Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a camcorder from USA

Options
  • 12-06-2008 12:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum but I can't seem to find one for camcorders.

Anyway I'm thinking of buying a Full HD camcorder and have seen that the prices in the USA are about half of what I would be paying here. My sister lives in the US so I was going to get her to post it over and aside from the possibility of having to pay tax etc is there anything else I should be worried about.

I'm not very technical when it comes to these products so I was wondering if there are any issues with the whole PAL/NTSC thing. I have googled it etc and can't make head not tail out of it so I suppose what I am asking is "will I be able to connect the camcorder to my HD TV without any issues"

Cheers

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

I bought a Canon HG10 on the web from B&H photo in new york (they also have a shop you can go into). Had to pay duty but all in I reckon I saved around €200-250 on what it would be on the likes of komplett.

Very straight forward to use. Editing on your pc can be a hassle altho it did come with some software that will do some editing. I generally play the format it produces on the PS3 by just bringing it across on a USB key, and hence keep the HD quality. Alternatively you can export the video clips from the softward that is provided to a more recognisable format like mpg, and use these on the likes of Windows Movie Maker (on which editing is much easier)

I think this is the one