Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barry Transfer Saga, will he go to Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,086 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Id be pissed off if i were a villa fan, just as i was pissed off with Gerrard for almost leaving, but its life, these guys put their careers first, and i cant blame them.

Well said. I can understand the Villa fans being seriously disappointed but the venom and lack of respect is silly. Players will always want to play for the biggest and best clubs. Liverpool can offer Champions League football, which is something all players want.

Imagine being able to tell your granchildren that you played against the likes of Barcelona, Inter Milan, Real Madrid or A.C Milan. The chance to play in the famous stadiums against the best players on the planet is too good an opportunity to turn down. The Villa fans shouldnt take their anger out on Barry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Tusky wrote: »

Imagine being able to tell your granchildren that you played against the likes of Barcelona, Inter Milan, Real Madrid or A.C Milan. The chance to play in the famous stadiums against the best players on the planet is too good an opportunity to turn down. The Villa fans shouldnt take their anger out on Barry.

That's all well and good, but TBH, imagine if you were Le Tissier's grandson and everyody in the town still worshiped your dad for being so loyal. I'd much rather be in Totti, Le Tissier or Maldini's shoes in 40 years than Barry's

Bubs101 wrote: »
    That's all well and good, but TBH, imagine if you were Le Tissier's grandson and everyody in the town still worshiped your dad for being so loyal. I'd much rather be in Totti, Le Tissier or Maldini's shoes in 40 years than Barry's

The difference is that Roma & A.C Milan were both regularly in the Champions League and would be considered very big teams. Le Tissier was a special, rare kind of loyal.

Look at the situation from a neutral point of view. You're in Barrys shoes, would you stay or go ? Try to put all your supporters sentiment to one side. 99% of people would say yes im sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Look at the situation from a neutral point of view. You're in Barrys shoes, would you stay or go ? Try to put all your supporters sentiment to one side. 99% of people would say yes im sure.

I don't support Villa or Liverpool but my favourite player is Totti and I have lived in Italy and have seen the adoration/god worship he gets in Rome. If Birmingham weren't such a kip, I would stay. The money is good anyway and your grandkids would be impressed enough with your english caps

EDIT: Roma were actually a pretty small team when Totti burst onto the stage. They would have been considered the 7th team after Milans, Juve, Lazio, Parma and Fiorentina. Similar to Villa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Well said. I can understand the Villa fans being seriously disappointed but the venom and lack of respect is silly. Players will always want to play for the biggest and best clubs. Liverpool can offer Champions League football, which is something all players want.

There is little venom or lack of respect for Barry, its Liverpools media adventures that have drawn the disdain of Villa, its expected that disappointment will occur with losing Barry, but the venom has been directed where appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Barry will go. I would imagine in around 12million with a player added in.

Whether or not it is a good move for liverpool...we dont really have a choice. Gerrard seems to like him and want him at the club and not many people could doubt his best interests in the club.

I personally didn't think much of the guy but what can you do.
    The pool are broke at the moment.

Perhaps Torres has texted Rafa and said David Villa wants to come to Liverpool.
    Benitez says **** Barry and O'Neill....

One can hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

DSB wrote: »
    and look for players who actually want to play for the club. Not players who play well to attract interest from other clubs.

And therein lies a bit of a dilemma for just about all clubs. You want your players to play well but if they are playing well they will always attract interest from other clubs. And that can be a hard compliment to take when they do f3ck off for pastures new. These days not many players stick with the one club throughout their career (I'm sure a lot more would like to but just don't get given that chance).

Besides - did Barry not play well for Villa to date ? He's been a loyal servant for years and imo deserves more respect. Owen screwed us over a few years back but he still gets a decent reception at Anfield (anytime he's fit enough to start a game :rolleyes:) as we all remember his contribution over the years. I might not want him back at LFC but I certainly don't wish failure on him.

Remember the good times - don't let bitterness twist your memories of him as a Villa player.

There is little venom or lack of respect for Barry, its Liverpools media adventures that have drawn the disdain of Villa, its expected that disappointment will occur with losing Barry, but the venom has been directed where appropriate.

One Villa fan in this thread said that he hopes Barry fails at Liverpool...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

One Villa fan in this thread said that he hopes Barry fails at Liverpool...

And there are plenty more in Birmingham and on the fansites wishing the same, can you blame them?

once Barry is gone he's just another player in my eyes, but as stated already, Barry isnt the focus of Villa fans ire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

The Liverpool fans on here giving the bitterness talk in here about how we should appreciate Barry etc is ridiculous. This isn't the first time he has come close to leaving. Stupid, egotistical man who needs to get his ego a padding before he'll play for a club.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I had avoided this thread thinking ive surely said enough on this matter but after 8 pages and over 110 posts it seems the issue is still very much so on peoples minds and thus this was actually a needed thread. So here is my 2c

we hope every team but Villa fail if Barry is at one of those teams I hope his team fail so Villa can overtake them (not that i expect that atm). I have respect for G.Barry and will continue to have even if he leaves would not boo him and personally actually think the whole MON made Barry bit bollocks. MON made Villa much much better, a much better Villa made every player in that team look much better including the man ive considerd for the past several years as Mr.Consistancy (G.Barry). Barry is often overvalued by Villa but always undervalued by other clubs supporters as a player. He is a man who a la Roy Keane (and its only this aspect im using the analogy for) does the simple/ordinary things brilliantley letting the others around him take the limelight with the fancy.

He should have far more England caps IMO and yes sure im biased, im a Villa fan and afterall Barry is still our captain but even ill admit the fact that he played for Villa hasnt helped him in this manor (previously when Villa were a less appealing team). The fact that he didnt seem to have a specialist position (till now) having played CM, LM, LB and originally CB had also hampered his International chances. Still though even during his LM time I never understood why England who (before J.Cole made it his) kept going on about there lack of a natural left sided (left footed) midfielder didnt give him a chance. now Capello (think we can agree he knows his snit) has seen what the Villa fans who for years chanted "Barry for England" saw and has him playing in 3/4 of his Internationals thus far (and in the other one he came on early and got a quick assist) ahead of Carrick, Hargreaves & Frank Lampard, and in this time as an England Regular (under the new man atleast) he has argueably been Englands best performer. Dont think the move will affect his England at all tbh though as he got this new found english spot as a Villa playe not a Liverpool player.

So should he join Liverpool ? Well assuming Alonso leaves (seems likely if Barry arrives) then i would expect Barry to get regular first team football and not fall prey to "Rafa'a Rotation". The Pool lineup would be:

......Masch.....Barry......

Kuyt......Gerrard....Babel
    ............Torres............

But he would get his game at Villa too (of course) while wearing the captains armband. Neither side IMO (Sorry lads: both sides of the divide) has a chance of winning the league. but Liverpool will finish 3/4th while Villa should be fighting for 5th again this season while improving cup form (inc Europe). due to this and of course the similar finish last season he will have Champions league football at Anfield instead of Uefa (be honest Villa wont lose to Belfast Distillary or their ilk over 2legs in the intertoto?...Arrogant maybe) at VP. This is probably the major swaying point as it means he will beplaying at the top echilon of Club football while at his footballing peak 28/29 instead of maybe in a few years (32?) if Villa's recent improvements continue at the same rate.

One neagative though is Liverpools Board room/Owners situation compared to Villa's under Randy lerner though. if all is to be Believed Liverpool (the supposed bigger club) are seemingly strapped for cash while Villa (not that MON acts like it transfer wise) are in an extrely confortable position financially and have a lot of money available to invest. This actually raises the question how much can Liverpool afford to pay for Barry if they wish him not to be their final summer purchase?

Personally and ive said this before the Barry transfer should be where Villa draw a line in the sand (our litmus test as others said) and say we will no longer let our best players go to teams we intend on competing with unless we are given stupid money for them i.e a ridiculously high fee. maybe as the article previously linked to says that rediculously high fee could be £20m and although Villa might accept a Carrick esque £18.6m id like Villa to emphasise how its livepool not meeting the price for him (if they dont) and that Barry himself (and not his fecking agent) has said that until a bid is made he is a Villa player and thats that...so Villa arent holding thee player against his will.

As has been said though the whole thing has got a bit of an air(stench) of enevitability about it though and as much as I still hope to see Barry wearing Claret and Blue next season i no longer expect it and at this moment I think most Villa fans just want to know how the squad is going to be improved wether Barry goes or not than if Rafa/Gerrard will get their man and for how much.

okay that was more like my 2euro than 2c but wanted to say it.

Good post Bounty Hunter. Youve obviously seen a lot of Barry over the last few years. Do you think he would improve the Liverpool team if played in the formation posted ? If so, by how much ?

well I think even most Liverpool fans will admit that he is more consistant a preformer than Alonso. He also has a great relationship on and off field with Gerrard as much as people might want to blow it all out of proportion. He will improve the team but as I also stated I dont see Liverpool challenging for the title in the next season (or maybe even two) because more than Barry is needed. Liverpool need to Spend the amount Barry will cost on atleast anothr top class player before this will happen i.e a Villa (the player) or Silva to a lesser extent, and even then hope for Luck.

Barry is quality and i dont think i can sum up my feeling on him and the "Barry transfer saga" better than in my previous thread but Liverpool need more (as do Villa).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,882 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

well I think even most Liverpool fans will admit that he is more consistant a preformer than Alonso. He also has a great relationship on and off field with Gerrard as much as people might want to blow it all out of proportion. He will improve the team but as I also stated I dont see Liverpool challenging for the title in the next season (or maybe even two) because more than Barry is needed. Liverpool need to Spend the amount Barry will cost on atleast anothr top class player before this will happen i.e a Villa (the player) or Silva to a lesser extent, and even then hope for Luck.

Barry is quality and i dont think i can sum up my feeling on him and the "Barry transfer saga" better than in my previous thread but Liverpool need more (as do Villa).

Agreed.

Y'know its funny, With Liverpool's current joke of a siuation, if MON instead of letting Barry go, finally opened up the purse and put in bids for Villa, Silva, a player like Rafinha, and a Mikel Arteta style player, you'd be in with a fantastic chance of getting 4th. If all that money is really available, this is the time to spend it. to add pure talent to the great youth at the club. Numerous big bids would make the players bid on sit up and take note of a potential team on the rise. Remember Chelsea did this with some success the first season, making it obvious they were an emerging super power and getting top notch players as a result. I dont think it will happen, but this is the time to take advantage of Liverpools boardroom handicap before the situation gets sorted or DIC step in.

Actually has there ever been a figure on the large sum Lerner is willing to spend but MON refuses to utilise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,440 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

DSB wrote: »
    Martin O'Neill really made him the player he was and I wish him nothing but failure at Liverpool

Oh dear. Liverpool fans wished McManaman and Owen the best went they left to further their careers at Real Madrid. Barry has given you guys good service - should he not be free to push his career to the next level as he approaches his peak? Just understand your place in the football foodchain and be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

we've just rejected a £15m cash offer for him

au contraire, there is LOADS and its pathetic

the bloke wants to play in the champions league at his peak, we cannot offer him that. we'll be getting good money for him, we got 10 years great service from him, and he stayed with us at our lowest ebb when he couldve joined pompey and dragged us back into the top 6

thanks for everything gareth, youre a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Helix wrote: »
    we've just rejected a £15m cash offer for him

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭gucci

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Oh dear. Liverpool fans wished McManaman and Owen the best went they left to further their careers at Real Madrid. Barry has given you guys good service - should he not be free to push his career to the next level as he approaches his peak? Just understand your place in the football foodchain and be happy.

Most genuine fans did, but i remember being at Blackburn V Liverpool in Ewood Pk right before Macca left and he was getting awful abuse from alot of the travelling Liverpool support. I remember being absolutely disgusted because it was my first time watching Liverpool live!

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Link?

ssn

au contraire, there is LOADS and its pathetic

the bloke wants to play in the champions league at his peak, we cannot offer him that. we'll be getting good money for him, we got 10 years great service from him, and he stayed with us at our lowest ebb when he couldve joined pompey and dragged us back into the top 6

thanks for everything gareth, youre a legend

Well said.

Aston Villa have turned down Liverpool's latest bid to sign midfielder Gareth Barry.

Barry has emerged as Liverpool's leading transfer target of the summer, and they have already had one bid rejected by their Premier League rivals.

However, Villa have confirmed that The Reds stepped up their interest on Wednesday evening only to have their second approach rebuffed once more.

A Villa spokesman said on the club's official website: "The offer was a slight improvement on a previous bid but our position on the issue remains unchanged and Liverpool have been informed."

The latest offer is reportedly in the region of £15million, but rumours claim Villa boss Martin O'Neill is holding out for a fee of £20million.

More to follow...

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_3680909,00.html

ssn

tbh, part of me hopes we pull out now.

I dont think he is realistically worth anymore than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Good luck. Barry's not worth £15million in the first place, nevermind more than that. Leave him where he is.

you wont pull out now, not after stevie g in his infinite wisdom pretty much put a gun to the managers head in public by as good as demanding the club sign him

if yis flinch over a couple more million it wont look good

anyway, id say another £3m will get him

or benny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I thought £14m was on the high side.

If then don't want £15m forget it

tbh he'll probably be worth every penny if yis get him, liverpool fans vastly underrate the bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭gucci

Just shows how much Villa genuinely value him, that they are prepared to turn down 15m, which I think is too much anyways.
    Thanks, lets all move on now .

Benny is worth at least 6 so if he's involved, which i hope he is not, i hope the cash amount goes down.

Oh and we will pull out if Rafa thinks he is being taken for a ride, he's done it before and he'll do it again.

18million? If he came and did well i'd be happy, but my initial reaction would be wat a joke, football is a fickle game.

in regards the fee, we paid between 10 and 18 for mascherano, depending on wat reports you read in regards to wages etc. Barry is not worth more than Mascherano, if anything he is worth considerably less.

We paid 18m for Mascherano not including wages. Mascherano is a better player than Barry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

you wont pull out now, not after stevie g in his infinite wisdom pretty much put a gun to the managers head in public by as good as demanding the club sign him

anyway, id say another £3m will get him

or benny

We've pulled out of a few deals in the last few years over a couple of million. Whatever about having the finances in place or not Rafa just does not appear to be willing to pay over what he reckons a player is worth.

And Gerrard's opinion doesn't appear to hold too much weight - he desperately wanted us to re-sign Owen but we wouldn't increase our offer by a few million (and Owen wasn't prepared to play hardball with Madrid).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's the whole English player tax. He's English, so add a third onto his value and that's his price. Same thing when Hargreaves, Rooney and Rio Ferdinand went to United. All the English media bang on about there being too many foreigners in the league but that's because English, Scottish, Irish and Welsh players are too expensive.

Barry's not worth a penny more than £12million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Funny that some don't acknowledge MON's role in the Barry resurgence.

The week before O'Neill arrived at Villa, Barry was the subject of interest from both Spurs and Portsmouth with £4.5m the widely reported figure being touted. That was Summer 2006.

Fast forward less than 2 years and all of a sudden his worth has trebled, if not quadrupled. Yeah, MON had nothing to do with that alright :rolleyes:

am i missing something in here Savman? where are people denying MON had anything to do with Barrys good form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭event

id say MOn is looking at the fact that carrick and hargreaves went for around £17 million each

he obviously rates barry as the same and wants the same amount of money for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

We paid 18m for Mascherano not including wages. Mascherano is a better player than Barry.

Mascherano is also 4-5 years younger and an established international player
    with one of the best teams on earth.
    Pull out of the Barry transfer and go for someone like Van Der Vaart, Van Bommell or Diarra.
    No point in being held to ransom which is whats happening.
    Oh and to the genius who was noting that Gerrard has held a gun to Rafas
    head are you smoking something ?
    Did he not also make the same comments about Owen as did Carragher.
    Didnt see Rafa flinch much that time :rolleyes:

Mr Alan wrote: »
    am i missing something in here Savman? where are people denying MON had anything to do with Barrys good form?
    I have respect for G.Barry and will continue to have even if he leaves would not boo him and personally actually think the whole MON made Barry bit bollocks.
    Ok so it's just one person, but you catch my drift.

Hargreaves was a CL winner with a load of experience in that competition.

Carrick was considerably younger and had much more room for potential improvement as a player.

Both were overpriced.

But so is Barry at £15m when as Savman said, summer 2006 he was on the verge of being sold for 4.5m.

£15m is a fair price, taking into account this rip of transfer climate.

Anymore, and i think we should pull out and leave them with a player that has told them he doesnt wanna be there.

IrishMike wrote: »
    Mascherano is also 4-5 years younger and an established international player
    with one of the best teams on earth.
    Dude seriously, stop believing your own hype, that's your downfall every year and cheesy statements like that won't help your cause.

It's not 1988 anymore ffs, yiz were the dogs bollocks then but now you're just another good team in a highly competitive Europe. For "one of the best teams on earth" I'd expect some silverware in your cabinet from last season too :rolleyes:

Savman wrote: »
    Ok so it's just one person, but you catch my drift.

Yes but i thought everyone here had him on ignore? ;)

Dude seriously, stop believing your own hype, that's your downfall every year and cheesy statements like that won't help your cause.

It's not 1988 anymore ffs, yiz were the dogs bollocks then but now you're just another good team in a highly competitive Europe. For "one of the best teams on earth" I'd expect some silverware in your cabinet from last season too :rolleyes:

I was talking about Argentina :rolleyes:

Your coat is over there on the left, dont let the door hit you on the way out ;)

I think hes talking about Argentina when he says 'best team on earth'.

[edit] oops, too late.

Thank god, if these reports are true I think MON is doing what ive suggested the whole time and drawing that proverbal line in the sand and saying give us what you'd consier a ridiculous fee or fup right off away from our captain.

O and Savman I think that quote against MON making him was actually from me (albbeit cut short I give MON credit) but for some reason you acredited it to InvincibleIrish. Ill hold my hands up and admit it was me that said it.

If Barry really wants his move he may have to come out publically and say that.

Wonder if he'll do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Anybody know whats wrong with Savman? He just past me on the corridor and he was crying like a baby with a big red face on him and his tail in between his legs. Hope he's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,957 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Barry isn't worth more than 15 million but neither was Carrick so I suppose Villa have to follow suit. As for Barry coming out and saying he wants to move publically, I can't see that happening I think MON is trying to drag this out and I think if Liverpool hadn't leaked the story and Rafa hadn't annoyed MON so much Barry would be a Pool player for about 13 million but MON is not a man you want to P*ss off when you are trying to do a deal with him, because Villa don't need the money its just about seeing how much Liverpool really are willing to pay for Barry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Savman

Masch is with one of the best teams on earth - Argentina!

Double Oops (must refresh page first)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

lol, they'll have to settle about the 15million mark, how will barry walk back to a team which he has now been quoted as saying "he want's to leave"

anyone know if that was straight cash or player(s) plus cash?

dont think he was ever quoted saying that think his gobshoite agent (arent they all tho) was quoted as saying he wanted to. If we believed everthing agents said tho Berbatov would only been at Spurs a wet week

Right ok, Argentina, I hear yiz.
    Pighead wrote:
    Anybody know whats wrong with Savman? He just past me on the corridor and he was crying like a baby with a big red face on him and his tail in between his legs. Hope he's ok.
    Back in your box, you.
    O and Savman I think that quote against MON making him was actually from me (albbeit cut short I give MON credit) but for some reason you acredited it to InvincibleIrish. Ill hold my hands up and admit it was me that said it.
    Apologies. Force of habit :D