Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my log part deux...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Update ok well as promised and to shut L up im gonna start logging again. Stuff has been going well..im leaner now than ive ever been im 87.5kg down from 98kg at the end of january. Ive graded to my first belt in ju jitsu and have been doing alot of cardio type stuff. my fitness has rocketed up as is to be expected but my strenght has taken a huge hit! the aim is to get down to 83-84kg and then see if ill go back to 90 or stay where i am and give it a go at the 82.5kg class.

The past two weeks my diet has sucked again but i aint out back on weight so i suppose thats some plus. im hoping logging again will get me back on track to lost a few more kg.

Tonight...
    Squat
    60x5
    80x5
    100x5
    120 3x3
    100x5
    60x10

SLDL
    60x6
    100x6
    110x6x2-PB
    100x6

Glute ham raises( paused)
    4 sets of 8

Ab wheel
    4 sets of 8

some other core exercise i dont know the name of but is really ghey
    4 sets of 10

Thoughts
    Nothing really the past 2 months have been pretty stale weight wise...i actually look forward to the cardio/fitness stuff more..

im also looking for some basic bodybuilding program to do for the next 6-8 weeks... any suggestions?... Hanley,L pants etc....i know ye are going to take the piss so off topic is ----> that way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

in reckon Hanley is going to say DC and i'd agree with him... relatively quick and to the point sessions that'll let you get your cardio in too.

jujitsu....

1 hr 30 min...

need to find a way to remove large eastern europenas ( i think thats the correct way to say it) lads from my path

ok so im on the 5-3-1 band wagon with a bit of Periodization Bible by Dave Tate twist. The high reps on the assistance are going to kill me

im basing my maxes as
    MP 60
    Squat 140
    Bench 130
    Deadlift 160

These are well below my old 1rm-5 but im cutting weight im not expecting to make huge gains on the main 4 lifts on this which is why im being conservative...its the high rep assistance work im interested in.

Cycle 1 Week 1 day 1
    Bench
    warm up
    bar x 5
    60x5

75x5
    90x5
    100x7

Close Grip bench
    30kgx20
    35x20
    45x15
    50x15
    50x15

Inclined Bench
    24kg x15
    24kg x15
    24kg x15
    24kg x15
    24kg x15

T-bar Rows
    30kgx20
    30kgx20
    30kgx20
    30kgx15
    30kgx15

Hammer Curls
    16kgx15
    16kgx15
    16kgx15
    16kgx15
    16kgx15

Cardio
    20 min on static bike resistance 7

Thoughts
    Hanley your a cu*t.....that is all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Shut up, I'm a legend. You know why.

Hanley wrote: »
    Shut up, I'm a legend. You know why.

mwhaaaaaaaa:p

jujitsu 1hr 30 min

ive lost my grapelling mo-jo that is all

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

suck+it+up.jpg If you didnt expect this...

oh i wasnt complaining im not a humpy c*nt like L i was mearly stating a fact...the fack being i have lost my mo-jo...L was just whining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Only teh gheys have Mojo's

Friday

Deadlift
    warm up
    bar x10
    60x10
    80x5

working sets
    100x5
    115x5
    130x9

Leg press
    120kgx20x5

Glute Ham Raises
    bwx20x5

Core

The things at 2:05 in this vid no idea what theya re called...4 sets of 15

Today

Military Press

warm up
    barx10

working sets
    40x5
    47.5x5
    55x8

Bent over rows
    55kgx15x5

Tricep pull downs
    45lbsx20x5

Curls
    fat barx8x4

Thoughts

Its going to take me a while to get the weight/reps on the assistance stuff right esp on the over head press day because i suck at it :P but im liking the high reps on the leg press and glute hams

Squat
    warm up
    barx10
    60x5x2

working
    80x5
    100x5
    115x8

Hack squats
    60x10x5

45 deg back raise
    BWx15x3
    MW+5kgx15x2

Abs declined situps
    BWx12x5

Cardio
    20 min stationary bike resistance 7
    Thoughs
    tommorows session today because im on call and ill take the chance to train when i get it! hacks squats are stupidly light its my first time ever doing them but i def like em...er wk1 of 5-3-1 over..

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

ok so im on the 5-3-1 band wagon

im basing my maxes as
    MP 60
    Squat 140
    Bench 130
    Deadlift

Military Press

warm up
    barx10

working sets
    40x5
    47.5x5
    55x8

If that was your first week of 531 you have started too high on the Military Press, assuming a real 1RM of 60.

The 531 max should be 54, and the last set of 5+ on week 1 military press should be 46kg.

I know 'cos that is exactly what I started on.

BossArky wrote: »
    If that was your first week of 531 you have started too high on the Military Press, assuming a real 1RM of 60.

The 531 max should be 54, and the last set of 5+ on week 1 military press should be 46kg.

I know 'cos that is exactly what I started on.

well spotted sir.. ive adjusted my maxes though id done 60x5 on the mp recently...ill updated my maxes later on

because im on call
    So be there! :P
    are you a doctor/nurse or what?

So be there! :P
    are you a doctor/nurse or what?

Nurse_Joker_by_Kitamori.jpg

(that's what ya get for looking for that fail pic earlier)

Hanley wrote: »
    Nurse_Joker_by_Kitamori.jpg

(that's what ya get for looking for that fail pic earlier)

looking...ill bloddy find one yet...and when i do its going to be epic

@cardio... im a network engineer for a national carrier..being on call means i have to babysit the network 27/7 for a 7 day period...

or as hanley likes to say...make sure no one breaks the internet...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

The things at 2:05 in this vid no idea what theya re called...4 sets of 15

Thats the Russian Twist. Never really worked for me...

meh said ill give it a try....

thank you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Yup Russian twist. Doesn't do a lot for me either. Do hanging leg raises (full stretch or supported on forearms) - much better.

funny they work really well for me.

we know your special..we discussed this...

next!

Jujitsu 1hr 30 min

that is all....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

meh said ill give it a try....

Actually gave it a go last night, as long as you isolate your obliques it should be alright - take your shoulders out of the equation altogether.
    I've heard it recommended for boxers alright as it strenghtens your core rotation, so this should follow through with your punching.
    I supersetted it with some crunches and it was grand, will prob put up the weight significantly though... 10Kg didn't seem to do much.

Cycle 1 Week 2 day 1
    Bench
    warm up
    bar x 5
    60x5x2

82.5x3
    95x3
    105x5

Inclined Bench
    26kg x15
    26kg x15
    26kg x15
    26kg x15
    26kg x15

Tricep extensions
    15kgx20
    15x20
    15x20
    15x20
    15x20

T-bar Rows
    40kgx20
    40kgx20
    40kgx20
    40kgx15
    40kgx15

Hammer Curls
    16kgx15
    16kgx15
    16kgx15
    16kgx15
    16kgx15

Core
    Declined situpsx15x3

Thoughts
    No cardio tonight cause someone broke the internet...2kg increase on the inclines and 10kg on the rows bench was ahrd tonight for some reason but over all im happy

today

Itsallabout the L spec diet day

sweet and sour chicken chips and a can of coke..

horrible horrible horrible day...no jujitu tonight cause of work so instead some pigging out.

instert smarmy replies from
    L
    cardio
    and Hanley
    and maybe kevpants if he is feeling up to it

im hurt that im not ahead of L on that list :(

your still young by the time you catch up i foresee your level of bullsh*t to far out weigh L's

Eh.. that's a re-feed day man. Really important when you're dieting ;)

Gotta put some spin on it!