Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving over in September, where to meet friendly 30 somethings?

• 15-06-2008 1:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Hello,
    I hope to move over in September if I can find a job. Don't know anyone in Galway City. I'm just wondering if there are any safe, social networks there to get help me settle in. I don't really just want to walk into a pub on my own so any advice would be appreciated. I'm into live bands & the odd bit of culture.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I'm sure someone will be along soon to demand pics! ;)

Start at home - look for a place to live that has likeminded people that you'd feel like hanging out with. I'm sure you'll meet their circle of friends then

Join a club - I think there's a book club on here somewhere - or a sports club, or a musical/drama group, whatever your interests are.

Talk to people - we're a friendly bunch down here, if you say hi we will talk to ya!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

There are some 'friendly' 30 somethings to be found on Buckfast Plaza , most nights when its warm .

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    There are some 'friendly' 30 somethings to be found on Buckfast Plaza , most nights when its warm .
    Hmmm, not sure that's what she wants.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 curlyclaire

thanks for that, when I said friendly I genuinely meant friendly as in making friends. Now I know where to avoid!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

thanks for that, when I said friendly I genuinely meant friendly as in making friends. Now I know where to avoid!

There's plenty of clubs for whatever you're interested in, sporting or otherwise.
    You'll also hopefully have nice workmates you could socialise with too.

I think there's also a website somewhere about volunteer work in Galway, if that takes your fancy.

If you list a few of you interests, I'm sure people could point you in the right direction.

Thanks Spurscormac, that helps. Am into live gigs, theatre, dancing, eating out, just generally having a great time. I did come over a couple of years ago to suss the place out and I found people really friendly, hopefully things haven't changed too much. The hardest bit is getting work as I'm based in London and I really need to be over there to get a job, but I'm sure something will turn up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Well for live gigs the Roisin Dubh is the main spot - they have a website with details on upcoming gigs, just google it. For trad there's Taaffe's pub, regularly live bands in other pubs too.

There's quite a few nice restaurants around IMO, probably a thread here about them if you search.

As for theatre, well you won't get the variety of London, but as I'm sure you're aware of, there's the Arts festival in the summer, and there's ongoing plays etc during the year - I'll let someone else guide you on that front as its not really my scene.

Dancing - depends what you mean, there's nightclubs to shake your thing, and there's also dance classes of various types, salsa etc - probably check out the galway advertiser for details, in fact check it for details of anything galway related, from accommodation to classifieds to the property market & the latest nonsense in the city council chambers :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Depending on what sort of music your into Galway can be good or bad. I am/was in same position as you moving over couple of years ago from London. As mentioned Roisin Dubh is great for live bands of all sorts and all sorts of quality too! Trad music at the Crane and not just Irish but folk, bluegrass etc and usually people in there are chilled and good to chat too.

Theatre isn't too bad here, some excellent plays have been on in the last couple of years. The Druid company usually puts on class stuff.

As for food better wait till you get here (must admit this has been the most disappointing thing since moving over as quality isn't as good as I would expect from somewhere with quality of local produce).

People here have no problem chatting to you, though funnily enough it can be those who aren't born and bred in Galway who are the most receptive to maintaining a friendship, guess thats same as anywhere. As said above joining a club or group that is of same interest as you is good way to go. And say sod it and go do something you've never done before!

If you want to drop me a line to ask any other questions about moving from London to Galway then feel free

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

I moved from Oxford just over a year ago, and love it here. I wish you luck and will no doubt bump into you around the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

There is indeed a book club!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055064051

Also see link in my sig :)

• Registered Users Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

We are a friendly bunch in general. and I never find it difficult to chat to people I meet out and about. Just do that and simply talk to people you come across. In shops, at gigs, wherever. I'd second the Róisín as a good venue particularly as you say you like live gigs. Some great ones there and it's virtually impossible not to chat to people in the smoking area for instance. Can be quite young some nights though, just to warn you.

Have fun!!

Thanks everyone for your responses. I have been quite apprehensive about doing this, and you've all really re-assured me. I'll keep in touch and maybe meet some of you out and about.

claire.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Annie C

Howdy curly claire, you could also check out www.galwayadvertiser.ie the local free rag, you might find notices about various clubs / activities etc. Plus you are coming here at a lively time, the Arts Festival and Galway Races are on the way, happy days.

Thanks Annie. Got 4-6 wks left in me job so not sure if I'll make it for the Arts Festival, but certainly will for the Races (are they mid-end of August?) so perhaps see you there!

Claire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Thanks Annie. Got 4-6 wks left in me job so not sure if I'll make it for the Arts Festival, but certainly will for the Races (are they mid-end of August?) so perhaps see you there!

Claire.

Last week in July/ first week in August right after the Arts festival

Hi Webbs,

I've decided to just come over next week and see if I can find a job. Can you advise about safe, not too expensive areas to live in near the city centre? Any advice at all would be appreciated actually. In terms of work, I'm happy to do whatever just to get by for now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

Hi Webbs,

I've decided to just come over next week and see if I can find a job. Can you advise about safe, not too expensive areas to live in near the city centre? Any advice at all would be appreciated actually. In terms of work, I'm happy to do whatever just to get by for now.

Stay away from Castlepark, most of Ballybane and I can't remember the name of the massive housing estate out the headford road. Also some parts of bohermore.

Good places would be the docks, salthill, merchants road, forster court, the green, sailin, and any other new developements that look nice.

Renmore is a nice spot as well...

Why do you want to get out of London? Galway has rubbish infrastructure, rubbish drivers, rubbish weather, rubbish public transport, rubbish public servants....I could probably go on. Just letting you know that's it's far from paradise over this neck of the woods. The road networks are third world compared to the UK. Don't count on getting anywhere easy or fast.

In answer to that question, I have many reservations about moving over, chiefly the weather. Loads of stuff worries me about moving here, I almost got a job there a couple of years ago, and I remember how bad public transport was then. London has a lot going for it, but after spending my entire life here I am very jaded, and living in south London the constant headlines about young people knifing each other, and encountering the same intimidating, amoral attitude every time I sit on a bus or a train, is soul destroying. I know very well that Ireland is far from perfect, I've lived there before, but if the choice is crap weather and lack of decent jobs, as opposed to constant lawlessness & aggression, I'm going to give it a go over there.

Fair enough. You seem to be attracted to the people and the live bands and the like. You may be more travelled than me also so have a better idea what other places are like. Personally I would go with somewhere like Switzerland....even though I haven't been there....I imagine it might be just for me....Everything runs on time, no noise pollution etc. etc.

An awful lot of people in Galway and Ireland in general seem to have drinking as there only past-time aswell but your into dancing and stuff aswell...I often see salsa and the like being advertised in the local papers.

Last week my housemates workmate's relative was walking out bohermore way from town in a great mood whistling to himself at about 5 or 6 in the morning. His flight to australia for the summer only being a few hours away. He was on the way out to the girlfriends and there was two buoys with bottles of buckfast sitting on a wall.

One of them asked him what he was whistling for and he told them the craic about australia and all. Then one of them broke the bottle off the ground and stuck it in his face. Yer man has lost sight in one of his eyes.

Just letting you know that things like that happen over here too but maybe just not as much as in London.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Although, in fairness workaccount, stuff like this happens a lot less than, say, Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭Cole

Stay away from Castlepark, most of Ballybane and I can't remember the name of the massive housing estate out the headford road. Also some parts of bohermore.

Good places would be the docks, salthill, merchants road, forster court, the green, sailin, and any other new developements that look nice.

Renmore is a nice spot as well...

I would broadly agree with that.
    Why do you want to get out of London? Galway has rubbish infrastructure, rubbish drivers, rubbish weather, rubbish public transport, rubbish public servants....I could probably go on. Just letting you know that's it's far from paradise over this neck of the woods. The road networks are third world compared to the UK. Don't count on getting anywhere easy or fast.

Those specific examples are very accurate. It can be a frustrating place to live at times.

I think you are right to give it a shot. I lived in London years ago and I can relate to the 'soul destroying' thing.

I've always thought that London would be a great place to live in...if, you are either financially well off and can afford to live in a really nice area or are young and have less responsibilities or cares (generally).

There is a lot to be said for quality of life and Galway would definitely give you a change of pace, even if its only a temporary move.

I'm not a native of Galway, but have found it to be quite friendly and safe (even the 'rough' areas are relatively harmless, in my experience). It is very small, so you might be able to travel to and from work by foot or bicycle, weather permitting.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Zzippy wrote: »
    I'm sure someone will be along soon to demand pics! ;)

Oh hello whats this?

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭Fly High

I can't remember the name of the massive housing estate out the headford road

I think that's probably Ballinfoyle you're on about...

Louise~ wrote: »
    I think that's probably Ballinfoyle you're on about...

Yep that's it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Hi Webbs,

I'd agree with the places that work account mentioned, we moved into Rahoon when we first moved here and found it fine we lived off the old Rahoon road (places like Friars Hill, Cruachan Park, Gort Greine, I would avoid Gleann dara and places of the circular road). We had no idea about places to live and found it handy enough, Galway people will probably tell you its a long way from the city center, but you can walk it in about 30mins and is a 5-10min taxi ride for those late nights. but if your like me and my London experience any travel time under an hour is a bonus!

I would agree that Galway isn't perfect and yes the public transport is almost non existent but its a small enough place that taxis are an option and definitely walking most places is great (though Galway people do love their cars so anything more than a 10minute walk and they think your mad LOL).

But the pace of life, the advantages of having the countryside on your doorstep and there is a hell of a lot going on here for a city of this size, has made it a great move for us from Streatham to here.

As for other places no where is perfect - I lived in Switzerland for a while and while on the surface it all seems fantastic, clean on time etc just scratch below the surface and you have a rule obsessed bigotted nation that I would imagine would drive the average Irish person mad within a year!

Claire I hope the move over here goes great and as i said send me a private message if their are other more specific things you want to know

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

I would advise you to sort out your accommodation before me and my kind (the students) come back in september. Finding a place to stay in the city centre or on the west-side can be especially though around this time of year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 triblex

hello, annie c:pac:

Thanks very much for telling me the pro's and cons of Galway. Let's face it, no where is perfect, but it's good to give things a go and the feedback on here makes me feel pretty positive, thanks a lot again, this has really helped me.
    Claire.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Rubbish infrastructure? No worse than anywhere else outside Dublin. What do you expect for a small city with only 80,000 people - a monorail?

Rubbish drivers? Try living in Donegal for a while... its not that bad here

Rubbish public transport? I don't know where you live, but my bus comes every 15 mins during the day, every 30 mins after 8, and its 99% on time

Rubbish public servants? Generalise much??
    Apart from the city council senior management, I've come across a huge number of very good and dedicated public servants here.

Rubbish weather? Yeah fair point, but if you're so negative and you want sunshine why don't you f**k off to Spain?

Claire, don't mind this negative attitude, its not half as bad as this guy would like to make out. Best of luck with your move! I'm sure we'll see you posting lots in this forum when you arrive... :)

Rubbish infrastructure? No worse than anywhere else outside Dublin. What do you expect for a small city with only 80,000 people - a monorail?

Rubbish drivers? Try living in Donegal for a while... its not that bad here

When did I compare to Dublin or Donegal?
    Rubbish public transport? I don't know where you live, but my bus comes every 15 mins during the day, every 30 mins after 8, and its 99% on time

How many dedicated bus routes do we have that can avoid all the traffic?
    Rubbish public servants? Generalise much??
    Apart from the city council senior management, I've come across a huge number of very good and dedicated public servants here.

I'm sure there is but the state of some places in Galway in fairness....half thought out projects.

Rubbish weather? Yeah fair point, but if you're so negative and you want sunshine why don't you f**k off to Spain?

Or London where it's better.... ;)

Don't be getting negative now you....ok?

Claire, don't mind this negative attitude, its not half as bad as this guy would like to make out. Best of luck with your move! I'm sure we'll see you posting lots in this forum when you arrive... :)

I can be positive aswell but some people seem to love painting the lovely picture when somebody is actually looking for the realities.