Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you use your hamstrings for cycling?

Options
  • 05-06-2008 3:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭

Quick (and stupid) question. I pulled my hamstring last night, just wondering how hampered I'll be for the Wicklow 200 on Sunday.

It's not too bad (I've done worse), just a little sore.

I know my hamstrings haven't been sore from my training spins, but just wondering if you use them more as you get tired.

Any opinions?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Dub_skav, I'm no expert on the subject, but I did a bit of reading after seeing your post.

The hamstring is used in both the power and the recovery phase of cycling. The hip side is used in power, the knee side in recovery. I suppose it depends where the muscle tear is, the best you can do is ice it up as often as possible and give it time to recover.

I'd say as long as you stick to plenty of spinning and dont have to grind through gears you should be fine. Google for a list of proper hamstring stretches and you should be fine.

EDIT: This also looks fairly handy Linky

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭bobtjustice

It depends on the damage to your hamstrings and where its located.
    If its a micro tear then you should be ok. But I wouldn't recommend cycling on it if you feel it pull more or even moderate pain.

Your hamstring is effectively 3 muscles and they all have the same function

Bicep Femoris
    Semimemembranosus
    Semitendinous
    All of the above flexes your knee joint and extends your hip so hugely important to the rotary motion of cycling.