Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Pride 2008

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I have just read over the comments on this forum and I am Gay, and Damn Proud. We dont need to have the parade to validate our selves, or to rub it in peoples faces. The history behind gay pride to to commemorate the Stone Wall Riots. The Stonewall Riots happened when a Gay Night club was raided by the Police and Gay men an women were assualted and arrested for being who they are. After years off suppression, the gay men and women fought back for their rights. Gay pride is now celebrated to remember that day, and to remember how far it is that we have come since those dark days where its was frowned upon and criminal for being attracted to the same sex. Which i might ad, looking through some of the comments, and through societys current views of the LGBT community, there is still a lot more work to be done to secure equality. We will keep on holding gay pride until the butchest dyke and the femmeiest gay can walk down the street without fear of being assualted, taunted or being treated as unequal.

I personally do not see the harm in the parade anyway. It is a bit of fun, and unlike some of our hetro brothers and sisters, we wouldnt shun anyone from the parade or our community just becoz of their sexual preference or orientation.

I was at the parade and had such a good day, and I am proud of who I am and my sexuality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Kazobel wrote: »
    And this people is you're gay idea of "equal rights", see we're "the T word", validate you's as gay but call us "the T word", dehumanize us because as Orwell said "All men are equal but some are more equal than others"

There is not one definitive term for those who are transsexual, trans gender
    most people are unsure which one to use that is why people will use the term T.

and really you have out done yourself with hijacking this thread for your cause, kudos.
    Focus nicely shifted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Kazobel

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Oh right a case of parade envy ?
    Pride has never been just about gay men, it's not a flag with just a pink triangle on it.

hahaha can't believe you've did that, does every gay man own a flag with a pink triangle? and here people we have the other stereotypical extreme "I like the gays, sure most of my friends are gay, I even bought a pink flag off one once" well done, really thank you so much for that

• Registered Users Posts: 68,691 ✭✭✭✭L1011

hahaha can't believe you've did that, does every gay man own a flag with a pink triangle? and here people we have the other stereotypical extreme "I like the gays, sure most of my friends are gay, I even bought a pink flag off one once" well done, really thank you so much for that

*woosh*

As you completely and utterly misunderstand what Thaedydal said.

MYOB wrote: »
    *woosh*

As you completely and utterly misunderstand what Thaedydal said.

Well thank you for clearing it up then, that post was soooo helpful :confused::confused:

Pride is not solely for gay men. You were implying it was. Thaedydal was pointing that out by making a reference to a pink triangle - a standard symbol used exclusively for gay men since its introduction in the concentration camps - and how this is *not* a symbol used for Pride.

The six-striped rainbow flag, however, is. This flag is meant to be a symbol of peace, sexuality (any sexuality), healing, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

God you really are a vile little troll. Every post, everywhere is about you being transsexual, and we've all got to listen.

I think most peoplel are fed up now. Why not go back to your own site www.wotsdacraic.com where the other five or so members agree with everything you have to say. No maybe you can't because you have to feed off annoying other people and trolling. You did it on Gaire until the webmaster got fed up. Hopefully it will happen here soon too.

Now, could we get back to Pride? A super day despite the weather (and IMHO Brian Kennedy's singing). Apparently two low rent drag queens attacked, and kicked to the ground, a man holding a religious banner. Panti mentioned it last night at the make and do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Now, could we get back to Pride? A super day despite the weather (and IMHO Brian Kennedy's singing). Apparently two low rent drag queens attacked, and kicked to the ground, a man holding a religious banner. Panti mentioned it last night at the make and do.

Heard about the attack, not good to attack peaceful protesters (which he was, unlike religious protesters in the past), not good at all...

Had a great night, met up with loads of lads I hadn't seen since school, including a few who'd come out since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

pink triangle - a standard symbol used exclusively for gay men since its introduction in the concentration camps
    Must admit I never knew that, you learn something new everyday.

For some reason I'm detecting a level of sarcasm here? Possibly not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

For some reason I'm detecting a level of sarcasm here? Possibly not...
    Bizarrely not. I genuinely didn’t know; no reason too.

My apologies then, long day...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

No way!!Did that really happen??

The only neagtive aspect I saw, and tbh you couldnt really notice it, was some old guy outside the crazy religious shop on O'Connel street with his back turned to the parade shaking his head, and one of my comrades from the Socialist party was given a leaflet on how homosexuality is a sin.

You really can only feel sorry for people like this.Many of these people were brought up in a differnet generation and have just been brainwashed by the catholic church. You can only show tolerance to these people,being violent towards them is definatly not the answer.

I have to say fair play to Pavee point and the INTO for having banners and representatives at the march.

I got propostioned three times during the march! One of the girls looked like Agness Deyn. I think I have a small gay following after my anti Miss UCD antics :p

• Registered Users Posts: 9,216 ✭✭✭MrVestek

I'm kicking myself that I missed the actual march itself now... and c'mon Brian Kennedy's singing wasn't *too* bad! Who was yer wan before him tho, the one who was going on about 'blah blah blah what's the name of my new single?'

Attention seeking bitch, lol. If anyone wanted validation that night, it was that straight blonde haired singer chick.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,216 ✭✭✭MrVestek

This says it all by the way:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56221113&postcount=36

Not like how you are in real life? I sincerely hope not...

God you really are a vile little troll. Every post, everywhere is about you being transsexual, and we've all got to listen.

I think most peoplel are fed up now. Why not go back to your own site www.wotsdacraic.com where the other five or so members agree with everything you have to say. No maybe you can't because you have to feed off annoying other people and trolling. You did it on Gaire until the webmaster got fed up. Hopefully it will happen here soon too.

My site has nothing to do with this, I don't even advertise my site it's only there for my friends and I maintain it. It always get's dragged into the insults but I'd love to see someone like you be able to build a site like that from nothing

Nobody got "fed up" with me on Gaire, I left Gaire because it was full of bitchy little queens and "I'm not gay really, I just like girls with cocks" types and really after a while you's are fcuking irritating, at least with me you know who I am everywhere, I'm not embarrassed to be me but look at you, you hide behind usernames and no one knows who you are on Gaire but still you feel like that gives you the right to critize another persons actions on a different site and post those actions here. I've said it before I'll say it again Gay pride my ass, if you had any pride in being gay you wouldn't be fcuking posting anonamously...

Achilles wrote: »
    This says it all by the way:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56221113&postcount=36

Not like how you are in real life? I sincerely hope not...

How I am in real life is my business, I get by and that's all that matters to me, since how I act is in question I'd wonder if you're all the same in real life too?

A vB forum is extremely easy to 'build from nothing', you pay Jelsoft your money and install it. If you mean the 7000 odd posts it has, thats not worth boasting about.

Anyway, are you going to be civil and post on topic, or are you going to continue talking solely about yourself and how you clearly hate everyone that isn't you, or at least manage to make it seem that way?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I am gay and i actually agree with Kasobel on many points. Some more than others but i hate it when other gay, bi, transgender or whatever categorise themselves as part of a group...eg:LGBT societies.

Don't you think this is discriminatory and contradictory as we are highlighting differences when we want to be treated as equals! If we want to have rights just like others then why limit ourselves to these groups. One of my friend keeps annoying me about joining the glb society and to join the parade .Why would i want to- to highlight the fact that i am proud...i can be still be proud without that. I don't have to publicly display that im gay.

So, in my opinion, discrimination is at the core of these social groups who like to classify themselves as "different". If we want to achieve equal rights, this is not the way to do it.

Don't argue with my opinion because to each his own.

A vB forum is extremely easy to 'build from nothing', you pay Jelsoft your money and install it. If you mean the 7000 odd posts it has, thats not worth boasting about.

Anyway, are you going to be civil and post on topic, or are you going to continue talking solely about yourself and how you clearly hate everyone that isn't you, or at least manage to make it seem that way?

I never boast about my site, you's brought it up not me as another attempt to get a hit I might add, do you have a Dot.com? do you have an online arcade? can you create a streaming radio and TV media page that can access any online channel in the world? do you have an online, real time chat site? would you even know how to set one up? come back an insult me when you're intelligent enough to set up a dot.com, other than that shut the fcuk up bitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

jaffa20 wrote: »
    So, in my opinion, discrimination is at the core of these social groups who like to classify themselves as "different". If we want to achieve equal rights, this is not the way to do it.
    There are groups and societies for all sorts of things. There's film societies, web master meet-ups, book clubs, and groups for all kinds of fetishes.

I don't think you can claim these people are discriminated against or marginalising themselves for wanting to get together with like minded people every once and a while. Same can be said for the LGBT groups.

The parade might be a different matter but I don't think we've reached full equality or acceptance yet, and while that's the case then I say a parade is no bad thing.

I am gay and i actually agree with Kasobel on many points. Some more than others but i hate it when other gay, bi, transgender or whatever categorise themselves as part of a group...eg:LGBT societies.

Don't you think this is discriminatory and contradictory as we are highlighting differences when we want to be treated as equals! If we want to have rights just like others then why limit ourselves to these groups. One of my friend keeps annoying me about joining the glb society and to join the parade .Why would i want to- to highlight the fact that i am proud...i can be still be proud without that. I don't have to publicly display that im gay.

Don't argue with my opinion because to each his own.

Totally agree, if someone is proud why do they need a parade? by definition is pride in oneself not self acceptance? so by having to have a parade does that not imply the opposite? "I accept me but now I want everyone else to accept me and notice me and validate me", say anything you want people but that's all "Pride" boils down to, "me, me, me"

I never boast about my site, you's brought it up not me as another attempt to get a hit I might add, do you have a Dot.com? do you have an online arcade? can you create a streaming radio and TV media page that can access any online channel in the world? do you have an online, real time chat site? would you even know how to set one up? come back an insult me when you're intelligent enough to set up a dot.com, other than that shut the fcuk up bitch.

I didn't bring it up. Someone else did, not you, and I responded to you, umm, boasting about it.

As goes your random wibbling there - no, I don't have a public website. I am, however, "intelligent enough" to set one up. I work as a programmer, and theres a 60+% chance that your medical records are stored on software I've worked on if you live in Ireland, and a lower (5-10%) if you live in the UK. Slightly more complicated than plugging some vBulletin plugins (as the arcade, chat, etc, are) I think you'll find. Which I'd be perfectly capable of doing, as it happens (considering I've got an IBM XSeries sitting on the floor very near to me here running the guts of a future project, which I've actually coded myself, rather than buying off a large British forum software vendor). As goes having a "dot.com", I've a portfolio of domain names, its nothing to boast about considering it takes about ten seconds and a credit card to buy them.

May I suggest not trying to one-up people? Particularly not when you're talking about something extremely basic, on a forum populated heavily by IT professionals.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Goodshape wrote: »
    There are groups and societies for all sorts of things. There's film societies, web master meet-ups, book clubs, and groups for all kinds of fetishes.

I don't think you can claim these people are discriminated against or marginalising themselves for wanting to get together with like minded people every once and a while. Same can be said for the LGBT groups.

The parade might be a different matter but I don't think we've reached full equality or acceptance yet, and while that's the case then I say a parade is no bad thing.

That is a ridiculous argument. The other groups get together because they share similar interests. Does the LGBT get together because of one main interest or because of orientation and hook up. Mmm :rolleyes:

Moreover, if we had full rights, would the gay pride parade still go ahead. Of course it would and it would achieve nothing but highlight difference which is contradictory to what people want to achieve. Many people do not even know what the parade is about... it is used as a day out to celebrate how they are "proud". I hate what the whole thing has become. Anyway, it's none of my business what people want to do but i just wanted to share my opinion. That is all.

I didn't bring it up. Someone else did, not you, and I responded to you, umm, boasting about it.

As goes your random wibbling there - no, I don't have a public website. I am, however, "intelligent enough" to set one up. I work as a programmer, and theres a 60+% chance that your medical records are stored on software I've worked on if you live in Ireland, and a lower (5-10%) if you live in the UK. Slightly more complicated than plugging some vBulletin plugins (as the arcade, chat, etc, are) I think you'll find. Which I'd be perfectly capable of doing, as it happens (considering I've got an IBM XSeries sitting on the floor very near to me here running the guts of a future project, which I've actually coded myself, rather than buying off a large British forum software vendor). As goes having a "dot.com", I've a portfolio of domain names, its nothing to boast about considering it takes about ten seconds and a credit card to buy them.

May I suggest not trying to one-up people? Particularly not when you're talking about something extremely basic, on a forum populated heavily by IT professionals.

And yet still I'm the only one here who worked to create a Dot.com and not cry for a parade, go figure huh???

I don't think you'll find that the majority of LGBT groups exist to 'hook up'. The majority of them exist to provide a public service, ranging from GLEN on the legal / equality / rights side of things through to health awareness groups, support groups, etc. That said, as you appear to blank out the concept of ever even seeing what goes on in one, of course you're not going to have that opinion changed by fact.

And yet still I'm the only one here with a Dot.com and not crying for a parade, go figure huh???

???

I can't understand a word of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

That is a ridiculous argument. The other groups get together because they share similar interests. Does the LGBT get together because of one main interest or because of orientation and hook up. Mmm :rolleyes:
    I don't see there being so much of a difference. Some people are going to go to a group hoping to 'hook up' regardless of sexual preferences or the type of group it is.

LGBT groups are no different. It's going to happen, sure, but it's rarely their main function in my experience.
    Moreover, if we had full rights, would the gay pride parade still go ahead.
    What'a'ya say we get those full rights first, and then we can worry about what might or could or should be. Non?

I don't think you'll find that the majority of LGBT groups exist to 'hook up'. The majority of them exist to provide a public service, ranging from GLEN on the legal / equality / rights side of things through to health awareness groups, support groups, etc. That said, as you appear to blank out the concept of ever even seeing what goes on in one, of course you're not going to have that opinion changed by fact.

OK find one, only one online based one that doesn't. Find me one gay based site where the underlying aspect isn't sex and I'd bet you I can create a false profile and have at least 10 guys proposition me within an hour. You's don't have a sexuality, you's have a majority, at least lesbians can feel love but you all are dictated by you're dick and that's why you need "Pride", deep down you hate yourselves because you know what you are and how shallow you are as a group and thats the group that needs the parade.