Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern - Bookies Nightmare

• 04-06-2008 5:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭

Ah we'll miss him when he's gone that for sure.

Ahern was at the Tribunal again today and had the public gallery in gales of laughter at times as he sought to explain the vast amoungs of Sterling that he kept taking charge of in the early 90s. Today (without being specificly asked) he volunteered info regarding 8 grand in bookies swag having had some success with the nags, somehow he had forgot to mention this up to now, so the fact he suddenly put this in the public domain can only mean he thought there were questions coming about same.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0604/mahon.html

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,424 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

But Bertie Ahern was an "anti gambling campaigner". How could anyone who opposed gambling make bets large enough to net him 8 grand sterling more than a decade ago (when it half the price of a house)
    Well I think I was always opposed to gambling. That was always my position......But I was totally opposed to the gambling end of it. All through my political career I had been opposing what I call the one-arm bandit. I led that campaign in Dublin back in the mid-80s

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/i-oppose-gambling-and-was-against-casino-says-ahern-1236261.html

Are we allowed to use the L word yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

more outrageous tripe from ahern. Quite how anyone can defend him at this stage is beyond me but some persist....the L word indeed! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

As the Gardai would say 'suspicious'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Didnt Redmond use that excuse before? Something along the lines that no money was handed over but that he was called by the 'donator' from the course and told that the horse was fancied and would he like it if several grand was put on for him. Each time the horse won and the 'donator' just handed over the winnings from the bet he had placed for Redmond. They were all winners, imagine that!!!

Sad and pathetic stuff from Bertie.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,996 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

sink wrote: »
    As the Gardai would say 'suspicious'.

'I won it in the bookies' is a line often trotted out by:

- drug dealers
    - welfare cheats
    - tax cheats
    - career criminals
    - other assorted scumbags

to explain piles of dodgy cash.
    Surprised that Bertie is grasping at this rather grimy straw. Even if he proves this is 100% true and above board, it still reflects badly upon him.

Are gambling winnings subject to income tax?

ninja900 wrote: »

Well the lotto is not but I don't know about betting. I would think it would only apply over a certain amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Lotto is tax free.

Mike.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Akrasia wrote: »
    Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

He's a disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,423 ✭✭✭✭Victor

ninja900 wrote: »
    No, unless its your primary source of income, in which case its is treated as a trade. the like of book makers and possibly some high rollers would come under this category.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

The man has such a bad memory that he is unemployable. He was Taoiseach for 10 years with such a bad memory. I wonder if he has sought medical help for this condition. Anybody seen Walter Mitty?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭scargill

poor old bookies got cleaned out by John Gilligan too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

tribunal chairman requests public gallery to stop laughing at his evidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

But Bertie Ahern was an "anti gambling campaigner". How could anyone who opposed gambling make bets large enough to net him 8 grand sterling more than a decade ago (when it half the price of a house)

Are you surprised ? It's the same guy who as Minister for Finance let fly at people who avoided/evaded tax with undeclared income and strange bank accounts (there's a video on YouTube somewhere).

We'll think of something along the lines of SWTCACSTDMTFACR...doesn't roll off the tongue that well, but hey, it's an acryonym about as convoluted as his finances, so it's appropriate

( in case anyone's wondering, that's "Someone Who Tells Confusing And Conflicting Stories That Don't Match The Facts And Change Regularly" )

But the only "L" word that's allowed is sanctioned by those who "Love" Bertie and believe everything he says, even if/when he changes it in the next interview.

Hang on.....I've just found an appropriate acronym :

"Believe Everyt'ing, Rite - Tribunal Is Exaggerating"

Any other suggestions ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    {snip}
    Hang on.....I've just found an appropriate acronym :

"Believe Everyt'ing, Rite - Tribunal Is Exaggerating"

Any other suggestions ?
    Ban Every Retard Talking Inane Excrement.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ah there's nothing like some comedy to cheer someone up from coming back from holliers :)

This is a complete and utter joke, if he doesn't do time for perjury at this stage there is no justice. As already stated above the class of people that normally use a pathetic excuse like this are the dregs of society.

I wonder will we see the great and good in FF start to put some distance between themselves and the non-teflon one now ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

And he, I believe has ambitions of becoming our President in 2011, can you imagine the Walter Mitty of Irish politics representing us after that waffle he came out with yesterday!

To disgrace us once, but to be allowed to do it again is nothing short of a national tragedy. Bernie what are the odds of that? Huh? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭nhughes100

No way Bertie will go for President of Ireland anyway, He'll be shifted off to Europe or more likely the UN where he can add to his substantial state pension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The only good news is that such is the crippling embarrassment that must be being felt by Bertie boy and those close to him, it must be sending shivers through the FF rank and file (and beyond). Your lifes finances exposed for all to see. Not pretty but if it acts as a warning then its worth it.

As El Presidente or Europe I think thats a no-no :)

Mike.

Berite is definitely a skilled negotiator and would have been well suited to the roll of President of the European Council. Unfortunately he has done himself and his country a disservice by being a slimy mofo. He has no chance of becoming President now, he'll be lucky if he stays out of prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

gandalf wrote: »
    This is a complete and utter joke, if he doesn't do time for perjury at this stage there is no justice.

But has he actually committed purjury?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,472 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

sink wrote: »
    Berite is definitely a skilled negotiator and would have been well suited to the roll of President of the European Council. Unfortunately he has done himself and his country a disservice by being a slimy mofo. He has no chance of becoming President now, he'll be lucky if he stays out of prison.

He will never see a day.

Didn't he say there were never Sterling transactions?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

AFAIK he cant be done for perjury as the tribunal is not a criminal court.

He might however be in trouble if the tax man (who still has not given him a tax clearance cert) starts investigating the new found funds and possible new accounts

Does anyone remember Bert making a very cryptic statement at the start of this whole mess that he denied the suggestion that he had a bank account in Mauritiaus. I remember thinking at the time that this was a very strange statement to make a possibly a 'smoke and daggers' move but not any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

gandalf wrote: »
    Didn't he say there were never Sterling transactions?

Yes, I think he did say that but he just forgot about it, that's why we had explainations about the sterling yesterday.

Well if he didn't spread falsehoods then it must be assumed that he must be deficient of mind that he cannot recall such large amounts of money moving through his accounts. One could question what kind of political party allows someone with such limited abilities of recall to run it?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

...the 'explanations' which can't be verified because the man who supposedly converted the money is now dead. How convenient.

Ahern is a disgrace but more importantly....Cowen knew, they all knew, just like Ahern knew about Haughey. FF are so unbelievably arrogant that the believe they have the right to do these things.

Compare to the conservative MEP who resigned today for a small mistake in his expenses!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,424 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

well, a few months ago he was adamant that he never exchanged sterling in small amounts, he preferred to get it all done in big 30k sized bundles, and now he's claiming that he was exchanging a few grand worth at a time in the back of a car...

Oh wait, his explanation..."it was different sterling"

And that's just one example.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

does anyone have the exact text he used to describe walking around manchester with wads of notes and his comment about man city supporters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Bertie is a disgrace ffs.

he should be jailed in all seriousness. swindling our tax money for donkey years.

lying about non existing degrees...

phfft.

shambolic person.

. and that grin he uses 99% of the time.

what does he find so amusing i wonder...