Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Photos from the UN celebrations...

• 27-06-2008 11:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

In McKee Bks yesterday, 26th June 2008.

The day was without a doubt the finest parade I've witnessed in the Irish Defence Forces, absolutely first class from start to finish.

Although the weather was awful, in fact I've never seen a parade held in worse weather conditions.

Here's some photos, and more to follow later when I've had a chance to download and edit them.

I don't know what title this chap holds, 'bands master'?.. Anyway, he led the army No#1 band.

attachment.php?attachmentid=58484&d=1214561091

Brian Cowen meeting UN veterans.

(Sorry about the quality of some shots, weather was awful and some shots taken at the edge of my zoom range)

attachment.php?attachmentid=58485&stc=1&d=1214561306

Yup, the weather was the pits - for some ;)

attachment.php?attachmentid=58486&d=1214561159

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Some more.

After resizing these photos its hard to appricate just how heavy the rain was during the parade.

Changing times, when was the last time the Union Jack was flown in McKee Bks?..

attachment.php?attachmentid=58487&stc=1&d=1214561624

attachment.php?attachmentid=58493&stc=1&d=1214564178

The European Flags on Parade.

attachment.php?attachmentid=58488&d=1214561585

The Taoiseach, Brian Cowen laying a wreath to the fallen. This was preceded by a 25pdr gun salute.

attachment.php?attachmentid=58489&stc=1&d=1214561814

A lone piper playing 'the lament'.

I didn't take a photo of the bugler playing 'the last post'.

attachment.php?attachmentid=58490&stc=1&d=1214562263

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

what did cowen need a brolly for? he's not made of ice cream is he? (although he looks like he's had a bit too much...)

Nice pics, sh1tty weather for june, who'd even of expected it?

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭dahamster

aren't greatcoats issued anymore? or did it start raining after parade commenced

dahamster wrote: »
    aren't greatcoats issued anymore? or did it start raining after parade commenced

A good question, and one which was asked lots of times yesterday!.

Some of the vehicles from yesterday, sorry no close up - I was in shelter for most of the day :D

attachment.php?attachmentid=58505&stc=1&d=1214579311

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I took part in the parade over in the Brugha, not quite on such a grand scale but still something that I was proud to be a part of.

I really feel that this country just doesn't appreciate or more than likely just doesn't know about some of the sacrifices that a lot of troops have made in their name. I really feel that more should be done to remember the lads that passed away and even to just show some more recognition to those that have served Overseas, past or present.

BTW, nice pics Mairt. Always nice to see 1 or 2 familiar faces.

Mairt wrote: »
    attachment.php?attachmentid=58485&stc=1&d=1214561306

One of these kids is not like the other....must be his fca training ;)

Nuttzz wrote: »
    One of these kids is not like the other....must be his fca training ;)

Now, now .. a little respect for those who went before us ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Mairt wrote: »
    Now, now .. a little respect for those who went before us ;)

I think maybe he means one of them is not standing properly at ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Fionn

good pics, weather was pure ****e huh,
    we paraded in DPMs but it wasn't raiining!
    oh! and we had no band - but we did have music for the last post, revaille & Amhrán na bhFiann :)
    I heard the UN vets in Dublin were told to parade in their blazers no rain coats, not great standing there in the rain getting soaked, but i suppose they've ll had to do it before anyway, probably brought back some old memories :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Nice pics

My last stomping ground as a PDF soldier and i was last at McKee about 2 years ago at a similar function with ONE/IUNVA associations .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Thanks Mairt, very nice pics.

I think maybe he means one of them is not standing properly at ease.

I feel a bit mean pointing this out..

But the chap's beret is folded wrong!.

attachment.php?attachmentid=58575&stc=1&d=1214706034

Hagar wrote: »
    Thanks Mairt, very nice pics.

Thanks, but I had it handy. I was able to stay under shelter, but by jesus the rain those lads paraded had to be seen to be believed.

A female band member playing the flute.

attachment.php?attachmentid=58577&stc=1&d=1214740551

attachment.php?attachmentid=58578&stc=1&d=1214741107

• Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭Pyridine

One of these kids is not like the other....must be his fca training

Nice pics. I thought you were talking about the guy at the far end that doesn't have any white gloves on!

No way that would have been acceptable back when I was in the FCÁ!! :D

no it was the arms drill i was referring to, but mairt is quite right, the weather was shocking

Nuttzz wrote: »
    no it was the arms drill i was referring to, but mairt is quite right, the weather was shocking

Just noticed that there now!.

I only copped the UN Vet with his beret folded over to his left instead of right side.

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭Skyhawk1990

Anyone have any pictures if the parade in the Curragh? I was in that parade and would like to see any that were taken.