Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone interested in a Vietnam themed event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

What about an M4? Very similar to the XM177. Also, how accurate do the uniforms need to be? I'd be willing to dish out on some Vietnam era webbing and a pair of boots and a cover for an m1 helmet that I have. I already have an m43 field jacket with the m43 field trousers. Would that do to try and pass off as an M65 jacket? I'd imagine that it would look pretty much the same with some vietnam webbing and the sleeves rolled up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Ass Face wrote: »
    What about an M4? Very similar to the XM177. Also, how accurate do the uniforms need to be? I'd be willing to dish out on some Vietnam era webbing and a pair of boots and a cover for an m1 helmet that I have. I already have an m43 field jacket with the m43 field trousers. Would that do to try and pass off as an M65 jacket? I'd imagine that it would look pretty much the same with some vietnam webbing and the sleeves rolled up.

I think as far as uniforms go the colour will be more important then anything else. Multi-colour camo should be avoided except for special forces players but beyond that I wouldn't see a problem. I'm currently considering a Russian dark Khaki jacket and trousers for my NVA loadout because it's cheap and easy to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

agree simply going for block colours would give a good look, it may be better to look at what not to use :)

optics/red dot (exept optics on bolt action sniper)
    ris
    molle

would stick to

m4/m16 and ak family's in general
    webbing or simple chest rigs
    simple karki or od clothing us/Vietcong respectively

A very cheap loadout for VC would be black trousers or combats and a black shirt of any type, even a plain black pullover would work. I don't know how many people would be willing to do it but most VC wore sandals (wearing heavy socks with them should be allowed for safety) cheap as chips.

4 mag AK cell pouches can be picked up all over the place (20-30 euro) one would do as standard loadout for NVA was 4 AK mags, they can be attached to a belt. Even though most NVA used ChiCom rigs the mag cells are from the era, 50's in fact, so wouldn't be out of place.

Any old water bottle would serve both sides and would help with a more authentic look.

Most AK types are correct to the Vietnam war with the exception of all the 5.45mm AK's. However a fixed stock AK74 can be made to look somewhat like an AKM by simply replacing the muzzle break with an AKM one. Element sell one for cheap enough. Just wang some AK47 steel mags in and your good to go. It wouldn't be totally correct but close enough to the AKM. Same goes for the CYMA 031, just jam an ACM AKM woodkit on it and the Element muzzle break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I think we need to hold the horses on insisting absolute authenticity and take a bit of a flexibile approach:

First things first; Take a read of this from a VN event organised by Combat South in the UK. It gives ideal, passable and unacceptable clothing/gear suggestions and is pretty decent as a starting template.

With that said, the part concerning weapons needs addressed. There was a VN event organised through Airsoft Ireland a while back and they simply suggested things like armalite family airsoft guns with rails be covered, no scopes etc. except on sniper rifles, etc. etc. I would extend the same to the kalashnikov family.

I would however - personally speaking - come down a bit harder on support weapons, shotguns, and pistols to avoid G36s with drum mags, M249s, SPAS12 shotguns, Desert Eagles and the like being fielded.

At the end of the day ... common sense and practicality dictate how things will be run; for example if it's a shotgun that doesn't look like it came off the set of Terminator 2 then it's probably going to do a passable attempt at a period trench shot-gun. Likewise the m1911 family, etc. etc.

Obviously turning up with an M249 with a red-dot sight on it is a big no no. As is turning up with Mac 11s, MP7s, and MP5s as secondary weapons or what-not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

good post lemming, i agree, we should be strict but allow guns that are similar to the originals.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

well this coming week i will start to contact everyone who has said yes and we can have a free and open discussion by those interested, i am kinda hoping it wont be a boards free for all arguement but a muture discussion and incidentally everything is open so Puding your concerns about the medals is also open, i havent ordered anything so lets discuss like mature adults come to a consensus and make a decision we agree on.

i think it is fair to say we have so far a core of people fairly dedicated or at least very interested in the period we are talking about. so we are not a random bunch...and thats a good thing because what we have now is a line that we have to create that will allow a good number of players BUT also give a feeling of the period. so please remember as a group we are looking to re run these and with that it will allow players to commit funds in the safe knowledge it wont be wasted. i have lost the skin on my fingers this weekend typing to websites and the good news is it is not quite as tricky or expensive as you would think to get a half decent impression of the period. so for example lets look (like lemming mentioned) about pistols. if you dont have (for the us side) a 1911 or similar, well dont bring any pistol, i dont have one so i am planning going pistol-less. most didnt have them anyways. also most of us here are (how shall i put this delicately), the more maturer player (old fuking fart is probably better LOL) :D so we should try and steer away from hi caps but for one reason only. i think you carry what you can carry and lets create scenarios or situations to reload and rearm mid game somehow....i think we should push that you are not exactly conserving ammo but it should be on your mind to avoid a whole event of pray and spray which i think we all agree is what by and large we want to avoid.

on the mg side, i know of only lemming with an m60. and again thats not a bad thing (sorry for assuming you are bringing it lemming but i would like to use this as an example) they were few and far between, they eat ammo that people hadnt got or had to carry...so the big question for the US side is do we all share ammo to feed it and loose firepower ourselves or do we limit the ammo the m60er has...i think that should be a decision for that team depending on the scenario they are playing...so again its a decision and the team players will have to pony up to the ammo reducing their own available amount.

so once i pm everyone we can start to divy up the work. i would suggest we agree a commonality of accuracy levels and then the resident experts in the ak or m16 camps can even start recommending stuff.

now i am writing this like its decidied...it isnt...as i said we all agree and make our mark and give it a whirl and learn from it for the next time. what we need to do i think is start and make our line in the sand...a mark of accuracy if you will,a mark of 'there and no further'. hell if it comes down to it we can create a list of aegs that are thumbs up, thumbs level and thumbs down if we like...

...operation starlight here we come.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

M16 A1-A2 ,
    M4A1 orginal version was the Stoner modular rifle issued to the original seal teams and some Green beret A-teams. M14s.
    M79s .
    remington whitefeather <sniper .
    1911s .
    pumpactions .
    M60s .
    browning 30 and 50 cals .
    a few carbines from standard sizes up to .30 cal
    few others to add later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭heyjay14

Hey i think the Kalash AKS-74U should be aloud because it does look like an ak47 just with a shorter barrel and a colapsible stock....

And a stamped receiver instead of a milled receiver. A ribbed receiver cover instead of a flat cover. A synthetic pistol grip instead of Wood which is also the wrong shape.

Though nothing has been decided yet as far as gun restrictions go.

so for example lets look (like lemming mentioned) about pistols. if you dont have (for the us side) a 1911 or similar, well dont bring any pistol, i dont have one so i am planning going pistol-less. most didnt have them anyways.

AFAIK, the US only (formally) issued pistols to officers, radio operators and support gunners (SOG/SEALs/LRRP not withstanding). That's not to say other soldiers didn't get their hands on them of course from time to time.
    on the mg side, i know of only lemming with an m60. and again thats not a bad thing (sorry for assuming you are bringing it lemming but i would like to use this as an example) they were few and far between, they eat ammo that people hadnt got or had to carry...so the big question for the US side is do we all share ammo to feed it and loose firepower ourselves or do we limit the ammo the m60er has...i think that should be a decision for that team depending on the scenario they are playing...so again its a decision and the team players will have to pony up to the ammo reducing their own available amount.

I'm good to bring the M60 so no need to feel sorry for assuming! As a suggested idea; I would say limit the support gunner to a full load of ammo (so that'd be 1500 rounds) and then maybe spread 1000 rounds (each) among a handful of other team members for those "I need f*cking ammo!!" moments that have to be addressed by members of the squad scrambling under fire.

[edit: I forgot to mention that the support gunner ammo restriction is based on assumption that people are being encouraged to use mid/lo caps as opposed to high-caps and/or we are placing ammo restrictions on players

just a quick thought. if ribbons and medals are a problem , how bout an event shoulder patch. based on a "Nam" theme

Gatling wrote: »
    just a quick thought. if ribbons and medals are a problem , how bout an event shoulder patch. based on a "Nam" theme

gatling, you are reading my mind...great minds etc LOL.....

as it happens i was looking at embroidery (yes, I was looking at embroidery...foe ye shower of feckers!) sites in taiwan/china....they even do metal badges...the downside is a lot of them require min orders of 100 on the shoulder patches and 1000 or so on the metal ones...i have not checked so far about the sew on ribbons...so i guess we could make our own for that as well..i will send a link to the company i ordered off before from my aliens days (ordered the shoulder flashing for the marines) it was a company hsin rudy hui embroidery or something like that..but there are loads of them..

and yes yes yes i know there are other sites selling smaller quantities...BUT check out their prices before you say that...

Lemming wrote: »
    AFAIK, the US only (formally) issued pistols to officers, radio operators and support gunners (SOG/SEALs/LRRP not withstanding). That's not to say other soldiers didn't get their hands on them of course from time to time.

I'm good to bring the M60 so no need to feel sorry for assuming! As a suggested idea; I would say limit the support gunner to a full load of ammo (so that'd be 1500 rounds) and then maybe spread 1000 rounds (each) among a handful of other team members for those "I need f*cking ammo!!" moments that have to be addressed by members of the squad scrambling under fire.

[edit: I forgot to mention that the support gunner ammo restriction is based on assumption that people are being encouraged to use mid/lo caps as opposed to high-caps and/or we are placing ammo restrictions on players

most excellent idea me thinks...i think the mid caps or lower is the way to go. i want to try this out so i dont know if it works yet although i cant see why it wouldnt...

suppose you have only hi caps...well fill it wind it fully and empty the storage chamber of the spare bb's. i am fairly sure that will give around 60 to 100 rounds (a low mid cap)and no rattle. that way for anyone who has only hi caps you dont have to run off and get a load of mids...altho if you can afford it its not a bad idea as we all know hicaps suck the big one...

now it will be a pain reloading them in game under fire so i guess thats the downside and there is always a risk of them unwinding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

dragged from other sites to give ideas, all depends how deep you want to go on the accuracy front.

Normal wiki link but good starting point for all
    Small arms

1. Edged weapons(Combat knives, bayonet)

* Randall No. 1
    * Gerber Mark II
    * M1 bayonet
    * M6 bayonet
    * M7 bayonet
    * KA-BAR (USMC)
    * KCB70 bayonet (Limited use with Stoner 63 rifle only)

2. Pistols & Revolvers

* FNH Browning H-P Mk III pistol - used by Australian and New Zealand forces
    * Smith & Wesson Mark 22 Mod.0 "Hush Puppy" - Suppressed pistol used by SEALs, among others
    * Colt M1911A1 pistol
    * S & W Model 15 (USAF M-15) carried by USAF SPs (Security Police Units)
    * S & W models 12
    * S & W Aircrewman model (a models 37 with 2 inch barrels and alluminium drum)

3. Machine Pistols/Submachine Guns

* F-1 sub-machine gun - used by Australian forces
    * Owen sub-machine gun - used by Australian soldiers until it was replaced by the M-16 rifle later on during the war
    * Sterling L2A3 sub-machine gun - used by both Australian and New Zealand forces, in particular the Australian Army's Special Air Service Regiment and the New Zealand Army's Special Air Service Squadron. Australian and New Zealand SAS units and the U.S. Navy SEALs also utilised the silenced version of the Sterling sub-machine gun (the L34A1) on commando missions.
    * Walther MP (MPL), often suppressed for action behind the enemy's lines
    * Smith & Wesson M76 a copy of the Carl Gustav M/45, used by US Navy SEALs and ARVN (South Vietnam)
    * Thompson M1A1 - In limited use by Americans and South Vietnamese
    * M3/A1 'Grease Gun' - Used by Americans and ARVN (South Vietnam)
    * Ingram MAC-10, used only by U.S. Special Forces
    * Beretta Model 12, used only by CIA and U.S. Special Forces

4. Assault Rifles

* Colt CAR-15, XM177, Colt m653, Short assault rifle
    * Armalite and Colt rifle AR15/M16 - main rifle since 1963
    * Harrington & Richardson T223 a copy of the HK 33 - used by U.S. Navy SEALs

5. Battle Rifles

* M1/M2 Carbine in early time of the war, by ARVN, South Vietnamese Marine Corps and Republic of Korea Marine Corps
    * M1 Garand in early time of the war, by ARVN, South Vietnamese Marine Corps and Republic of Korea Marine Corps
    * M-14 rifle - used mainly by U.S. Marine Corps from the beginning of war to March - November 1967 but also US Army infantry (not Cavalry or Airborne) units in 1965, then replaced by M-16s
    * L1A1 Self Loading Rifle (SLR) - Used by Australian and New Zealand soldiers in Vietnam
    * Springfield M1903
    * Ithaca 37 pump-action shotgun
    * Remington 870 pump-action shotgun
    * Remington 11-48 semi-automatic shotgun
    * (The shotguns were used as an individual weapon during jungle patrol; infantry units are (were) authorized a shotgun by TO & E (Table of Organization & Equipment). Shotguns were not general issue to all infantrymen, but were select issue, such as one per squad, etc.)

6. Sniper Rifles

* Winchester Model 70 bolt-action sniper rifles - used by U.S. Marine Corps snipers
    * M-40 sniper rifle - used by U.S. Marine Corps snipers
    * M21 Sniper Weapon System (or XM21 in test phase) - an accurized version of M-14
    * Springfield M1903A4 sniper rifle

7. Machine guns

* Stoner M63a Commando & Mark 23 Mod.0 - used by U.S. Navy SEALs and tested by Force Recon
    * Saco Defence M60 GPMG (General Purpose Machine Gun), also known as "Pig"
    * M1918A2 Browning Automatic Rifle, Caliber .30 known as BAR
    * Browning M1919-A6 medium machine gun
    * Browning M2HB .50cal Heavy Machine Gun

8. Grenades and Mines

* Mark 2 Fragmentation Hand/Rifle Grenade
    * Claymore M18A1 is an anti-personnel mine
    * M61 Fragmentation Hand Grenade
    * WP M34 grenade White Phosphorus Hand Grenade is a smoke grenade that uses white phosphorus, which, when in contact with air ignites and creates white smoke. The white phosphorus was also a useful, if cruel way to dislodge the Viet Cong from tunnels or other enclosed spaces as the burning white phosphorus absorbs oxygen, causing the victims to suffocate or suffer serious burns.
    * M18 grenade Smoke Hand Grenade

9. Grenade Launcher

* M79 grenade launcher
    * China Lake NATIC XM-79 a pump-action grenade launcher - used by U.S. Navy SEALs
    * XM148 grenade launcher
    * M20 Super Bazooka used mainly by U.S. Marine Corps before introduction of M72 LAW
    * M72 LAW (Light Anti-Tank Weapon)
    * Mk.19 Automatic Grenade Launcher
    * FIM-43 Redeye MANPADS (Man-Portable Air-Defence System)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Weapons_of_the_Vietnam_War
    Small arms

1. Pistols

* Nagant M1895
    * Makarov PM semi-automatic pistol
    * Stechkin APS selective fire (single shot/automatic) pistol
    * Tokarev TT-33 semi-automatic pistol
    * Mauser C-96 Mod.1916

2. Machine-Pistols/Sub Machine-guns

* Škorpion vz. 61
    * PPS-43
    * PPSh-41
    * MAT-49

3. Assault Rifle

* Sturmgewehr 44 (WW2 German assault rifle, imported in limited numbers by the Russians and used by the Viet Cong)
    * AK-47 (Soviet Union)
    * Chicom Type 56 (Communist Chinese)
    * Sa vz.58 (Imported into North Vietnam by the Soviets from Czechoslovakia)

4. Battle Rifle

* Mosin-Nagant bolt-action rifles and carbines - both Soviet (e.g. M-1891/1930 rifles, M-1938 carbines, and M-1944 carbines) and Red Chinese (e.g. The CHICOM Type 53 carbine (a CHICOM copy of the M-1944 carbine)) versions.
    * Mauser Karabiner 98k bolt-action rifles - came from various sources. A number of Mauser Kar-98ks that were in the hands of the NLF and the NVA were captured from and/or left behind by French forces from the First Indochina War. Later, Mauser Kar-98ks used by NVA and NLF came from the Soviet Union due to the Soviets capturing large numbers of these rifles from the Germans during and after World War II and were providing them as military aid to pro-Moscow nations and Marxist movements.
    * SKS semi-automatic rifles - both Soviet and Red Chinese versions. The Red Chinese versions of the SKS are known as the Type 56 Carbine.
    * Tokarev SVT-40 semiautomatic rifle

5. Sniper Rifle

* Mosin-Nagant with PU or PO scope
    * Dragunov Sniper Rifle SVD-63 with PSO-1 scope

6. Machine-guns

* RPK light machine guns
    * RPD light machine guns - both Soviet and Red Chinese versions.
    * Degtyarev DP28, DPM and RP-46 - both Soviet and Red Chinese versions.
    * Vz. 59
    * MG 34
    * Type 11 Light Machine Gun
    * Type 24 machine gun
    * Type 26 light machine gun
    * Type 30 light machine gun
    * Type 99 light machine gun
    * Fusil-Mitrailleur Mle 1915 'CSRG', 'Chauchat'

7. Hand-Grenade and Mines

* F1 grenades (Limonka)
    * RG-42 grenades
    * RGD-33 grenades
    * POMZ-2 mines
    * TMB-2 mines
    * TM-41 mines

8. Portable Grenade Launcher

* RPG-2 rocket-propelled grenades
    * RPG-7 rocket-propelled grenades
    Irregular forces

* Arisaka rifles, bolt action
    * M1 Garand rifle, semi-automatic
    * M1 carbines, semi-automatic
    * Springfield M1903 bolt-action rifles
    * MAS-36 rifles
    * MAS-49 rifles
    * MAT-49 submachine gun and local variants
    * MP40 submachine guns
    * PPS-43 submachine gun and local variants
    * Swedish K submachine guns
    * Mosin-Nagant bolt-action rifles and carbines
    * Mauser Karabiner 98k bolt-action rifles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭cpb

Put my name in the hat for this.
    Thks
    c.

gatling, you are reading my mind...great minds etc LOL.....

as it happens i was looking at embroidery (yes, I was looking at embroidery...foe ye shower of feckers!) sites in taiwan/china....they even do metal badges...the downside is a lot of them require min orders of 100 on the shoulder patches and 1000 or so on

Fallschirmjager -did i not tell you i can get the embroidered patches done here at around 5euro a go no minium numbers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Lets see

M16A1 VN - Check
    M40A1 - Check
    1911 - Check
    Dishevelled been stuck in a jungle for 6 months appearance - Check

Best sign me up for this too :D

N.O.I.P. wrote: »
    Lets see

M16A1 VN - Check
    M40A1 - Check
    1911 - Check
    Dishevelled been stuck in a jungle for 6 months appearance - Check

Best sign me up for this too :D

hahahahahaha...it seems you really are goign for accuracy...
    Gatling wrote: »
    Fallschirmjager -did i not tell you i can get the embroidered patches done here at around 5euro a go no minium numbers,

well that not too bad dude...lets see if we are going that way.

just as an aside is there a limit on colours etc..

no limit on colours -5 colors in my team patch ,il have a sample next week for you to look at ,
    just need a concept to start with

gatling, if its good enough for you..its cool by me..so lets see what people want...

i didnt mind the cost for the ribbons as it was $1.50 and i could blag a discount,

now as much as i love ye guys and gals, ye can go ****e if ye think i am spending the price of an aeg on it!!! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Just read through most of the thread, theirs a plethora of savage ideas here lads well done the lot of ye :D. Im very interested myself just need to switch out my grips on my shotty for wood ones for the day and its a good excuse to get a 1911.;)
    Good stuff lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

m16 wise, m16 and m16a1 were used during the war.

a2 is a good lookalike for a1 but with a round grip, a3 was when rails started appearing and removable carry handles.

Edit: Fiach, did any bakelite akm mags see use by the nva and vc?

Unforyunatly not Motosam, they didn't go into pruduction untill the 1970's as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Fiach Dubh wrote: »
    Unforyunatly not Motosam, they didn't go into pruduction untill the 1970's as far as I know.
    Poopy, i just ordered bakelite AKM mags...
    :rolleyes: Now i need an AKM woodkit

Ok so I was gonna keep this quiet until the event but I just got an email to say that this has shipped and now I'm all giddy N stuff

http://redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ProductDetail?prodID=9278

Looks like it was the last one in stock too, Now to spend the next 2 weeks sitting in the porch waiting for the postman :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Git!

gandalf wrote: »
    Git!

If it makes you feel better I can't afford any grenades for it at the moment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,162 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

gandalf wrote: »
    Git!

I made him do it.

Jaysus she wasn't too dear either, nice

Now all it needs is a laser sight and you're good to go. :D

Ok so I was gonna keep this quiet until the event but I just got an email to say that this has shipped and now I'm all giddy N stuff

http://redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ProductDetail?prodID=9278

Looks like it was the last one in stock too, Now to spend the next 2 weeks sitting in the porch waiting for the postman :D

ABS? Pfffft! You need steel and wood!

You need wood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Motosam wrote: »
    Now all it needs is a laser sight and you're good to go. :D
    What you need is one of these on it.

http://www.mainirishairsoft.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=314

Ass Face wrote: »

Ah now! lol :p

Hmm no more talking to Oisin while browsing airsoft sites, I'm pretty sure thats how I ended up with the M40A1 too, its a miracle I don't have a bloody FAL :D

Ha M79 with an under slung 203 that just about crazy enough to work.

Pretty sure its just the stock thats ABS (open to correction, Redwolfs site seems to be down atm) in which case I can always make a nice wooden stock.

Anyway has any more thought gone into when the event will be on, really looking forward to it.

Hmm no more talking to Oisin while browsing airsoft sites, I'm pretty sure thats how I ended up with the M40A1 too, its a miracle I don't have a bloody FAL :D

Indeed, I am thankful for o1s1n's lack of suggesting stuff these days. My bank account is some €2000 the poorer :p

And no o1s1n, posting a link to an airsoft mini-gun wont work this time ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,162 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

And no o1s1n, posting a link to an airsoft mini-gun wont work this time ...

Actually, Gandalf has an MG42 on the way to him right now..he just doesn't know about it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

o1s1n wrote: »
    Actually, Gandalf has an MG42 on the way to him right now..he just doesn't know about it ;)

I'm pretty sure he does know about it, ever since that post recently mentioning the forthcoming release of an MG42 I'm pretty sure he's thought of little else.

In relation to the event, is it too early to start trying to hammer out details? Maybe we should discuss where would be best to hold it, and when we're thinking of doing it.

Spetzcong wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure he does know about it, ever since that post recently mentioning the forthcoming release of an MG42 I'm pretty sure he's thought of little else.

The funding is available, even if it means beans on toast for 2 months solid (I can do chemical warfare as well then :D).

Spetzcong wrote: »
    In relation to the event, is it too early to start trying to hammer out details? Maybe we should discuss where would be best to hold it, and when we're thinking of doing it.

I'm not too pushed on where its held but obviously it should be somewhere with a lot of woodland. Maybe end of next month beginning of august that should give everyone enough time to gear up and finalise the plans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭MAD Ozzie

Sounds good to me.

August suits me best.

We should really set a date soon and formalise the rules etc. I would love to base the game(s) on one of those August Operations mentioned earlier. It would ideal to have maps available of the site and to plan out some of the engagements and game types well in advance. "Ambush", "holding a position", "Seek and Destroy", "Prisioner Capture", "Rescue" and maybe to branch out how the games go depending on whether the team(s) get their objectives or not.

Also do we have a definite number of players for this?

Falls has been keeping track of the definites and maybe definites on this thread so he probably has a rough count.

I guess in terms of the site we should make a list of sites that would suit the type of game play. Has anyone read up on the August battles to see what they involved?

NOIP as it happens i got some reminders on this and you post is well timed.

i will take some liberty here for the people who booked so far, bear with me. we need to decide where we want this but to do this we need the sites to sell it to us.

RULES RULES RULES
    1. AS A PLAYER DO NOT post your favorite site...okay for the HARD OF HEARING...I dont want friends of friends or a guy told me, or i have this friend who says or i think or my pet dog thinks -- SITE OWNERS ONLY PLEASE!!!!!!

2. We are looking for a forest or dense woodland only. We also need space as we are looking for longer then normal games

3. We need a deadline for this so i am suggesting the final date for the sites to post is the 27-JUN-2008 at 5pm. If you need more just post and let us know

4. The date for the event will be one of the last 2 weeks of August. I dont know the exact date yet as we will need to vote on it.

5. as a player If you have not booked, please keep your opinions to yourself, for people who have booked feel free to add anything you think i forgot. oh and registration is still open

6. I will create a poll for the registered attendees only over the next week or so to commit to the date we want to play

so site owners, can you please pitch your case to us the players of Operation Starlight in the following format

Website link:

Google maps location :

Description of site (not war and peace please)

Maximum Number of people who can play on site :

Facilities available: ( include charging, chrono, toilets, food)

Cost for Saturday:

Cost for Sunday: (I cannot guarantee we will play)

Cost for Saturday & Sunday: Ii cannot guarantee we will play)

Do you require prepay and do you have a way of registering players :

Camping facilities:

Is there any limit to the amount of people camping :

Will food be available :

Are camping facilities free:

Any other charges : (please out them now)

Parking facilities : (include how many)

Will you supply the marshalls and will you allow us decide the game types we wish to play:

Any concerns you have :

Anything you think I might have forgotten :

Many Thanks to the site owners who are interested to reply, it is greatly appreciated...

To the players....Once we see who is interested in hosting this, its up to us all to decide where and as i said before -- when. Please keep in mind July is simply not possible due to preparation time, registration, for the site owners etc etc etc...

Last weekend in August is a non-runner for me as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭amaughan

i was talkin to the site owner of s.a.c. hes very interested in this i know most of thos details but ill leave him to answer thos as you have clearly stated that you only want the site owners to talk to you i will tell you that the site is massive and from playin it i would say it would be perfect for this style game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Mrs MaxForce

Website link:www.g-tac.eu

Google maps location : See attached .kmz file.

Description of site (not war and peace please)forest or dense woodland and any thing else you might need We have space for your longer then normal games
    The site comprises of approximately 20 acers of dense woodland, tracks and ditches as well as a large CQB area.

Maximum Number of people who can play on site :
    Have played 85 at the site and you could hardly see these people until the end of the games. Could hold 100 - 120

Facilities available: ( include charging, chrono, toilets, food)All of these are available. New toilets been built at the moment and mains electricity is available for charging.

Cost for Saturday:

Cost for Sunday: (I cannot guarantee we will play)

Cost for Saturday & Sunday: Ii cannot guarantee we will play)

Costing will depend on play time but as you know from The Gathering here at G-TAC we will keep cost down as low as possible so it is accessible. but normally we charge 25.00 daily and 50.00 for the two

Do you require prepay and do you have a way of registering players :Yes

Camping facilities: Yes

Is there any limit to the amount of people camping :No we can accommodate any amount

Will food be available : Yes no bother i think i have shown that

Are camping facilities free: Yes

Any other charges : (please out them now) Only for food or rentals by prior arrangement.

Parking facilities : (include how many) Huge car park can even accommodate camper vans or mini buses.

Will you supply the Marshall's and will you allow us decide the game types we wish to play:
    Yes but with the size of this game we may need some help. We would love for the players to set the game for this as it is the players that are coming up with this event.

Any concerns you have : Not at the moment but will let you know

Anything you think I might have forgotten :
    I think you have covered must everything but things can pop up and be dealt with on an going basis

Website link: www.corkairsoft.ie

Google maps location :? GPS : N51 57.348 W9 10.013.
    Cork/Kerry border.

Description of site (not war and peace please) 7 acres, 6 acres thick forestry of 3 different types with trenches, old stone walls and very long grass.

Maximum Number of people who can play on site : 40 players max

Facilities available: ( include charging, chrono, toilets, food) : Charging, BBQ, and can get a dunny if needed, and have chrono's.

Cost for Saturday: 25euro

Cost for Sunday: (I cannot guarantee we will play) :Same.

Cost for Saturday & Sunday: Ii cannot guarantee we will play):50euro

Do you require prepay and do you have a way of registering players : Not needed, players can register on the website or by pm.

Camping facilities: yes, basic (OZ style)

Is there any limit to the amount of people camping : Players only. (40)

Will food be available :BBQ (lunch)

Are camping facilities free: Yes.

Any other charges : (please out them now) Extra 2euro for the BBQ lunch and for dinner if needed.

Parking facilities : (include how many) Can jam in 15-20 cars.

Will you supply the marshalls and will you allow us decide the game types we wish to play: Yes but ill need help, and yes you can play what ever game types you want.

Any concerns you have : No under 18s.

Anything you think I might have forgotten : don't think so.

It is a smaller site, But I just wanted to put my case forward, may apply better to the smaller numbers, or hard core campaigners.
    And remember Im a player first, site owner second. And the site is my home.

Put the site down, so we can see what you guys think, but cant do it alone.

But I really just want to play, so im happy what ever happends, and willing to travel anywhere for it. ;)