Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Book Club

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭quietsailor

Hey Folks,

The next meeting is Monday the 7th September at 8 pm in Reidy's wine bar on Washington Street.

The book is "My Sister's Keeper" by Jodi Picoult.

See you all there

Shane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 gogsy

Hey There,
    Is there any chance that I could join the group?
    I've always fancied a book club but my mates weren't interested.
    M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 skandrot

I recently moved to Cork from Boston to do a postgrad at UCC. I'd be really interested in joining your book club. Could I drop in to check it out?

Thanks!

Sarah Kandrot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 oho_noho

Hello,
    I'd be interested in joining the book club.

Hey Folks,

There were too many people ill tonight so the meeting is changed to next Monday the 14th Sept in Reidy's Wine bar at 8pm.

The book is still Jodi Picoult's "My sister's Keeper"

See you next week,

Shane

Folks,

The book for next month is "The Great Gatsby" by f. scott fitzgerald. and we're meeting on Monday 5th October at Reidy's wine bar.

See you there

Shane

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭corkgal1981

Hi guys,

Next meeting is Monday, 2nd Nov, 8pm @ Reidys & the book is The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Hello,
    The next meeting has been change to 9th Nov, 8pm in Reidys :)

Next meeting is Monday, 7th December, 8pm in Reidys and the book is:
    Half of a Yellow Sun
    by
    Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Jim Comic

some of ye might be interested in this

http://www.omgentertainment.ie/index.php/culture/421

ork Rock: From Rory Gallagher To The Sultans Of Ping is published in paperback at €16.99 by Mercier Press and is available in all good bookshops nationwide and online via Amazon.

“A work of massive importance for Cork’s cultural history and a hugely enjoyable read for anyone who has gigged, ligged or larked by the Lee.”
    Des O’Driscoll – The Irish Examiner

“Impressively comprehensive …full of surprising revelations”
    Ed Power – Hot Press

“Opens with an excellent monograph of the truly talented Rory Gallagher”
    Tom Widger – The Sunday Tribune

“An exhaustive exploration of 60 years of Cork rock music”
    Fachtna Kelly – The Sunday Business Post

“An insightful and well-written book. Highly recommended”
    Ken Fallon – Cluas.com

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nursemar88

hey.. i would be interested in joining...is it just drop in and see how it works??

Hi everyone,

The meeting for tonight is postponed til next Monday & as Reidys is closed due to flood damage we will be meeting in Tribes instead. So thats next Monday @ 8pm in Tribes.

Nursemar88 you are very welcome to drop into us for next meeting. Feel free to pm if you want anymore info.

Any suggestions for a Christmas book are also very welcome. Last years book Dicken's A Christmas Carol.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 actingthegoat

Hiya,
    Myself and a friend are interested in joining a book club and this one looks good,I'll never get the book read in a week tho so would we be better off waiting til ye have the next book sorted and then just coming to the Jan meeting??:)

Its up to yourself, theres no problem if you want to come next Monday or else you can wait & see what next book is - it'll be something Christmasy anyway!:)

Next meeting is Tuesday, 5th Jan, 8pm @ Tribes & the book is
    HOGFATHER
    by Terry Pratchett
    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year! :)

Hi everyone,

Next meeting is Tuesday 2nd Feb, Tribes @ 8pm and the book is:
    Little Women

by Louisa May Alcott

• Registered Users Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I just recently moved to Cork and was hoping you are still accepting new members to your book club. Would it be okay if I attend for February?

Many thanks!

Yes, of course, you're very welcome. Look out for a copy of Little Women on a table & you'll know its us! See you Tuesday :)

• Registered Users Posts: 33 actingthegoat

I'm definitely hoping to go on Tues. Working my way through Little Women at the mo. See ye then :)

Hi guys,

The book for next month is
    Juliet, Naked
    by Nick Hornby
    The next meeting will be on Tue. 2nd March, 8pm @ Tribes. See you all then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 avrillena

Hey,

I just moved to Cork and would love to join your club - I really like the mix of book selections! Are you still open to new members? Sounds like there are a lot of members from all the posts!

Thanks!

Hi Avrillena,

You're more than welcome to join us at next meeting :) The details are in previous post but feel free to PM me if you need any more info. Hope to see you there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23 kellyof

Hey guys.
    I'm looking for a book club to join. Any room for another member? I love reading and want to meet some new people too :) Maybe for your April meeting?

Hi Kellyof,

You're more than welcome to join us in April :)

Next meeting is on Tue. 6th April, 8pm in Tribes.

The book for April is yet to be decided but we've decided we're going to go with a biography this time. Will post here soon as we've picked one.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 kellyof

Hi Everyone,

Aprils meeting is on Tue. 6th 8pm in Tribes & the book is:
    Hollywood Hellraisers
    by Robert Sellers

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭disco biscuit

The Grand Parade library currently holds a book club meeting every second Saturday at 11.15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Kiwisah

Hi All,

I am not so new to Cork but new to the Boards and want to meet new people - plus I LOVE books!

Do you have space for another member, or is the group full?

Also where is Tribes? Is it in the city centre?

Thanks,
    Sah

Hi Kiwisah,

You're very welcome to join us! Next meeting is on Tuesday & we're reading Hollywood Hellraisers. Tribes is on Tuckey Street (side of Bishop Lucey Park), facing the Quad & The Slate. Let me know if you need anymore info :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Kark

Definately sounds like a great idea, i'd love to join, want to socialise in other ways that do not involve drinking!