Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post June 30th: Driving unaccompanied and got stopped - post your experience here

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I think the foreigner who doesn't have many friends and relations would be in the same situation.

What? So that should give them the right to break the law? Definitely not. It's unfortunate for people in that kind of situation, but either they decide to get lessons, try and find a fully licensed driver who has held their license for 2 years or come up with alternate arrangements for learning. Other countries seem to manage, it's a bit of a shock to the system for many of those on learner permits/provisionals, or who have yet to apply for a learner permit, seeing the old system go and the new one come to pass, but people will get by.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭BumblebeeGirl

My test is in afew weeks and i still have my L plates up but havnt got the guts to take the risk of driving on my own and getting that nasty fine from the gaurds...but i do think that they may be more lenient if i had the letter confirming the date of my test with me. Does anybody know of someone that got pulled over by the gaurds today and had their test coming up in the next month?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I don't understand your point. :confused:

Even if the RSA wanted to allocate tests early to 'massage' the figures, they could only do so if they had vacancies. If they had vacancies they would strive to fill them rather than waste them. Why do you think that tests allocated sooner than average should not be counted? Do you think that these are phantom tests which don't really exist? How is allocating tests earlier a bad thing? I thought it's what many learners want.

Maybe I'm just a cynic, but by giving out a rake load of tests within say one week of application I imagine there would be a lot of cancellations because people would feel they aren't ready (having expected a longer wait).

This would presumably bring down average waiting times without tests being carried out?

Maybe my thought process is all screwed up, but I'm just very cynical of all of the claims being made.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I think the foreigner who doesn't have many friends and relations would be in the same situation.
    As has been pointed out in your (now locked) thread in Commuting and Transport, the regulations for us going abroad would be much stricter in many countries.

Why should it be any different here?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I took the chance today because I was late for work and drove through a checkpoint in Templeogue. They were pulling in a few but I got waved on.

I've parked betsy for good now until I get my test date. Booked myself a heap of pretests in the meantime.

I still don't see the problem. Everyone has known about this for ages.

Its on FM104 at the moment.

Hanley wrote: »
    Maybe I'm just a cynic, but by giving out a rake load of tests within say one week of application I imagine there would be a lot of cancellations because people would feel they aren't ready
    The tests given at short notice are usually to those on 2nd Provisionals/Learner Permits. Most of the cancelled slots would be offered again.

They are still real tests and obviously should be included in the averages.

They average is probably lower than what the RSA say as many learners have applied to several centres and, if successful, will cancel the outstanding ones.

Zamboni wrote: »
    I can imagine it - skanger after skanger talking rubbish and blaming everyone else!

• Registered Users Posts: 12 kittycat275

As has been pointed out in your (now locked) thread in Commuting and Transport, the regulations for us going abroad would be much stricter in many countries.

Why should it be any different here?

I didn't say they law was wrong as I mention in that thread. But I think there should be some other solutions to help these people.

Not only for the foreigners, also for Irish, as some people's parents couldn't drive or no full licence, and friends are only got full licence recently, how can they practice their driving. Therefore, there's a lot of threads about people had to practice uncompanied, while they have to face the 1K fine. If they could find someone, do you think they'd like to break the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭BumblebeeGirl

Did you have your L plates up?
    Zamboni wrote: »
    I took the chance today because I was late for work and drove through a checkpoint in Templeogue. They were pulling in a few but I got waved on.

I've parked betsy for good now until I get my test date. Booked myself a heap of pretests in the meantime.

I still don't see the problem. Everyone has known about this for ages.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I can imagine it - skanger after skanger talking rubbish and blaming everyone else!

LOL

Not too far from the truth....

Not only for the foreigners, also for Irish, as some people's parents couldn't drive or no full licence, and friends are only got full licence recently, how can they practice their driving. Therefore, there's a lot of threads about people had to practice uncompanied, while they have to face the 1K fine. If they could find someone, do you think they'd like to break the law.
    There is nothing to stop these learners from getting professional instruction in an instructor's car, passing the test and then purchasing a car of their own. That's how many people do it and is how 99% of those doing the larger categories do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mccutchie

I agree in principal with the system, but the implementation is just a shambles. Bullying people into a situation where they have no choice but to break the law cannot be right. Seeing learner drivers taking down their L-plates is not going to make our roads a safer place.
    When you have to wait 7 weeks minimum for a test, what are those who failed going to do in the interim. Not all live in city centre locations close to shops, schools with sufficient public transport. Not all know a qualified driver or one willing to escort them.

Some might say, but this was coming, you should have done your test, you had time. Well that is correct, but if you failed by touching a kerb, on a ridiculous manoeuvre, are you an unsafe driver, are you putting yourself and your fellow drivers at risk?

This new legislation should have some caveats, not everything is black and white, and this is just putting more pressure on alot of people who have suffered in recent times due to job losses, mortgage increases, house market fluctuations and interest rate hikes.

Well done to our shambolic government, for yet another disastrous move and another
    kick up the backside to the Irish public

There is nothing to stop these learners from getting professional instruction in an instructor's car, passing the test and then purchasing a car of their own. That's how many people do it and is how 99% of those doing the larger categories do it.

not all the people are geniuses, not all people can pass the test after 20 or 30 hours driving in the instructor's car. Even spend 3500 euro on it, which only mean 100 hours driving experience, and which is speard over 6 months. Then how many hours per months you got practice your driving then.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

mccutchie wrote: »

Some might say, but this was coming, you should have done your test, you had time. Well that is correct, but if you failed by touching a kerb, on a ridiculous manoeuvre, are you an unsafe driver, are you putting yourself and your fellow drivers at risk?

If you were a second provisional driver, you could have sat numerous tests if they needed to in the months before and leading up to today. How else do you expect to carry out the driving test? If a driver mounts a kerb they can hardly be considered safe, i understand that nerves can play a role but the examiners will try and put you at ease.

EDIT: i realise you said "touch" and not "mount" the kerb, touching the kerb would at most, get you a grade 2 fault. Mounting the kerb is an automatic Fail.
    This new legislation should have some caveats, not everything is black and white, and this is just putting more pressure on alot of people who have suffered in recent times due to job losses, mortgage increases, house market fluctuations and interest rate hikes.

Well done to our shambolic government, for yet another disastrous move and another

The economy shouldn't have any say on regulations regarding the Irish testing system. What kind of caveats could possibly aid people? Those on 2nd provisionals were given months of a notice. I hate to bring out this phrase but "Driving is a privilege, not a right.".

When you have to wait 7 weeks minimum for a test
    It was an 18 month wait when I did it. That did not mean I had an excuse to break the law.
    mccutchie wrote:
    but if you failed by touching a kerb, on a ridiculous manoeuvre, are you an unsafe driver, are you putting yourself and your fellow drivers at risk?
    I have never heard of anyone failing a test for touching a kerb. Don't believe everything you hear.

mccutchie wrote:
    Eh, the Irish Public elected them - it's called Democracy.
    not all the people are [FONT=&quot]geniu, not all people can pass the test after 20 or 30 hours driving in the instructor's car. [/FONT]
    So, after being unsuccessful, they should be allowed to return to driving unaccompanied?

That wouldn't be permitted in most other countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭Stark

mccutchie wrote:
    When you have to wait 7 weeks minimum for a test, what are those who failed going to do in the interim. Not all live in city centre locations close to shops, schools with sufficient public transport. Not all know a qualified driver or one willing to escort them.

There's not a single place in Dublin that's not within easy cycling distance of a major shopping centre/supermarket etc. I work out in Mulhuddart (by the Meath border) and I was living in Dublin for 2 1/2 years before I ever got a car. When I couldn't manage with the bicycle, I used taxis.
    mccutchie wrote:
    Well that is correct, but if you failed by touching a kerb, on a ridiculous manoeuvre, are you an unsafe driver, are you putting yourself and your fellow drivers at risk?

Touching the kerb is a Grade 2 fault. You don't fail a test for just touching the kerb.

So, after being unsuccessful, they should be allowed to return to driving unaccompanied?

That's not my point. 20 or 30 hours can not cover all the situation. Driving need practice not like theory, which you only need memories it.
    There's lots of people holding provisional for over 20 years, and having a clear history, are you saying they are not safe driver? Plus I didn't say learner's are permitted to drive on road on their own, but companied with a full licence holder but not neccessary 2 years miniment will be more fai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭CM21

Totally agree with enforcing this. Been driving 2 months and never realised how dangerous driving is. Pulled out in front of someone today. Thank god they reacted in time. I felt like a right eejit:o

I

Also if after 20 or 30 hours learning with instructor can pass the test, why we need the 6 months restriction?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Stark wrote: »
    There's not a single place in Dublin that's not within easy cycling distance of a major shopping centre/supermarket etc. I work out in Mulhuddart (by the Meath border) and I was living in Dublin for 2 1/2 years before I ever got a car. When I couldn't manage with the bicycle, I used taxis.

+1 Lived in Dublin for 5 years and never needed a car - even when I lived by the four courts and was working out past Liffy Valley and thats with a really rubbish public transport system think what it would be like if they actually improved it. I've a friend living in island bridge and working in blackrock who doesn't own a car and manages to get to work on time each day while her co-workers living closer with cars are always late.

Even now living down the country with a car and a full license I don't drive everywhere - in fact if I don't have to leave the town [Kilkenny] I don't drive [cost of fuel and the impact on the environment being couple of the reasons] and I still can get around fine

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭DRice

please no slagging or arguing on this thread, just for posting experiences only. basically please dont post here at all unless you are a learner driver, there are other threads for people with their full licences that wish to moralise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I was meant to have my test this Friday. But they cancelled it last week, so my new date is the 1st of August. I will keep both the cancellation letter and the new appointment letter with me. I will continue to drive and leave the L plates up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

So after a shedload of posts, there isn't actually any bordsies who have been stopped by the Gardai knowing they are on a provisional?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

delly wrote: »
    So after a shedload of posts, there isn't actually any bordsies who have been stopped by the Gardai knowing they are on a provisional?

Nor will there be many. Unless you're driving like a twat.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭mondeo

delly wrote: »

It's early yet...give it a week or two

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

mondeo wrote: »
    It's early yet...give it a week or two

Ah i know that alright, its just that there's been so much comment on this thread, 'tis a little off topic as it was designed to give specific experiences rather than a debate of the whole thing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

saw a l-plated car at the side of the n5 yesterday evening
    looks like the garda told him/her they couldn't drive it

thats what they could do
    it was a 99 hyundai accent or similar

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

My OH just rang me to say he was stopped at 3 different checkpoints between Blanch and city Centre this morning all checking lisences, at one of which there was a car being put on a tow truck :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

It's definitely possible to do without a car in Dublin, difficult but not impossible. I'm in Dublin 12 years and I only got a car last autumn (now left in driveway with L-plates on :D )...

I'm working 6 years, and I've commuted from Terenure to Blanchardtown and from Terenure to Celbridge and now from Inchicore to Celbridge without a car. It does take ages but can be done. I was up at 6.30 this morning and in work for 8.05.