Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2008 XI + Subs + Manager

• 25-06-2008 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

So, go on then, who is in the team of the tournament, only three games left.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Mildly important three games though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Id like nominate the traitor that is Hiddink for the manager what he is doing with Russia is very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Villa--Padolski

Arsharvin
    Deco
    Sneider

Senna

Zhirkov---Chileni----Puyol
    Lahm

Castillas

SUBS:
    Buffon
    Silva
    Ribery
    Ballack
    Xavi
    Modric
    Torres
    Van Nistelrooy

Manager: Hiddink

im having trouble thinking of defensive players that have impressed me. Im missing some obvious ones Id say, anyone help me out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Tusky wrote: »

Villa--Padolski

Arsharvin
    Deco
    Sneider

Senna

Zhirkov---Carvaliho----Puyol
    Lahm

Castillas

SUBS:
    Buffon
    Silva
    Ribery
    Ballack
    Xavi
    Modric
    Torres
    Van Nistelrooy

im having trouble thinking of defensive players that have impressed me. Im missing some obvious ones Id say, anyone help me out ? Carvaliho wasnt amazing but I have him in there because I'm drawing a blank.
    I can't think of one team who has been particularly impressive defensively in this tournament

Saying that Chiellini did great when he came in for Italy

I can't think of one team who has been particularly impressive defensively in this tournament

Saying that Chiellini did great when he came in for Italy

Puyol has been surprisingly solid, hence his inclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Indeed, no defence has been outstanding.

Podolski--R V Nistlerooy

Arsharvin
    Sneider

Zhirkov
    ?Bouhlarouz?

Boruc

Ill get back to yis on the grey areas there :)

Manager, who else but Hiddink.

Having said that Fatih Terim clearly has some powers of divine inspiration.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Casillas

Anyukov--Chiellini---Pepe--Zhirkov

Ballack

Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Podolski

Villa
    Pavyluchenko

Manager- Hiddink

Subs :
    Buffon
    Rat
    Puyol
    Panucci
    Modric
    Robben
    Nistelrooy
    Van Bronkhorst
    Srna

shane86 wrote: »
    Indeed, no defence has been outstanding.

Podolski--R V Nistlerooy

Arsharvin
    Sneider

Zhirkov
    ?Bouhlarouz?

Boruc

Ill get back to yis on the grey areas there :)

Manager, who else but Hiddink.

Having said that Fatih Terim clearly has some powers of divine inspiration.

How can you not include the tournament top scorer ? :)
    Smegball wrote: »

Casillas

Anyukov--Chiellini---Pepe--Zhirkov

Ballack

Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Podolski

Villa
    Pavyluchenko

Manager- Hiddink

Subs :
    Buffon
    Rat
    Puyol
    Panucci
    Modric
    Robben
    Nistelrooy
    Van Bronkhorst
    Srna

Not a defensive midfielder in sight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Casillas
    Lahm - Puyol - Mertsecker - Zhirkov
    Senna - Aurelio
    --- Sneijder - Ballack - V. d. Vaart
    Pavyluchenko

Subs:

Buffon
    Akinfeev
    Metzelder
    Van Bronckhorst
    Panucci
    Altintop
    Niko Kovac
    Modric
    Srna
    Podolski
    Van Nistelrooy
    Villa

Discuss...

1 Van Der Sar
    2 Zhirkov
    6 Chiellini
    5 Panucci
    3 Lahm
    4 Senna
    7 Ballack
    8 Sneijder
    10 Arshavin
    11 Podolski
    9 Villa

12 Boruc
    13 Van Bronckhurst
    14 Puyol
    15 Inler
    16 Deco
    17 Schweinsteiger
    18 Pavlyuchenko

Manager: Terim

SofaK wrote: »

Casillas
    Senna - Aurelio
    Pavyluchenko

Subs:

Buffon
    Akinfeev
    Metzelder
    Van Bronckhorst
    Panucci
    Altintop
    Niko Kovac
    Modric
    Srna
    Podolski
    Van Nistelrooy
    Nihat

Discuss...

Villa (top scorer in the tournament) doesnt even make your bench.:rolleyes:

Has Pavyluchenko really been the most impressive striker in the tournament ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Van Zuylen wrote: »
    Id like nominate the traitor that is Hiddink for the manager what he is doing with Russia is very good.
    Traitor?! He just needed a job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

kmart6 wrote: »
    Traitor?! He just needed a job!
    Traitor in Dutch eyes I am afraid, you can call us a tad bitter but what can you do.

Villa (top scorer in the tournament) doesnt even make your bench.:rolleyes:

Has Pavyluchenko really been the most impressive striker in the tournament ?!
    :(

Yep, Pavyluchenko has impressed me most as i think his contribution to the team has been the greater so far.

Re: Villa. Yeh, he should prob make my bench. Who do you think I should drop out of Podolski, Nistelrooy, Nihat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Van Zuylen wrote: »
    Traitor in Dutch eyes I am afraid, you can call us a tad bitter but what can you do.
    Given him a job?

:(

Yep, Pavyluchenko has impressed me most as i think his contribution to the team has been the greater so far.

Re: Villa. Yeh, he should prob make my bench. Who do you think I should drop out of Podolski, Nistelrooy, Nihat?

I think he should be in your first team as he has scored 4 goals in 4 games and always looks lively and dangerous...Id drop Nihat out of them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Casillas
    Senna - Aurelio
    Pavyluchenko

Subs:

Buffon
    Akinfeev
    Metzelder
    Van Bronckhorst
    Panucci
    Altintop
    Niko Kovac
    Modric
    Srna
    Podolski
    Van Nistelrooy
    Nihat

Discuss...

No Villa, No Arshavin, No chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

How has no one mentioned Arda from Turkey? He's been one of the stars of the tournament for me.

My team would be...

Boruc

Lahm----Chiellini----Simunic----Pranjić

Ballack

Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Arda---

Villa
    Pavster

Subs:

Buffon
    Schweinsteiger
    Van Nistelrooy
    Fabregas
    Robben
    Pepe
    Kolodin
    Podolski

Manager: Guus Hiddink

SofaKing - I also noticed that as well as leaving out Vill & Arsehavin, you have VDV in your team. He was anonymous in euro08 in my opinion. Robben, Sneider, Van Persie, Kuyt & Horseface all did more for Holland than him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

From what I've seen (Didn't get a chance to see Russia for various reasons so far. They always clashed with a night out)

Casillas

--Pannuci---Chiellini----Boulharouz

Senna

Pirlo
    Ballack

Podolski
    Arda

Villa
    Ibrahimovic----

Manager- Slaven Bilic

Sneijder probably should have made my team but I only him twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

How has no one mentioned Arda from Turkey? He's been one of the stars of the tournament for me.

My team would be...

Boruc

Lahm----Chiellini----Simunic----Pranjić

Ballack

Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Arda---

Villa
    Pavster

Subs:

Buffon
    Schweinsteiger
    Van Nistelrooy
    Fabregas
    Robben
    Pepe
    Kolodin
    Podolski

Manager: Guus Hiddink

That would be my team to a T.

SofaKing - I also noticed that as well as leaving out Vill & Arsehavin, you have VDV in your team. He was anonymous in euro08 in my opinion. Robben, Sneider, Van Persie, Kuyt & Horseface all did more for Holland than him.
    We'll have to agree to disagree on that one then I think. I thought his passing and linkup play was brilliant in the group games (I did not see the quarter-final, so i figure he was very poor then?) and was a key component of the Holland attack. Him and esp. Sneijder made that team tick.
    No Villa, No Arshavin, No chance
    Re: Arshavin. Great player no doubt. Only 2 games (albeit very good games) so far. Let's see if he can do the same in a third tomorrow.

--

No worries, folks, I'll amend my squad to have Villa :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Boruc

Ramos----Chiellini----Puyol----Lahm

Senna

Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Arda---

Villa
    Van Nistleroy

here fishy fishy fishy

Ramos :eek: he has been shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,850 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Mr Alan wrote: »

Boruc

Ramos----Chiellini----Puyol----Lahm

Ramos - sh!te all tourney
    Chiellini - one decent game
    Puyol - poor against Italy. Donkey imo and overratted
    Lahm - great on the ball and goin foward, but did you see the Croatia or tonights game? Defensively he's been average. Got skint twice tonight and caught out of position a fews times

Hard to pick a defence though I'll admit

Id go with

Boruc
    Boularhouz
    Simunic
    Kovac
    Arkintop

Senna
    Snjieder
    Ballack
    Arshavin

Villa
    Pavlechenko

Spelling is awful I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

A team of Villa's and Arshavin's would do me. =P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Boruc

Lahm
    Pranjic
    Chiellini
    Zhirkov

Senna

Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Podolski

Pavluychenko
    Villa

Manager - Hiddink

Subs:
    Casillas
    Arda
    Ivanschitz
    Pepe
    Ballack
    Nihat

Podolski gets the left sided spot due to his ability to score goals from there, like in the first game against Poland. He impressed me quite a lot there and could push on to make the system a 4-3-3 with Sneijder tucking infield with Arshavin and Senna holding. That would also give Lahm and Zhirkov a licence to bomb forward like they always do.

Ivanschitz gets a place on the bench simply because he's quality and impressed me in all of Austria's games, despite the shite he had playing around him.

Really surprised noone else has Deco in their team. I thought he was fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Arshavin
    Arshavin
    Arshavin
    Arshavin
    Arshavin
    Arshavin

Arshavin
    Arshavin
    Arshavin
    Arshavin
    Arshavin

In regards to Ramos-

wat part of.....
    here fishy fishy fishy

didnt you get?

I do think Puyol has had a decent tournament though.

Seriously is every thread/conversation a joke to you? Do you havta act the gobsh!te in everysingle one?

Good call. He's played some his best stuff this time around

I have him on my bench, and I agree. He was Portugal's best player. The jizz-fest over Ronaldo after the win against the Czechs was ridiculous, when Deco was better.

Trilla wrote: »
    Seriously is every thread/conversation a joke to you? Do you havta act the gobsh!te in everysingle one?

presume this is directed at me?
    In that case, this is boards.ie, lets not take it too seriously.

couldnt think of a right back who has been decent, so i put in Ramos. Pretty much no defender except Chiellini has looked decent this tournament imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Internet.

Srs Bsns.

DesF wrote: »
    Internet.

Srs Bsns.
    serious.jpg

44554455normal_Internet-SeriousBusiness.jpg

ah you know what I mean Des...not serious but not stirring and takin the mickey every 2nd or 3rd post! Anyway nuf of that, I thought that Croatian defenders were decent enough in this tourney...and Ceilini only really had once decent game really.

Thats why imo its been entertaining...no really outstanding defensive displays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Coach: Slavan Bilic

Casillas
    Lahm
    Puyol
    Van Bronckhorst
    Senna

Fabregas
    Ballack
    Schweinsteiger ----Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Villa

Subs:
    Buffon

Chiellini
    Ramos
    Pranjic

Altintop
    Van der Vaart

Torres
    Larsson

haha I give up. Ramos and Puyol making squads all over the place. ffs

Larrson? for real?

I thought Chiellini was utterly fantastic against Spain and was very good whenever else he was called upon. Arshavin is making teams based on 2 games so I don't think Chiellini's inclusion is unwarranted either.

Anyone who reads my posts regularly will know I'm no fan of Puyol but in my opinion he has been pretty good in this tournament - the only Spanish defender with a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

haha I give up. Ramos and Puyol making squads all over the place. ffs

I though Puyol was brilliant against Italy. The only time Toni had a chance was when Marchena lost him for a header in the first half.
    His covering for that idiot Ramos was top class Centre Back play. He also won Man of the Match.

BTW I never rated him before this tournament but I would definately have him in my team of the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

I do think Puyol has had a decent tournament though.

Agreed, especially seeing as basically everyone on the planet has been having a laugh fest at how bad Spains defense is.. How many goals have they actually conceded, 3?

My team;

Manager: Domenech

Cech

--Ramos
    Metzelder---Mertesacker----Abidal---

Ambrosini
    Rolfes
    Gatusso

Harnik
    Toni
    Streller

Don't need subs with this team tbh... Maybe Volkan, if we ever need someone to hot headedly lash out at the opposition despite us having the game in the bag!

That team will strike fear into the hearts of any opposition... :pac:

We'll have to agree to disagree, strongly. Puyol hasn't been "fantastic" in any game. Where did he get man of the match? Fabregas got it on BBC, Casillas got it off the offical Uefa one (Puyol won none of these btw), actually its Casillas everywhere else as far as I see.

I wouldnt mind MOM awards much cas Lahm got the Uefa one last night and he was caught out a few times at the back.

Oh and if he was so fantastic in the Italian game, do a CTRL F "Puyol" on this website. Im not nitpicking just trying to make a point. Cant really read into that a great deal but it makes the point none the less that he wasnt fantastic.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/euro2008/article-1028464/Spain-vs-Italy-Follow-action-Vienna-here.html

2134: Spain make hard work of clearing a Toni punt, with Puyol passing it across the area. But they go up the field and Fabregas' pass finds Villa in the area

2106: Booking for Silva. Puyol makes a poor clearance - his perm filling in the air - and the ball loops to Alberto Aquilani, who fires meekly wide from distance.

Okay maybe nitpicking slightly I know... but I also remember him running into "guess who" Ramos when a cross came in only for Toni to "guess what" fuuck up again. I watched that whole game and I thought he played poor. Not as bad as Ramos I'll admit but he was no where near "fantastic".
    Arshavin is making teams based on 2 games
    I'm no fan of Puyol but in my opinion he has been pretty good in this tournament - the only Spanish defender with a clue.

Puyol has only played 2 full games, and 20 mins of another, so he's played more or less the same amount as Arshavin, who is having by far a better tournament then Puyol. Again, imo...
    I don't think Arshavin would be much use at centre-back, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

We'll have to agree to disagree, strongly. Puyol hasn't been "fantastic" in any game. Where did he get man of the match? Fabregas got it on BBC, Casillas got it off the offical Uefa one (Puyol won none of these btw), actually its Casillas everywhere else as far as I see.

I wouldnt mind MOM awards much cas Lahm got the Uefa one last night and he was caught out a few times at the back.

Oh and if he was so fantastic in the Italian game, do a CTRL F "Puyol" on this website. Im not nitpicking just trying to make a point. Cant really read into that a great deal but it makes the point none the less that he wasnt fantastic.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/euro2008/article-1028464/Spain-vs-Italy-Follow-action-Vienna-here.html

2134: Spain make hard work of clearing a Toni punt, with Puyol passing it across the area. But they go up the field and Fabregas' pass finds Villa in the area

2106: Booking for Silva. Puyol makes a poor clearance - his perm filling in the air - and the ball loops to Alberto Aquilani, who fires meekly wide from distance.

Okay maybe nitpicking slightly I know... but I also remember him running into "guess who" Ramos when a cross came in only for Toni to "guess what" fuuck up again. I watched that whole game and I thought he played poor. Not as bad as Ramos I'll admit but he was no where near "fantastic".

He got man of the match at the game i'm pretty sure. I was particularly watching him and Chelini cause I have pretty much always played Centre Back and I tend to focus on those in that position when i'm at a game.

I don't really have time to go through the website looking at the time updates cause i'm busy at work. But Toni never got a sniff of a chance from him and he made some really good tackles and interceptions. Like I said, I was watching him pretty closely and he got himself into good defensive positions and looked like he could read a game very well. Also surprised that he was pacier than i expected.

And as well as all that, the g-friend thought he was really good even though she always hated him cause of his stupid hair. So basically, case closed. :cool: ;)

ibh wrote: »
    And as well as all that, the g-friend thought he was really good even though she always hated him cause of his stupid hair. So basically, case closed. :cool: ;)

you win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tomred1

Boroc

Anyukov----Chelini----Mertesacker---Lahm

Senna

Schweinsteiger----Arshavin--Altıntop---Podilski

Villa

Manager:Hiddink

Subs:
    Deco
    Casilles
    Poyul
    Pavlyuchenko
    Sneijder
    Kovac
    Fabregas

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Frisbee wrote: »
    Coach: Slavan Bilic

Casillas
    Lahm
    Puyol
    Van Bronckhorst
    Senna

Fabregas
    Ballack
    Schweinsteiger ----Sneijder
    Arshavin
    Villa

Subs:
    Buffon

Chiellini
    Ramos
    Pranjic

Altintop
    Van der Vaart

Torres
    Larsson

Why would you pick the Croatian manager and none of his players? Makes no sense to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Why would you pick the Croatian manager and none of his players? Makes no sense to me.

Makes perfect sense to me. Shows how good a manager he is.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

So good that he didn't get even get a noteworthy performance from a single one of his players? Bit like hiring a chef and asking him to get some Dominos in, if you ask me.