Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda receives 100 stitches after pitbull attack..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

My dog just barked...

***Mairt cocks rifle, don's Elmer Fudd hat and goes looking for Jericho***

• Registered Users Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭event

ANY dog would have done the same in that situation..... What exactly is a "dangerous animal" ?? Pets protect their owners. Forget the fact that there were criminals and Gardai involved.... From the dogs point of view there was a threat to him and his master, so he protected.

i used an example of a child earlier but here's a different one.
    two mate are messing, getting into mess fights when drunk. one of them has a dog who is in the house. from the dogs point of view, he sees a threat and he protects. is this ok?
    The Gardai should have known what they were getting themselves into, should have known about the dogs being kept there etc.

Now, I don't believe that the Guard deserved it... but it was definitely NOT and un-provoked attack. The guards should have brought trained animal handlers with them to deal with the dogs.

i really dont get this point.
    its like saying if the criminals had guns and the gardai didnt research this and got shot, well they should have worn bullet proof vests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭kerrysgold

Any dog will be good tempered/well behaved if it socialized & trained properly.
    Just because the criminals/thugs seem to like the bull breeds to make them look tough doesn't mean all bull breeds are vicious. It all depends on how they have been raised.

I do hope the Garda recovers though, it must have been crap to be attacked like that, but the dogs were obviously encouraged to be aggressive to guard the drugs so I imagine it's pretty much the same as if they had a gun to shoot at guards if they tried to raid the place, except the were using dogs as weapons instead of guns.

It's extremely unfair to pick on every dog of a certain breed. There should be individual assessments done, i.e. anyone found to be encouraging aggression in a dog in a completely different category to a good bull breed/rottie etc owner who has a well-behaved dog who wouldn't harm anybody. most people can't even tell the difference between the different bull breeds/mastiffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

I was visiting my neighbour on Sunday who told me a very interesting piece of information.
    His friend was out walking his black labrador in Southpark in Galway (very close to where the guards were bitten) and his black lab was viciously attacked by the same pitbull which was unleashed and wandering freely in a public area where kids also play. The black lab needed stitches but thankfully will be ok.
    He immediately reported this attack to the Gardai.
    A few days later, this same pitbull attacked the Gardai during the raid.
    Perhaps they did not take action at the time because they didn't want to alert the pitbull's owner to the impending raid, but they should have been better prepared when entering the house. Crazy stuff altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭event

also, i would like to clarify, i am not againts dogs or anything like that, nor against pitbulls.
    i understand some are bred to be vicious/violent and that it not their fault.

i am only referring to this specific case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭BlackCat2008

Mairt wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhgbqlqlqlid/rss2/

Talk about tarring all dogs with the same brush -

Hi, I'm new to this sight and don't won't to start a fight. But I'm unhappy to hear U find it so amusing to mock the warden. By eliminating U as a good owner he can move on to those who are abusing these dogs.God love U for having five minutes of your presies time taken up. I have seen first hand the damage they can do in the wrong hands. My nieghbourhood is full of teenagers who own them I know must of these lads and thier dogs.(I coundn't tell U one breed from another pit or staff) 3 of these dogs have been brouth up with cats and two of them have attacked and killed severel cats in the nieghbour hood. I have a cat named Lara that I tuck in 4years ago she was just skin on bone the vetsand myself didn't think she would servive. Nearly all her bones were broken at some stage and her teeth were pulled from mouth they guess at about 2yrs old while she was awake, my vets had seen this before and told me she was used as bait to train the dogs to run after her in a cage on a training wheel. She had a long recovery but never lets me out of her sight and it tuck her two years to stop attacking dogs and come to me when she was frightened. It is never the dogs fault Just the owners maybe we'ed be better of putting them down instead? Why are teenagers aloud to have a liecence for these dogs anyway or even aloud to keep them when they are found in thier hands. Sorry this was so long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭shinners007

By eliminating U as a good owner he can move on to those who are abusing these dogs.

And how exactly did the warden elimate the the OP as a good owner??? He asked to see a dog licence and warned there cracking down on a particular breed and their owners. How exactly does the elimate process you talk work??? wasting time popping in and out of houses where people have licences and who care for there pets, rather than going out dealing with serious aggression and cruelty issues. Its not like the warden did some sort of good owner vs bad owner test while he wasted the op's time now did he.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

My dog just barked...

***Mairt cocks rifle, don's Elmer Fudd hat and goes looking for Jericho***

i read the whole thread as it seems its not getting anywhere.
    i saw your post about the dog warden.
    Is ye dog a Pit Bull?Have ye pics of the dog as theres some arguement of the differances in breeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Which is why in this instance the dogs should be put down. By encouraging aggressiveness towards humans (which is what most drug dealers and irresponsible owners appear to do) they encourage an attack on humans.
    I would agree with you there, an attack on a person that then requires 100 stitches is obviously over and beyond what one could possibly justify as defence or a provoked reaction ...that's just frenzy and it is highly likely that the dog was made/encouraged to behave this way. It would be very difficult to impossible to undo that and putting the dog down is probably the best solution for all involved
    (EDITED PS: it is actually not unheard of that drug dealers give their dogs some of their merchandise to get them int the "right frame of mind" ...a dog high on coke ...now there's something to be afraid of)
    r3nu4l wrote: »
    Once this has happened once the dog has stepped over a line that makes it easier to attack a human again, especially if there is no consequence of that action or if a reward is given following that action. IMO, this means that there is no other option than to kill/pu-down/destroy/cull the unfortunate animal.

This on the other hand is just not correct.

There are many, many possible (mundane) scenarios where a dog might find itself compelled to bite a human, ranging from simple misunderstandings, to threats, pain and to attacks on the dog itself.

Just because a dog bites from one of those situations does not mean that it now has somehow "turned" and from now on will be a bloodthirsty monster, that's just rubbish.

Also the dog that radically alters its behaviour after just one wrongly praised or uncorrected action is yet to be born. If that was the case, dog training would be a doddle.

Claiming that every dog that has ever bitten a human needs to be put down is just ill informed, sensationalist rubbish.
    Just because you don't understand animal behaviour properly and are unable to make qualified distinctions does not give you the right to pass a universal death sentence over all dogs that have ever bitten or will ever bite a human.

If you want to pass judgement over animals and their behaviour, you will have to / should be able to measure them by their standards and not some outdated medieval yardstick of human superiority over all of Gods creation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Lauragoesmad

I guarantee that if a good owner and not a heroin dealer owned that dog, he would not have done so much damage to that garda's leg. The attack was definitely a frenzy and not a warning bite. I know if I was a scummy pusher and afraid of the garda bangin down my door, two dogs that I'd trained to bite would come in handy. The fact is though that lots of breeds can be taught this behaviour.
    At the end of the day, I'd nearly be content with the ban on certain dogs. Not because I fear them or dislike them but I think at this stage it would be in their interest. If it ment that a dog would never have to go through being owned by arse holes that just have it to look hard then I'd settle for that. Most people don't have a clue about bull breeds and just judge a dog by what they see and hear in the papers.

But I'm unhappy to hear U find it so amusing to mock the warden..

I mocked the warden?.

Alan Ford wrote: »
    Is ye dog a Pit Bull?.

Ahhhhh, now there's the question I was waiting for.

No, he's not a Pitbull, he's a Staff.

But the victim of ignorance as he was reported (out of ignorance) as being a Pitbull. And thats the crux of this debate, that few people apart from the owner's of Staffs, Pitbulls, English Bull Terriers etc can tell the difference and label all the bull breeds as 'Those Pitbulls'.

Here's his photo..

At ten weeks old.

attachment.php?attachmentid=58729&stc=1&d=1214939298

At ten months old (approx).

attachment.php?attachmentid=58730&stc=1&d=1214939515

But the victim of ignorance as he was reported (out of ignorance) as being a Pitbull. And thats the crux of this debate, that few people apart from the owner's of Staffs, Pitbulls, English Bull Terriers etc can tell the difference and label all the bull breeds as 'Those Pitbulls'.

Here's his photo..

At ten weeks old.

Ah yes i know your dogs from the post your pics forum.
    And yes indeed its a Staff.
    A warden asked you if ye had pit bull??
    Where the hell the warden get to say you have a pitbull.
    The warden is obviously blind!

this is a pit bull
    2875d1147372944-incredible-blue-pitbull-pups-forsale-chester.jpg
    American.
    XMAS%20PARADE%20BULL%20TERRIER%20ZACH%20(OP)%20DEC.%2011,%2004%20042.jpg
    English

website-robbie-the-bruce-2.jpg
    staffordshire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭BlackCat2008

I'm sorry if I've upset you but what I'm trying to say is your liecense is not recorded with detail (your photo, age, vet ref.'s or if you've been in trouble with police). You can buy a liecense for any breed and not even own a dog. The warden in our area has successfully managed to sieze several pitts being trained in the area and brought to fight up north or down south thinking they were smart, all through knocking on doors. If you are a good owner he can strike of his list and move on to other cases that need to be watched more carefully. Some people put other and cross breeds on them to try to get away with not muzzeling their dogs.. It also helps him to make sure that dangerous dogs are not in the hands of kids as is the case in my area. They also have to call out to any reports of concern they get. Who ever reported you is either a curtain twicher with nothing better to do or somebody just concerned about their kids safety and needed to put their mind to rest. I not trying to get at you.

I do know how you fell I rescued a grey hound from a traveller site 4 months ago.To those who have got to know him he is the sweetised dog they've ever met and have fallen in love with him, to those who have the wrong impression they can't cross the road quick enough. His best friend is a 2 yr old girl down the road from me who calls him horsy and he bowes his head to be hugged by her.

By the way that sure is a well looked after little guy you have there and very cute I might add.

I hope you understand what I'm try to say.
    Sorry again for the long boring letter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Roarty-07

the first picture actually isnt a real pitbull thats an american bully a gairly new breed that is actually nothing like a true athletic pitbull. they are short and fat and would actually run out of breath really fast!! this is a real pitbull

Roarty-07 wrote: »
    the first picture actually isnt a real pitbull thats an american bully a gairly new breed that is actually nothing like a true athletic pitbull. they are short and fat and would actually run out of breath really fast!! this is a real pitbull
    so what is the one i posted?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Aren't pit bulls bigger than staffs ?
    Did anyone listen to the last word on todayFM this evening ? they had some politician from Galway on talking about regulating the ownership of "dangerous" breeds. She knows the Garda who was attacked.
    Only heard the first few minutes of it but I'm sure it's downloadable from the TodayFm site.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Morganna

Why dont they put the drug dealer down as well

wow, biased much? I always have 2fm on so missed that >.<

I suppose because pit bulls aren't recognised there isn't a breed standard? I imagine they are around staffie size though usually?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

I think the reason the dogs were put down was because when the Guards went back with the Dog Warden to the same house a day later, another Guard was bitten again. I've had Rotties and Shepards and know what its like to have the breed picked on because of an incident. I DEFINATELY don't agree with ANY kind of bans of ANY type of dog BUT perhaps as some posters have said better control of who gets the dogs is what's needed cause these callous b-tards don't give a damn about the dogs and would seriously doubt they have a licence but of course as usual the authorities won't/dont press them about producing a licence.

Máirt, as a matter of interest what would you suggest doing with the dog if it hadn't been put down?

For those people giving out about "all" pit bulls they should have a look at the Dog Whisperer and his pit bull Big Daddy who he uses regularly to SOCIALISE problem dogs.

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Máirt, as a matter of interest what would you suggest doing with the dog if it hadn't been put down?

Well I considering none of the residents of that house have been charged with any offences in relation to the drug search, 'nor have they been charged in relation to any pet ownership offences I think the dog is largely innocent in all of this.

As for the policeman, I hope he recover's quickly. I don't think anyone deserves to be injuried in the course of their work.

But by the same token I don't think all bull breeds should be tarred with the same brush because of this one incident.

If the residents of the house really were drug dealers I guess the guard is lucky he wasn't shot too.

Also, if the dog wasn't licenced it should be confescated and offered up for adoption if its found to be a suitable candidate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Lauragoesmad

Here's his photo..

At ten weeks old.

Your staffie is a beaut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

event wrote: »

i really dont get this point.
    its like saying if the criminals had guns and the gardai didnt research this and got shot, well they should have worn bullet proof vests.

I'm not saying its completely the fault of the gardai, but their ignorance, lack of understanding & research about what they might encounter during their raid certainly didn't work in their favour.

Are you saying that gardai shouldn't wear bullet proof vests if they are going to raid somewhere that they know guns are being kept?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Discostuy

Mairt, your dog is gorgeous...nicey staffie i've seen in a long time...what kind of diet is he on. His coat looks so healty and shiny...
    (dont mean to go off topic)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 jenjo23

He is beautiful Mairt....there's a staffy in my puppy classes called Oscar and I am totally in love with him, he's so gorgeous, red with little white feet! And the friendliest little thing really gentle with the other pups in the class once he gets over his initial excitement!

Discostuy wrote: »
    Mairt, your dog is gorgeous...nicey staffie i've seen in a long time...what kind of diet is he on. His coat looks so healty and shiny...
    (dont mean to go off topic)

Thanks for the nice comments, and that goes to the other posters too.

I feed him Royal Canin dry food with a few helping's of Kippers or Tuna (in sunflower old) during the week. Other than that he gets plenty of pigs ear's!.

I really do wish the media weren't so bloody ignorant when it come's to the bull breeds, and why the Staffies make that restricted breeds list goes beyond belief.

Btw, see the photo at ten weeks old.. Well the day we rescued him he was due to be put to sleep because of his breed!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Discostuy

Im feeding my two Hills science plan, puppy food...i'll be moving them onto the adult stuff shortly...i give them tuna with sunflower oil regulary, but their coat seems very dry lately...

I dont understand these banned/dangerous lists either...i have 2 Akitas that are listed too. I couldnt get these dogs to show aggression if i stood there for an hour teasing them with a steak...the dont make a peep when the little yappy terriers insist on picking fights everytime i walk them. Something about small dogs they insist on wanting to make themselves look big :D .

I firmly believe any dog can be made into a dangerous weapon...its nothing to do with breed. I've had 2 dogs agressively go for me in my life...my neighbours grumpy collie, and my grandads narky jack russel...

Mairt, you're staffie is a beaut, I've never seen one with pricked ears before, he's very unusual. Can't believe the poor little guy was going to be pts! a little pup!

Discostuy, I know what you mean, pretty much all the (loose) dogs on my road are vicious, the most aggressive one is a Labrador, imagine if a hate campaign to ban Labs was started because of that aggressive one, it'd be laughed at! People are just so ignorant and can't look after their dogs properly. It all depends on the owner.