Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my log part deux...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

i need to resserect this and get some motivation going....

ive a nice pot belly going on now after 6 months of binging....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

i need to resserect this and get some motivation going....

ive a nice pot belly going on now after 6 months of binging....
    This is why you FAIL at your career....

when i was young kids like you would have got 40 lashes for being cheeky :D

Driftwars: The drifter strikes back

Right i lost someone who was a major influence on my life suddenly last October and it pretty much knocked me for six for a while...but no more excuses and its time to get back to some serious training...ive been fapping about with running and stuff for the past while and am still training jujitsu. i havent been in a gym in 7 weeks..i havent done any serious weight training in about 4-5 months.

This time its going to be different..conditioning and increasing strength for jujitsu rather than powerlifitng is going to be my goal..

Ive but on weight again an was 91.5kg on the scales this morning. this is the result of months of snack boxes and cookies...and beer :P...even my dog got fat.

my first aim is to increase my flexability and master some of the OY lifts.

Tonight

Shoulder dislocations
    4 sets of 10

Wall squats
    4 sets of 10

Front squats
    40kg x5x5

Hang cleans
    40kgx3x6

Skipping
    20 minutes

Core
    weighted situps + 10kgx15x4

ThoughtsOn-call tonight so trained at home. The shoulder dislocations are something i could never do so i got one of those extendible broom handles so i could start at a length i could do them then work in. The front squats were done from a clean position rather than supported with the arms crossed..the cleans were ok...need more hip drive and my shoulders/wrists are starting to loosen out. skipping...man wtf...handy home cardio workout though..... this is def going to be something different than powerlifting..

7 min jog

75 situps
    75 jumping jacks
    20 pushups
    30 knees to chest
    75 squats

11 minutes....red belt fitness level

Push!!!

Bench
    60kgx8x2
    80kgx8x1
    90kg5x5

Inclined Barbell press
    50kgx12x3

Standing MP's
    35kgx12x3

Pushups
    12x3

Russian twists
    12x3+10kg

Thoughts
    Now kids this is what happens when you dont train...you become a weak fat hobbit :) my shoulders were in bits by the time i got too the second set of the MP's...and were barely functioning by the last set of the pushups....all the above was done in 37 minutes..

It will come back wont it.....my bench...wont it....

edit: i think L can make me eat some humble pie with the MP's actually :)

Squat

Back Squat
    60x8x2
    80x8x1
    100x5x5

Front Squat-- i can get my hands into a clean position now!!!
    50x5x3

Rev hypers
    bwx8x4

Glute Ham raises
    bwx8x4

Run

6.3k 37 minutes.....includes 30 second break to puke in some randon students garden...

Thoughts
    Backsquats were handy...fist time in 6 weeks took it handy...the front squats were more to improve technique than anything...there was 2 OY lifters with me and they said my technique was perfect so im going t0 start using them as a main lift soon...the run...was meant to be 3k but i was tricked into it...6.3k is the longest distance ive ever covered....the aim in 7.5k in 37 minutes...so ive a bit of work too do

Jujistu

1hr 30 min...grading coming up next month..

also i hurt everywhere after running yesterday....

Pull!!!

Hang Cleans
    40x3x3
    50x2x2
    60x1

Deadlift
    60x5
    90x5
    110x3
    110x---WTF!

Pendaly Rows
    60x5x5

Wide grip lat pulldowns
    50kgx8x5

Shoulder Stuff
    dislocations----loads
    rotator cuff cable stretch
    some other shoulder stuff

Thoughts
    Cleans are coming along....i pretty much fail everywhere else....i blame the 6k on monday

Push!!

Bench
    60x5
    80x5x2
    100x5x5

Inclined Bench
    60x10x4

MP's
    40x10x4

Pushups
    10x4

Run
    5k in 26 minutes

Thoughts
    my shoulders hurt. Run was 2 minutes slower than my last 5k...

Attempted to train last night but "****" kept coming up

Tonight

ju-jitsu

1hr 30min

note to self need to get some wrist straps....

Pull!!!

Deadlift
    60x5
    90x5
    110x3
    120 5x5

SLDL
    50X5
    70X8X4

T-Bar Rows
    60x8x4

Wide grip lat pulldowns
    130lbsx8x5

Shoulder Stuff
    dislocations----loads
    rotator cuff cable stretch
    some other shoulder stuff

Thoughts
    No time for a run tonight cause i got stuck late in work...deadlifts were grand...hope to be back upto 140 5x5 soon

jujitsu

1hr 30min

strapped wrist means less pain

was on holidays....back tonight and straight for 1hr sparring session with some of the lads...

Today

jujitsu... 1hr session one of the extra classes...these are good cause very few of the lower grades do them..and you get to pick up some tricks of the higher grades

UL...push session

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    80x---oh fook

Pushups
    bwx10x5

Standing over head
    40x8x4

Dumbell bench
    neutral grip
    28x8x4

Fat bar reverse curls
    barx8x4

Hang snatch
    Bar x loads

Thoughts
    as a result of a crappy right hook causing m rist to bend back on itself i am in a small bit of pain when benching...ive a grading on the 24th so i think ill be laying of some of the weights till after than...i swithced to the neutral grip dumbell press and found no pain we have a neutral grip bench bar in ul aswell so might do some light stuff on that next week. everything else was light due to the wrist again...snatchs were mainly cause one of the lads made me do them :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Ye have a swiss bar??

****ers

Ye have a swiss bar??

****ers

ya its great....and they rarely let you train there so its even better....

Squat
    60x5
    80x5
    100x5
    120x5
    130x2
    135x1

Front squats
    40x3
    40x5
    45x5
    50x5
    60x1
    60x1

Hang snatches+overhead squats

Lots with the bar and technique bar

Declined situps
    4x12 @ bw

side bend type things
    3x8+12kg kettle bell

Thoughts
    working in these oy lifts is going to be alot of effort to learn...

Pull---home session on call week

Deadlift
    60x5
    100x5x2
    110x5
    120x5
    130x5
    140x5

Pendaly rows
    60x5x2
    70x5x2
    80x5x2

Wide grip lat pulldowns
    50xgx8x4

Barbell Curls
    30kgx8x4

Hanging let raises
    bwx8x4

Landmines
    10kgx8x4

ThoughtsNot bad for an on call week session...just happy to get it in...i need less stuff on my mind to focus more on my training though.

Netural grip bench
    barx10
    60x8
    80x5x2
    90x5x2

Squat
    barx8
    60x5
    80x5
    100x5
    120x3x2

wide grip lat pulldowns
    145lbs x8x4

12-15-9
    30kg push press
    box jumps
    situps

time 9:20

3k run
    Time 13:37

Thoughts
    Nothing much...minding my wrist till my grading is over on friday.

Jujitsu

1hr 45 min

some bollix of a warm up tonight.. then some grading stuff...then some ground grappelling at the end...

plan to run at 6:30am tomorrow morning.....suppose i better go to sleep

5k run this morning 24.29....happy enough....like running in the cold :P

Jujitsu

last session before the grading tomorrow at 7pm...fitness good..sparring good...drills good...ground grappeling good...

ok lets do this sh&t

P.S hope my wrist hold up :P

i have two things....a red belt and a hangover...

oh and my gymboss arrived!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Love all of the above. Congrats dude!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Congrats.

Does the Gymboss also work as a stopwatch as well? Or is it only an interval timer?

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Congrats.

Does the Gymboss also work as a stopwatch as well? Or is it only an interval timer?

stopwatch as well.....i havent really played with it yet...my brain isnt due to function again till the jamenson wears off fully...

Squat
    60x5
    80x5
    100x5
    120x5x2

Front squat
    40x5x5
    50x5x1

Rev hypers
    bwx8x4

Tabata
    push press 40kg.....dear god

Cycle
    20min resistance 7

Also
    Lots and lots of stretching and foam rollin....

JuJitsu

1hr 30 min good session was feeling a bit under the weather this evening but glad i pulled through this!

Dumbell bench netural grip
    20x8x2
    28x8x1
    32x8x1
    37.5x8x2

Inclinded DB Bench netural grip
    28x8x4

Log Press netural grip
    log(30kg) x6
    50kgx5x2
    60x5x2
    70x3x2

Pushups
    bwx15x4

Fat bar curls
    4 sets of 6...very fat bar!

Ab wheel
    bwx8x4

some foam rolling

Thoughts
    doesed up to my eyeballs on uni flu im just glad to get this session in!