to Boardeuax playing. I was looking forward to seeing Spain capitulate, once again.

No, they usually capitulate a couple of games into the tournament. Remember them starting WC06 with a 4-0 win against Ukraine before it all went wrong!!!:D

They haven't got the players this time to even do that.

Some blonde bint up front, wtf is that all about?

you would wanna ****ing watch yourself des :(

I know where you live remember!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jArgHA

Netherlands = Quality

We'll give any of ye a run for yer money. Oranje Bove!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,604 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Good stuff lads, good stuff. Two and Oh as the 'mericans say.

Go on Switzerland ya good thing.:D:D:D

rednik wrote: »
    Go on Switzerland ya good thing.:D:D:D

DAMNMIT TO HELL

:mad::mad::mad:

Des, could you give us an update on the money situation please ?

Can it wait until morning?

I don't have my log in details to hand right now.

Sorry.:o

I'll do it first thing when I get to work.

Can it wait until morning?

I don't have my log in details to hand right now.

Sorry.:o

I'll do it first thing when I get to work.

Yeah, no problem. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

DAMNMIT TO HELL :mad::mad::mad:

Tusky wrote: »
    Des, could you give us an update on the money situation please ?

All paid up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

G'wan the Croatia. Surely this gives them a great chance at qualifying top and getting the easier quarter draw.

I do however have Germany in another Sweepstakes, so a draw would have been preferable.

I have the Croats in the work steak :)

Now come on Austria, a draw in this next game would be perfect. :D

Come on Poland. How the f**k they are still in this game is beyond me. Boruc will definitely be moving if he keeps playing like that for the rest of the tournament.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I have the Croats in the work steak :)

Now come on Austria, a draw in this next game would be perfect. :D
    Squeaky bum for die Germans!

For the last time come on Switzerland.:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Good on ya Poland. Currently the worst team of the 2 completed groups. Now I just need....

France and Italy to draw.

Greece to get anything better than a 0-0 with Spain

To take the wooden spoon...

I think I will be laying Germany now to make some money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Get in there!! Greece "win" worst team award!!

Group A

Czech Republic - Tusky
    Portugal - Rebel
    Switzerland - Des
    Turkey - Shamrock

Group B

Austria - Rednik
    Croatia - Charlie
    Germany - Keanos a Legend
    Poland - KevIRL

Group C

France - Xavi

Italy - Jason
    Holland - Jargha
    Romania - S_Carnage

Group D

Greece - emc2 - Worst Team Winner
    Russia - ibh
    Spain - MrAlan
    Sweden - Mickey

PRIZES:

First place - 100 euro
    Second place - 30 euro
    Worst team - 30 euro - Greece - emc2

I won't be transferring the prizes until the tournament is complete, but Mick, can you PM me your bank details please.

Cheers.

Quarter Finals

Portugal - Rebel -v- Germany - Keanos a Legend
    Croatia - Charlie -v- Turkey - Shamrock
    Holland - Jargha -v- Russia - ibh
    Spain - MrAlan -v- Italy - Jason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Feckin Greeks. First they invent gayness and now they throw away a lead and a draw against the Spanish reserves. On my list of enemies they go.
    Posted via Mobile Device

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Feckin Greeks. First they invent gayness and now they throw away a lead and a draw against the Spanish reserves. On my list of enemies they go.
    Posted via Mobile Device
    I like sour grapes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

Group A

Quarter Finals

Holland - Jargha -v- Italy - Jason
    Spain - MrAlan -v- Holland - Jargha

Bit unfair to expect Holland to play on consecutive nights.
    I'm not fully convinced about them either though Des, so you may be right. Make them play 2 1/4 finals and see how good they are then!!!!:D

Bit unfair on my men the Russians, all the same. They worked their asses off last night and get no thanks for it.

ibh wrote: »
    Bit unfair to expect Holland to play on consecutive nights.
    I'm not fully convinced about them either though Des, so you may be right. Make them play 2 1/4 finals and see how good they are then!!!!:D

Bit unfair on my men the Russians, all the same. They worked their asses off last night and get no thanks for it.

I knew I'd fúck it up.

Fixed btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Bring it on MrAlan! :D

I fully expect to get beat btw!

Forget about this thread, didnt realise people were still talking talking about it?

Tusky-has the winnings been transfered to my account yet? ;)

Forget about this thread, didnt realise people were still talking talking about it?

I doubt Spain will win the competition outright as I stand to win money if they do...so, it won't I'm afraid!

Thanks for the update Des. I lost interest when the Czechs went out :(

Die Germans will be victorious.

/off to get a bit of humble pie just in case.

Germany V Spain final is a possibility isnt it?

Possible, but not probable.

My da backed Croatia at the start and I slagged him about it. I will never hear the end of it if they do it & I probably wont even get a pint out of it!

The Spanish defence will get exposed for what it it is, much like the Portuguese one was last night, and will make Toni look like an excellent player. Italy to beat them 3-1.

If I am wrong, you can quote me on this post, and bellow in my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,604 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

..stupid portugal...:mad::(

Quarter Finals

Holland - Jargha -v- Russia - ibh

Semi Finals

Germany - Keanos a Legend -v-

-v-

The Spanish defence will get exposed for what it it is, much like the Portuguese one was last night, and will make Toni look like an excellent player. Italy to beat them 3-1.

If I am wrong, you can quote me on this post, and bellow in my face.

I sincerely doubt that! I think, Spain will beat Italy as the loss of Gatusso and Pirlo is simply too much, Spain just have to find a way to break down the Italian defence! I do however think that Holland will be able to expose the Spaniards frailties!

Fair play Shamrock.

Although I will be rooting against you in the Semis as I have Germany in another Sweepstakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Thanks, Charlie. It'll be a big ask in the Semis but stranger things have happened.