Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motors Meet??

• 16-06-2008 4:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭

I remember this coming up before but it caused some logistical problems.

Is it worth trying again for some weekend towards the end of July/beginning of August?

Find a place to come together some Saturday and comment on the crass, the crap and the wonderful, then go for a few beers Saturday night and head away again on Sunday?

Maybe mods could advise or appoint someone to check it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

ninty9er wrote: »
    Maybe mods could advise or appoint someone to check it out.

Consider yourself appointed :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

i'd say you'll need to appoint about 50 people most of them to stop the my car is better than yours bickering at the meet :D:D

eriously though its a good idea but i cant see it happening unless the core of the motors users only go, as in its a wide open forum where no one really knows others so anyone could turn up and cause trouble.

a private thread open to only boards members with so many posts or here so long might be an idea??

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

*Official Announcement*

Lads, you can use boards/this forum to organise whatever you like (within certain parameters of legality) but do not expect for one second that anyone here, neither moderator nor administrator, will carry only one iota of responsibility for what happens, if and when it happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

draffodx wrote: »
    i'd say you'll need to appoint about 50 people most of them to stop the my car is better than yours bickering at the meet :D:D

Im picturing fisticuffs at dawn alright ;)

fisticuffs.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

All the BMW owners will show up and kick everyone elses arse.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Im picturing fisticuffs at dawn alright ;)

fisticuffs.jpg
    The consequence of E92 rocking up with three reams of BMW emissions data?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

eriously though its a good idea but i cant see it happening unless the core of the motors users only go, as in its a wide open forum where no one really knows others so anyone could turn up and cause trouble.

a private thread open to only boards members with so many posts or here so long might be an idea??

Private invite only group opened. Regular users post here or pm to get an invite and find out what's going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

All the BMW owners will show up and kick everyone elses arse.

Haha :D

I'm definitely up for it anyway. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

I'd love to go but I'd drive ye all bananas:D. I've driven people mad about BMW and recently all the diesel fanboys about why petrol is better, which it still is in case anyone has forgotten:D.

Seriously though, I'll probably out of the country then so I probably can't go.

E92 wrote: »
    I'd love to go but I'd drive ye all bananas:D. I've driven people mad about BMW and recently all the diesel fanboys about why petrol is better, which it still is in case anyone has forgotten:D.

Seriously though, I'll probably out of the country then so I probably can't go.

Join the discussion anyway...no dates have been decided...as you'll see from my first post.

how about you add your name to this primary list to say you'd be interested in the meet and ninty9er can look you up and see if you have enough posts and enough time spent on boards to allow you to the private group converstion where time date and place will be discussed??

would this be ok ninty9er??

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    3.Draffodx

(just copy and paste)

This will also give a good idea as to how many will go so we can look at locations big enough

how about you add your name to this primary list to say you'd be interested in the meet and ninty9er can look you up and see if you have enough posts and enough time spent on boards to allow you to the private group converstion where time date and place will be discussed??

would this be ok ninty9er??

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    3.Draffodx

(just copy and paste)

This will also give a good idea as to how many will go so we can look at locations big enough

I may consult with others (i.e mods and E92 who practically lives in here these days:D) but I see no great issue with that.

***Do not expect a response***

You will either be added or not. I don't have hours on end....well...days on end to be replying to everyone who wants to join all us kool kids:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Mayshine

I'll stick myself on here - could be fun - can people also list what car they drive so we know if we are attending a bangerfest or not

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    3.Draffodx
    4.Mayshine (S2000)

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    3.Draffodx (UKDM Integra Type R)
    4.Mayshine (S2000)

would love to see the s2000!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Mayshine

would love to see the s2000!! :D

Then I hope i get invited :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'll see what everyone else is bringing before I decide what to go up with :P

Probably a 106gti though. :) (sorry if you think it's a banger :) )

ClioV6 wrote: »
    I'll see what everyone else is bringing before I decide what to go up with :P

Probably a 106gti though. :) (sorry if you think it's a banger :) )

quite the contrary, the 106 gti is a sweet motor, go kart handling, loads of power for the size of it, I'm sick I never had one, definately bring that! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    6.Limerick-man (mk4 golf:o)

Might as well go for the craic, depends on how close to home ye put it haha:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

7. E92(93 E34 520i), provisionally at least unless something turns up I shall grace ye with my presence

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    6.Limerick-man (mk4 golfredface.gif)
    6.s14driftking(podge s13 silvia)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    6.Limerick-man (mk4 golf)
    7.s14driftking(podge s13 silvia)
    8. E92(93 E34 520i), provisionally at least unless something turns up I shall grace ye with my presence
    9. Volvoboy:rolleyes: Teach ya all with me 1.6 Liam Byrne engine toyota

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭thesoulfulldude

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    8. E92(93 E34 520i), provisionally at least unless something turns up I shall grace ye with my presence
    10 thesoulfulldude (mk3 golf) id make any1 feel good about there car ;)

but anybody can turn up right? ya dont need a flashy motor right?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,685 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    11. R.O.R (Accord 2.0i VTEC Sport) - or whatever fancy BMW I can wangle ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    12. AudiChris (Miscellaneous Audi)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    13. Marcus.Aurelius Mazda 626 for now maybe Lexus if its back from being on loan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    9. Volvoboy Teach ya all with me 1.6 Liam Byrne engine toyota
    10 thesoulfulldude (mk3 golf) id make any1 feel good about there car
    11. R.O.R (Accord 2.0i VTEC Sport) - or whatever fancy BMW I can wangle
    13. Marcus.Aurelius Mazda 626 for now maybe Lexus if its back from being on loan!
    14. Alexmcred (mk5 golf GT sport)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    15. Max_Damage (The K10 if it's finished by then, otherwise TBA).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6 (106gti)
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)
    15. Max_Damage (The K10 if it's finished by then, otherwise TBA).
    16. Fey! ('98 BMW e39 520i)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Any word on a location?