Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neil Young at Malahide - Lord take me now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

dedon wrote: »
    Well I think it is a disgrace that he charged €80 in Cork and only €60 in Dublin. It is way over priced. Neil Young considers himself a lefty and is very anti-corporate and he hates to see people getting ripped off. He sings about the poor man on the strret etc. He is a total hypocrite as he charges €80 for his gigs over here. Total disgrace and shame on him.

Freedom my hole!!

What? My ticket was 80 bucks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

Well I think it is a disgrace that he charged €80 in Cork and only €60 in Dublin. It is way over priced. Neil Young considers himself a lefty and is very anti-corporate and he hates to see people getting ripped off. He sings about the poor man on the strret etc. He is a total hypocrite as he charges €80 for his gigs over here. Total disgrace and shame on him.

Freedom my hole!!

Dublin price was €80 also !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

He ripped us off over here. Disgrace

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i was working at malahide castle and i thought he was brilliant but it was the loudest concert i have every been at in my life.

I thought he did a little bit too much dicking around with the last two songs.

Other downside for me was the bloody car park at the end of the night, i dont know what was going on there but it was not like that for the other concerts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭mathias

He doesnt set the ticket price ! That would be organiser ! like all gigs his cut would be a certain price per head and thats probably the same everywhere , the organiser sets the rest and the final price , shows in Ireland are invariably more than anywhere else , but how many event organisers do we have ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

He ripped us off over here. Disgrace

The price was standard for concerts in Ireland so to say neil young is ripping us off is incorrect. Just because he may take a stand on some issues does not necessarily mean that he will come and play for irish fans and make a monetary loss.

Perhaps you should avoid concerts in future as you may be 'ripped off' again!

The price was standard for concerts in Ireland so to say neil young is ripping us off is incorrect. Just because he may take a stand on some issues does not necessarily mean that he will come and play for irish fans and make a monetary loss.

Perhaps you should avoid concerts in future as you may be 'ripped off' again!

I won't be avoiding concerts because I love them but I have a right to question the price and still enjoy the music. It is just a bit hypocritical to be anti-corporate and 'for the people' and then over charge the concert goer.

For a musician who loves to play to the 'ordianry man' he should ensure ordinary prices. A lot of people I know are huge Young fans and could not go as it was too expensive for them. Pretty disgraceful.

Plenty of artist are cheap. Morrisey to name but one. Paul Simon . Generally bands are cheaper than €80. Check it out!!!

He was over charging us!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Danco

Dedon,

Were you at either of the concerts? I ask because you don't seem to know the prices of the tickets and also because if you were at either show you would know that 80 euro was a total bargain for what we got. I was at both the Dublin and Cork shows and came away totally satisfied. There are plenty of things that are over-priced and a rip-off in Ireland these days, but these Neil Young gigs certainly don't qualify. I got to see Neil play two totally storming sets and I feel lucky to have gotten that chance. He puts everything into his performances and that's obvious. If you feel the concerts were a rip-off you can't have been at them. Total bargain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭nataliehun

Danco wrote: »
    Dedon,

Were you at either of the concerts? I ask because you don't seem to know the prices of the tickets and also because if you were at either show you would know that 80 euro was a total bargain for what we got. I was at both the Dublin and Cork shows and came away totally satisfied. There are plenty of things that are over-priced and a rip-off in Ireland these days, but these Neil Young gigs certainly don't qualify. I got to see Neil play two totally storming sets and I feel lucky to have gotten that chance. He puts everything into his performances and that's obvious. If you feel the concerts were a rip-off you can't have been at them. Total bargain!

I agree!

Danco wrote: »
    Dedon,

I wasnt at them because I couldnt afford to go. €80 is too much. Malahide was not sold out. So that sums it up really. Neil Young is cheaper inthe UK. He comes over here and charges more. That is just totally againts what he believes in. Well what I thought he believed it.

His political thinking just seems a bit flawed to me. Seems like it is more of a stunt that anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

hmm, i think €80 was a tad steep, but all concerts in Ireland are a rip off now, so I suppose it's par for the course. The tshirt prices were a disgrace, organicaly made or not. €30 is too much for a plain tour tshirt...

However, like I said, I am SO glad I got to see him. There were a few songs that I thought if they had been included, it would have been an awesome gig (southern man, cinnamon girl, rockin in the free world). One poster here was at a gig earlier this year in London, and the set list for that was unreal, I'd say it was a savage gig.

Still, I know he's noted for LONG songs, and I would prefer the crazy horse stuff to the acoustic stuff myself, so was expecting some long ones. Hell, I like Ragged Glory....and that has some LONG songs on it...

A really lovely warm distorted guitar sound by him too..

I am glad ye all enjoyed it. He is some man to be still going at his age.

Allthough he must be looking to increase his pension with the over charging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Mur-cadh

Got a ticket for Neil Young on Sat morning , was delighted , it was a mixed gig for me as I got bad news about a death before it started which was compounded by being verbally abused by a middle aged couple. The people I was with decided they wanted to move closer to the stage , fair enough , I thought it was a bad idea. I was trying to reach a friend in front to tell him I was going to hang out at the back where there was more space I brushed past a couple (when I say brushed I mean brushed not stumble or push) when this blonde woman asked me in a sarcastic tone , "Is Neil Young that way , yeah!!" , I ignored her and said "I'm not in the mood for this!!" , she then said in a nasty little way , "Ahhh are ya not in the mood tonight Josephine!!".
    I presume she was making a remark about the fact I have long hair , which I thought was ironic considering the ****ing concert we were at!!. I then laughed and said something to the effect of "leave it alone will ya!!" to which she replied "I've a man here that'll do the job for me!!". So without any mention of confrontation or fighting she basically implied she was going to get her husband/boyfriend to thump me . Then she stuck in an "asshole!!" for good luck , she seemed like the kind of woman who starts rows in a small town outside of a chipper , and even though she doesn't like "long hairs" she decided to go to see Neil Young , cos she'd "Heard some of his stuff on the radio like!!".

I generally don't go to big concerts to avoid the big concert crowd which always includes a certain amount of scum bags and Gob****es anyway but I thought that the Neil Young crowd would be of a higher Calibre than that. I heard people bitching and moaning about how they didn't like the jams Neil was playing and then another couple asking my friend who is pretty tall to , "Get out of the ****ing way!!". It's these kind of casual gig goers who probably didn't recognise half the songs Neil was playing but went along because they were looking for something to do on a Sunday. It's Vicar street and the Olympia for me from now on , with people who have a bit of cop on and tolerance. Thats my rant anyway , other than that I enjoyed the gig from the ample space at the back , especially the jams. Did anyone else out there have any hassle with vexed middle aged couples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

In fairness, you were asking for it when you said "I'm not in the mood for this." It seems to me that you were lacking a bit of cop-on and tolerance. I too have long "hairs" and you have to expect a bit of friendly banter and not take it too seriously. If you had bad news abouta death and didn't feel up to it then just ignore the woman. It seems as if you were asking for trouble.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Mur-cadh wrote: »
    . Did anyone else out there have any hassle with vexed middle aged couples?

LOL, i was working there so i got hassle off a couple of hundred drunk middle aged couples. count yourself lucky you were only abused by one couple.

I never go to concerts anymore, working at them has completely put me off, because i can see what really goes on. If my parents acted the way some of these middle, affluent couples act, i would have them shipped off to a nursing home or mental home - its a disgrace :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭JLemmon

I wasnt at them because I couldnt afford to go. €80 is too much. Malahide was not sold out. So that sums it up really. Neil Young is cheaper inthe UK. He comes over here and charges more. That is just totally againts what he believes in. Well what I thought he believed it.

His political thinking just seems a bit flawed to me. Seems like it is more of a stunt that anything

I don't think Neil Young sets the prices for his gigs that's the promoters job.
    Can you imagine him sitting at home in the winter working out prices for each gig!! He has a fee, it's paid to him that's it. The promotion company needs to get a profit, pay insurance, staff, etc.. That's where most of the pricing comes from, but maybe I'm wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Potcher

Whoever thinks the performance Neil young gave in malahide is worth €80 has not been to many gigs. I've seen people play there heart out and connect with an audience for €25. Fact is the man dont give a F**k. go to some local gigs where bands play for a fiver and you'll get some notion of what real music can be like. Gigs have becom a rip off. I should know neil young was my 90th/100th gig in this country in the last 10 years.

Well Potcher,

I guess I'm the guy you're referring to. Suggesting I don't go to gigs often isn't going to make me change my position on the Neil Young gigs I attended at the weekend. I saw a man play his heart out and it cost me 80 euro. I don't care that it cost me that much, I've seen Jason Molina play his heart out for 16 euro to an audience that just about reached double figures and I was delighted with that too. If the demand is there then the price will be high. If you don't want to pay don't pay. If you choose to go then you've agreed to the price and there's no use complaining about it afterwards. We all know Neil Young is huge, so we all know his gigs are going to cost us. We all have a choice in the matter and can stay away if we don't agree with the price.

Your suggestion that I haven't been to many gigs is laughable. You say you've been to 100 or so gigs in 10 years? That's 10 gigs a year! I go to several times that a year and mostly the gigs I attend are in small venues because I'm lucky enough to be into artists that are under-appreciated. However, I'm enough of a realist to understand that if I want to see an established act that a lot of other people might also want to see that I'll probably have to pay handsomely for the privilege. That's just common sense.

Also, I've attended and played at hundreds of garage gigs. They can be rewarding but let's be honest, 9 times out of 10 it's just a bunch of bands playing to mates they've brought along while the promoter pockets the door takings for himself. Nobody benefits, because nobody listens. The price you pay to get into a gig doesn't dictate how much of a connection you'll have with the act or what you'll get from it. If you hated the Malahide gig so much, maybe you should have stayed at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

problem in Ireland is we complain about the price of tickets, but we still go to the gig, whereas on the continent, people just won't go if it's expensive.

How much would Bruce Springsteen tickets be in Portugal and Spain etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Potcher wrote: »
    Whoever thinks the performance Neil young gave in malahide is worth €80 has not been to many gigs. I've seen people play there heart out and connect with an audience for €25. Fact is the man dont give a F**k. go to some local gigs where bands play for a fiver and you'll get some notion of what real music can be like. Gigs have becom a rip off. I should know neil young was my 90th/100th gig in this country in the last 10 years.

Music and your experience of it should be based on the enjoyment you get out of it. Not the cost to your pocket. We have all been to lesser known artists who put on a good show and also to the better known artists who also can put on a good show. I saw Pat McManus and High Voltage play in a local pub about a month ago with no entry fee and enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Neil Young. If you are only interested in cost value of your music perhaps you should listen to the radio for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Potcher

My point is, you wouldnt pay €30 euro for a bottle of coke no matter how thirsty or how much you would enjoy it. Because it's not worth it. Gigs in this country are way more expensive than England/europe Fact. Why should I have to stay at home because I'm not willing to pay over the odds. Music should be all encompassing no religion no colour no race no sex should be excluded and neither should anyone who cant afford to pay €80 euro. By the way I'm not attacking or making reference to any of the above posters, this is just my point of view.

People pay €1.60 or whatever a bottle of coke retails at every day for bottles of coke. They pay it because that's the amount that the market can stand. Demand dictates price. If you're going to blow things out of proportion then obviously you'll find an example to point to easily. I doubt anybody is under the illusion that it costs, say, €1.60 to manufacture and distribute a bottle of coke. But a lot of people like coke, so they charge that anyway.

Similarly a gig for a big name will cost more than a gig for a smaller draw. By your logic all gigs should have the same ticket price. So, I would pay the same amount to see my mate's band in Eamonn Doran's as I would to see Neil Young in Malahide. That's a nice idea, but a tad unrealistic.

Anyway, you don't have to stay home just because you can't afford to see Neil. There are garage gigs on every night in town, if you really believe you can get a better experience from them, as you have already said you do, then go to one instead and save yourself 75 euro. Nobody needs a bottle of coke, and nobody needs to see Neil Young. If you want either badly enough you can pay for it, if you don't you can choose not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭blackbox

If "connecting with the audience" is what it's all about for you, you should stick to some light entertainment. Chris de Burgh springs to mind as a guy who has great skill in connecting with his audience.

I went to see one of the world's great musical artists. An artist who has always believed in his art and has never courted popularity.

I'd have preferred if it was cheaper, but would have paid more for this privelege.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Mur-cadh wrote: »
    Gverbally abused by a middle aged couple

Wouldnt mind them. As you said, probably as musically acute as a three legged dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 AlaskaFox

My point is, you wouldnt pay €30 euro for a bottle of coke no matter how thirsty or how much you would enjoy it. Because it's not worth it. Gigs in this country are way more expensive than England/europe Fact. Why should I have to stay at home because I'm not willing to pay over the odds. Music should be all encompassing no religion no colour no race no sex should be excluded and neither should anyone who cant afford to pay €80 euro. By the way I'm not attacking or making reference to any of the above posters, this is just my point of view.

But if you buy a bottle in Dunnes it costs just over a euro, and if you buy it from a vending machine, it'll cost €3. Many people are willing to pay the extra cost.

If you can't afford to gigs, don't go. Just like if you can't afford to drive a Ferrari, you won't. Listen to the music for free on the radio.

Everything in this country is more expensive than on the continent. Wages are much higher here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭deko43

We have all been to gigs for a fiver where the band gives there all. Afterall they are striving to be the guys that can charge £80. Yes, big gigs are too expensive in this country and you have to pick carefully. I picked Neil Young and thought he was absolutely top notch... mabey another 90 or 100 gigs for you and you might appriciate class when you see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Malahide was my third time seeing Neil Young and comes in second. I don't know why people are complaining about him not playing the "hits" when he played songs from Harvest, After the Goldrush, Rust Never Sleeps and Harvest Moon. Hardly obscure b-sides. The man has a huge back catalogue, he can't play all the crowd pleasers (although he made a fair stab at it in Vicar St. after he finished playing the Greendale part of the set).

Personally I thought the extended jams were immense. "Love and Only Love" was 6 minutes of guitar heaven before he sang the first line and "No Hidden Path" may not be his best but when the man connects with his guitar, it doesn't matter what the song is. 30 minutes of Neil Young playing ferociously good solos is worth the asking price of the ticket alone. Potcher may think you get more bang for your buck at local shows but Neil Young had far more energy than the vast majority of bands I've seen (a lot more than 90-100 in the last ten years).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

to those giving out about the ticket prices - Jim Carroll over at his 'on the record' blog at www.irishtimes.com has a decent article somewhere about the pricing of gigs. It'd be great if we could just blame those-who-can't-be-named, and Aiken and POD as thieving chancers out to screw us all out of our hard-earned, but the Artist has just as much to do with it.

Either one of two things happens
    a) Artist says he's available for touring and invites tenders for how much a promoter will pay - the promoter makes a pitch and the best one is accepted with the promoter *then* having to flog the tickets to cover the costs and their profit
    b) Artist says he's available for touring and it'll cost you *this* much to have him; he'll normally have a preferred promoter and the gig will *tend* to fall into their lap. They decide whether they can run it or not (i.e if there's a venue which will accomodate the numbers necessary to make it all stack up) and then based upon that, sell tickets at a price to allow them profit.

Also bear in mind that with Irish shows, the economies of scale aren't there AT ALL and that the costs of flying the entire crew/rig/whatever and out again all have to be paid out of the nights takings. With UK shows (and there'll tend to be more than one) where road transport is cheaper than flying, the expensive part can be spread out over a number of nights.

As for the NY gig...i only *have* his Greatest Hits album, and a mate offered me a ticket. On the basis of his reputation (decent songs, truculant, not willing to compromise for the sake of his art, long guitar solos) I passed. Rather amazing that of the posts i've read here and elsewhere about the gig, it's almost 50/50 as to whether he was any good or not!

"In fairness" I would of thought given people's different perceptions of events in life when they actually witness them that it would be hard to judge an event that you didn't actually witness. I've been the around the block enough to know the difference between slagging , banter whatever you want to call it and just being plain vicious. If the woman had of said something like "Jesus buddy would you mind out of me and don't be blocking my view" that would have qualified as banter. I don't think the whole intimating that her husband was going to "Do the job" for her while I was walking away from her could qualify as me "Looking for trouble". Anyway thats my speak , oiche maith.

F.Y.I I was using the term "Long hairs" as a descriptive term not an adjective!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭cobweb

blackbox wrote: »
    When he performed "Old Man", I asked myself can it get better than this?

...but then he played "Words"...

pure perfection

THouhgt it was a good gig but felt he was beeter in Feb in Paris an indoor gig he played an acoustic set which was stunning

"In fairness" I would of thought given people's different perceptions of events in life when they actually witness them that it would be hard to judge an event that you didn't actually witness. I've been the around the block enough to know the difference between slagging , banter whatever you want to call it and just being plain vicious. If the woman had of said something like "Jesus buddy would you mind out of me and don't be blocking my view" that would have qualified as banter. I don't think the whole intimating that her husband was going to "Do the job" for her while I was walking away from her could qualify as me "Looking for trouble". Anyway thats my speak , oiche maith.

F.Y.I I was using the term "Long hairs" as a descriptive term not an adjective!!