Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

caught cheating

• 07-06-2008 11:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭

so has anyone been caught cheating in the exams?

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

i went to the toilet and the 2 dudes that are meant to escort you there..werent there...so i went down on my own.
    then i met a mate who wasnt doin the geography exam and i was like-
    ok my books are under that table over there..im goin to the toilet, check out agriculture in the paris basin. he couldnt find it so it didnt help but it would have been SO easy for me to just bring my book into the toilet with me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Alan Smith

I heard of one person who had notes in his shoes an was able to bring them in to the toilet :rolleyes:

Not worth it fellas if you get caught.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭glenn3ie

Alan Smith wrote: »
    I heard of one person who had notes in his shoes an was able to bring them in to the toilet :rolleyes:

Would he not just hide them in the toilet?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭xxGalwayGirlxx

If your caught cheating what happens??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

Your leaving cert is cancelled and you're banned from taking it for 5 years

There's people in my room texting...
    There's people in other rooms texting
    There's this guy right
    Who keeps on asking to go to the bathroom...
    but he goes right
    and the bathroom's left....
    HMM

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Banned from all state exams for like 5 years,possible fine and jail time.
    Well,thats what i remember my teachers telling me years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

If they don't let you off with a slap on the wrist you fail your leaving cert and aren't allowed particapate in any more state exams...LC..Gards..etc..

I had Adrienne Rich notes in my pocket for english as a back up if Mahon didn't come up. I couldv'e gone to the toilet and looked them over no probs. Didn't need them in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Fabio

KeyLimePie wrote: »
    Your leaving cert is cancelled and you're banned from taking it for 5 years

There's people in my room texting...
    There's people in other rooms texting
    There's this guy right
    Who keeps on asking to go to the bathroom...
    but he goes right
    and the bathroom's left....
    HMM

Do the invigilators not notice at all???

• Registered Users Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Ha, I though you had been caught cheating and had a lovely story for us :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

When I was going to the bathroom during Irish, the chap escorting me down said "hows the exam, stuck on anything?" , so I said "grand enough, I completely forget what the **** *some poem* is about, but I'm flyin apart from that." - so he explained the poem in full english to me. Didn't ask for that, but happy enough he did :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

when i was doing the JC a guy in my year had notes in his shoes and his shoes on the desk, the supervisor was full on staring at him but did nothing :(

then again he was cheating in Pass Irish so id say the guy just couldnt care less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭BigglesMcGee

Sure everyone i was in school with had all the formulas definitions etc for each exam written on a few sheets of toilet paper stuffed down their jocks.

They would just go to the jacks half way through the exam. Read what they needed and wipe their arses with it.

Everyone was doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭tdc

a few lads in my school have just take out their phones, easy enough to get away with as theirs only one supervisor and she doesnt have eyes everywhere. the first day she said she could check pencil cases at any time so i think that scared people a little bit.

ive only gone to the toilets once. the guy that brings you down is a 5th year student and a mate of mine. i could easily have notes in my shoes and he wouldnt care less.
    jackncoke wrote: »
    jail time.

LMAO!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

We are not supervised when we go to the toilet. We can just wander in with notes and have a care-free look. That said i havent done it... yet.

The principal found English notes in the toilet and went mad.

You could photograph the pages of all your books nowadays and put them in your phone. They only way they can stop you is to search you and take phones away. They cant watch you when you are going for a dump.

They cant watch you when you are going for a dump.

i think theyre trying to change that rule for next year :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

You could photograph the pages of all your books nowadays and put them in your phone. They only way they can stop you is to search you and take phones away. They cant watch you when you are going for a dump.

They make us leave all our phones on a table outside the exam hall :confused:

The whole notes in shoe thing sounds workable though:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 tute08

Girls in my old school wrote formulas and quotes on the lining of their skirts, no supervisor was going to ask them to pull up there skirts so they always got away with it!!!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭rm_2008

i was seriously lucky yest almost got caught with notes the supervisor saw it and all turned a blind eye i felt like s**t all day and still do now.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

To be honest, the trouble it causes for the supervisors is way too much.
    If they catch someone, lots of paperwork to be done and a court experience over the summer, is it really worth it?

I doubt they care

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Bambi16

Where did you have the notes?

They make us leave all our phones on a table outside the exam hall :confused:

The whole notes in shoe thing sounds workable though:rolleyes:

And what if you left it in your pocket?
    Do they search you?

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭laura*

you could write stuff on your body!!!
    and then when you go to the 'toilet'
    life up your uniform and 'volla'

but no, i haven't and will not cheat!
    the times tight enof as it is besides leaving the hall!

And what if you left it in your pocket?
    Do they search you?

I havent seen anyone searched yet. At the beginning of the exam the invigilator said "Mobile phones are not allowed in this exam hall, i will be searching" and everyone left them outside. There's a table provided which is supervised, so I trust it. Im not looking for trouble:D

Im pretty sure some people have kept their phones on them, because theres 120 people doing the exams, and about 40 phones on the table:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

I just swallow all my notes without chewing then go for a dump during the exam and pull the pages out of my faeces. They're never going to ask you to empty your bowels for them!

rm_2008 wrote: »
    i was seriously lucky yest almost got caught with notes the supervisor saw it and all turned a blind eye i felt like s**t all day and still do now.:(

why? lifes too short to be worrying, you got away with it so dont be bringing yourself down. its a bit obvious if you bring notes in though.

some good ideas in this thread, though they can search you, including your shoes. best thing to do is write on your jocks, go down the jacks and look at em there. :pac:

If you take the lining from the bottom of your shoe, if there is one, and then place the notes under that, then you'll be fine.

I wouldnt cheat, its not my style. I like to think that at the end of the day everyone will be graded to their own real abilities and rewared accordingly, but if you get away with it fair play to ya! Tempted to stick a few sample essays in the shoes for History, but I think ill pass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Seeing as there's only 20 in my room, I'm aware of at least 8 cheating regularly. Absolute joke of a system, imagine the mocks proved harder to cheat through. Not even considering it myself, not on my agenda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Da Bomber

Wouldnt it be class if this came up in the times blogwatch tomorrow morning as we all discuss the various ways of how to cheat sucessfully:D