Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nct tester taking pictures...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

cronin_j wrote: »
    i Know How Rare Accord Euro R's Are...hondas Are Being Stolen To Order All Round The Country...

If I Were You Man, Id Report It
    + 1

• Subscribers Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Vikings wrote: »
    In all fairness, what extra information could he have possibly gained by taking a picture of your car?

He works in the NCT centre, I would assume that they have the majority of your details on file anyway - why would he need a picture? Sounds innocent enough to me.

+ a million, in all the complaining above no-one appears to have any actual possible use for the 'sly' pictures that aren't available to anyone working in the place or seeing the car with a pen handy. calm down and cop on people.

different story though...an nct tester has your address right there in front of him on the computer

and i run a modified car website and i know how rare accord euro r's are...hondas are being stolen to order all round the country...

if i were you man, id report it

and they need a picture to know which car to steal?
    rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭5500

The point of the slyness is that the reg was taken and how easy it is for him to access my details from it.

As mentioned theres alot of rob to order's happening and specific types of cars being targeted,of course it may well be totally innocent but there could also be something more synsiter about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,584 ✭✭✭✭kippy

As already mentioned whomever took the picture already had access to your reg,adddress and all other details, taking a pic would have been of NO benefit.
    He could have been taking a picture for the "Heres what I saw today" thread for Gods sake......
    My aul fella had a red escort (early 80's) that people took pics of all the time.
    I suppose you main issue here is that you were in for an NCT and they should be more professional. Did you mention that they guy didnt actually work for them? If he didnt I would possibly question what he was doing there.
    Kippy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭Tefral

copacetic wrote: »
    and they need a picture to know which car to steal?
    rubbish.

you have no idea mate... they use any and all information to get cars!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

i put my 930 thru the nct recently and only have compliments for the testers. Eastern european lads, knew their stuff and wished me the best.

If they were on the rob, these guys dont need pics. A lot of these guys are talented mechs. waiting for the right job in the right garage. The way fuel is going, garages will be busier in the maintainence dept. with fewer people being able to afford new cars.

Taking photos though would unnerve me.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

unkel wrote: »
    True. That said, any member of the public that doesn't have the address of a car driven on a public road could very easily follow the car home. I don't see the security point about blocking out regs...

or, you can get the address from Shannon, by paying a small fee iirc.........it's turned into an epidemic for bike theft in UK, where DVLA are sellling names/addresses to anyone with £4(or whatever).....and the garages are then being pinpointed for steal-to-order.

Even my wife takes detours on the way home at night in the 968, utilising all those bhps's dontchaknow - if she thinks she's being followed..........have done it myself, too.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

you have no idea mate... they use any and all information to get cars!

but the 'sly pic' isn't going to help them, someone could memorise or write down the plate in seconds, the 'sly pic' is meaningless.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Jo King

A sly pic is a very good way of keeping a record. Memorising might not work. He might not have a piece of paper and pen handy and even if he did paper might get lost.
    I followed a car which carried out a dangerous move recently and photographed the Reg. Much easier and more reliable than other methods of recording the details.
    There is definitely something sinister going on. There is a breach of the Data Protection Act. The car is in there solely for the purpose of the test. Any information supplied may only be used for the purpose for which it was obtained.
    An employee should not be gathering data for purposes of his own unconnected with the reason for which the data was available to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭April Raine

Jo King wrote: »
    There is a breach of the Data Protection Act.
    Would think so yes, very dicey behaviour,would not like it at all

• Registered Users Posts: 22,317 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Jo King wrote:
    There is a breach of the Data Protection Act.
    Wouldn't have thought that taking a photo would come under the Data Protection Act!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭April Raine

esel wrote: »
    Wouldn't have thought that taking a photo would come under the Data Protection Act!
    Actually you are probably right as he would not be covered. It is only the centre CCTV that would be covered under Data Protection. Since he took the pic with his camera it would hardly be covered.

esel wrote: »

it wouldn't, but we shouldn't let that stop the hysteria..

I'll bring up the point again.
    People take pics of cars all the time, with the plates even. See here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055150571&highlight=heres+what+i+saw+today
    Bringing up mention of Data protection and rights being infringed in this case is a bit daft.
    I'd say if the poster was driving some aul banger this would be a non issue and it wouldnt have been posted here. No one would ever be aloud photgraph a car again.
    As already mentioned this guy already had access to every single detail about the car when he was in the center, if he was planning anything nafarious he had no real reason to photograph the car.
    Kippy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Totally agree with Kippy, he had the reg, VIN number, your address etc on the computer already. Why would he need a photo. More likely he liked the car and wanted a snap, maybe he liked a mod and wanted to find one similar. Either way, I think the agro is a bit OTT. I can go around housing estates and take pics of cars there infront of their owners houses (does this remind your of a certain R8 discussion???) and nobody would be bothered.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,435 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Totally agree with Kippy, he had the reg, VIN number, your address etc on the computer already. Why would he need a photo. More likely he liked the car and wanted a snap, maybe he liked a mod and wanted to find one similar. Either way, I think the agro is a bit OTT. I can go around housing estates and take pics of cars there infront of their owners houses (does this remind your of a certain R8 discussion???) and nobody would be bothered.

Wanna bet?
    Guaranteed someone will take exception to what you're doing and demand you stop..if you're lucky :D
    The op is well within his rights to complain about this..true the guy could be a harmless car fan but then again maybe he's taking these pics and showing them to potential future owners..the fact that it's a rare car makes me instantly suspicious.

Wanna bet?
    Guaranteed someone will take exception to what you're doing and demand you stop..if you're lucky :D
    The op is well within his rights to complain about this..true the guy could be a harmless car fan but then again maybe he's taking these pics and showing them to potential future owners..the fact that it's a rare car makes me instantly suspicious.

Does the fact that it's a rare car make it even more obvious that this guy could be a car fan.
    There are a couple of hundred pics in the thread I linked to, a lot with plates. I dont think there's anything untoward about any of them....
    Surely the guy could find a pic of the exact same car on the net (even in that thread) and show it to potential "buyers" if he was intending of stealing it anyway?
    A fuss about nothing in my opinion but I would raise a complaint as to why there was a guy in the garage who didnt actually work there taking pics of cars either way, as it isnt exactly a professional trait to be showing.
    Kippy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I suppose you could think the worst, but so many other people have all your details it would drive you mad with paranoia. I am sure the guy in the NCT center see all kinds of really exotic and expensive machines all the time, the only reason I can think why he would take a pic is because he is an enthusast.

Maybe we shoudl complain about speed camera operatirs, they have a photo, reg and address too. All guards have these datails, traffic CCTV operators, Multistory car park attendants (these guys sometimes have your credit card details too!!), Car sales men (these guys will have loads of pictures), anyone in motor the motor tax office, Mechanics, car detailers, car wash attendants, insurance compay employees,

Look at the number of pictures on the here what I saw today thread, other road users snapping pics of your car, they could know where your park all the time, where your works etc. IMHO if you got your blood pressure up for every instance where somebody had details about your life, car, money etc. you would die young.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Look at it this way, if you needed sufficient means to access someones house, it is all there.
    Name, address, details and photo of car that might indicate owner home, house keys with plenty of time to make a wax copy.

How paranoid do you need to be?

Never leave your house keys with the car when doing NCT even if they tell you it is OK

wil wrote: »
    Look at it this way, if you needed sufficient means to access someones house, it is all there.
    Name, address, details and photo of car that might indicate owner home, house keys with plenty of time to make a wax copy.

How paranoid do you need to be?

Never leave your house keys with the car when doing NCT even if they tell you it is OK
    I dont think this belongs in the "motors" forum any more.
    Conspiracy Theories anyone? ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

If there's more than one person involved in stealing your car, then yes, it's a conspiracy.

Seriously, I can't believe the amount of people here who think it's an over-reaction to worry about this, especially given the levels of crime involving cars, and the varying nature of them. From scams, to key scratches, to arson, to outright theft. It is all reported and talked about here, and maybe you need to be paranoid to do what you can to stop it from happening to you.

The guy should not be taking photos like that inside the test centre, given his position (access to data). If he likes cars, and he likes that particular car, he should go outside and talk to the owner when the test is over, and tell him he'd like a shot or two of the car for his collection.

At best, he's an enthusiast who should have a bit more cop on and talk to owners about their cars. At worst, he's abusing his position as someone with access to the cars, the keys, and the owners personal details.

Either way, he should be reported.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭mondeo

Its more often dodgy garages that I'd be worried about. copying your immob code and calling to your house fourth night later at 4am and springing your car.

Report the screwball! find out his name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

You should have taken a photo of them taking a photo.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

unkel wrote: »
    What's the big deal? We all drive our cars on the public road with our license plates in full view to all and sundry. If you do not want your car to be seen (or photographed), don't take it out in public...

From what I know about photography laws (not too much, albeit) This is really all you can do. Its the same with photographing people, if you don't want to be photographed, then don't be in public. You can NOT demand that people delete/destroy photographs that they've already taken, not even the Gardai can do so. If you or Gardai were to take the camera/phone/etc off the person and delete the photos, then you could be charged with destruction of property or the likes.

He probably shouldn't have done it considering his position, or should atleast have asked you first, but there's nothing wrong with what he did. It's not against any laws (afaik) to take pics of a persons car (unless its like a government car - president, etc, I think..)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Vikings wrote: »
    In all fairness, what extra information could he have possibly gained by taking a picture of your car?

He works in the NCT centre, I would assume that they have the majority of your details on file anyway - why would he need a picture? Sounds innocent enough to me.

- In a nutshell..
    different story though...an nct tester has your address right there in front of him on the computer

As said before, all your details are at the tester's fingertips. It'd be quite likely that he'd also have your reg on the database and as a poster said before, it's not like an actual jpeg of a picture is a requirement to steal a car.

OP: So, for arguements sake, if you witnessed someone at the nct centre standing slightly behind or in front of the car with a pen and paper, would you be ringing up the NCT office looking to get this poor guy fired?

Do you really think if this guy was passing on snaps of your reg, at his place of work, in order for your car to be stolen, that he'd be doing it in full view of the owner? Come on.. This is just taking paranoia too far.