Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Lenihan in the RDS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Lower amount of FDI = lower jobs = less spending = lower jobs = less spending again = recession

We are in one anyway with or without lisbon
    As for me, I don't care because i am well enough off to weather any storm

Cause daddy paid for it all LOl!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

and I seem to recall far worse taunts and jibes being fired around the Dail in recent years

You dont know what you are talking about, Stick to the Kebabs...:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭gordon_gekko

darc wrote: »
    It is these uneducated sheep who do as sinnfein say without thinking for themselves that will suffer first and most.

The no vote will affect foreign direct investment into ireland becasue ireland's selling point is about being at the heart of europe, having easy access to european market, being one of the showcase economies of europe and having a young and EDUCATED workforce.

Lower amount of FDI = lower jobs = less spending = lower jobs = less spending again = recession.

First to be hit are the jobs at the lower end of the scale in the service & retail sectors. Mainly employing young peope and those witout the higher levels of education. The same sheep who believe the utter tripe given by sinnfein and other looney lefties and the mad far right.

As for me, I don't care because i am well enough off to weather any storm, no mortgage, decent savings and stable job. I just pity those leaving school this year, it back to the eighties we are.

Europe will ignore ireland from here on.

sinn fein are the kind of party who along with the likes of the bnp do better in times of hardship , there is a lot of dissatisfaction among working class people now towards foreigners now that the economy is tightening , theese people are likely to drift towards sinn fein ,
    it is in sinn feins interest for the country to become insular , to weaken our ties with europe and for the economy to suffer
    remember , sinn fein only have one policy so the economy is pretty irrelevant to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 In/Casino/Out

jank wrote: »
    We are in one anyway with or without lisbon

Cause daddy paid for it all LOl!:D

There are certain things that are going to make this recession BETTER and certain things that are going to make it WORSE. Good European relations I'd say would ease the recession.

"Cause daddy paid for it all LOl!"

He just told you he had a stable job. Grow up and make proper arguments.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Shin feign Supporters as usual. Not letting anyone else get a word in. Not exactly surprizing is it.

LOL - ha ha ha ha

Buddy, look up something called Section 31 for me will you?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Disgraceful ... what ever happened to Free Speech

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

Coir seem to think that they are exclusively responsible for the No vote victory.

Did anyone see the Coir woman on someone's shoulders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭ircoha

Just saw it on RTE1, the treatment of the returning officer by the No side, broadcast all over Europe, was a disgrace. It would make one wonder what sort of people they really are when they have no respect for an unelected official just doing his job.

For LT2, its all the Yes side need to show what really is at work here.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Nothing happened to it Kerry, didn't you see people exercising that right as a group?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Ye they made a holy show of themselves across Europe. Whatever about cheering they completely ignored the guy when he just had to finish the sentance. They did it twice too at the Irish and English result. Whatever about some of the muppets we've running our country they're the kind we decided to listen to yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

It's hard to give that sort of statement any kind of weight when you see the same scenes at every general election, if not worse; not to mention the kind of heckling we see in Dail Eireann on a nearly daily basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

Some spitting as well, Coir are so classy

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/jun/13/ireland
    "The bitter divisions caused by the treaty were visible at the count during ugly scenes involving Ireland's finance minister, Brian Lenihan, and members of Coir, a radical anti-abortion campaign group. Coir opposed the treaty on the grounds that European law could supplant Irish legal bans on abortion – a scenario the Irish government consistently said was impossible.

As the minister attempted to speak to a television news crew he was surrounded by Coir activists who screamed at him and sang: "No, no, there's no no, there's no Lisbon" to the tune of 2Unlimited's No limits.

When Burton attempted to intervene and point out that the minister had a right to speak she was spat at."

And this from the crowd who were complaining on Q&A about the Yes being ignorant and shouting down people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Shin feign Supporters as usual. Not letting anyone else get a word in. Not exactly surprizing is it.

Can you not read no?

COIR?

as in the right wing christian group, not the left wing socialist-republican one.

I didn't see Mary Lou or ANY shinners there after the result.
    I DO remember FG waving tricolours and going equally bananas after Nice II.

The yes side is a joke.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

To be fair I just watched the piece on RTE and while it was difficult for him to speak to his interviewer I think that RTE were a bit naive to try to interview him while on the floor just after the result was announced. I think its a touch of hubris to suggest that they were shouting him down. They were shouting, no doubt, but I dont see that they were specifically shouting him down.

As for pushing and shoving, ah here... I've had a lot worse in my local trying to get a pint!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 In/Casino/Out

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Can you not read no?

COIR?

as in the right wing christian group, not the left wing socialist-republican one.

I didn't see Mary Lou or ANY shinners there after the result.
    I DO remember FG waving tricolours and going equally bananas after Nice II.

The yes side is a joke.

What we are discussing here is not the merits of either argument but the treatment groups such as Coir gave to innocent officials. Celebration by waving tricolours is one thing, taking it out on Brian Lenihan is another. No one wants to see people being spat at with such mob mentality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

ateam wrote: »
    Coir seem to think that they are exclusively responsible for the No vote victory.

Did anyone see the Coir woman on someone's shoulders?

I seen that alright, they certainly went a bit overboard in their celebrations, I thought they would never stop cheering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

I seen that alright, they certainly went a bit overboard in their celebrations, I thought they would never stop cheering.

That woman cheering is the picture being used on the BBC and Sky News websites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I agree with DeVore - it was extremely naive of RTE to try and interview Mr. Linehan in the RDS. Of course there was gonna be some people cheering - if the YES side had won, Linehan probably would have been surrounded by cheering YES supporters.

Besides, it wasn't as if Linehan didn't get his say, they interviewed him afterwards in a much more appropriate spot.

I do think the people chasing after him with signs are idiots though. There was no need for heckling.

Coir are a group of nutjobs anyway - I didn't vote NO because of the crap they were peddling, I voted NO despite them, basing my decision on factual, unbiased information.

I strongly reject Ri na hEireanns claim that Coir's behaviour was "definitive" of the NO campaign - I would certainly hate to have any affiliation with them, or to be mistaken as a Coir supporter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

Ulyanov wrote: »
    I thought the treatment of Mr Lenihan today was nothing short of a disgrace and to be frank shows our nation in the true light. If you dont like whats been said just shout the man down.

The reaction of the NO supporters was understandable, if a bit OTT. They had fought a campaign against FF, FG, Labour, the PDs, the Green Party Ministers, IBEC, most trade unions, the main farming bodies and most of the political and business establishment and they won. I can't imagine any group that had taken on this array of opponents and had won decisively, wouldn't be elated. As for the OTT bit, have a check next time there is a by-election and the underdog wins, the celebrations will also be a bit rowdy.
    Ulyanov wrote: »
    The No campagin got there result by ensuring half the voters didnt turn up around the country.

How did they ensure this ? :eek: How did they ENSURE that a million eligible voters didn't turn up to vote ? Were there road blocks, armed guards, mine fields and helicopter gunships in your area to ensure people didn't vote ?

Besides how do you know that all the people who didn't vote were YES voters, I recall many YES supporters on Boards advising people who were undecided not to vote at all.

I thought they reported that yesterdays' turnout was similar to that in the second Nice Treaty referendum and while it was low compared to a General election, it wasn't that low for a referendum. Remember that even in general elections about one third of the electorate don't bother voting.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I strongly reject Ri na hEireanns claim that Coir's behaviour was "definitive" of the NO campaign - I would certainly hate to have any affiliation with them, or to be mistaken as a Coir supporter.

Cóir and Libertas reflect the worst of the No campaign and not representative of the majority of the No supporters. Anyone who was paying attention would have seen that.

DeVore wrote: »
    As for pushing and shoving, ah here... I've had a lot worse in my local trying to get a pint!

DeV.

Joan Burton being spat at on the other hand speaks volumes though. We aren't talking about innocent exuberance of a victorious side here, these people have a nasty edge to their politics that we thankfully don't see even in the extremes of the mainstream left and right, i.e. SF and the PDs.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Spitting? That's confirmed?

I think it's always going to be the lowest common denominator that are seen as the representatives of their side simply because they shout the loudest and and make the wildest claims.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Spitting? That's confirmed?

Well, it was reported in the Guardian who are usually fairly believable. They're not quite a tabloid yet...
    I think it's always going to be the lowest common denominator that are seen as the representatives of their side simply because they shout the loudest and and make the wildest claims.

Completely, that's where good organisation comes in. All the parties have their fanatical members, but the well organised ones, and I'd include SF in this, would never put these in a position to actually damage the party's image so publicly. They'd have them squirrelled off somewhere far from the cameras doing some "important" work.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

heyjude wrote: »
    The reaction of the NO supporters was understandable, if a bit OTT. They had fought a campaign against FF, FG, Labour, the PDs, the Green Party Ministers, IBEC, most trade unions, the main farming bodies and most of the political and business establishment and they won. I can't imagine any group that had taken on this array of opponents and had won decisively, wouldn't be elated. As for the OTT bit, have a check next time there is a by-election and the underdog wins, the celebrations will also be a bit rowdy.

It was I suppose. It will be the only victory they will ever have, no one will listen to those nutjobs come the election. (I voted no BTW)