Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your favourite pub in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

The Woolshed on parnell st ftw. love the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭HAPPYGIRL

MacCarthys bar, Castletownbere, West Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

fonpokno wrote: »
    The Woolshed on parnell st ftw. love the place.

Good craic to be had in there alright! One of my mates is Filipino' and we ended up there one night while the kareoke thing was on, he ended up singin a few Bob Marley tunes and stuff like that! He didnt live it down too easy though!

And yes! I'm aware Bob Marley IS NOT Filipino! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

HAPPYGIRL wrote: »
    MacCarthys bar, Castletownbere, West Cork.

Ah yes, what a great pub.....God I'd love to head to West Cork this weekend :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Ah yes, what a great pub.....God I'd love to head to West Cork this weekend :(
    I think they finally have buses going that way:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I think they finally have buses going that way:)

No hence the sad smiley face, won't be able to make it down for another few weekends yet. Ah Glandore, the drinking village with a fishing problem :D

Ha true i think thats the story for the whole area, i used to go down Cape Clear island some laugh there. So whats stopping the buses for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Stephen90 wrote: »
    Good craic to be had in there alright! One of my mates is Filipino' and we ended up there one night while the kareoke thing was on, he ended up singin a few Bob Marley tunes and stuff like that! He didnt live it down too easy though!

And yes! I'm aware Bob Marley IS NOT Filipino! :D

LOVE the karaoke in that place. Best thursdays ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Can't beat Peter's Pub.

Also,
    Slattery's, Rathmines.
    The Long Hall, George's St.
    Beggar's Bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The Carpenter in D15 for a few quiet pints of the black stuff with the boys on a Friday night.

Myos in Castleknock for drunken Christmas Eve shenanigans.

Honourable mention to my college watering hole - The Headline in D8. Good times were had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Honourable mention to my college watering hole - The Headline in D8. Good times were had.

God love that place:D The memories!

Lecturers and students drinking away especially on mondays!

Fave pub; i do like the woolshed ofcourse, Rody Bolands(Rathmines)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

used to be a great aul Pub in Waterford full of aulfellas down near Dooleys,

another favourite of mine was O'connors in Celbridge ( the small front bar)

and Colfers Bar carraig on Bannow co. Wexford, great spot and the local when iI'm home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Favourite pub would probably be Geoff's in Waterford. Big mix of people in there. Looks and feels like a real pub. Good pints too.

In college was The Scholars in UL, until they went and closed down, and left us stuck with the mob in The Stables :mad:

used to be a great aul Pub in Waterford full of aulfellas down near Dooleys,

Was that the keg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

It would have to Mrs O'Connells up on Skryne hill in Meath for the best pint of Guinness in the country, it was acctualy on the Christmas Guinness add on the tele.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭JethroC

Porterhouse North...fantastic beer garen with flat screen TVs, great beers and great cocktails. On a more quieter and personal note...The Lighthouse (or Pierhouse it may have been called) in Howth...was up the little hill just past where the St Lawrence Hotel was, near the Garda Station. Fantastic little pub...proper open fire in the winter, great pints and some really good trad sessions there. Sadly though it's been knocked to make way for apartments :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

Like I said in the other post, it's gotta be Taffes bar in Galway. Great Guiness, great music, great trad session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

My fav Dublin city centre pub has gotta be The Castle Lounge (Grogans)..one of the best pints of Guinness in Dublin..., some funky art also..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

JJ Smyths in Dub for the music.

Byrnes Pub, Kilcoole for the Erdinger ;)

Harbour Bar, Bray for the murkyness and random crap hanging on the walls.

Nash's pub, thomas st, for the pub grub. Yum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

Colfers Bar carraig on Bannow co. Wexford, great spot and the local when iI'm home

Great spot!! Have played music down there a lot with an old band I was with last year. Great mix of ages down there too. And that marquee is deadly for parties and stuff, always enjoyed playing in it! :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Haven't been there in a long time so it could have changed as the owner was no spring chicken, but Ashe's in Dingle is a great spot.

In Dublin, Mulligan's, Kehoe's and the Dawson Lounge (the original Ron Black's, not that godawful abomination that now bears the name) get my vote.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Daddio wrote: »

Harbour Bar, Bray for the murkyness and random crap hanging on the walls.

Agreed Smells of Piss too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 marie-clare

The Black Swan in Annacotty, Co. Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

In Dublin, Mulligan's, Kehoe's and the Dawson Lounge (the original Ron Black's, not that godawful abomination that now bears the name) get my vote.

Serious respect.

Myself, it's got to be Mulligans.
    O' Donoghues is well past its sell-by date, but still has some charm on a quiet day. Out in the suburbs, Downeys in Ballyfermot is a proper pub.

Hells Kitchen in Roscommon is an amazing pub, anyone who's bee there will know that. It's a pub owned by a railway enthusiast, who's actually got a TRAIN in the pub. A full sized one. You couldn't make that up.

Peader O' Donnells in Derry is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Xavi6 wrote: »
    The Carpenter in D15 for a few quiet pints of the black stuff with the boys on a Friday night.

My local to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 nolantipp

the rising sun pub in rearcross tipperary anything goes

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

I quite like the Bernard Shaw on Sth Richmond St.

Although I'd imagine most people on here would hate it due to the large numbers of scenesters who frequent it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭nicolaonfire

biko wrote: »
    Blue Note

All the pubs in Galway are my favourite though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Drift Inn , Buncrana :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Blue 84

Like I said in the other post, it's gotta be Taffes bar in Galway. Great Guiness, great music, great trad session.

+1.

Although it'll be a bitch all next week with the crowd in after the races.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Downses (Waterford) is the best pub in the country by some distance.

followed by the the porterhouse (dublin) and the bierhaus (cork although i've only been there once, but I love it already my new local)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Anyone else like Pravda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 findirishpubs

Looking to set up a website with the best pubs in ireland, anybody fancy including there top ten, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Fallons, The Capstan Bar, on the Coombe... a relic of auld Dublin decency!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

Probably The Roost in Maynooth. Massive pub and loads of room so never too packed even when it is packed but more for the memories (or lack of) in college more than anything else, good times.

Some of the bar staff are not so nice though...

I find the staff ok now. There's a few decent lads in there and I don't expect the
    height of friendliness given the huge trade they do but
    they make an effort when it's quiet. Like it.
    rossie1977 wrote: »
    seans bar athlone, confirmed by guinness http://www.seansbar.ie/oldestPub.php

This is my favourite. I wouldn't bother going to Athlone only for this place
    (or possibly for The Shack). As said, it is the oldest in Europe and has
    sawdust all over the bar floor, which is dark and has loadsa 'old stuff'.

The back (smoking) part is right beside the river and the stout is mighty :pac:

Up the other end of the town, The Shack is hoppin' full of young people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Looking to set up a website with the best pubs in ireland, anybody fancy including there top ten, thanks
    I think it may have been done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭turf

danny byrnes, mullingar

best pub in ireland imo... im from monaghan and live in galway so ive only been there bout 10 times but i love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The Hibernia Inn, Bray.

Great view, friendly staff, cheap(ish) drink, always sports on the telly, right next door to the Carlisle, the beach and the DART. It's never too busy and it's always good for a quiet pint.

The Hibernia Inn, Bray.

Think I may well have had a pint in there before we played the Wanderers this year.....

if it's the right pub, lovely place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Think I may well have had a pint in there before we played the Wanderers this year.....

if it's the right pub, lovely place!
    It's just across the DART tracks as you leave the Carlisle.

Yep, that'd be the one then :cool:

Always a nice day out, 'Bray Away'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Lemon

Hole in the Wall, Blackhorse Avenue, Dublin 7. Great spot, my local. Great selection of beers, wine shop halfway through pub, lovely bar staff, delicious food and on the doorstep of the Phoenix Park....I couldn't ask for more :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Either Ryans or Vaughans in Roundstone, Connemara.

In Dublin it's either the Castle in Rathfarnham or else the Porterhouse in Temple Bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Either the "Living Room" or the "King's Head" in Galway.

Recently been converted to the "Sober Lane" in Cork though.