Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on new build

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

There prices suck and they just love the irish customer ;)
    Go with the germans http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55937489&postcount=4

• Registered Users Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

There prices suck and they just love the irish customer ;)
    Go with the germans http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55937489&postcount=4

I considered those German lads but not happy with the language crap and don't fancy paying by bank transfer. Fecking BOI are a nuisance when it comes to that crap. Don't fancy the idea anyhow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

Fair enough, I never have problems and I'm with boi and I've made a good few orders with the germans.

As for ram
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-013-GS
    thats pretty good stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

overclockers service are the Pitts if anything breaks you'll havea nightmare Returning anything....

and instead of that 9800 have a look at the 4870
    it kicks the ass of the 9800 benchmarks here >click me

Been reading up on cards alright and see the 4870 benchmarks that were released today. While they do perform slightly better, they do also cost about 20 to 25% more and this isn't reflected in the benchmarks that I have seen.

Mind you, I do prefer ATi over Nvidia for some reason so wouldn't be against getting it assuming they are available wherever I end up buying.

Fair enough, I never have problems and I'm with boi and I've made a good few orders with the germans.

As for ram
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-013-GS
    thats pretty good stuff

Considering I plan to overclock the processor, I imagine that I would be better off going for faster RAM?

Also, looking for 4GB as oppossed to 2gigs..

Been reading up on cards alright and see the 4870 benchmarks that were released today. While they do perform slightly better, they do also cost about 20 to 25% more and this isn't reflected in the benchmarks that I have seen.

Mind you, I do prefer ATi over Nvidia for some reason so wouldn't be against getting it assuming they are available wherever I end up buying.

aye but tis only about 10% difference the 9800 you posted and the 4870 have a difference of about 21€ , if you hold off for a while , both prices will drop and Nvidia are releasing a new 9800+ which will be 55nm and should have its price dropped by a good bit :D

papu wrote: »
    aye but tis only about 10% difference the 9800 you posted and the 4870 have a difference of about 21€ , if you hold off for a while , both prices will drop and Nvidia are releasing a new 9800+ which will be 55nm and should have its price dropped by a good bit :D

Had another gander at various sites and you are right, the 4870 is defo the one to go for :)

I want to order this before the weekend if I can. Tis looking increasingly like overclockers.co.uk as very few other places can match the selection - specifically the case.

awesome case :D i dunno if your into it but www.caseking.de have some mighty fine cases , shipping is a bit costy tho , but then your not tied to overclockers..

It is easier to stick with the one crowd and pay for the single delivery charge. Also, I will get them all at one go and not have 9/10ths of the computer sitting there but missing a key component - nothing worse tbh!!

i know i know , just trying to pull you away from overclockers hahah :D

One thing I have noticed about other sites as well is how bad the actual website are too.. Some of them are ****ing retarded.. Half of them have virtually no product information at all either.

papu wrote: »
    i know i know , just trying to pull you away from overclockers hahah :D

Have actually ordered from overclockers before on a few occassions and had absolutely no problems with them.. :pac:

Jaysus, no alrernatives to what has been suggested then? :|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

HD4850 Crossfire looks good.

Pixmania.ie have some good deals, like HD4850 €147, P35/45 mobo's are suppose to be much slower with crossfire compared to x38/x48, Corsair 620watt is the best psu around and 2 HD4850 ( in stock ) for €300 is some bargain

Some good deals on ebay for cpu cooler.

axzjwpz6mpm9advv68b.jpg

Cheers lads..

What are ebuyer like when delivering to ireland?

supposed to be very good , heard of many people using them...

Ended up ordering from overclockers.co.uk and everything shipped today:
    £56.99 x 2 - Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II 32MB Cache - OEM (HD753LJ)
    £103.99 x 1 - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 LGA775 'Wolfdale' 3.00GHz (1333FSB) - Retail
    £3.99 x 1 - Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound (3.5g)
    £14.99 x 1 - Pioneer DVR-215DBK 20x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter (Black) - OEM
    £29.99 x 1 - Tuniq Tower 120 CPU Cooler (Socket 478/754/939/940/AM2/LGA775)
    £109.99 x 1 - Asus P5Q Deluxe Intel P45 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
    £74.99 x 1 - Corsair HX 620W ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU (CMPSU-620HXUK)
    £3.99 x 1 - Yate Loon D12SL-12 120mm Case Fan - 3 Pin
    £2.99 x 1 - Akasa Rounded Ultra ATA133/100/66 IDE Cable (0.45m) - Blue
    £184.99 x 1 - Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB GDDR5 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI (PCI-Express) - Retail
    £64.99 x 1 - G.Skill 4GB DDR2 PQ PC2-8000C5 (2x2GB) CAS5 Dual Channel Kit (F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ)
    £129.99 x 1 - Coolermaster Stacker 832 - Black Trim (No PSU)

Ended up ordering from overclockers.co.uk and everything shipped today:
    £56.99 x 2 - Samsung SpinPoint F1 750GB SATA-II 32MB Cache - OEM (HD753LJ)
    £103.99 x 1 - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 LGA775 'Wolfdale' 3.00GHz (1333FSB) - Retail
    £3.99 x 1 - Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound (3.5g)
    £14.99 x 1 - Pioneer DVR-215DBK 20x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter (Black) - OEM
    £29.99 x 1 - Tuniq Tower 120 CPU Cooler (Socket 478/754/939/940/AM2/LGA775)
    £109.99 x 1 - Asus P5Q Deluxe Intel P45 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
    £74.99 x 1 - Corsair HX 620W ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU (CMPSU-620HXUK)
    £3.99 x 1 - Yate Loon D12SL-12 120mm Case Fan - 3 Pin
    £2.99 x 1 - Akasa Rounded Ultra ATA133/100/66 IDE Cable (0.45m) - Blue
    £184.99 x 1 - Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB GDDR5 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI (PCI-Express) - Retail
    £64.99 x 1 - G.Skill 4GB DDR2 PQ PC2-8000C5 (2x2GB) CAS5 Dual Channel Kit (F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ)
    £129.99 x 1 - Coolermaster Stacker 832 - Black Trim (No PSU)

enjhoy! \0/