Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unacceptable age to wear stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

mollybird wrote: »
    for wearing short skirts and low cut tops i stopped when i was bout 26/27. guess maybe cause it was the time i stopped wanting to pull all the time.
    Im trying hard not to take this out of context, but it seems you think skirts and LC tops are for pulling purposes only..
    and i then found my OH.
    So dress down time? Have you considered that he might wonder where the girl he met went?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

irishbird wrote: »
    err.... i am 30+ and dont see a problem wearing tracksuits, its better then walking to the shops in my pj's

Irishbird on her way to do some shopping...

4coleenDM210207_228x413.jpg
    irishbird wrote: »
    hmmm must tell my mum to stop wearing her tracksuit too :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

not if she looks like him...;)

jimmysailleDM_468x648.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Well I am wearing a micro mini dress today and I just had a complement from my hubby. I dont wear them as often because I feel the cold more, not because of my age. I dont tend to wear low cut tops but then again I never did because I am big on top. Oh, I agree with Abigale - my hubby loves me in minis.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

milod wrote: »
    this is true, for example...

1501219532_fdfe167391.jpg
    I saw a woman in town today with fake tan and blech blonde hair and make up caked on with neon pink eye shadow.she was wearing a white light jacket a yellow top under neath neon pink jeans with yellow leg warmers andwhite runners.its a bit fairy on acid but its what me or my friends would wear but this woan looked to be in her late 30 if not 40's and it looked ridiculos!

So? So long as the people wearing the clothes are happy about what they are wearing, so what?

jeez, you lot are the fashion police. I'd much prefer to have people wear what they want, what THEY like and are comfortable in that the Strict Conventional Uniform of Fashion....

Men's clothes are generally made better, of better materials, are practical (nobody makes them wear high heels!) and thus don't change fashion as much so they are ecological nor do they 'need' so many so they're not exploiting chinese factory workers either.

Stop being so judgemental! Jeez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

You're missing the point. The question was, what age should you stop wearing certain clothes - as in, what age do certain styles not look good (the "mutton dressed as lamb" phrase was used). The response many of us gave was, there's no particular age - a style can look good or bad no matter what age you are.

Now I don't think the girl in that picture with her stomach hanging out looks good, but I'm not saying she shouldn't wear those clothes.

If she wants to, then that's her business. However she's an example of how it doesn't matter how young you are - certain styles won't look good on you if they don't suit your shape. And I'm not saying that means you have to be slim (because no doubt someone will accuse me of that), tops designed for those with cleavage don't look good on skinny girls, certain jeans don't look good hanging off non-assed girls etc...

But yeah, people have the right to wear whatever they like, no matter how it looks. However if they want an opinion on it and it doesn't look good to those they ask, well they can't get offended...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Dudess wrote: »
    At 30, I really don't look much different to when I was 23. A lot of the "ageing" we claim to experience is in our heads simply due to awareness of what age we are.
    quote]

Why are you so paranoid about ageing? Because that's really what comes across from your posts. Why is it something to be pleased about that as a thirty year old, you look similar to what you were at 23? :confused: Seriously, it's only seven years what were you expecting? Arthritis?
    People need to get over this ageing anxiety. I heard worrying causes wrinkles :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Speaking as a woman over 40, it's amazing but as you get older you worry less about what anyone thinks and you tend to find your own style that suits you. It's very liberating :)
    I do agree that revealing clothes don't look as well on older women, but who are we to say what someone should wear?
    Personally I love wearing combats and I hope to wear them well into my 80s :D

This debate only proves that women don't dress for men, or themselves - they dress for other women ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Didnt realise that this would be such a controversial post to be honest!!

I posted the original post because Ive always thought (before this year, changed my mind now) that I was too old to wear short skirts and stuff. But I think its more of my personal circumstances rather than my age..and I was thinking of the Liz McDonald look (have you never seen her with her pink fluffy stuff on?!) when I was thinking of the age think..I would class her as dressing too young for her age (so shoot me!).

Why are you so paranoid about ageing?
    I'm not at all - the opposite in fact. I just get annoyed when women are judged according to their age rather than the people they are.
    Why is it something to be pleased about that as a thirty year old, you look similar to what you were at 23? :confused: Seriously, it's only seven years what were you expecting? Arthritis?
    I agree very much with your sentiments. I was just saying that because there are people on this thread who assume a woman is gonna look "washed up" at 30 and I was making the point that it's not true.
    People need to get over this ageing anxiety. I heard worrying causes wrinkles :p
    Absolutely :) It's not the ageing that bothers me, it's the attitudes to it.
    LadyE wrote: »
    I posted the original post because Ive always thought (before this year, changed my mind now) that I was too old to wear short skirts and stuff. But I think its more of my personal circumstances rather than my age..and I was thinking of the Liz McDonald look (have you never seen her with her pink fluffy stuff on?!) when I was thinking of the age think..I would class her as dressing too young for her age (so shoot me!).
    I could be mixing you up with someone else but aren't you like in your early 20s or something? :eek:
    Liz McDonald's dress sense is tacky, not necessarily too young. I don't think it would look good on a female of any age. That said, she has a great figure and great legs - no harm in showing them off... but it would look better if done more tastefully. Why cover them up just because of her age?
    Edit: The actress who plays her is 51 - a long, long way off the ages of most people here, so why compare ourselves to her?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,460 ✭✭✭✭fits

I thought you were all taking about Liz McDonnell, the politician, for a while there.

I was confused.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

I would have to agree with the woman are so bloody judgement camp. Wear what you want, you are not hurting anyone and if you feel comfortable and confident.. fuck the rest of them. We base far too much on outward appearance these days. No wonder kids are wearing bra tops and mini shirts. Jesus my neighbours kid wore a thong for her communion. Trying to grow up far too quickly... sorry a bit off point!

But to reiterate, if you are happy and comfortable in what you are wear, then thats what counts.

How do you know she wore a thong?

Her mother told me she went and bought one!

So long as the people wearing the clothes are happy about what they are wearing, so what?
    jeez, you lot are the fashion police.

I think any woman can wear skirts to whatever age she feels comfortable in.

But you cant say that outfit looked good on the girl in that picture. If it doesnt fit, then dont bloody wear it I say. If there is droopage over any of your clothes, buy a bigger size. And that goes for skirts, jeans, tops, underwear, whatever.

Im sure there are wonderful clothes that woman could wear that are pretty, feminine and flattering for her shape. But no, she decided to wear possibly the worst clothes for her body shape.

But she might be happy and what harm is she doing to anyone else?

Yeah, it may look awful but if she wants to wear it, that's her choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

what about public decency and people's retinal health? people are entitled to wear whatever they wish but not if it puts me off my food.

Jules and Dudess, I get your point about being happy in what you wear, and I'd be inclined to agree with you.

But if you set aside for a second how it actually looks; Firstly Im going to guess that she either has no bra or a badly fitted bra on. There is no support for her so far as I can see. Secondly that top looks tight around her upper arms. Thirdly, I'll wager that the cropped trousers are digging into her hips and waist. It is an extremely ill-fitted outfit, and I know it would make me feel awful.

Jules wrote: »
    Her mother told me she went and bought one!

I don't know where to start. The fact that there are thongs available out there for 7-8 year olds or the fact that her mother actually bought her one. :confused: Her mother should be choked with the feckin thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

I would have to agree with the woman are so bloody judgement camp. Wear what you want, you are not hurting anyone and if you feel comfortable and confident.. fuck the rest of them. We base far too much on outward appearance these days. No wonder kids are wearing bra tops and mini shirts. Jesus my neighbours kid wore a thong for her communion. Trying to grow up far too quickly... sorry a bit off point!

But to reiterate, if you are happy and comfortable in what you are wear, then thats what counts.

I don't give a damn if someone or everyone says I'm being judgmental but a kid wearing a thong is just wrong. There are no two ways about it, a kid in a thong is wrong.

Thongs are just so unhealthy why on earth would put a kid in one.
    Especially for a communion dress.

I agree with you, personally thongs are just wrong full stop. But they make them for kids of that age. It is jsut plain wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

WindSock wrote: »
    Irishbird on her way to do some shopping...

4coleenDM210207_228x413.jpg

Only mistake I feel that lady made is in the footwear, bobble and excessive fur on the outside is just begging to get caught in an escalator or something, and white footwear would be a bad idea IMO for the simple fact it'll look dirty by the time you get 200m out your door. Otherwise I see nothing wrong with her appearance; the clothes appear to fit, nothing on show that would leave folks feeling queezy & material looks like it'd be reasonably warm while the top has a zip to allow easy removal should she be too warm.
    Guess I'm just too into practicalities as opposed to the impractical clothing that tends to be spawned by the catwalk fashion trends.
    Jesus my neighbours kid wore a thong for her communion. Trying to grow up far too quickly... sorry a bit off point!
    I find it a bit more worrying that anyone other than the child and her mum would know what underwear she was wearing than the exact nature of the underwear. Not really something the mother should be going around telling everyone.:confused:
    Abigayle wrote: »
    Jules and Dudess, I get your point about being happy in what you wear, and I'd be inclined to agree with you.

But if you set aside for a second how it actually looks; Firstly Im going to guess that she either has no bra or a badly fitted bra on. There is no support for her so far as I can see. Secondly that top looks tight around her upper arms. Thirdly, I'll wager that the cropped trousers are digging into her hips and waist. It is an extremely ill-fitted outfit, and I know it would make me feel awful.

If she wants to dress like that fair enough, we can always just look the other way. She does clearly however forfeit any right to expect people to listen to any complaint she may make regarding clothing being uncomfortable or difficult to find in her size. Also she needs to accept that not only is she a walking bullseye for anyone who might wish to make ridicule of others but she's got a siren and flashing lights going too to make damned sure they see her so she may as well accept that as soon as she sets foot outside the door like that she will be having taunts and jeers shouted at her until the time she steps back inside her door. How can putting up with that make you feel good? Surely she would feel better day-to-day were she not quite so ridiculously dressed?

farohar wrote: »
    If she wants to dress like that fair enough, we can always just look the other way. She does clearly however forfeit any right to expect people to listen to any complaint she may make regarding clothing being uncomfortable or difficult to find in her size. Also she needs to accept that not only is she a walking bullseye for anyone who might wish to make ridicule of others but she's got a siren and flashing lights going too to make damned sure they see her so she may as well accept that as soon as she sets foot outside the door like that she will be having taunts and jeers shouted at her until the time she steps back inside her door. How can putting up with that make you feel good? Surely she would feel better day-to-day were she not quite so ridiculously dressed?

While agree with what you've said, it clearly isnt favoured by some posters. So thats fine, Im happy to agree to differ.

That set aside, my other angle on it is, how the hell can she feel comfortable like that. Everything she is wearing must be digging into her somewhere, and the lack of bra / well fitted bra cannot be feel particularly nice either.

I think the only comfortable choice she made for herself when she got out of bed that morning were here foot-wear tbh.

farohar wrote: »
    I find it a bit more worrying that anyone other than the child and her mum would know what underwear she was wearing than the exact nature of the underwear. Not really something the mother should be going around telling everyone.:confused:

In all fairness, we are very close and well they are my extended family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Abigayle wrote: »
    and the lack of bra / well fitted bra cannot be feel particularly nice either.

I can't believe women have got to the stage where they believ bra's are comfortable and 'feel nice'!I love taking mine of at the end of the day,the instrument of toture itself!
    No bra's ftw!!

Pennys is the worst for provocative kids clothing.They have thongs with really sexist slogans emblazoned on them in the kiddies pants section. But I guess the kids just wanna dress like the pussycat dolls.Im glad I grew up in the spice girls era.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Frankly I'm glad I grew up in the Victorian era. :) Seriously though, I think the over sexualisation of young girls is getting to a crazy point in some quarters. The subtext of that's what it is to be a woman, or at least it's a huge part of it, is IMHO wrong. Just plain wrong. OK consciously the child may not get that, but I suspect some of that is getting through. Maybe I'm wrong.

If you saw an 8 year old boy with a tee shirt that said "porn star" most would rightfully flip out, so why is it acceptable to so many to have an 8 year old girl with a tee shirt that says "sexy girl"? I've actually seen that. I've never been so tempted to go over to complete strangers and go "WTF where you thinking?"

That to me is more where the debate over an unacceptable age to wear stuff should lay. Not because some woman in her 40's with good legs(or not indeed) decides to wear a skirt. Thongs for children. Jesus.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

I must agree with Wibbs here - I can have a laugh at the whole "mutton dressed as lamb" lark as it involves people making their own, perhaps ill-judged, wardrobe decisions. At the end of the day, it makes my walk along Thomas Street from work quite amusing...

However, I can't laugh at the sexualisation of children - it's just plain wrong. Paedophiles need no encouragement, and there's an age when children start to ask questions - those questions don't need to be prompted by suggestive T-shirt logos and inappropriate attention from strangers.

panda100 wrote: »
    I can't believe women have got to the stage where they believ bra's are comfortable and 'feel nice'!I love taking mine of at the end of the day,the instrument of toture itself!
    No bra's ftw!!

You are wearing the wrong size then. A bra should be comfortable and supportive. When you are wearing the correct size, you shouldn't really feel it. Bras should not be instruments of torture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭badolepuddytat

No bra's ftw!!
    +1 to Abigayle, bra's are supposed to be supportive and flattering.
    Pennys is the worst for provocative kids clothing.They have thongs with really sexist slogans emblazoned on them in the kiddies pants section. But I guess the kids just wanna dress like the pussycat dolls.Im glad I grew up in the spice girls era.
    :eek: Never bought anything in the kids section of penneys, actually shocked that somewhere so mainstream would sell that sort of trash.