Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

stolen concert tickets

• 15-06-2008 3:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭

hi there,

Just wondering if anyone can shed some light on the following situation we find ourselves in! Im not looking for legal advice but just advice in general!

My friend found tickets for a concert tonight on the street so we decided to go! when we got there low and behold there were 2people in our seats - when we asked the usher what the problem was she said come with me there had been a mix up in tickets!

Neither of us thought that the person sitting there would be the person whom owned the tickets cause how would he have gotten the tickets anyway!! so we jsut pretended like we didnt know what was going on!

Then the guy from the event came back to us telling us that the tickets hadnt been cancelled and they were our seats and to go back to them! anyway we went back and to no avail we were asked to go with the usher to the gate again! this time he told us to take seats that it would be fine! next thing we were bombarded by 3cops! Scary stuff! anyway my friend had already told the user she had received the tickets from a friend so she couldnt rightly go back on her word!

As the guards questioned us and took our id's my friend proceeded to give the name of a dead friend of ours as the person whom she got the tickets from! Oh god Cringe i nearly died knowing she couldnt wriggle her way out of this one! That was fine but now we need to get our names clear as we are not thieves!! well i ament either! my friend seems to think that losers weepers finders keepers! dont think that would be a good reason im court! can anyone sggest what we do!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

What were the circumstances of finding the tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

'Found' the tickets on the street.

Sounds like the person who 'lost' them, reported them missing and used their proof of purchase to gain access to the event and find out who stole their tickets.

It's all got a bit greasy though with the fibs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭cgarvey

So you found tickets (with numbered seats, obvioulsy) and had the balls/stupidity to go, had the same balls/stupidity to persist the matter when you could see the seats were taken, lie about it to the guards (instead of saying 'fair cop, we'll be on our way.. No harm done'), and bring in a dead friend (some friend!)? .. Don't expect much sympathy!

if I were you, I'd come clean to the guards now (even if 'she' (whatever she is to you) doesn't), before it gets even more out of hand. Make sure to apologise prefusely for the wasting of their time.

oh, and grow up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

No doubt the OP will be receiving several summonses in due course for the numerous offences committed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭STUBBORNGIRL

cgarvey wrote: »
    So you found tickets (with numbered seats, obvioulsy) and had the balls/stupidity to go, had the same balls/stupidity to persist the matter when you could see the seats were taken, lie about it to the guards (instead of saying 'fair cop, we'll be on our way.. No harm done'), and bring in a dead friend (some friend!)? .. Don't expect much sympathy!

if I were you, I'd come clean to the guards now (even if 'she' (whatever she is to you) doesn't), before it gets even more out of hand. Make sure to apologise prefusely for the wasting of their time.

oh, and grow up

First and foremost we didnt expect anyone to have been let into the event without tickets... therefore we didnt anticipate anyone to have been in the seats....It was a fully seated concert so once in we had no other choice but to take the seats...We didnt persist the matter as it was the guy in the seats that came out and whispered in the ushers ear and she said that there had been a mix up with tickets!we followed her...They gave us other seats and that is when they set the guards on us!

i cannot see how someone can get into a concert with no tickets - surely possession is 9/10ths of the law??

Anyway i am not trying to be smart here, to be honest i am not in the habit of lying (which i didnt tell any lies to the guards, i said i had never stolen anything in my life)and i havent! My friend spoke to them for the res t of the time because i was only accompanying her!!

My friend has decided to tell the guards the truth when they ring her cause she panicked when they approached her and didnt want to go through the embarrassment of being escorted off the premises once they knew that we shouldnt have been there! she has 2 witnesses that were with her when she found the tickets so they can rest assured she didnt rob anyone for them!

I am not a stupid person and i know i should have known better than to accept the tickets but i think there are a lot more people out there that would have done the same thing if they were in my position!i love going to concerts and the chance of a free one is even better.

I have a friend that is a cop and i was talkign to her today and she told me that there will be no problem once we tell the truth...the reason that they prob want to pursue it is to link someone to the crime, which is where we would come in if we had purchased them from somebody.

Thanks for your comments anyhow... I do understand what i have done wrong and as my mam says - you will be learning but it will cost you:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dermot_sheehan

You and your friend are guilty of theft and/or handling stolen property.

Having told a fib to the guards about receiving them from a deceased friend isn't going to make you look credible in the district court.

Theft is dishonest appropriation of property, handling stolen property is being in possession of property you know or are reckelss to the fact that it was stolen.

there is an exception where its not theft if you can show that the owner could not have been discovered by taking reasonable steps, I'm not sure this would fly in this case, here's the relevant provision of the law (section 4 Criminal Justice (Fraud and Theft) Offences Act 2001
    4.—(1) Subject to section 5 , a person is guilty of theft if he or she dishonestly appropriates property without the consent of its owner and with the intention of depriving its owner of it.

(2) For the purposes of this section a person does not appropriate property without the consent of its owner if—

(a) the person believes that he or she has the owner's consent, or would have the owner's consent if the owner knew of the appropriation of the property and the circumstances in which it was appropriated, or

(b) (except where the property came to the person as trustee or personal representative) he or she appropriates the property in the belief that the owner cannot be discovered by taking reasonable steps,

but consent obtained by deception or intimidation is not consent for those purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,495 ✭✭✭✭Victor

stolen concert tickets
    My friend found tickets
    Why do these statements not match.

Are you actually seeking legal advice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭who's yer one?

i'm sure had you just been honest and said you found them on the srtee and decided to use them, you might've gotten a finger wagged in yr face and nothing more. (the story's plausible, i lost concert tickets once, jsut fell out of my pocket and im sure someone else ahd a great night on me) but one little fib always leads to another and another and soon you're in a massive hole.
    if t'were up to me, no one got hurt, the tickets original owners still got to go to the show, so no real damage, yis were just a couple of chancers. hope this is how it's seen if it's taken further! might be best to come clean though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭STUBBORNGIRL

Victor wrote: »
    Why do these statements not match.

Are you actually seeking legal advice?

They dont match Victor because my friend found the tickets but it turned out afterwards that they were actually stolen! (the person at the concert advised the usher that they were stolen from him earlier that day)

What i reckon happened was that someone stole that guys wallet and saw the tickets and just threw them away- ( i feel really bad cause although i am not a thief that guy obviously thinks we stole his wallet now).

And no i am not seeking legal advice, we werent arrested or anything we were told by the guards that they would be in contact with us. (up to lastnight we had not heard anything from them) so i rang my friend who happens to be a guard and there shouldnt be any problem.. this time - But just a warning to everyone - i know not everyone is as stupid as us but we honestly never anticipated the guards getting involved!

My friend knows she did wrong by telling a string of lies and im sure she wont do it again. I did not tell any lies and obviously wasnt going to interrupt her as she went about telling the lies. I do know that because i knew she found them on the street and still went to the concert that i am as much to blame as her! Her opinion was that she had lost tickets a few years back to a concert she really wanted to go to and she felt that this was Karma -

We live by our mistakes and only through making those mistakes we grow - so sorry to all of those of you who think i need to grow up, this is all the process of growing up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If the Gardai have your names, have a chat to a solicitor.

If they don't, don't.