Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cardboard Cops

• 01-07-2008 9:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭

Was driving in to work this morning and noticed a lifesize cardboard cutout of a cop car with a garda leaning out the window with a speed camera at the side of the road....

Is this the new solution to low garda numbers??!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

You just know they are going to be vandalised or stolen! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

Hell have a moustache, glasses and horns when you see him on your way home.
    Alternatively he could be engaged in a high speed chase around Tallagh stuck to the side of a Honda Civic

• Registered Users Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Homer

smokingman wrote: »
    Was driving in to work this morning and noticed a lifesize cardboard cutout of a cop car with a garda leaning out the window with a speed camera at the side of the road....

Is this the new solution to low garda numbers??!!

Pics or it never happened! New one on me?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

'the car is a heavy robust wood cut-out and is not cardboard by any means' according to police spokesperson!

only in kildare so far? where did you spot yours OP? I stand corrected!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭smokingman

industria wrote: »
    'the car is a heavy robust wood cut-out and is not cardboard by any means' according to police spokesperson!

Funny enough...in Kildare a few miles before the M9/N7

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

O yeah that's a fantastic idea:rolleyes:

Until somebody panics, jams on the brakes and ends up being hit from behind...

What's the betting that the sneaky bastards will wait until the locals get used to the sign and then replace it with a REAL cop car:D;)...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Another sure sign of a downward economy, replacing cops with bits of wood :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Max_Damage wrote: »
    You just know they are going to be vandalised or stolen! :D
    These would also make a great rave prop. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭tw0nk

Have had these in Austria for years, some of them are like the manicans you see in shops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

industria wrote: »

It's Kildare Town Council's initiative, so it will be only there all right.

Here is the article about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

What's the point? After the first day people will know it is cardboard and just keep speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

What's the point? After the first day people will know it is cardboard and just keep speeding.

Not if they'll be moved around and replaced with real guards every once in a while.

I think they will just be vandalised/stolen.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Is it just the photo, or is the car in mid-air??!!

Flying garda cars?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,740 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

pburns wrote: »
    O yeah that's a fantastic idea:rolleyes:

Until somebody panics, jams on the brakes and ends up being hit from behind...

Great logic, using that thinking we should take all Garda cars off the road in case people react to them... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Feckin stupid idea if you ask me.

Judging by the amount of cars doing less than the speed limit on the M50 jamming on the brakes when passing the Camera - this is going to cause a big one on the roads of Kildare somewhere.

Accidents are caused by bad driving not speeding and this will cause bad driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Is it just the photo, or is the car in mid-air??!!

Flying garda cars?

The Jetsons! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

I just can t help but want to go there and mount it upside down late at night.:D

Lots of bad ideas so little time:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

That's the idea. It means the real cops can show up every now and then and make loads of money in fines.

You'll even ignore flashers coming the other way: "Hah, it's just that cardboard car again..."

RobAMerc wrote: »
    Accidents are caused by bad driving not speeding and this will cause bad driving.

Ridiculous statement tbh.

Dunno where to begin taking it apart.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭mondeo

A copper car made of wood?? Who's the plank who came up with that idea??

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭alo1587

Anyone got a photo if it?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Ridiculous statement tbh.

Dunno where to begin taking it apart.

I'd like to hear what you have to say about it so ?

Let me guess - the usual RSA rhetoric "Speed Kills Slow Down" bs.

alo1587 wrote: »
    Anyone got a photo if it?

Last post on page one of this thread... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

I think this is a great idea - fair play to them.

It beats the balls off guards hiding in bushes and covert gatzo's that do absolutely nothing for road safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Let's all drive 2-dimensional wooden cut out cars. No engine, no CO2, no VRT:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

These would also make a great rave prop. :D
    Was just thinking that same thing myself!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

This was in the paper the other day, it was first introduced in mayo .. or the likes.

It gave me a great laugh personally.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I wonder how long it will be before theirs one on ebay haha!

Thats brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Omcd

Zube wrote: »
    That's the idea. It means the real cops can show up every now and then and make loads of money in fines.

You'll even ignore flashers coming the other way: "Hah, it's just that cardboard car again..."

Rule of thumb : If it looks like he's trying to tazer a squirrel, then it's probably a cut out....