Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards 200

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

Raam wrote: »
    I thought this was apt, giving the amount of climbing we are gonna do.

From today's Roadbikerider.com newsletter...

Now I know what I did wrong on the Wicklow 200 !!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

What time is the 125 leaving at?? i have to drive up from athlone for it

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

E@gle. wrote: »
    What time is the 125 leaving at?? i have to drive up from athlone for it

I think 8:30 is the consenus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Can I put my name down for the 100km?

I’ve not been on a group ride before and doing laps of Howth Hill sure gets boring on your own…….
    Looking forward to it though :)

I've only seen a list of posters for the 200km and 125km though so I'm hope the 100km goes ahead. I've never done above 70km so a challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Just out of interest, are some doing the 125 or the 90. Not really much point having 3 groups on the road.

And good luck to all, whatever distance you are doing. I might try to meet up later, working til 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

AndyP wrote: »
    Just out of interest, are some doing the 125 or the 90. Not really much point having 3 groups on the road.

And good luck to all, whatever distance you are doing. I might try to meet up later, working til 1.

I'll do 125 ... I hope I am not the only one ... who is joining? Who knows his way around the mountains ,,,?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

I'll do 125 ... I hope I am not the only one ... who is joining? Who knows his way around the mountains ,,,?

I hope to be doing the 125, dont know my way around the mountains though, i think there is more of us

• Registered Users Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Doin the 125 and think I know the route :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Is the 125 starting at 8:30 ... if so I will join you guys ...

There was a 10AM start talked about as well .. if so .. I am out ..

Doin the 125 and think I know the route :)

Smashing!

Is the 125 starting at 8:30 ... if so I will join you guys ...

There was a 10AM start talked about as well .. if so .. I am out ..

I think we are all starting at the same time of 8:30

And I saw you cycle home tonight!! ( was in my car ... shame on me I know )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

Was just looking at the route sheet for the 200 and if I remember correctly after you turn at the djoice golf club to head for kilpeader you come to a Y in the road-left is for kilpeader,its not sign-posted.Would also be interested to see if anyone else finds the short,sharp descent into kilpeader as scary as I do.Having said all that,as some of you know,my directions sometimes need to be taken with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,390 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

You lads are serious animals!
    Doing Ashford to Annamoe near the end of a savage cycle, Devils Glen is TOUGH..even in the car!!, fair play.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

I think we are all starting at the same time of 8:30

And I saw you cycle home tonight!! ( was in my car ... shame on me I know )

Cool ... I am in then ...

Anyone want to meet up at the Cross car park in Phoenix park at 8AM heading to the dog tracks

Cool ... I am in then ...

Anyone want to meet up at the Cross car park in Phoenix park at 8AM heading to the dog tracks

We're meeting in UCD ( I think ) ... and I think I'll drive in :D

Ah .. good thing I asked then ... see you guys in UCD ... where in UCD ... sorry for asking .. but I didn't make the wicklow 200.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I generaly don't commit to anything on Saturday's due to that Friday feeling - but the 8.30 start sounds good - for the 125k

Rob

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭RtD

An update to my plans: the 200 is definitely out due to not having been on any decent length cycle since the wicklow and general all round body not being in great shape after the last two weekends of music festivals. Might still be able for the shorter route though, I'll check back on Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

I'm in for the 125 meeting at 8:30.
    I thought we were meeting at Harolds Cross Dog track though?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭kenmc

I'm off down to Cork for a wedding. Pity, sounds like a good number of folkies heading out. would have been up for it.
    damn..
    good luck to all involved.

LDB wrote: »
    I'm in for the 125 meeting at 8:30.
    I thought we were meeting at Harolds Cross Dog track though?

I can meet ya in HArolds Cross at 8, and we can head up to UCD If you want?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

My parole application is in for the 125km. What's the ETA back to base (UCD)?

Hungrycol wrote: »
    My parole application is in for the 125km. What's the ETA back to base (UCD)?

Parole denied. In-laws arriving.

That's why marraige is a bad idea :)

Parole application resubmitted with changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

I can meet ya in HArolds Cross at 8, and we can head up to UCD If you want?

Yeah that'd be grand.
    looks like I'll end up doing nearly 200k anyway before the day is out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Parole application resubmitted with changes.

You have to bring the kids?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

You have to bring the kids?

Get a trailer, nice fresh air for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Get a trailer, nice fresh air for them.

"We're going to stop here for a bit guys, Daddy needs to have a quick cardiac arrest..."

• Registered Users Posts: 15,989 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Just throwing a crazy idea out there, would it not make some sense to compromise somewhat on start time and move the 200 forward and the 125 back a bit? So we can all set out together? As the 125 is following the same route for the first 60km or so if I am not wrong? Would be nicer to set off in a big group. This would also give 125ers a chance to reconsider when they get to the turn-off point, if you are feeling strong then you might go on.

(I will confess that the 6/6:30 mooted for the 200 doesn't exactly thrill me but I'll go along with whatever.)

7/7:30 could work for both groups (cue howls of derision from the 125ers :D) This should still see the 200 people back for 16:30/17:00 or so based on W200 times.