Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Buying 1st horse

• 07-06-2008 11:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 37

I am currently buying a horse which I will be keeping in full livery :). I am a novice rider and a little nervous. I found a horse I really liked and found her easy to ride. She is a 15.3h white mare, 15 years old and is for sale at €1,800. She is 100% bombproof and in great condition.
    I need your help. I am getting worried as some people are saying she is way too old and I would be lucky to get a few years out of her and could not jump her. Is this true, is 15 yrs old past it in horse terms? The reason I was getting her was I know she is safe and would ideal to learn on. Will I really only get a few years out of her?:(
    Advise wanted please.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭kerrysgold

Some horses are still going strong in their late twenties. I used to ride a 22 y/o mare who looked and acted like an eight year old!
    as long as she passed a vetting, doesn't have a sway back etc then she should keep going strong for a good few years yet. sure, young horses can be out of work anytime due to injury etc. anyway. the main thing is to get a nice, quiet but forward going horse that you can feel safe on and learn to ride on. good luck! :)