Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete Accounting Solutions

• 18-06-2008 8:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks,

I was really shocked looking at ye're posts about this years accounting being really hard so, being involved in the whole accounting game myself, I had a look at the paper for myself.

I did the leaving a few years back so the predictions were rife then too (but our predictions were right:pac:)

I'm sick today so to pass the time I did the paper and I might as well share my answers with ye to cheer ye up. Really though, if ye have wrote anything they will give ye marks for it so don't give up all hope of A's yet!

All in all, yes some of the theory was a bit cat but the Q's themselves weren't as much hard but long.

I did Q1,Q6,Q7,Q8.

See Theory Page 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭jhn_noln

did u forget to put up the link???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭johnnyq

P&L Account

Sales ....................................................................729000
    Cost of Sales
    Op Stock............................................65600
    Purchases....................................485600
    Less Cl Stock.................................(79800)
    ..................................................................... (471400)
    Gross Profit.............................................................257600

Expenses
    Admin
    Salaries.............................................85000
    Rent...................................................9000
    Insurance............................................6100
    Dep: Buildings.....................................11600
    Amt: Patent........................................11000
    Selling
    Comm..................................................4200
    Depc: Vans.........................................13425
    Loss on Sale.........................................8750
    Discount...............................................1700
    ......................................................................28075 (150775)
    ........................................................................................106825
    Add B/d Recovered.............................................................1000
    Operating Profit....................................................................107825
    Add Investment Income.............................................................7800
    Less Mortgage Interest........................................................(6600)
    Retained Earnings...........................................................109025

Balance Sheet
    Int: Patent.............................................44000
    Tangibles: Buildings................................800000
    Tangibles: Van.........................................76825
    Financial: Investments.......................130000
    ........................................................................1,050,825
    Current Assets
    Cl Stock...................................79800
    Investment Inc Due......................5200
    Debtors......................40400
    Less Provision.............(1200) 39200
    ............................................... 124200

Current Liabilities
    VAT...............................4100
    PRSI..............................3900
    Creditors......................113800
    Mort. Int. Due...................6750
    Bank...............................15300.. (143850)
    Working Capital...........................................(19650)
    Total Net Assets.......................................1,031,175

Financed By:
    Creditors: Mortgage...................................................150000
    Capital & Reserves
    Capital..................................485000
    Net Profit...............................109025
    Revaluation Reserve..............326600
    Less Drawings:....................(39450)
    .........................................................................881175
    Capital Employed ...........................................1,031,175

Question 6: Cash Flow

(a) (i)
    Operating Profit...........................................169000
    Less: Interest...............................................17000
    Profit Before Tax.........................................152000
    Taxation......................................................60000
    Profit After Tax.............................................92000
    Dividends.....................................................54000
    Retained Earnings for Year..............................38000
    Retained Earnings 1/1...................................452000
    Retained Earnings 31/12................................490000

(ii) Reconciliation of Op Profit to Net Cash Inflow
    Operating Profit....................169
    Adjustments
    Depc. Charge.......................+150
    Profit on Sale of Asset.............-10
    Inc. In Stocks......................-108
    Inc. In Debtors......................-60
    Dec. In Creditors...................-33
    Net Cash Inflow from OA.........+108

Cash Flow Statement
    NCI from OA.........................+108

ROI and Servicing of Finance
    Interest Paid.........................-17

Taxation
    Tax Paid...............................-51

Capital Expenditure
    Payments to Acquire TFA..-190
    Receipts from Sale TFA......+40
    Receipts from Investment..+100..-50

Equity Dividends
    Dividends Paid........................-54
    Net Cash Outflow Before Financing.......-64

Management of Liquid Resources
    Purchase of Gov. Securities................-70
    ..........................................................-134

Financing
    Purchase of Debentures................+50
    Issue of 60K Shares at 30C premium +78...+128
    Decrease in Cash......................................-6

Reconciliation of Net Cash Flow to Movements in Net Debt
    Decrease in Cash...............................-6
    Cash for Gov Securities.......................+70
    Cash from Debentures.........................-50
    Change in Net Debt.............................+14
    Net Debt 1/1 ....................................-84
    Net Debt 31/12..................................-70

Question 7: Suspense Accounts

(i) Journal Entries

(i)
    Dr: Suspense 800
    Cr: Bank 800

(ii)
    Dr: Sales 2800
    Cr: Capital 2800

(iii)
    Dr: Debtor 600
    Cr: Bank 550
    Dr: Discount 50

Dr: Bad Debt 600
    Cr: Debtor 600

(iv)
    Dr: Suspense 8000
    Cr: Cash 8000

Dr: Vehicles 12000
    Dr: Drawings 8000
    Cr: Capital 20000

(v)
    Dr: Vehicles 260
    Dr: Repairs 160
    Dr: Drawings 100
    Cr: Suspense 520

(b)
    Suspense Account:
    Dr: Bank 800
    Dr: Cash 8000
    Cr: Vehicles 520
    Balance Cr: 8280

(c)
    Correct Net Profit
    Profit as Per Accounts...........15000
    Add: Discount Disallowed............50
    Less:Sales..............2800
    .......Bad Debt...........600
    .......Repairs.............160........(3560)
    Corrected Net Profit..............11490

(d)
    Corrected Balance Sheet
    Fixed Assets
    Premises.....................400000
    Motor Vehicles...............32260
    Furniture......................16000
    Total....................................448260

Current Assets
    Stock.................17000
    Debtors...............5600
    Cash...................(4800)

Current Liabilities
    Creditors......3920
    Bank............6950.(10870)
    Working capital.........................6930

Financed By:
    Capital/.....................463800
    Corrected Net Profit..... 11490
    Drawings....................(20100)

Question 8: Marginal Costing

The observant Slashman X has spotted a stupid mistake I made:
    Corrections
    FC = 122500
    VC = 339500
    VCPU = 24.25
    Contribution PU = 40 - 24.25 = 15.75
    All corrected now

(a) Marginal Costing Statement
    Sales P.U. 40
    VC....P.U. 24.25
    Con...P.U. 15.75

(i) BEP = 122500/15.75 = 7778 units

MOS = 14000 - 7778 = 6222 units

(ii)
    Sales - VC - FC = Profit
    34000(38) - 34000(24.25) - 122500 = P
    P = €345,000

(iii)
    Sales - VC - FC = Profit
    36n - 24.25n - 122500 = 20%(36n)
    36n - 24.25n - 7.2n = 122500
    n = 26924 units

(iv)
    Increase in SPU = +2
    => Increase in VCPU = 5%(2) = 0.1

New VCPU = 24.25 + 0.1 + 1 (Packaging) = 25.35

Sales - VC - FC = Profit
    42(19000) - 25.35(19000) - 122500 = 193,850

(v) Contribution Sales Ratio used for breakeven analysis

(b)
    (i) Using Hi-Lo
    Variable Cost of 8000 units is 48000 => VCPU = 6

=> Fixed Cost using 90% output = 114000 - 18000(6) = 6000

(ii)Using Hi-Lo
    Variable Cost of 8000 units is 42000 => VCPU = 5.25

=> Fixed Cost using 90% output = 99000 - 18000(5.25) = 4500

(iii)
    flexible Budget
    Sales 19000 units............785000......41.32 PU
    Less VC.........................631750......33.25 PU
    Contribution...................153330........8.07 PU
    Fixed Costs.....................35500
    Net Profit......................117830

Where SPU found by:
    Sales - VC - FC = Profit
    19000S - 631750 - 35500 = 15%(19000S)
    S = 41.32

Well Folks that's all I have for ye.

If ye've questions or you want a break down of where the numbers came from fire away or PM me

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

Haha
    These answers look familiar enough!( as in some )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 drunknmunky_69

aw sweet...i was really unsure about the first suspense working.i actually got it right.Thanks for the solutions

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Slashman X

How did you get 62500 for the Fixed Costs in Marginal?

I think you forgot to add the 60,000 from the factory overheads

Slashman X wrote: »
    How did you get 62500 for the Fixed Costs in Marginal?

I think you forgot to add the 60,000 from the factory overheads
    Arrrrrrrrrrrhhh

I guess we can't always get things perfect.

Fixed Costs in Marginal is of course the 62500 I said earlier and a 2 thirds of the Factory Overheads = 60000

=> Total Fixed Costs = 62500 + 60000 = 122500

=>VC = 339500...... => VCPU = 339500/14000 = 24.25

This of course has knock on effects on all the other answers but there's no way i'm doing it again (I already got my A1 ;))

Edit: Ok, though I swore I wouldn't I've corrected the answers anyway. I did it quickly so there still may be some errors left, but just ignore those, it's the method that counts ;)

BEP is 7777 or something like that I believe :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Oh thank God. I was sh**tin it.

I hope you rounded the units up to 7778 (our teacher used to correct and went nuts at a fella once for not doing this, apparently you lose a mark if you round down, so I was told anyway!)

johnnyq wrote: »
    I hope you rounded the units up to 7778 (our teacher used to correct and went nuts at a fella once for not doing this, apparently you lose a mark if you round down, so I was told anyway!)
    Of course I did ;)

I just remembered the 7777.7777 on the calculator :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

I did too!

Just a quick look at some of the theory. :eek:;)

Q2:Adv of Control Accounts
    1) Check on Accuracy
    2) More speedily check and detect errors
    3) used for incomplete records
    4) can find totals of creditors/debtors quickly.

Q3: Use of special purpose P&L
    - used to localise profit/loss making activities to enable better managment and control of different profit centres.

Q4: Contingent Liability:
    NOt recorded in the accounts but included in the notes

Regulations: Companies Acts, EU directives, Stock Market regulations, Professional Standards.

Q6: Cash Flows
    Profit vs Cash: Credit Sales/Purchases
    Withdrawing Capital
    Purchase A Fixed Asset
    Depreciation/Timing Differences

Accounting Standards board: (I'd say this one really caught ye!)
    -Part of the Financial Reporting Council with sole responsibility for setting accounting standards.
    -Issues FRS's on differnent aspects of accounting practice to enable greater reliability and comparability between accounts.
    -It has influenced the preparation of Cash Flow statements through FRS 1 (revised) which has introduced standard headings and methods for preparing such statements.

Q7: Suspense
    Commission: Correct Side of the Wrong Account: e.g. Debtor A.Allen instead of B.Allen
    Principle: Correct side of the wrond class of Account. e.g. Revenue Expenses e.g. Repairs recorded instead in an asset account.

Q8: Done already

Q9: Budgeting
    Capital Budget used for making investment decisions. Aids the planning, decision making, and controlling of such investments. e.g. whether to start a new production line

Principal Budget Factor:
    Availability of Raw Materials
    Cash.

I'd say most of the theory will be worth very little to keep the grades in line with previous years. I bet those of you who think you've lost your A1's will still find yourselves with them in August.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭nerd3000

Cheers johnnyg!

Any chance of throwing up the Published and Club 60s!?

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭muffinman

Q4: Contingent Liability:
    NOt recorded in the accounts but included in the notes

:confused: That's hardly a definition... Plus contingent liabilities can be included in the accounts if they're likely to be incurred by the firm...

muffinman wrote: »
    :confused: That's hardly a definition... Plus contingent liabilities can be included in the accounts if they're likely to be incurred by the firm...

Question states:
    State how the company would deal with a Contingent Liabilility which is possible but unlikely.
    Note I was taking a shortcut when I titled it 'contingent liability' just so that you'd get the gist.

No definition required.

There's nothing wrong with what you said but the question said unlikely. Hence it is just included in the notes. I can quote you the standard if you wish. ;)

Edit: Woo 600th Post!

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭muffinman

Question states:
    State how the company would deal with a Contingent Liabilility which is possible but unlikely.

No definition required.

There's nothing wrong with what you said but the question said unlikely. Hence it is just included in the notes. I can quote you the standard if you wish. ;)

oops sorry I stand corrected.. I didn't do that question.. ignore me ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SimpleLogic

nerd3000 wrote: »
    Cheers johnnyg!

Any chance of throwing up the Published and Club 60s!?

Right so back at work today so I did Q3,4 and 9 out quickly so there may be some mistakes, correct me by all means.

Question 3 Club Accounts

(a) Accumulated Fund
    Assets
    Clubhouse…………………………750000
    Bar Stock……………………………..7000
    Equipment…………………….…….26000
    Bar Debtors……………………..……..535
    Investment Interest Due….…..400
    Bank…………………………...……14000
    Investment……………………..……24000
    Levy Due………………………..……2500……….824435

Liabilities
    Life Membership…………………….40000
    Bar Creditors…………………….……6000
    Levy Reserve Fund……………..……50000
    Wages Due…………………………….2500
    Subs Prepaid…………………...………1600
    Loan…………………………..………30000
    Loan Interest Due………………………2600….…132700

Accumulated Fund…………………………………691735

(b) Income & Expenditure A/c
    Income
    Bar Profit……………35980
    Entrance Fees………..15000
    Catering Profit………..6000
    Annual Sponsorship…25000
    Investment Interest……1200
    Subscriptions……….194500
    Life Membership w/o....4200…………281880

Expenditure
    Sundries……………183900
    Lessons………………4600
    Loan Interest…………1000
    Depr: Equipment…....14200
    Depr: Clubhouse…….15000…………218700

Excess Income………………………….63180

Question 4: Published Accounts

Profit And Loss A/c
    Turnover…….......1990
    Cost of Sales…….(1103)
    Gross Profit……...…887
    Distribution……..(302.6)
    Admin……….…...(236.4)
    ………………….........348
    Add Op Inc……....….71
    ………………….........419
    Invest Inc………....…13
    Profit on Land……...70
    ……….......…………..502
    Less Interest…..…(24)
    Profit B4 Tax........478
    Less Tax…....………(85)
    Profit After Tax.....393
    Less Dividend.......(43)
    Retained Profit…....350
    Bal b/f 1/1……........50
    Bal c/f 31/12…...….400

Balance Sheet
    Intangible Assets…….40
    Tangible Assets…….922
    Financial Assets…….260…….....1222

Current Assets
    Stocks…………..222
    Debtors…………257
    Bank……………..77......…566

Creditors
    Trade Creditors..197
    Taxation……….155
    Other Creditors…72….(424)
    Net Current Assets………….....…132
    Total Assets – Current Liab…..1354

Creditors
    8% Debentures…………....…………..300

Capital & Reserves
    Called Up Share Capital…450
    Revaluation Reserve……..204
    P&L b/f 31/12………....……400……1054
    Capital Employed…………….....……1354

Question 9 – Budgeting

(a) Production Budget
    Super = 9880 units
    Supreme = 4110 units

(b) Raw Material Purchases
    Material X = €266130
    Material Y = €457800

(c) Cost of Manufacture
    Direct Materials = 725930
    Direct Labour = 1326520
    Variable O/H = 408160
    Fixed O/H = 204080
    Total Production Cost = 2664690

(d) Trading Account
    Sales………………….....…..3292000
    Opening Stock…135000
    Manufacture…..2664690
    ………………........2799690
    Closing Stock….(162000)
    ……………………….......…..(2637690)
    Gross Profit…………....…….654310

Again if ye've any q's just ask:)

how did you get Investment……………………..……24000
    for club account?

Grand,

There is no investment amount listed in the starting list but yet we have investment interest due there at the start, so we have to figure out what the investment is to include in the accumulated fund.

The €400 investment interest due refers to last year's interest and in total we were paid interest of €1600.

Since there is no interest outstanding at the end of the year we take it that the €1600 is the combination of the €400 at the start of the year and the interest payable in this year. i.e. €1200

If €1200 if the amount of interest we're due this year from the 5% return investment then €1200 = 5%
    => €24000 = 100%. :)

From Memory:

5% = 1600 (Interest)
    100% = 24000

Those figures are probably wrong btw

alright kewl missed that 400 due bummer...

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭armbruster

Fair play to you for doing out all these accounts. Thanks, you've put my mind at rest concerning the published accounts!
    I'm guessing your doing accounting/business in college?

• Registered Users Posts: 6 JJPW89

Question 7: Suspense Accounts

(d)
    Corrected Balance Sheet
    Fixed Assets
    Premises.....................400000
    Motor Vehicles...............32260
    Furniture......................16000
    Total....................................448260

Current Assets
    Stock.................17000
    Debtors...............5600
    Cash...................(4800)

Current Liabilities
    Creditors......3920
    Bank............6950.(10870)
    Working capital.........................6930

Financed By:
    Capital/.....................463800
    Corrected Net Profit..... 11490
    Drawings....................(20100)

I didn't think it was possible to have a negative cash figure??????:confused: