Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

GTA V - what you'd like to see...

• 07-06-2008 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭

Sort of a spin off from the like/dislike thread...

What would you like to see in GTA V?

Few things for me (although none will happen...):
    • you have to fill cars with petrol/petrol goes down as you drive...
    • music was yhite - maybe you can stream your favourite radio station via web?
    • real cars (not a chance of it happening) - BMW, Porsches, Ferraris, Lambos aswell as more family orientated cars such as Ford Mondeos etc.
    • buying property - missed this from Vice City - be nice if you could set up a side business with them like before...

Any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I like your 2nd and 4th ideas.

Idea number 1 would annoy me i think. I can see something like that only ever working on a racing game.

Idea number 3 would cost money plus I like it how it is at the moment. GTA needs to remain removed from reality. It is one of the enjoyable parts of it.

I would like Rockstar to include a parachute and airplanes. Nice high buildings and no opertunities to fly off them without dying. Pity :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Speedos on cars and indicators, for completness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

in-car dashboard views

a european city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

bring back parachutes

more stuff to spend money on, IV has clothes, taxis and ammo, thats it

property

multi thread storylines where choices affect the main story and ending,more replay value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Mission check points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

it hould be set in san andreas imho,i think that'd look great on an 360/ps3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

+1 to a european city. GTA Paris/Rome/Berlin ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Holiday Sunrise

^^ Feckin Dublin man!! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭nealmac

Feckin' Ardee man :p

But seriously:

Happening to bump into main characters at random. Imagine walking down to the beach for example, and seeing Little Jacob sunning himself, and you just strike up a conversation. Totally pointless, but it would be a nice little touch.

Do away with the whole girlfriend/friend thing. It's ok to have friends, but I'm sick of "Niko!!! It's your cousin!!!. Let's go bowling." Well piss off you fat bastard. I'm busy blowing up stuff.

I'd like to see a real, street perfect city.

Mission checkpoints.

More use for the SIXAXIS (PS3, obviously).

More safehouses to buy. Properties.

I like the idea of streaming a real life radio station too. GTA IV has a very disappointing soundtrack.

Planes.

Parachutes and Fingerless gloves (if only to shut up all the moaners).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭mika27

parachutes definitely have to be added.
    Proper multiplayer interface.
    More buildings that you can actually go in to (coupled with being able to buy the buildings)

I wonder if they will follow the same trend for the next games like they did with GTA 3, i.e. the next game will be in Vice City, the one after that in San Andreas.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I hope to see planes and parachutes back and a map the scale of San Andreas.

Very disappointed with the radio - don't see why the option to play your own music isn't there - can be explained with the use of personal MP3 devices that'll plug into the dash board. Hell, I'd even like to see a series of shops where you could buy stuff like your GPS unit/MP3/Laptop etc (gives you something to spend your money on).

Would also like to see the gym and physical stats thing back and bicycles! They were the best way to travel over land in San Andreas by a long long way.

Also - property market mini-game. You could go to an area and cause mayhem for a week and force the prices down and then buy a building on the cheap and do whatever to bring prices back up and sell.

I think a stock exchange mini-game might work too.

Basically, I'd love to see the game evolve more from the "thug on the streets" side of things (but still start there) and get into major crimes - think of the Barksdale family in "The Wire"

See, I think things like the gym, eating, driving stats etc was a step in the wrong direction. It was a step towards RPG, which GTA clearly isn't

IV was a good move as far as those issues were concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Mmm, property could be bought. Vice City I'm pretty sure it will be the next game, as the series goes that way... but I won't mind a GTA Breffini :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭rizzla

The ability to jack a motorised wheelchair.

I'd love if it was set in Amsterdam. Shoot up Dam Square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

rizzla wrote: »
    Shoot up Dam Square.

that could mean a few things :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭brennaldo

a european city is a great idea in my view.(but it has been done)

-bookies -you can make bets on things and win money
    -buying thing -such as properties and more accesories
    -new system -obviously you would work for people, but have one person work for you every now and again through you phone (he could kill someone for you and have him pick up stuff for you. but also if you use him too much he could die and the character is gone)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

The ability to do serious drugs, and not just the stupid saints row everything-is-brown-for-a-while. I want to be able to smoke a fat lump of crystal meth and blow up cars all night, I want to be able to shoot up in an alleyway and wake up six hours later shivering and comvered in piss.

On second thoughts that may be a bit TOO realistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭singloud

I'd like to see the game revolving around the Irish mob, kinda like the departed.

I'd like to see any future Irish characters being voiced by, like, y'know, Irish actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Loads of little things from San Andreas that are removed from this make it kinda annoying, I would've thought they would expand or at least keep these ideas. There's nowhere to spend your money on like San Andreas, I used to love going to the bookies and taking the risk of blowing all my money!

Anywho my ideas:
    • An MP3 player, perfect to listen to music while you walk down the street or are on a crazed killing spree.
    • Bring back the ability to take Photos, I loved all the strange crap I'd seen in San Andreas and the pictures to remember them by.
    • For a city like Liberty City it's amazing you can walk / drive anywhere without somebody mugging you or trying to kick the shìt outta you. Even SA had these random moments.
    • Planes + Parachutes.
    • More buildings to enter, the amount of "dead space" is disturbing.
    • More meaningful, fun things to do. I'm not gonna sit down and spend the entire day reading the internet.
    • Modding your cars was fun, where else could you have a pink limo with disgusting alloys but SA? Loved the nitros too.
    • Be less realistic.
    Ah, niggly things, I still think it's a quality game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Markvtos

Most people will agree that the best thing about GTA is the sense of freedom, and to really evolve GTA5 needs to up that sense of freedom. A reply earlier said meeting bosses doing mundane stuff like sunbathing would be nice, and i like that idea. GTA4 had that to an extent, as in you could meet random characters along the streets, but that could be progressed. For example, say if you see a boss and you think "Ihate that guy" so you gun him down (as you do), but instead of appearing back later, or collecting him from the hospital, he is actaually dead for the whole game, and this could even slightly alter the story or ending. Really though, this could only really work with minor characters, as you wouldn't get very far in the game if you killed all your bosses!

I also back the idea of a European City, but untill a few moments ago, i doubted any european city fitted the bill. But in one of the replys i read Amsterdam, and that makes so much sense! A city where prostitution and soft drugs are legal? It's a GTA classic waiting to be made!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Markvtos

...and parachutes, bring back parachutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Loads of little things from San Andreas that are removed from this make it kinda annoying, I would've thought they would expand or at least keep these ideas. There's nowhere to spend your money on like San Andreas, I used to love going to the bookies and taking the risk of blowing all my money!

Anywho my ideas:
    • Bring back the ability to take Photos, I loved all the strange crap I'd seen
    • Be less realistic.
    Ah, niggly things, I still think it's a quality game!

U can use your phone to take pictures...Dunno why you would want it less realistic..i agree with ya on the modding though...i miss that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Pablo Sanchez

Less chase missions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭h8red

I'd like to see it come out on the PC before the consoles!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭slimbun

nealmac wrote: »
    Happening to bump into main characters at random. Imagine walking down to the beach for example, and seeing Little Jacob sunning himself, and you just strike up a conversation. Totally pointless, but it would be a nice little touch.

This already happens in GTA IV, I was walking down the street and bumped into badman, and also Dwaynes misses if you happen to chose a certain option in a certain mission.

On the 360 version just stream music from the hard drive through the guide, and mute in the in game music. Still get sound effects and whatnot but you have your own music.

I think someone above said planes and parachutes in a city the size of San Andreas. Is it just me or did Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas have a city the size of San Andreas with planes and parachutes???

Seriously I like the what if? kind of threads but some of this stuff is ALREADY IN THE GAMES!

One thing that was kind of mentioned that I always wanted was to give the main character an MP3 player, just so you can listen to the radio stations and whatever when not in a car. They could integrate one into the phone in an update quiet easily I would imagine, so we may see it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

A TV in the car so you can watch the stations in the car and drive from A-in to a few people- before arriving at B.

Soby wrote: »
    U can use your phone to take pictures...Dunno why you would want it less realistic..i agree with ya on the modding though...i miss that
    You can use your phone, yes, but what he meant was, it would be nice to be able to that a photo, that you can store on your hard drive, so you can upload it onto the net for showing people in forums like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭mika27

Duggy747 wrote: »
    L
    [*]For a city like Liberty City it's amazing you can walk / drive anywhere without somebody mugging you or trying to kick the shìt outta you. Even SA had these random moments.

I got mugged by a guy the very first day I played the game near the first safehouse.....well he tried to mug me but then I bet the sh*t out of him with a baseball bat :)

Mind you, it hasn't happened since!

I'd defo like the ability to pimp cars out again, great way to spend 10 grand :D

Also, as hinted at earlier, if you kill/seriously injure a main story character / fail a mission, it's a permanent world. No retries. Make it so you don't die, but have critical injuries - same for the characters. Maybe in X game days, character Y wakes up from his coma and wants revenge, so you're being hunted in-game, but out of mission. Takes the game away from it's current style and moves into a more RPG style though I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭mise

Not sure if it would be practical, but one thing that annoys me is that the police never react to your crazy driving unless you crash into them or knock someone down.
    So Id like the cop cars to react more realistically in the next one. But to do that you you might have to reduce drastically the number of policecars on the streets (there seems to be way to many in GTA4 imo) so as you dont have a continuous wanted level.

They do blare the siren if they see you driving on the wrong side of the road etc, but don't chase you unless you crash into them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭JoeJC

tricycles. nuf said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I don't think they would stray outside the US considering their US fan base also it just wouldn't fit in with the GTA cities' cultures.

It's a pity though because there are many other places they could turn to like a large South American city, London (done i know but as a main game), Paris, Moscow or Rome/Naples. But then again you lose the English language and the kind of crazy stuff you can only imagine happening in the States.

Maybe they could turn away from recreating cities and instead build their own generic American mega city and let their creative juices flow. It wouldn't shock me to see the 70's be the theme for it. Or perhaps an attempt to set the game 10-15 years into the future.

If it were a 70's game they couldn't really stick with New York, perhaps instead go for a larger San Francisco or Los Angeles lookalike. Be kinda copying Driver though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

GTA Rome would be the absolute ****

Aside from that, I'd like the return of the countryside drives and freebird. Very satisfying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭brennaldo

Less chase missions!

definatly. most of the missions in gta4 was chasing someone in a car, it got very annoying at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Countryside and planes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

GTA Amsterdam anyone?? Very easy city to get around, compact but huge, ready made drug trade and the girls. Be call to bring Little Jacob for a "coffee".

Man, I really want to go back to Amsterdam.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 job3

Less cops. They seem to be everywhere. you have a continous wanted level. i mean its like you steal one car or set fire to one hooker and they're all over ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭bobbyjoe

Flamethrowers!!!!
    Maybe they are there haven't seen one yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Macers

Now that I just see it whilst playing - be nice if the fairground was open and you could pay to go on some of the rides.

Would love a race track there too to go thrash your car around too (as if pedestrian streets are not enough :D)...

Or even by a fully pledged race car then bring it onto the street :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Insanesomeone

1) Parachutes. There's so much to be said for the fun of base jumping that no realism argument persuades me out of wanting these.

2) Unique veichles. Bullet proof cars, the giant Land Rover in San Andreas ( the sandking i think it was called) and other unique/semi rare veichles were great fun, I'd love to see a larger presence of them!

3) Older character customisation. I think some sort of hybrid of the customisation between IV and SA would be great. The food/gym aspect of SA, if refined, would add a bunch to the GTA series.

4) Car modding. What's there to say? Can you Imagine modding a superGT or the likes in Iv? Even rims and paintjobs would be great if you could mix and match them.

5) Alternative veichle modding. I'm talking about bullet-proofing, choices of tyres etc that could effect the veichles performance,. It might sound a bit tedious, but it could add a lot to the game I think...

6) Business ventures. Collecting money from a business realy made the hours you put in at missions seem worthwhile. I'd prefer 5000 dollars every week over free cab rides!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Bring back more zaney missions. I miss infiltrating Area 61.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Bring back more zaney missions. I miss infiltrating Area 61.

'The only antidote to a zany scheme...is an even ZANIER scheme!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Nebur

The one thing I really missed from GTA: SA was gambling. That's how I made most of my money, at the bookies and in the casinos.

I can see why it was left out of GTA IV though, Niko isn't exactly a fan of Roman's habits. It just wouldn't have tied in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ryanmc

More variety in missions, i.e. stray away from the usual: drop this guy here, chase him, kill him, drop the guy back.

And they should definitely bring back the ability to buy property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

One thing that has always annoyed me in GTA is when you get a car say a commet, all of a sudden every second car is a commet. Really need to sort this out for the next one

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭sonicthebadger*

in-car dashboard views

a european city

I'd love to see a European city too, can't see them doing it but if the gameplay is good enough it surely wouldn't matter to the Americans too much where it's set.
    See, I think things like the gym, eating, driving stats etc was a step in the wrong direction. It was a step towards RPG, which GTA clearly isn't

IV was a good move as far as those issues were concerned.

I disagree, I found they gave much better player ownership of the character. I hope they refine this element and bring out GTA SA II
    I'd like to see any future Irish characters being voiced by, like, y'know, Irish actors.

How hard can it be? There's loads of Irish actors with nothing to do. I'd love to hear Mick Lally get a part. Legend!
    Markvtos wrote: »
    ...and parachutes, bring back parachutes!

Yes yes yes!
    Less chase missions!

I like the chase missions but only if player driving skill can end them early. Sucks if the game just keeps the enemy at a near constant distance till the next stage of the mission starts. Pointless.
    JoeJC wrote: »
    tricycles. nuf said.

Indeed. Silly random stuff is always good.
    Bubs101 wrote: »
    GTA Rome would be the absolute ****

Aside from that, I'd like the return of the countryside drives and freebird. Very satisfying

Very much in agreement there. The radio stations in this one are a little bit of a disappointment. The artists they had in SA were brilliant. I ended up getting into Credence because of it! That alone is worth the purchase price.

A Lyric FM style station would be good too. I like classical music, though I'm sure there'll be lots who disagree with me on that one.

I disagree, I found they gave much better player ownership of the character. I hope they refine this element and bring out GTA SA II
    Yes, it does give a much better player ownership of the character, but if I wanted that, I'd play something like Oblivion. GTA isn't an RPG.
    How hard can it be? There's loads of Irish actors with nothing to do. I'd love to hear Mick Lally get a part. Legend!

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭sonicthebadger*

Yes, it does give a much better player ownership of the character, but if I wanted that, I'd play something like Oblivion. GTA isn't an RPG.

I'm not usually into RPGs but I like that GTA SA comes close to crossing the line. Haven't played Oblivion though. Will have to check it out :)